La roue continue de tourner : Nomenclature avancée pour la conception de circuits imprimés

Altium Designer
|  Créé: October 7, 2021

Roue de moulin à maïs en fer et en bois avec des roches

Dès son plus jeune âge, mon grand-père a été formé à la réparation et à la construction de roues en bois, une compétence nécessaire dans la ferme rurale où il a été élevé. Lorsque les temps modernes ont finalement trouvé l’Est du Missouri, cette confluence hautement qualifiée du travail du bois et de la forge a été totalement remplacée par la technologie moderne, sauf pour la reconstitution historique occasionnelle. Le changement était inévitable, et mon grand-père a donc ajouté de manière proactive l’usinage, la mécanique et l’électronique à son répertoire de compétences.

La technologie évolue, c’est inévitable. Et si celle-ci change, alors votre relation avec les matériaux avec lesquels vous travaillez change également. Vous appréciez peut-être que vos pratiques de conception de circuits imprimés impliquent des méthodes dépassées que vous maitrisez. Cependant, la mise à jour des nomenclatures est une avancée technologique facile, fiable et qui fait gagner du temps.

Qu’est-ce qu’une nomenclature avancée ?

Les nomenclatures basées sur des tableurs sont la norme depuis des décennies. De nombreux logiciels utilisent des interfaces spécialement conçues pour filtrer et personnaliser l’apparence du document, mais le noyau reste généralement un fichier de tableur. Pour beaucoup de gens, ce format familier peut sembler banal, mais les feuilles de calcul sont incroyablement flexibles, hautement personnalisables et peuvent exploiter les formidables capacités d’information et de calcul de nos ordinateurs modernes.

Correctement configurées pour la conception de circuits imprimés, les nomenclatures avancées peuvent diminuer la charge de travail, aider à réduire les erreurs et maintenir les informations à jour. Même les progiciels de conception de circuits imprimés les plus primitifs produisent généralement une forme de nomenclature avec des colonnes telles que la quantité, la valeur, le désignateur (par exemple, une résistance particulière peut être étiquetée « R5 »), la description, le nom, le numéro de pièce, le conditionnement (type de conditionnement SMD ou trou traversant) et éventuellement le coût. C’est utile jusqu’à un certain point, mais si ces données sont fixes, cela peut entraîner des difficultés, notamment pour déterminer quel paramètre utiliser pour organiser votre nomenclature. La création de conventions de dénomination des pièces qui aident à garder les différents types de composants ensemble est une bonne stratégie. Cependant, la possibilité d’ajouter un champ supplémentaire à la nomenclature est une option beaucoup plus souple. Il s’agit de l’une des nombreuses fonctionnalités disponibles avec un logiciel de nomenclature plus avancé.

Un homme en train de faire des calculs avec les mains prises

 

Conventions relatives aux numéros de pièces

Un autre défi à l’utilisation des formats de nomenclature de base vient du fait qu’il n’y a souvent qu’un seul champ intitulé « Numéro de pièce ». Pour la plupart des composants, il existe un numéro de pièce qui fait référence à un type de pièce tel que « LM339 » pour une catégorie de comparateur. Cela donne au concepteur un aperçu général de la fonction et des capacités de la pièce. Mais il existe également un numéro de pièce « code de commande » qui est utilisé par chaque fournisseur pour déterminer des variables telles que le type de conditionnement de la pièce, le type de placage qu’elle utilise et le type de contenant dans lequel elle est fournie.

Dans certaines entreprises, il peut également exister un numéro de pièce créé en interne pour chaque composant. Cela permet d’organiser l’inventaire, l’achat des pièces et empêcher les concurrents de copier une conception. Lequel de ces éléments doit figurer dans le champ « Numéro de pièce » ? En réalité, ils sont tous utiles, voire nécessaires. La capacité des progiciels plus puissants à ajouter et à définir des colonnes de données supplémentaires, puis à intégrer ces informations dans la base de données globale de l’entreprise permet de réduire les erreurs et de gagner du temps.

Réduire l’erreur humaine dans la création des bibliothèques de pièces de nomenclature

Lorsqu’il s’agit de définir des bibliothèques de pièces, s’assurer que la méthodologie utilisée pour désigner chaque pièce reste cohérente peut être un défi. Lors de la définition de la structure d’un modèle de nomenclature, la communication est essentielle. En effet, des expériences différentes peuvent entraîner des désaccords au sein d’un service. Travailler à partir d’une structure suggérée par une entreprise expérimentée dans le secteur peut fournir une trame, aider à résoudre les différends et contribuer à éviter des difficultés imprévues.

Le prix et la disponibilité des composants sont deux facteurs qui peuvent ralentir votre conception, et s’avérer être une erreur coûteuse. Un logiciel de nomenclature avancé a la capacité de maintenir votre base de données à jour avec les prix actuels et la disponibilité des composants de différents fournisseurs. En plus des colonnes de données standard et personnalisées, ces informations peuvent facilement être ajoutées à un format de nomenclature. Un coup d’œil rapide peut indiquer à un concepteur si une production peut se dérouler comme prévu ou si une autre pièce doit être envisagée. La possibilité de mettre à jour une nomenclature avec des informations sur les prix qui appliquent automatiquement des remises sur quantité permet aux services des achats de faire leur travail rapidement et de manière compétitive.

