Routing von Hochgeschwindigkeitssignalen: 5 wichtige Beschränkungen

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: April 29, 2020  |  Updated: November 25, 2020
Routing von Hochgeschwindigkeitssignalen: 5 wichtige Beschränkungen

Ihre moderne Digitalplatine wird höchstwahrscheinlich als Hochgeschwindigkeitsplatine eingestuft, unabhängig davon, ob Sie sich die Datenblätter Ihrer Komponenten angesehen haben. Wenn Sie mit dem Design beginnen, müssen Sie daher einige wichtige Punkte beachten. Abgesehen von Floorplanning und Stackup-Design muss Ihre Routing-Strategie innerhalb einiger wichtiger Beschränkungen funktionieren.

Nachdem Sie Ihren Schaltplan als Anfangslayout erfasst und eine erste Komponentenanordnung erstellt haben, ist es an der Zeit, Ihre Routing-Beschränkungen zu definieren. Wenn Sie dies frühzeitig tun, kann Ihre DRC-Engine Regelverletzungen erkennen, bevor Sie Ihr Layout fertigstellen. Ebenso können Sie den Standardregelsatz so modifizieren, dass er Ihren Layout-Anforderungen entspricht. Hier sind die wichtigsten Routing-Beschränkungen, die Sie überprüfen sollten, bevor Sie loslegen. 

Beschränkungen beim Routing von Hochgeschwindigkeitssignalen

Bei der Arbeit mit Hochgeschwindigkeitssignalen sind die Routing-Strategie und -Beschränkungen wichtige Determinanten der Signalintegrität. Wenn Sie die richtigen Design-Beschränkungen definieren, können Sie typische Signalintegritätsprobleme in den folgenden Bereichen vermeiden:

  • Übersprechen: Dies hängt mit dem Leiterbahnabstand und der Geometrie zusammen;
  • Reflexionen: Diese hängen mit den Impedanztoleranzen und der Terminierung zusammen;
  • EMI-Empfindlichkeit: Diese hängt mit der Schleifeninduktivität für Ihre Leiterbahnen zusammen;
  • Transientes Klingeln: Dieses wird oft austauschbar mit Reflexionen verwendet, da die beiden Signalintegritätsprobleme ähnlich aussehen, sie sind jedoch unterschiedlich. Das Klingeln hängt mit der Schleifeninduktivität und eventuellen Störelementen (“parasitics“) auf der Platine zusammen.

 

Hier sind die wichtigsten Beschränkungen für das Routing von Hochgeschwindigkeitssignalen. Wie wir sehen werden, geht es bei vielen dieser Beschränkungen darum, ein genaues Impedanzprofil für Ihre Platine zu erstellen.

Beschränkungen für Impedanzabweichungen

Da die meisten Leiterbahnen auf Ihrer Hochgeschwindigkeitsplatine wahrscheinlich länger als die kritische Länge der Übertragungsleitung sind, müssen Sie eine Impedanzsteuerung verwenden, um sicherzustellen, dass die Signale ohne Reflexionen empfangen werden. Ich habe eine Reihe von Signalintegritätsproblemen erwähnt, die durch Impedanzfehlanpassungen entstehen, aber das wichtigste ist die Hin-und-Her-Reflexion, die bei elektrisch langen Leitungen auftritt, wenn die Impedanzen falsch angepasst sind.

Ihr Signalisierungsstandard definiert eine zulässige Impedanzfehlanpassung zwischen einer Quelle, einer Übertragungsleitung und einer Last, und diese sollte beim Aufbau Ihres Stackups definiert werden. Als Teil eines impedanzkontrollierten Designs können Sie die zulässige Toleranz einer Leitung als Designregel in Ihrem Layer Stack Manager definieren. Sobald Sie dieses kontrollierte Impedanzprofil definiert haben, sind die Beschränkungen in Ihrem Designregel-Manager und in Ihren Routing-Tools verfügbar.

High-speed routing and impedance profile design
 Impedanzprofil für das Routing von Hochgeschwindigkeitssignalen

Beschränkungen für Leiterbahnabstände und -breiten

Die Leiterbahnabstände bestimmen die Stärke des induktiven und kapazitiven Übersprechens in Hochgeschwindigkeitsdesigns. Wenn die Leiterbahnen zu dicht beieinander liegen, ist das Übersprechen zu groß. Bei Differentialpaaren ist die differentielle Impedanz zu niedrig, wenn Sie die Enden zu weit voneinander entfernt platzieren. Wenn Sie das richtige Impedanzprofil mit einem elektromagnetischen Solver in Ihrem Stackup-Manager berechnet haben, können Sie dieses Impedanzprofil zur Definition von Abweichungen in der Leiterbahnbreite und im Leiterbahnabstand verwenden.

