Astuces du métier : Dispositifs d'intégrité des signaux

Jason J. Ellison
|  Created: October 17, 2019  |  Updated: December 18, 2020

Comme dans tout autre métier, les ingénieurs de l’intégrité des signaux (IS) utilisent des outils très spécialisés. Les outils d'intégrité des signaux (IS) sont souvent des afficheurs de paramètres S, des solveurs EM 3D ou des appareils de mesure. Ces outils ont une chose en commun : l'analyse. Quels dispositifs les ingénieurs IS préfèrent-ils pour faciliter leur travail ? Dans cet article, je vous parlerai de trois dispositifs qui font gagner du temps et de l'argent : les câbles de test multiports, les commutateurs RF et l'ancien filtre RC.

Câbles de test multiports

Les normes actuelles de transmission en série à haut débit orientent nos méthodes pour développer des canaux 56Gb/s. Pour évaluer correctement ces canaux, nous devons mesurer leur performance jusqu'à au moins 28 GHz. À cette fréquence, nous utilisons des connecteurs coaxiaux de 2,92 mm. Le connecteur de montage à compression verticale, qui est la version la plus courante depuis plus d'une décennie, est cher. Et la broche de compression de ces connecteurs se déplace dans le corps du connecteur pendant l’utilisation. Lorsque vous retirez le connecteur pour le monter sur une autre carte, vous avez une chance sur deux qu’il fonctionne. Les systèmes de tests IS typiques comptent 32 connecteurs de ce type. Et les ingénieurs IS effectuent un nombre impressionnant de ces tests ! Les coûts s'accumulent rapidement et peuvent être prohibitifs. 

Heureusement, les progrès de la technologie de montage par compression ont permis d'éviter ce problème, car il existe des assemblages de câbles réutilisables qui font office de connecteurs coaxiaux verticaux montés en surface. Ces assemblages représentent un investissement initial élevé. Mais en une année, ils peuvent faire économiser à votre entreprise des centaines de milliers d’euros par rapport aux connecteurs coaxiaux. Ces ensembles de câbles comportent entre 8 et 32 connexions, ce qui signifie que vous pouvez les utiliser avec votre VNA de 8 à 32 ports et n'utiliser qu'un seul connecteur par test. De plus, la densité du signal est beaucoup plus élevée que ce que peuvent offrir des connecteurs coaxiaux. Vous pouvez donc choisir des conceptions à faible perte et qui fonctionneront avec de plus hautes fréquences. 

Voyons deux exemples de produits de ce type qui utilisent la technologie de montage par compression. Il s’agit du connecteur BullsEye de Samtec, et du Terminator de Ardent Concepts.

Multiple rendered images of Samtec BullsEye BE70 connector systems capable of 70GHz of bandwidth. Image courtesy of Samtec, Inc.

Des outils pour le dispositif d’intégrité du signal: les connecteurs BullsEye BE70 de Samtec, offrant une bande passante de 70GHz. 

Commutateurs large bande RF

Les commutateurs RF peuvent être utilisés pour accélérer les tests, économiser de l'espace sur un circuit imprimé ou faire des économies en limitant le nombre de connecteurs coaxiaux. Nous avons deux grandes catégories de commutateurs à large bande.

  • Les commutateurs à semiconducteurs
  • Les commutateurs électromécaniques

Les commutateurs électromécaniques offrent des largeurs de bande nombreuses et variées, avec un nombre de ports élevé. Les bandes passantes varient de 1 GHz à 67 GHz. Le commutateur peut avoir la taille d’une unité unipolaire à 12 directions ou SP12T. Les pôles sont le nombre de nœuds ordinaires entre les ports, et les directions sont le nombre de positions auxquelles le commutateur peut être connecté. Par conséquent, si vous connectez les pôles de quatre commutateurs SP12T à chaque port d'un VNA à quatre ports, vous pouvez effectuer 48 mesures sans changer une seule connexion ! C'est une solution remarquablement puissante, mais j'ai quelques mises en garde à faire avant de vous précipiter chez votre fournisseur. 

1. Tous les commutateurs sont pas nés égaux sous le soleil...

Ces commutateurs sont disponibles à deux niveaux.

  • Standard
  • Répétabilité élevée

Les commutateurs standard sont très utiles lorsque la phase n'est pas un problème. Ils font des merveilles avec la plupart des SerDes, des antennes ou des dispositifs à deux ports. Des commutateurs à haute répétabilité sont nécessaires pour les mesures multimodales. La phase ne change pas entre les directions, ce qui se traduit par des mesures cohérentes et des résultats de conversion de mode fiables. 

