PCBs mit Gold-Leiterbahnen und Leitern, jetzt auf flexiblen Materialien

Tara Dunn
|  Created: August 13, 2020  |  Updated: November 25, 2020
PCBs mit Gold-Leiterbahnen und Leitern, jetzt auf flexiblen Materialien

Einer der vielen Vorteile von flexiblem Polyimid-Material ist seine Biokompatibilität, die in vielen Anwendungen der medizinischen Elektronik entscheidend ist. Die Verwendung einer Leiterplatte mit Gold-Leiterbahnen und Goldleitern auf Polyimid anstelle von Kupferleitern bietet eine vollständig biokompatible Option. Moment mal, was? Goldleiter, nicht goldbeschichtete Kupferleiter? Ja!

Erst kürzlich merkte jemand an, dass es erheblicher Anstrengungen und Internetrecherchen bedarf, um einen Hersteller zu finden, der Goldleiter auf Polyimid herstellen kann. Das macht Sinn. Traditionelle subtraktive Ätzverfahren beginnen mit einem Polyimid/Kupfer-Laminat und ätzen das nicht benötigte Kupfer weg, um das Schaltungsmuster zu erzeugen. Die Chemikalien, die diese Prozesse ermöglichen, sind speziell für Kupfer formuliert, und bei den meisten Herstellern was dies lange Zeit das einzige Metall, das für Schaltungen zur Verfügung stand. Mit der Einführung additiver oder semi-additiver PCB-Herstellungsverfahren in der Industrie können die Hersteller heute jedoch Schaltungen mit viel feineren Merkmalen herstellen, und die Möglichkeit, Goldleiter herzustellen, wird deutlich einfacher.

A-SAP™: Semi-additive Herstellung einer Leiterplatte mit Gold-Leiterbahnen

Lassen Sie uns einen Schritt zurückgehen und einen Blick auf die A-SAP™-Technologie und die Funktionsweise eines semi-additiven Herstellungsverfahrens werfen. Wie der Name schon andeutet, wird die Schaltung dem Laminat "hinzugefügt" und nicht durch "Subtraktion" des Kupfers vom Laminat erzeugt. Ausgehend von einem traditionellen Polyimid/Kupfer-Laminat wird das Kupfer auf der Platte VOLLSTÄNDIG weggeätzt, so dass das blanke Laminat übrigbleibt. LMI™ (flüssige Metalltinte) wird dann auf das Laminat aufgetragen. Sobald diese ausgehärtet ist, wird eine extrem dünne Schicht stromloses Kupfer auf das Paneel aufgetragen. Dann wird ein Fotolack aufgetragen, und Fotolithografietechniken definieren das Schaltungsmuster. Elektrolytkupfer baut die Leiterbahnen in der erforderlichen Dicke, und eine Blitzätzung entfernt die verbleibende sehr dünne stromlose Kupferschicht. Die Paneele folgen dann den gleichen Prozessschritten, wie die durch subtraktives Ätzen bearbeiteten Paneele, um den Standard-PCB-Herstellungsprozess abzuschließen.

Dieses Verfahren wird seit kurzem an Leiterplattenhersteller lizenziert, die daran interessiert sind, die steigende Marktnachfrage nach Leiterplatten mit sehr feinen Strukturgrößen zu befriedigen. A-SAP™ ermöglicht es Designern und Herstellern, mit Leiterbahnbreiten und -abständen von nur 15 Mikrometern zu arbeiten, was die Routing- und Herstellungsprozesse erheblich vereinfachen kann. Bei Designbeschränkungen bei 75 Mikrometern, der üblichen Beschränkung für die subtraktive Ätzverarbeitung, war ein Designer beispielsweise gezwungen, den Weg über 12 Lagen, gestapelte Microvias und drei Laminierungszyklen zu gehen. Dieses Design ist äußerst komplex, hat oft geringere Erträge und ist mit erheblich höheren Kosten verbunden. Dasselbe Design wurde mit 25 Mikron-Leiterbahnen und -abständen neu durchdacht, was zu einem viel einfacheren Design führte. Vier subtraktive Ätzschichten wurden mit vier A-SAP™ Schichten kombiniert, wodurch die Gesamtzahl der Schichten auf 8 und die erforderliche Anzahl der Laminierungszyklen von 3 auf 1 reduziert wurde.

PCB gold traces fabrication
Dieses Bild zeigt beispielhaft Gold-Leiterbahnen, die mit dem A-SAP™-Verfahren hergestellt werden können.

Diese Technologie ist relativ neu auf dem kommerziellen Markt, und viele sind begeistert von den Möglichkeiten, die sich daraus für das PCB-Design ergeben: kleinerer Formfaktor, reduzierte Lagenzahl, geringere Abhängigkeit von gestapelten Microvias und erhöhte Funktionalität innerhalb einer festgelegten Schaltungsgröße.

