Sicherheit eingebetteter Systeme für Hardware-Entwickler

Dugan Karnazes
|  Erstellt: June 2, 2020  |  Aktualisiert am: December 27, 2020
Sicherheit eingebetteter Systeme für Hardware-Entwickler

Heute hatte ich das Vergnügen, mit den Sicherheitsexperten der VDA Labs in Grand Rapids (Michigan) über Hardware-Hacking zu sprechen. James King, Ethical Hacker, und Josh Sharpe, Cybersecurity Consultant, erklärten mir, worauf sie achten, wenn sie versuchen, ein eingebettetes System zu kompromittieren. Ich wollte mehr darüber erfahren, was Hardware-Designer tun können, um solche Angreifer abzuwehren, und diese Informationen an meine Designkollegen weitergeben.

VDA-Labs hilft Unternehmen bei der Bestimmung der Wirksamkeit ihrer Sicherheitslösungen, indem sie auf Wunsch ihrer Kunden die Geräte, Systeme und Netzwerke aktiv angreifen. (Die Kunden können nur ihre eigenen Systeme angreifen lassen.) Nachdem ich im VDA-Büro herumgelaufen war und von dem Geldautomaten hörte, der durch ihr Hacking „Geld regnete“, und von dem Kasino, in das sie einbrechen sollten, war ich von einer Sache überzeugt: Ich wollte nicht, dass diese Typen irgendetwas angriffen, was mir wichtig war. VDA Labs beweist, dass die Sicherheit eingebetteter Systeme, sowohl auf der physischen als auch auf der logischen Ebene, etwas ist, das jeder Designer auf dem Schirm haben sollte.

Die Rolle eines Designers bei der Sicherheit eingebetteter Systeme

Als Hardware-Designer müssen wir ein Gleichgewicht zwischen dem Entwurf einer einfach zu handhabenden Leiterplatte mit klaren Etiketten, Standard-Steckverbindern, guter Dokumentationspraxis, einfacher Montage, optimierten Kosten und dem oft vernachlässigten angemessenen Sicherheitsniveau finden. Die unglückliche Realität bei der Sicherheit eingebetteter Systeme ist, dass je einfacher Sie Ihre Leiterplatte für die Entwicklung entwerfen, desto einfacher ist es für jemanden mit böswilligen Absichten, Ihr System zu kompromittieren.

Im Falle des Geldautomaten, der Geld regnete, konnte VDA nicht ins Detail gehen, wie der Angriff ausgeführt wurde, aber sie betonten, dass viele dieser Systeme nur Komponenten von der Stange sind, die die Hersteller (und jeder andere) leicht bekommen könnten, wenn sie wüssten, welche Teile sie kaufen müssten. Für Designer ist es wichtig, gute Datensicherheitspraktiken zu verwenden, um den Zugang zu Designinformationen zu kontrollieren. In regulierten Branchen wie der Verteidigung und der Luft- und Raumfahrt werden die Sicherheitsanforderungen übertrieben.

Entwickler eingebetteter Systeme sind verpflichtet, die Sicherheit auf drei Ebenen zu berücksichtigen:

  1. Auf der physischen Ebene, wo ein Gerät von einem Angreifer manipuliert oder sondiert werden könnte;
  2. Auf der logischen (Firmware-)Ebene, wo ein Gerät über JTAG oder Flashen gesteuert werden könnte, um schädlichen Code auszuführen;
  3. Auf der externen oder Plattformebene, wo ein Gerät böswillig durch externe Software gesteuert werden könnte (z.B. durch eine Web-Plattform in der Cloud).

Übliche Angriffsvektoren für eingebettete Systeme

Ein weiterer Angriffsvektor, den VDA Labs für den Zugriff nutzen, sind eindeutig gekennzeichnete Steckverbinder, Pins und Teilenummern. Diese Art der Manipulation zwingt Designer dazu, über die Sicherheit auf der physikalischen Schicht nachzudenken, um unbefugten Zugriff zu verhindern. Solche Maßnahmen reichen vom Schrubben von Komponenten zur Entfernung von MPNs bis hin zur Verwendung eines James Bond-ähnlichen erzwungenen ESD-Impulses zur gewaltsamen Zerstörung des Bauelements.