2. Un minimum d’assemblage est nécessaire.

Les commutateurs RF sont fondamentalement des canettes, et on préfère ne pas les avoir sur le plan de travail. Dans la pratique, il est préférable de les utiliser lorsqu’un montage sur un châssis ou un rack est envisagé. La conception du dispositif de montage est relativement facile, mais cela n’a rien à voir avec ce qu’il faut faire pour les utiliser. Quand j'ai commencé avec ces derniers, j'ai préféré réaliser un premier montage approximatif pour vérifier le concept. N'ayez donc pas peur de faire des essais !

Various lab devices in the background with partially loaded SP12T Radiall switches mounted to a plexiglass frame in the foreground.

Commutateurs RF à large bande Radiall SP12T partiellement chargés, montés sur un cadre en plexiglas.

Ces deux sites web vous offrent des choix de commutateurs RF.

www.dowkey.com

www.radiall.com

Les commutateurs à semi-conducteurs sont petits et faciles à utiliser. Le circuit de commande général est essentiellement le même que le circuit électromécanique, mais le commutateur à semi-conducteurs se monte directement sur un PCB. Selon les situations, cela peut être un inconvénient ou un avantage. Si votre dispositif testé se trouve sur le même circuit imprimé que le commutateur, ce type vous permet de réduire considérablement le nombre de connecteurs avec un ou deux commutateurs. Comme le circuit est déjà sur le PCB, vous n'avez pas besoin de concevoir du matériel de montage supplémentaire . Un autre avantage est que ces commutateurs sont extrêmement stables en phase. Par conséquent, avec ce type, les problèmes de conversion de mode ne sont pas un souci. Ils offrent aussi des délais d'établissement plus courts et sont nettement moins coûteux que des commutateurs électromécaniques. Par contre, si vous devez connecter à partir du PCB avec un câble coaxial, lorsque le commutateur est monté ailleurs, le nombre de connecteurs, les coûts et les pertes augmenteront. 

Les commutateurs à semi-conducteurs sont particulièrement efficaces lorsqu'ils servent à tester des dispositifs optiques, des SerDes et des dispositifs RF en grand nombre. Les deux premiers scénarios sont préférables, car ils permettent de placer un répéteur après le commutateur pour obtenir une grande intégrité de signal répétable dans le dispositif testé. Dans le troisième scénario, vous pouvez mettre en place des réseaux de dispositifs qui peuvent être testés au fur et à mesure qu'ils sont placés dans les systèmes. 

Vous pourriez penser que des commutateurs électromécaniques ne se justifient pas lorsque vous pouvez utiliser des commutateurs à phase stable et peu coûteux qui ne nécessitent pas de matériel de montage supplémentaire. Les deux inconvénients des commutateurs à semi-conducteurs qui redonnent de la pertinence aux interrupteurs électromécaniques sont la perte d'insertion et des limites de puissance. Les commutateurs à semi-conducteurs présentent généralement une perte de quelques dB par canal, et la piste du PCB qui se connecte au commutateur ajoute une perte supplémentaire. Cette perte supplémentaire limite la largeur de bande effective pour les opérations de post-traitement, tel que le de-embedding. En outre, vous ne pouvez pas les utiliser lorsque le niveau de courant est élevé, sous peine de les détruire. 

J’ajoute deux liens pour accéder à des sites de fournisseurs de commutateurs à semiconducteurs.

www.analog.com

www.psemi.com

Circuits RC pour l’égalisation

Pour l'égalisation, vous pensez probablement utiliser des SerDes avec des schémas de réglages automatiques intégrés. Mais que se passe-t-il lorsque vous utilisez un canal relativement simple et que vous n'avez pas accès à ces SerDes haut de gamme ? Dans ce cas, vous pouvez toujours utiliser un filtre RC comme égaliseur. 

Schematic diagram of a parallel RC filter

Un autre outil pour le dispositif d’intégrité du signal: le filtre RC parallèle

Filtre RC parallèle

Ils fonctionnent très bien jusqu'à 10 Gb/s. Même si vous n'allez pas faire fonctionner un système 112G, ils vous apportent une solution rentable pour les conceptions patrimoniales ou les signaux de contrôle PCIe. L’impédance de cet élément est :

Z = - j * R / (ω * R * C - j

où R est la résistance de la résistance et C est la capacitance du condensateur. En traçant la magnitude de l'impédance, vous verrez clairement s'il s'agit d'un filtre passe-bas. 

Figure showing an inverse relation between impedance and frequency of an RC filter with R = 100 Ohms and C = 10e-12 Farads

Comprendre le dispositif d’intégrité du signal: Impédance d’un filtre RC : R = 100 Ohms, C = 10e-12 Farads

Pour utiliser ce filtre, commencez par cibler un débit de données. À titre d’exemple, nous utiliserons 10 Gb/s. Ensuite, trouvez la perte à la fréquence de Nyquist. Dans ce cas, la fréquence de Nyquist est de 5 GHz. J'ai créé un exemple de ligne d’émission avec 13 dB de perte à 5 GHz. Vous voyez ci-dessous le tracé de la perte d'insertion.