Gold auf flexiblem Polyimid

Dazu kommt die Möglichkeit, sehr feine Strukturgrößen zu bilden und komplexe Routing-Anforderungen zu vereinfachen. Da bei diesem semi-additiven Ansatz das Kupfer vollständig von dem Laminat entfernt wird, sind flexible Schaltungsdesigns mit Polyimid-Dielektrikum nicht mehr an Kupferleiter gebunden. PCB-Leiterbahnen aus Platin, Palladium, Nickel, Silber und Gold sind möglich. Haben Sie eine Anwendung, die von den Eigenschaften eines dieser Metalle profitieren könnte? Bringt das Ihre Phantasie in Schwung? Ich hoffe es. Dies ist eine aufregende neue Entwicklung!

Die Duke University hat eine Studie über die Verwendung von Goldleitern und Polyimid bei der Anwendung einer neuronalen Sonde veröffentlicht. Mehrere Materialkombinationen wurden in die Studie aufgenommen, zwei Kombinationen aus Polyimid, Kupferleiter und ENIG, LCP mit Goldleitern und Polyimid mit Goldleitern. Die Kombination von Polyimid mit Goldleitern übertraf die anderen Optionen bei weitem.

PCB gold traces on polyimide
Polyimid-PCB mit Goldleitern für flexible Elektronik.

Das A-SAP™-Verfahren ist kompatibel mit PCB-Herstellungstechniken und wird von Herstellern lizenziert. Die wahre Stärke hinter A-SAP™ ist die Fähigkeit, kleine Strukturgrößen bis zu 15 Mikrometern zu formen. Die beste Art und Weise, diese Technologie anzuwenden, besteht darin, sich ständig mit ihr weiterzuentwickeln, während die Industrie beginnt, die Technologie zu nutzen und bewährte Verfahren zu definieren. Mein bester Rat für die Arbeit mit A-SAP™ lautet: Arbeiten Sie mit Ihrem Hersteller von Anfang bis Ende des Designprozesses zusammen. Mit sehr wenigen "Designregeln" stellt dieser kooperative Ansatz sicher, dass die Verwendung von A-SAP™ in Ihrem Fertigungsablauf kosteneffektiv ist.

Der zusätzliche Vorteil dieses neuen Verfahrens ist die Möglichkeit, das für Schaltungen verwendete leitende Metall zu überdenken. Es ist etwas, das gerade erst beginnt, in einer kommerziellen Umgebung und nicht nur im Labor erforscht zu werden. Ich kann mir gut vorstellen, dass der klare Vorteil von Gold auf Polyimid für die Biokompatibilität etwas ist, das immer mehr medizinische Anwendungen erforschen werden, wenn sich die Technologie weiterentwickelt und kommerzielle Kapazitäten verfügbar sind. Wie bei den feinen Strukturgrößen sollten Sie während des gesamten Designprozesses mit Ihrem Hersteller zusammenarbeiten. Sowohl Designer als auch Hersteller werden mit diesen neuen Fähigkeiten eine Lernkurve durchlaufen. Dies ist ein guter Zeitpunkt, um noch mehr Kreativität in den Designprozess einzubringen und die Vorteile von PCBs mit Goldleitern zu nutzen.

Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Altium-Experten, um mehr über die Auswahl des besten Herstellers für flexible Materialien zu erfahren.

 

About Author

About Author

Tara ist eine anerkannte Branchenexpertin mit mehr als 20 Jahren Berufserfahrung in der Zusammenarbeit mit: PCB-Ingenieuren, Designern, Herstellern, Beschaffungsorganisationen und Anwendern von Leiterplatten. Ihre Fachkenntnisse liegen in den Bereichen Flex und Starrflex, Additivtechnologie und Schnelldrehungsprojekte. Sie ist eine der besten Ressourcen der Branche, um sich auf ihrer technischen Referenzseite PCBadvisor.com schnell über eine Reihe von Themen zu informieren. Sie trägt regelmäßig als Rednerin zu Branchenveranstaltungen bei, schreibt eine Kolumne in der Zeitschrift PCB007.com und ist Gastgeberin von Geek-a-palooza.com. Ihr Unternehmen Omni PCB ist bekannt für seine Reaktion am selben Tag und die Fähigkeit, Projekte auf der Grundlage einzigartiger Spezifikationen zu erfüllen: Vorlaufzeit, Technologie und Volumen.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    PCBs with Gold Traces and Conductors, Now on Flex Materials

    Tara Dunn
    |  August 13, 2020
    PCB gold traces on polyimide flex materials

    One of the many benefits of using polyimide flexible material is that it is bio-compatible, making it critical in many medical electronics applications. Using a PCB with gold traces and conductors on polyimide instead of copper conductors provides a fully biocompatible option. Wait, what? Gold conductors, not gold-coated copper conductors? Yes!