Ein wichtiger Punkt ist auch die Bestimmung der zulässigen Breitenabweichungen. Sie können diese Abweichungen manuell einstellen, wenn Sie selbst einige Berechnungen durchgeführt haben oder wenn Ihre Spuren kürzer als die kritische Länge sind. Andernfalls ist es am besten, dies mit dem Impedanzprofil für Ihre Leiterplatte zu verknüpfen, um sicherzustellen, dass Ihre Leiterbahnen ihre Impedanzziele erreichen.

Differential pair routing constraints for high-speed signal routing
 Definieren von Routing-Beschränkungen für Differentialpaare

Beschränkungen für den Rückpfad

Der Rückpfad in Ihrer Leiterplatte bestimmt die gesamte Schleifeninduktivität für eine Schaltung, und die Verfolgung des Rückpfades ist ein kritischer Aspekt Ihrer Hochgeschwindigkeits-Leiterplatte. Selbst wenn Sie Erfahrung mit der Verfolgung des Rückpfads in Ihrer Leiterplatte haben, hilft es immer noch, eine Beschränkung in Bezug auf die zulässige Abweichung zwischen einer Signalspur und ihrer Referenzebene zu definieren.

Da der Rückpfad in Ihrer Leiterplatte die Gesamtimpedanz bestimmt, die von einem sich ausbreitenden Signal gesehen wird, muss die entsprechende Rückpfad-Beschränkung anhand Ihres berechneten Impedanzprofils definiert werden. Die zulässige Abweichung von Ihrer Zielimpedanz bestimmt die zulässige Abstandsänderung von Ihrer Referenzebene. Im Allgemeinen erzeugt eine größere zulässige Impedanzabweichung eine größere zulässige Rückpfadabweichung in Ihrer Leiterplatte.

Return path check in high-speed signal routing
 Rückpfadprüfung und Beschränkungen für eine Single-Ended 50-Ohm-Leiterbahn

Beschränkungen für die Länge von Leiterbahnen und Längenfehlanpassungen

Längenanpassungsbeschränkungen werden formuliert, um zwei mögliche Signalisierungsprobleme zu vermeiden:

  • Übermäßiger Verlust: Aufgrund von Dämpfung und Widerstandsverlusten gegenüber Kupfer, kommt es bei jedem Signal zu Verlusten entlang der Leiterbahn. Die Gesamtdämpfung entlang einer Leiterbahn kann bei hohen Frequenzen (~1 GHz und darüber) und über lange Leiterbahnen mehrere dB erreichen. Ein typischer Richtwert ist die Verwendung der Einfügedämpfung am Rand des Hochfrequenzbands, um einen Grenzwert für die Gesamtlänge zu definieren.

 

  • Zulässiger Versatz zwischen Leiterbahnen: Daten werden zwischen Komponenten auf mehreren Leitungen oft parallel gesendet. Differentialpaare erfordern zudem eine strikte Längenanpassung, um die Gleichtakt-Rauschunterdrückung zu gewährleisten. Mehrere Differentialpaare können verwendet werden, um Daten parallel zu leiten (z. B. der Eingang einiger Serializer-Komponenten). In all diesen Fällen muss eine Längenfehlanpassungsbeschränkung durchgesetzt werden, um sicherzustellen, dass parallele Daten gleichzeitig am Ziel ankommen und dass die Differentialpaare die gewünschte Gleichtakt-Rauschunterdrückung bieten.
Length matching in high-speed signal routing
Längenanpassung zwischen zwei Differentialpaaren mit Akkordeon-Muster. Diese Leiterbahnenpaare haben die gleiche Länge und jedes Ende des Differentialpaares hat die gleiche Länge.

Wenn Sie einen Systemtakt haben, der mit einer Reihe von anderen digitalen Leitungen in Ihrem System synchronisiert werden muss, kann die Längenanpassung ziemlich kompliziert werden. Dazu muss die Gate-Ausbreitungsverzögerung und die Signalausbreitungszeit entlang einer Verbindung berücksichtigt und diese dann zwischen den Verbindungen verglichen werden. Welche Leiterbahnlänge wählen Sie als Maximalwert?

Wenn Sie mehrere digitale Signale haben, die sich zwischen den Komponenten auf der gesamten Platine bewegen, wird kein Systemtakt verwendet. Stattdessen wird eine eingebettete Taktung oder eine quellensynchrone Taktung eingesetzt. Dies sind die Standardmethoden zur Entfernung redundanter Taktsignale bei der Arbeit mit verschiedenen Computerschnittstellen (z. B. DDR, PCIe usw.).