Figure showing insertion loss in an almost linear relation in dB scale where the magnitude of a signal decreases as its frequency increases.

Comprendre le dispositif d’intégrité du signal :Exemple de ligne d’émission avec 13 dB de perte à 5 GHz.

Pour calculer la valeur approximative de la résistance, utilisez l'équation suivante.

R = 2 * Z₀ / (10 ^ (loss / 20)) - 2 * Z₀

J'ai constaté que cette équation a tendance à surégaliser légèrement... Pour cet exemple, j'utilise -10 dB pour la perte et 50 ohms pour l'impédance du système, et la résistance résultante est de 216 ohms environ. Ensuite, calculez la valeur du condensateur à l'aide de l'équation suivante.

C = 1 / (f_Nyquist * R

Voyons maintenant ce que cela donne à 10 Gb/s.

Avant :

Après :

La différence est impressionnante ! Des schémas plus avancés sont maintenant disponibles pour créer ces valeurs de composants, mais comme vous pouvez le voir, celui-ci fonctionne très bien. Des solutions de ce type intégrées dans un circuit sont disponibles, mais pourquoi payer plus quand on peut le faire soi-même ?

Discutez de vos besoins avec un expert Altium dès aujourd’hui ou continuez vos lectures sur les outils d’intégrité des signaux pour les concepteurs de PCB dans Altium Designer®.

About Author

About Author

Jason J Ellison received his Masters of Science in Electrical Engineering from Penn State University in December 2017.
He is employed as a signal integrity engineer and develops high-speed interconnects, lab automation technology, and calibration technology. His interests are signal integrity, power integrity and embedded system design. He also writes technical publications for journals such as “The Signal Integrity Journal”.
Mr. Ellison is an active IEEE member and a DesignCon technical program committee member.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Tricks of the Trade: Signal Integrity Devices

    Jason J. Ellison
    |  October 17, 2019

    As with any job, Signal Integrity engineers use niche tools. SI tools are often thought of as S-parameter viewers, 3D EM solvers, or measurement equipment. These tools have one thing in common: analysis. What about the devices that SI engineers deploy to make their lives easier? In this article, I’ll discuss three devices to save time and money: multiport test cables, RF switches, and the old RC filter.

    Multi-port RF Cable Assemblies

    Today’s high-speed serial transmission standards guide us on how to develop 56Gb/s channels. To adequately evaluate these channels, we need to measure channel performance up to at least 28 GHz. At that frequency, we use 2.92mm coaxial connectors. The vertical compression mount style connector, which has been the most popular version for over a decade, is expensive, and the compression pin of these connectors moves into the connector body upon application. When the connector is removed and applied to another board, you have a 50-50 chance of it working. Typical SI test fixtures have 32 of these connectors, and we SI engineers use a lot of test fixtures! The costs add up quickly and could be crippling. 

    Fortunately, advances in compression mount technology have made this a non-issue, because there are reusable cable assemblies that act as vertical surface mount coaxial connectors. The initial investment of these assemblies is high; however over the course of a year, these assemblies can save your company hundreds of thousands of dollars over coaxial connectors. These cable assemblies have between 8 and 32 connections which means you can use them with your 8 to 32 port VNA and apply only one connector per test. Also, the signal density is much higher than what is achievable using coaxial connectors, and that enables lower loss designs that can be de-embedded out to high frequencies. 

    I have two examples of such products that use compression mount technology. First is Samtec’s BullsEye connector and second is Ardent Concepts Terminator.

    Multiple rendered images of Samtec BullsEye BE70 connector systems capable of 70GHz of bandwidth. Image courtesy of Samtec, Inc.

    Samtec’s BullsEye BE70 connector system capable of 70GHz of bandwidth. Image courtesy of Samtec, Inc.

    RF-broadband Switches

    RF switches can be used to speed up testing, save space on a PCB, or save money by using fewer coaxial connectors. There are two major types of broadband switches.

    • Semiconductor

    • Electromechanical

    Electromechanical switches come in a large number of bandwidths and port counts. The bandwidths range from 1 GHz to 67 GHz, and the switch can be as large as a single-pole-12-throw, or SP12T. The poles are the number of common nodes between ports, and the throws are how many positions the switch can be connected to. That means that by connecting the poles of four SP12T switches to each port of a four-port VNA, you can make 48 measurements without changing the connections! That is very powerful, but I do have some cautionary notes before you go off and buy a set of four of these. 

    1. Not all switches are created equal.

    There are two tiers of these switches

    • Standard
    • High Repeatability

    Standard switches are great when phase is not a concern. They work wonders for most SerDes, antennas, or two-port devices. High repeatability switches are needed for multi-mode measurements. The phase does not change between throws which results in consistent measurements and reliable mode-conversion results. 