    Someone recently commented that it took a significant amount of digging and internet searching to find a fabricator capable of producing gold conductors on polyimide. That makes sense. Traditional subtractive etch processes start with a polyimide/copper laminate and etch away the unneeded copper to create the circuit pattern. The chemistries that enable these processes are specifically formulated for copper, and with most fabricators, that has been the only metal available for circuitry. But as the industry begins to adopt additive or semi-additive PCB fabrication techniques, fabricators can build circuitry with much finer features, and the ability to form gold conductors becomes much easier.

    A-SAP™: Semi-additive Fabrication of a PCB with Gold Traces

    Let’s take a step back and look at the A-SAP™ technology and how a semi-additive fabrication process works. As the name implies, the circuitry is “added” to the laminate rather than created by “subtracting” the copper from the laminate. Starting with a traditional polyimide/copper laminate, the copper on the panel is COMPLETELY etched away, leaving the bare laminate. LMI™ (liquid metal ink) is then applied to the laminate. Once that is cured, an extremely thin layer of electroless copper is applied to the panel. A photoresist is then applied, and photolithography techniques define the circuit pattern. Electrolytic copper builds the traces to the required thickness, and a flash etch removes the remaining very thin electroless copper layer. The panels follow the same process steps as the subtractive etch processed panels would finish the standard PCB fabrication process. 

    This process has recently begun to be licensed to PCB fabricators interested in meeting the increasing market demand for circuit boards with very fine feature sizes. A-SAP™ allows designers and fabricators to work with trace width and space as small as 15 microns, which can significantly simplify the routing and fabrication processes. For example, with design constraints at 75 microns, which is the common limitation for subtractive etch processing, a designer was forced down the path of 12 layers, stacked microvias, and three lamination cycles. This construction is complex to build, often has lower yields, and carries significantly higher costs. That same design was re-thought using 25-micron trace and space, resulting in a much simpler design. Four subtractive etch layers were combined with four A-SAP™ layers, reducing the total layer count to 8 and reducing the required number of lamination cycles from 3 to 1.

    PCB gold traces fabrication
    This image shows an example of gold PCB traces that can be fabricated with hte A-SAP™ process.

    This technology is relatively new to the commercial market, and many are excited about the possibilities that this brings to PCB design: smaller form factor, reduced layer count, less dependence on stacked microvias, increased functionality within a set circuit size. 

    Gold on Flexible Polyimide

    Along with the ability to form very fine feature sizes and simplify complex routing requirements. Because this semi-additive approach completely removes the copper from the laminate, flexible circuit designs using polyimide dielectric are no longer constrained to copper conductors. Platinum, palladium, nickel, silver, and gold PCB traces are possibilities. Do you have an application that could benefit from the properties of one of these other metals? Does that get your imagination going? I hope so. This is an exciting new capability. 

    Duke University published a study about the use of gold conductors and polyimide in a neural probe application. Several material combinations were included in the study, two combinations of polyimide, copper conductors and ENIG, LCP with gold conductors, and polyimide with gold conductors. The polyimide with gold conductor combination far outperformed the other options.

    PCB gold traces on polyimide
    Polyimide PCB with gold traces for flexible electronics.

    The A-SAP™ process is compatible with PCB fabrication techniques and is being licensed by fabricators. The real power behind A-SAP™ is the ability to form feature sizes as small as 15 microns. The best way to apply this technology is to continually evolve as the industry collectively starts to utilize technology and develop best practices. My best advice when working with A-SAP™ is to work with your fabricator from start to finish in the design process. With very few “design rules,” this collaborative approach will ensure that using A-SAP™ in your manufacturing run is cost-effective.

    The added benefit of this new process is the ability to re-think the conductive metal used for circuitry. It is something that is just starting to be explored in a commercial environment rather than the lab environment. The clear benefit of gold on polyimide for biocompatibility is something that I imagine more and more medical applications will explore as the technology develops and commercial capacity is available. As with the fine feature sizes, work collaboratively with your fabricator throughout the design process. Both designers and fabricators will be following a learning curve with these new capabilities. This is a great time to apply even more creativity to the design process and take advantage of PCBs with gold traces. 

    Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more or discover more about Selecting the Best Flex Fabricator

    About Author

    About Author

    Tara is a recognized industry expert with more than 20 years of experience working with: PCB engineers, designers, fabricators, sourcing organizations, and printed circuit board users. Her expertise is in flex and rigid-flex, additive technology, and quick-turn projects. She is one of the industry's top resources to get up to speed quickly on a range of subjects through her technical reference site PCBadvisor.com and contributes regularly to industry events as a speaker, writes a column in the magazine PCB007.com, and hosts Geek-a-palooza.com. Her business Omni PCB is known for its same day response and the ability to fulfill projects based on unique specifications: lead time, technology and volume.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home