Beschränkungen für das Signalverhalten

Diese letzte Kategorie ist recht breit gefächert, da es in jeder Leiterplatte viele Quellen für Signalverzerrungen gibt. Darüber hinaus können transientes Signalverhalten oder Übersprechen ein Über-/Unterschwingen erzeugen. Selbst wenn Sie ein genaues Impedanzprofil haben, können Störfelemente außerdem die Impedanz bestimmter Leiterbahnen verändern und ein starkes reflektierendes Klingeln erzeugen.

Die genaue Grenze des Über-/Unterschwingens hängt von Ihren Rauschabständen und der Größe des undefinierten Bereichs an Ihren Empfängerkomponenten ab. Im Allgemeinen haben Komponenten mit niedrigerem Signalpegel niedrigere Rauschmargen, was ein geringeres Über-/Unterschwingen erfordert. Wenn Sie diese wichtigen Beschränkungen des Signalverhaltens in Ihre Designregeln aufnehmen, können Sie Netze mit stark transientem Verhalten identifizieren, die zu Über-/Unterschwingungen führen. Sie können dann Maßnahmen ergreifen, um Terminierungsschemata anzuwenden oder bestimmte Leiterbahnen so umzugestalten, dass sie ein geringeres Klingeln aufweisen.

High-speed signal routing and signal integrity
 Mit Ihren Signalintegritäts-Tools können Sie bei der Definition und Über-/Unterschreitung der Beschränkung ein übermäßiges Klingeln markieren.

Routing von Hochgeschwindigkeitssignalen in einer einheitlichen Umgebung

All diese Aktivitäten sind viel einfacher, wenn Sie mit einer Designplattform arbeiten, bei der alles in einer einzigen Designumgebung integriert ist. Ihre Routing-Tools kennzeichnen Verstöße dann bereits während der Erstellung Ihres Layouts, so dass Sie nicht wiederholt DRCs ausführen müssen.

Hier kommt Altium Designer® voll zur Geltung: Sie müssen keine separaten Design-Tools verwenden, um einen Schaltplan zu erstellen, ihn als Layout zu erfassen, Ihre Signale zu routen und wichtige Signalintegritätssimulationen durchzuführen. Stattdessen läuft alles, was Sie brauchen, über eine regelgesteuerte Design-Engine, in der Layout- und Routing-Beschränkungen in allen Ihren Design-Tools zugänglich sind.

Sie können jetzt eine kostenlose Testversion von Altium Designer herunterladen und mehr über die besten Layout-, Simulations- und Produktionsplanungstools der Branche erfahren. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit jemandem von Altium, um mehr zu erfahren.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    High-Speed Signal Routing: The 5 Important Constraints

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  April 29, 2020
    High-Speed Signal Routing: The 5 Important Constraints

    Your modern digital board is most likely classified as high speed, regardless of whether you looked at the datasheets for your components. Designing your board successfully will take some important steps when you begin your design. Aside from floorplanning and stackup design, your routing strategy will need to operate within some important constraints.

    After you capture your schematic as an initial layout and create an initial component arrangement, it’s time to define your routing constraints. Doing this early will allow your DRC engine to spot rules violations before you finish your layout. Likewise, you’ll be able to modify the default rule set to meet your layout requirements. Here are the important routing constraints you’ll need to check before you start routing your board.

    High-Speed Signal Routing Constraints

    When working with high-speed signals, your high-speed signal routing strategy and constraints will be major determinants of signal integrity. If you can define the right design constraints, then you can prevent common signal integrity problems in the following areas:

    • Crosstalk: this is related to trace spacing and geometry;
    • Reflections: this is related to impedance tolerances and termination;
    • EMI susceptibility: this is related to the loop inductance for your traces;
    • Transient ringing; this is often used interchangeably with reflections as the two signal integrity problems look similar, but they are different. This is related to the loop inductance and any parasitics in the board.

    Here are the important high-speed signal routing constraints that will help your high-speed board operate properly. As we will see, many of these important constraints center around building an accurate impedance profile for your board.

    Impedance Variation Constraints

    As most traces in your high-speed board are likely to be longer than the transmission line critical length, you’ll need to use impedance control to ensure signals are received without reflection. I’ve mentioned a number of signal integrity problems impedance mismatches creates, but the most important is the back-and-forth reflection that occurs on electrically long lines when impedances are mismatched.