    2. Some assembly required.

    RF switches are basically cans, and they are not great just laying on the lab bench. In practice, they are best used when they are mounted to a chassis or a rack. Designing the mounting device is relatively easy, but it is something else you’ll need to do if you want to use these. When I started with these, I made rough rig for a proof-of-concept. So don’t be afraid to just get in and make something!

    Various lab devices in the background with partially loaded SP12T Radiall switches mounted to a plexiglass frame in the foreground.

    Partially loaded SP12T Radiall switches mounted to a plexiglass frame.

    Here are two RF switch websites to take a look at!

    www.dowkey.com

    www.radiall.com

    The semiconductor switch is small and easy to use. The general control circuit is basically the same as the electromechanical, but the semiconductor switch form-factor mounts straight onto a PCB. That could be a positive or a negative. If your DUT (device under test) is on the same PCB as the switch, then these enable you to eliminate many connectors from the design with one or two switches. Since the circuit is already on the PCB, you don’t need to design additional mounting hardware. Another advantage is that these switches are extremely phase stable. As a result, there are no worries about mode-conversion issues with these! They also have faster settling times and are very inexpensive when compared to electromechanical switches. On the other hand if you need to connect from the PCB where the switch resides somewhere else with a coax cable, the result is more connectors, cost, and loss. 

    Semiconductor switches thrive when used for optical device testing, SerDes testing, and high-volume RF devices testing. The first two scenarios are great because you can place a repeater after the switch to get great repeatable signal integrity into your device under test. In the third scenario, you can set up arrays of devices that can be tested as they are placed into the fixtures. 

    You might be thinking that there is no place for electromechanical switches when you can get phase stable, inexpensive switches that don’t need extra mounting hardware. The two drawbacks of semiconductor switches that make electromechanical switches relevant are insertion loss and power limits. Semiconductor switches are usually a few dB of loss per channel, and the PCB trace that connects to the switch adds additional loss. The additional loss limits the effective bandwidth for post processing operations like de-embedding. Also, you cannot use these for any high current applications, or they will burn out. 

    Here are two links to semiconductor switch products!

    www.analog.com

    www.psemi.com

    RC Circuits for Equalization

    When you think equalization, you probably think of SerDes with built-in auto tuning schemes, but what happens when you are running a relatively simple channel and you don’t have access to these high-end SerDes? Well, you can always use an RC filter as an equalizer. 

    Schematic diagram of a parallel RC filter

    Parallel RC filter

    These work very well all the way up to 10 Gb/s. While you’re not going to make a 112G system work with these, it provides a cost effective solution for legacy designs or PCIe control signals. The impedance for this element is

    Z = - j * R / (ω * R * C - j

    Where, R is the resistor’s resistance and C is the capacitor’s capacitance. Plotting the magnitude of the impedance, you can clearly see this is a low pass filter. 

    Figure showing an inverse relation between impedance and frequency of an RC filter with R = 100 Ohms and C = 10e-12 Farads

    Impedance of an RC filter: R = 100 Ohms, C = 10e-12 Farads.

    To utilize this filter, start with targeting a data rate. For this article, I’ll use 10 Gb/s. Next, find the loss at the Nyquist frequency. In this case, the Nyquist frequency is 5 GHz. I created an example transmission line with 13 dB of loss at 5 GHz. Its plotted insertion loss is shown below.

    Figure showing insertion loss in an almost linear relation in dB scale where the magnitude of a signal decreases as its frequency increases.

    Example transmission line with 13 dB of loss at 5 GHz.

    To calculate the approximate resistor value, use the following equation.

    R = 2 * Z₀ / (10 ^ (loss / 20)) - 2 * Z₀

    I have found that this equation over-equalizes a little bit. So for this example, I use -10 dB for loss and 50 ohms for system impedance, and the resulting resistor is about 216 ohms. Next, calculate the capacitor value using the following equation.

    C = 1 / (f_Nyquist * R

    Now, let’s look at what this does to the eye pattern at 10 Gb/s.

    Before:

    After:

    Wow, what a difference!! Now, there are more advanced schemes for creating these component values, but as you can see, this works quite well. There are solutions like this that are integrated into one circuit, but why pay more when you can do this?

    Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more or continue reading about signal integrity tools for PCB designers in Altium Designer®.

    About Author

    About Author

    Jason J Ellison received his Masters of Science in Electrical Engineering from Penn State University in December 2017.
    He is employed as a signal integrity engineer and develops high-speed interconnects, lab automation technology, and calibration technology. His interests are signal integrity, power integrity and embedded system design. He also writes technical publications for journals such as “The Signal Integrity Journal”.
    Mr. Ellison is an active IEEE member and a DesignCon technical program committee member.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home