Probing a circuit board embedded system security
Das Testen eines Bauelements mit eindeutig beschrifteten Teilen und freiliegenden Pins ist eine Möglichkeit für die Rückentwicklung einer Platine. Komplexere Methoden verwenden eine H-Feld-Sonde, um Daten über ein kritisches Netz zu erfassen.

VDA erzählte mir von einem Bauelement, das auf einem Mikrocontroller sitzen und alle Informationen extrahieren kann. Dieses Bauelement ist teuer, kann aber wahrscheinlich allein durch die Verwendung eines BGA-Gehäuses anstelle eines bedrahteten Gehäuses (das empfindliche Signale freilegt) vereitelt werden. Man kann sich leicht vorstellen, dass jemand die Kontrolle über ein System über JTAG erhält, wenn er an die richtigen Signale gelangen kann. Bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatte ich die Sicherheitsvorteile eines BGA-Gehäuses noch nie in Betracht gezogen, aber es scheint eine ziemlich einfache Änderung für viel zusätzliche Sicherheit zu sein.

Die Verdeckung oder Entfernung wichtiger Debug- oder Programmierstecker ist eine weitere empfohlene Praxis. Eine zusätzliche Zeichnung, die alle empfindlichen Signale auf einer Platine beschriftet, kann schnell erstellt werden und vielleicht muss sie nicht immer auf der Siebdruckschicht sein. Das Routing empfindlicher Signale auf internen Schichten und die Eliminierung des physischen Leiterzugriffs von außen ist ein guter Schritt zum Schutz dieser Signale. Jeder, der über genügend Zeit, Geld und Fähigkeiten verfügt, kann ein Design kompromittieren, aber einfache Praktiken wie diese können Angreifer entmutigen. Wenn ich als Angreifer Signale finden müsste, von denen ich nicht weiß, dass sie intern sind oder dass der Programmier-Header aus dem Design entfernt wurde, würde ich mir vielleicht ein anderes Ziel aussuchen, das leichter zu kompromittieren ist.

Frühzeitig über die Sicherheit eingebetteter Systeme nachdenken

Die beste Empfehlung, die ich erhielt, war, die Sicherheit eingebetteter Systeme von Beginn des Produktentwicklungszyklus an zu berücksichtigen, insbesondere wenn es sich um ein vernetztes Gerät handelt. Selbst wenn die Anwendung des Geräts keine extremen Sicherheitsmaßnahmen rechtfertigt, ist es wichtig zu beachten, dass es als Ausgangspunkt für einen Angriff verwendet werden kann. Das Zahlungsabwicklungsnetzwerk von Target wurde bekanntermaßen durch Berechtigungsnachweise gehackt, die aus dem HVAC-System gewonnen wurden.

Sicherheit gehört zu den Dingen, die oft vergessen, für unwichtig erklärt oder für den Schluss aufgehoben werden. Um dieser Mentalität entgegenzuwirken, müssen Designer darüber nachdenken, was passieren könnte, wenn ihr Produkt in die falschen Hände gerät oder zur Ausführung des Codes eines anderen benutzt wird. Könnte jemand verletzt werden? Könnte der Ruf Ihres Stakeholders beschädigt werden? Welche Art von Schaden könnte entstehen? Regulierte Industrien müssen diese Punkte im Zusammenhang mit der Sicherheit eingebetteter Systeme berücksichtigen, aber angesichts der massiven Verbreitung neuer IoT-Geräte muss jeder über diese Punkte – sowohl auf der physischen als auch auf der logischen Ebene – nachdenken.

Möchten Sie mehr darüber erfahren, wie Altium Ihnen bei Ihrem nächsten PCB-Design helfen kann? Sprechen Sie mit einem Experten von Altium und erfahren Sie mehr über digitales Input Sampling für eingebettete Systeme in Altium Designer®.

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Dugan Karnazes is the owner of Velocity Research, and an experienced electrical engineer with a background in electronics and engineering physics. Since 2013, Dugan has been focusing his attention on the PCB design process and working on research and development teams with companies in West Michigan to build better products incorporating advanced technologies and new techniques.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

Altium Online Store

Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Altium Online Store

    Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Embedded System Security for Hardware Designers

    Dugan Karnazes
    |  June 2, 2020
    Embedded system security methods

    Today, I had the pleasure of an open discussion about hardware hacking with the security experts at VDA Labs in Grand Rapids, Michigan. James King, Ethical Hacker, and Josh Sharpe, Cybersecurity Consultant, walked me through what they look for when trying to compromise an embedded system. I thought I would see what hardware designers can do to slow them down and pass on that information to my fellow designers.