    Your signalling standard will define some permissible impedance mismatch between a source, transmission line, and load, and this should be defined when building your layer stack. As part of impedance controlled design, you can define the allowed tolerance of a line as a design rule in your layer stack manager. Once you’ve defined this controlled impedance profile, these constraints will be available in your design rule manager and routing tools.

    High-speed routing and impedance profile design
    Impedance profile for high-speed signal routing.

    Trace Spacing and Width Constraints

    Trace spacing will determine the strength of inductive and capacitive crosstalk in high-speed designs. If traces are too close together, crosstalk will be too large. For differential pairs, if you place each end too far apart, then the differential impedance will be too low. If you calculated the correct impedance profile using an electromagnetic solver in your stackup manager, then you’ll be able to use this impedance profile to define variances in your trace width and spacing.

    Determining your allowed variations in width is also an important point. You can set these deviations manually if you have done some calculations on your own, or if your traces are shorter than the critical length. Otherwise, it is best to link this to your impedance profile for your board to ensure your traces meet their impedance targets.

    Differential pair routing constraints for high-speed signal routing
    Defining differential pair routing constraints

    Return Path Constraints

    The return path in your PCB will determine the overall loop inductance for a circuit, and keeping track of your return path is a critical aspect of your high-speed PCB. Even if you have experience tracking the return path in your board, it still helps to define a constraint relating the allowed deviation between a signal trace and its reference plane.

    Because the return path in your board determines the overall impedance seen by a propagating signal, the relevant return path constraint must be defined from your calculated impedance profile. The allowed deviation from your target impedance determines the allowed variation in distance from your reference plane. In general, a larger allowed impedance variation creates a larger allowed return path deviation constraint in your board.

    Return path check in high-speed signal routing
    Return path checking and constraints for a single-ended 50 Ohm trace.

    Trace Length and Length Mismatch Constraints

    Length matching constraints are formulated to address two possible signalling problems:

    • Excessive loss: any signal will experience loss along the trace due to attenuation and resistive loss to copper. The total attenuation along a trace can reach several dB at high frequencies (~1 GHz and above) and over long traces. A typical benchmark is to use the insertion loss at the high frequency band edge to define a limit on the total length.
    • Permissible skew between traces: data is often sent between components on multiple lines in parallel. Differential pairs also require strict length matching to ensure common-mode noise cancellation. Multiple differential pairs can be used to route data in parallel (e.g., the input of some serializer components). In all these cases, a length mismatch constraint must be enforced to ensure parallel data arrives at its destination simultaneously, and that differential pairs provide the desired common-mode noise cancellation.
    Length matching in high-speed signal routing
    Length matching between two differential pairs with accordion tuning. These pairs of traces have the same length, and each end of the differential pair has the same length.

    When you have a system clock that needs to be synchronized with a number of other digital lines in your system, length matching can get quite complicated. This requires accounting for the gate propagation delay, the signal propagation time along an interconnect, and then comparing these between interconnects. Which trace length do you take as the maximum value?

    In this case, where you have multiple digital signals moving between components throughout the board, the device will not use a system clock. Instead, embedded clocking or source synchronous clocking is used. These are the standard methods for removing redundant clock signals when working with different computer interfaces (e.g., DDR, PCIe, etc.).

    Signal Behavior Constraints

    This last category is quite broad as there are many sources of signal distortion in any PCB. In addition, transient signal behavior or crosstalk can produce overshoot/undershoot. In addition, even if you do have an accurate impedance profile, parasitics can alter the impedance of particular traces and produce strong reflective ringing.

    The exact limit on overshoot/undershoot depends on your noise margins and the size of the undefined region at your receiver components. In general, lower signal level components have lower noise margins, requiring lower overshoot/undershoot. If you include these important signal behavior constraints in your design rules, you can identify nets with strong transient behavior that leads to overshoot/undershoot. You can then take steps to apply termination schemes or redesign particular traces to have lower ringing.

    High-speed signal routing and signal integrity
    You can use flag excessive ringing on high-speed signals with your signal integrity tools when you define and overshoot/undershoot constraint.

    High-Speed Signal Routing in a Unified Environment

    All these activities are much easier when you work with a design platform where everything is integrated into a single design environment. Your routing tools need to flag violations as you create your layout, rather than forcing you to run repeated DRCs in batches.

    This is where Altium Designer® truly shines; you won’t have to use separate design tools to create a schematic, capture it as a layout, route your signals, and perform important signal integrity simulations. Instead, everything you need runs on top of a rules-driven design engine, where layout and routing constraints are accessible across all your design tools.

    Now you can download a free trial of Altium Designer and learn more about the industry’s best layout, simulation, and production planning tools. Talk to someone at Altium today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home