De vieilles roues en bois appuyées contre une clôture en bois

 

En utilisant les capacités avancées du logiciel de nomenclature, vous pouvez garantir une précision en temps réel et un stockage efficace des informations. Même mon grand-père savait qu’il ne fallait pas essayer de conserver des technologies anciennes et dépassées. Ne soyez pas en retard sur les tendances technologiques, sinon votre processus de conception de circuits imprimés sera deux fois moins efficace que celui de concepteurs plus modernes.

Que vous cherchiez à optimiser la façon dont votre entreprise traite l’information ou à mettre à jour votre logiciel de conception, Altium Designer saura répondre à vos besoins. En utilisant le logiciel ActiveBOM d’Altium Designer, vous disposerez de certaines des solutions de nomenclature les plus avancées.

Ne réinventez pas la roue. Appelez les experts d’Altium pour en savoir plus.

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Outils de conception de circuits imprimés pour la conception électronique et DFM. Informations pour les dirigeants de l'AED.

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    The Wheel Keeps Turning: Advanced Bill of Materials for PCB Design

    Altium Designer
    |  December 18, 2017

    Iron and wood cornmill wheel lined with rocks

    At a young age, my grandfather was trained in the repair and construction of wooden wheels, which was a necessary skill on the rural farm where he was raised. When modern times finally found Eastern Missouri, that highly skilled confluence of woodworking and blacksmithing was totally replaced by modern technology, save for the occasional historical re-creation. The change had been inevitable, so my grandfather proactively added machining, mechanics, and electronics to his repertoire.

    While sometimes you can stall the need to advance your technology, it is usually inevitable that if a technology changes then so too will your relationship to the materials you work with. So while you might find it comfortable, and that is certainly an important part of any process, for your PCB design practices to still involve outdated methods, one area which is sure to be an easy, reliable, and immense time-saving technology upgrade is advanced BOMs.

    What Is an Advanced Bill of Materials?

    Spreadsheet software based BOMs have been the standard for decades. Many software packages use purpose built interfaces that filter and customize the document’s appearance, but the core is usually still some form of spreadsheet file. To many people, this familiar format may seem unremarkable but spreadsheets are incredibly flexible, highly customizable, and can leverage the awesome information and calculation capabilities of our modern computers.

    Properly configured for PCB design, advanced BOMs can decrease workload, help reduce errors and keep information both current and relevant. Even the most primitive PCB design software packages will usually output some form of BOM with columns such as Quantity, Value, Designator (for example a particular resistor might be labeled “R5”), Description, Name, Part Number, Package (SMD or Through Hole package type), and possibly Cost. This is useful to a degree, but if these outputs are set in stone it can lead to difficulties, such as figuring out what parameter to use for organizing your BOM. Creating part naming conventions that help to keep component types together is one strategy, but being able to add an additional field for this purpose is a much more flexible option. This is one of many features available using a more advanced bill of materials software.

    A man is doing calculations with his hands full
    Don’t get caught with your hands full, save time and energy by keeping up with technology.

    Part Number Conventions

    Another challenge to using basic BOM formats comes from the fact that there is often only one field labeled “Part Number”. For most components, there is one part number that refers to a type of part such as “LM339” for a category of comparator. This gives a designer general insight into the parts function and general capabilities, but there is also an “order code” part number that is used by each supplier to determine variables such as the part’s package type, what kind of plating it uses and what kind of container it is supplied in.

    At some companies, there may also be an internally created part number for each component that helps to organize part inventory and purchasing and is sometimes used to provide an impediment to competitors looking to copy a design. Which one should go in the “Part Number” field? They are all useful or necessary. The ability of more powerful software packages to add and define additional data columns, then integrate that information into a company overall database helps reduce confusion and save time.

    Reducing Human Error in BOM Library Part Definitions

    When it comes to defining part libraries, making sure that the methodology used to define each part stays consistent can be a challenge. When defining a BOM template structure, communication is key, though different experiences can lead to disagreements within a department. Working from a structure suggested by an experienced company in the industry can provide suggestions, help resolve disputes, and help avoid unforeseen difficulties.

    Component price and availability are two factors which can slow down your design, and prove to be an expensive blunder. Advanced BOM software has the ability to keep your database updated with current prices and availability of components from various suppliers. In addition to both standard and customized data columns, this information can easily be added to a BOM format. A quick glance can tell a designer if a production run can go ahead as planned, or if an alternate part need to be considered. The ability to update a BOM with pricing information that automatically applies quantity discount information gives Purchasing the edge it needs to do its job quickly and competitively.

    Old, wooden wheels leaning against a run-down wooden fence
    Save your time and energy by reducing your capability to produce errors.

    By using the advanced capabilities of BOM software, you can ensure real-time accuracy and effective information storage. Even my grandfather new better than to try to keep old, and outdated technology around. Don’t end up so far behind the technological trends that your pcb design process becomes half as efficient as more updated designers.

    Whether you’re looking to optimize the way your organization handles information or to update your design software, Altium Designer will be sure to fit your needs. By using Altium Designer’s ActiveBOM software, you’ll have some of the most advanced BOM solutions at your fingertips.

    Don’t reinvent the wheel. Call the experts at Altium and to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home