    VDA Labs helps companies determine the efficacy of their security solutions by actively attacking devices, systems, and networks at the request of their clients. (They can only have their own systems attacked). After walking around VDA’s office and hearing about the ATM they hacked into “raining money”, and the casino they were scheduled to break into, I was convinced that these were the guys I wouldn't want attacking anything I cared about. These guys prove that embedded system security, both at the physical and logical layers, is something every designer should consider.

    A Designer's Role in Embedded System Security

    As hardware designers, we must balance designing an easy-to-work with PCB with clear labels, standard connectors, good documentation practices, ease of assembly, optimized cost, and the often neglected appropriate level of security. The unfortunate reality with embedded system security is that the easier you design your board for development, the easier it is for someone with malicious intentions to compromise your system.

    In the case of the ATM that rains money, VDA couldn't go into detail on how the attack was executed, but they highlighted that a lot of these systems are just off the shelf components that manufacturers (and anybody) could easily get if they knew what parts to buy. For designers, it’s important to use good data security practices to control access to design information. In regulated industries, such as defense and aerospace, security requirements are put into overdrive.

    Embedded system developers have an obligation to consider security at three levels:

    1. At the physical level, where a device could be tampered with or probed by an attacker;
    2. At the logical (firmware) level, where a device could be controlled via JTAG or Flashed to execute malicious code;
    3. At the external or platform level, where a device could be maliciously controlled through external software (e.g., through a web platform in the cloud).

    Common Embedded System Attack Vectors

    Another attack vector that VDA labs used to gain access is clearly labeled connectors, pins, and part numbers. This type of tampering forces designers to start thinking about what happens in physical layer security to prevent unauthorized access. Such measures range from scrubbing components to remove MPNs to using a James Bond-like forced ESD pulse to forcibly destroy the device.

    Probing a circuit board embedded system security
    Probing a device with clearly labeled parts and exposed pins is one way to reverse engineer a board. More complex methods will use an H-field probe to capture data on a critical net.

    VDA told me about a device that can sit on top of a microcontroller and extract all the information from the device. This device is expensive, but can likely be thwarted just by using a BGA package instead of a leaded package that exposes sensitive signals. It’s easy to imagine someone gaining control of a system over JTAG if they can get to the right signals. I had never considered the security advantages of a BGA package until that moment, but it seems like a pretty easy change for a lot of extra security.

    Obscuring important debug or programming connectors, or even removing them entirely is another recommended practice. It’s simple enough to create an extra drawing which labels all the sensitive signals on a board, maybe it doesn't need to always be on the silkscreen layer. Routing sensitive signals on internal layers and eliminating physical conductor access from the outside is a good step towards protecting those signals. Anyone with enough time, budget, and skill can compromise a design, but easy practices like this can go a long way in discouraging them. As an attacker, if I had to find signals not knowing they were internal, or that the programming header had been scrubbed off of the design, I might consider moving on to something easier to compromise.

    Think About Embedded System Security Early

    The biggest recommendation I got was to take embedded system security into account from the beginning of the product development cycle, especially if it's going to be a networked device. Even if the device’s application does not warrant extreme security measures, it is important to note that it may be used as a launch point for an attack on another device. Target’s payment processing network was famously hacked through credentials gained from the HVAC system.

    Security is one of those things that is often forgotten, declared unimportant for the application, or saved as a final procedure. To combat this mentality, designers need to think about what could happen if their product fell into the wrong hands, or was used to execute someone else’s code. Could anyone be hurt? What damage could be done to your stakeholder’s reputation? What kind of damage could occur? Regulated industries are required to consider these points around embedded system security, but with massive proliferation of new IoT devices, everyone will need to think about these points at the physical level as well as at the logical level.

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you with your next PCB design? Talk to an expert at Altium and continue reading about digital input sampling for embedded systems in Altium Designer®.

    About Author

    About Author

    Dugan Karnazes is the owner of Velocity Research, and an experienced electrical engineer with a background in electronics and engineering physics. Since 2013, Dugan has been focusing his attention on the PCB design process and working on research and development teams with companies in West Michigan to build better products incorporating advanced technologies and new techniques.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home