Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD-PLATTFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    Burn-in-Tests in der Elektronik – was ist das?

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  May 6, 2020
     Burn-in-Tests in der Elektronik – was ist das?

    Wenn Sie die Produktion einer neuen Leiterplatte in Angriff nehmen, planen Sie vermutlich eine ganze Kaskade an Tests für Ihr neues Produkt. Diese Tests konzentrieren sich oft auf die Funktionalität und bei Hochgeschwindigkeits- und Hochfrequenzplatinen auch auf die Signal- und Leistungsintegrität. Möglicherweise streben Sie eine hohe Zuverlässigkeit und lange Betriebsdauer Ihres Produkts an, und Sie benötigen Daten, um die minimale Lebensdauer Ihres Produkts zuverlässig bestimmen zu können.

    Neben In-Circuit-Tests, Funktionstests und möglichen mechanischen Prüfungen können die Bauteile sowie die Platinen selbst von einem Burn-In-Test profitieren. Wenn Sie vorhaben, in hohen Stückzahlen zu produzieren, sollten Sie diesen möglichst vor dem Anlaufen der Massenfertigung durchführen.

    Was ist ein Burn-in-Test?

    Während eines Burn-In-Tests werden die Komponenten auf einer speziellen Burn-In-Platine bei oder über ihren Nennbetriebsbedingungen belastet, um Bauteile zu identifizieren, die vor ihrer Nennlebensdauer ausfallen werden (Frühausfälle). Zu diesen Betriebsbedingungen können Temperatur, Spannung/Strom, Betriebsfrequenz oder andere Einsatzparameter gehören, die als obere Grenzwerte angegeben werden. Diese Art von Belastungstest wird manchmal als beschleunigter Lebensdauertest (eine Untergruppe der beschleunigten Grenzlastprüfungen (Highly Accelerated Life Test, HALT) bzw. Belastungsschnellprüfungen (Highly Accelerated Stress Screening, HASS)) bezeichnet, da er den Betrieb einer Komponente über einen längeren Zeitraum und unter extremen Bedingungen nachahmt.

    Das Ziel bei diesen Zuverlässigkeitstests ist es, genügend Daten zu sammeln, um eine Ausfallverteilung („Badewannenkurve“, ein Beispiel ist unten dargestellt) zu erstellen. Der unglücklicherweise als „Säuglingssterblichkeit“ (Infant Mortality) bezeichnete Teil umfasst frühe Bauteileausfälle aufgrund von Herstellungsfehlern. Solche Tests werden normalerweise bei 125° C durchgeführt.

    Bathtub curve in burn-in testing
     Die Badewannenkurve veranschaulicht die Produktlebensdauer

    Burn-In-Tests und Belastungstests unter Umgebungsbedingungen können mit einer Prototypenplatine bei 125° C oder oberhalb der Glasübergangstemperatur für das vorgesehene Substratmaterial durchgeführt werden. Dies liefert einige Grenzdaten über mechanische Belastungsausfälle für die Leiterplatte sowie über Bauteilausfälle. Man unterscheidet zwei verschiedene Arten von Burn-in-Tests:

    Statische Prüfung

    Bei einem statischen Burn-In werden obere Grenztemperaturen und/oder Spannungen an die einzelnen Bauelemente angelegt, ohne Eingangssignale zuzuführen. Dies ist ein einfacher, kostengünstiger, beschleunigter Lebensdauertest. Testbaugruppen müssen dazu nur in einer Klimakammer laufen. Die Kammer wird auf Temperatur gebracht und das System an die gewünschte Spannung angeschlossen. Diese Prüfmethode eignet sich am besten als thermischer Test zur Simulation der Lagerung bei extremen Temperaturen. Das Anlegen einer statischen Spannung während des Tests aktiviert nicht alle Netzknoten in den Schaltkreisen, sodass er keine umfassende Aussage über die Zuverlässigkeit der Bauelemente liefert.

    Dynamische Prüfung

    Bei dieser Art von Test werden Eingangssignale an jedes Bauteil angelegt, während eine Burn-In-Platine extremen Temperaturen und Spannungen ausgesetzt wird. Dies ermöglicht einen vollständigeren Blick auf die Bauteilzuverlässigkeit, da interne Schaltungen in ICs auf ihre Ausfallsicherheit hin bewertet werden können. Die Ausgangssignale können während eines dynamischen Tests überwacht werden, sodass man sich einen Überblick darüber verschaffen kann, welche Punkte auf der Platine am anfälligsten für Fehler sind.

    Jeder Burn-In-Test, der zum Ausfall führt, muss mit einer gründlichen Inspektion abgeschlossen werden. Dies gilt insbesondere bei Belastungstests für Leiterplatten-Prototypen. Diese Tests können zeitaufwendig, kostspielig und materialintensiv sein. Sie sind jedoch entscheidend für die Maximierung der Produktlebensdauer und die Bewertung Ihrer Designentscheidungen. Diese Tests gehen weit über In-Circuit-Tests und Funktionstests hinaus, da sie ein neues Produkt bis an seine Belastungsgrenze beanspruchen.

    Zuverlässigkeitstests auf Leiterplatten- vs. Bauteilebene

    Burn-in-Tests beziehen sich nicht ausschließlich auf Belastungstests an Prototypenplatten – diese werden normalerweise als HALT/HASS bezeichnet. Burn-In-Tests können neben anderen Umgebungs-/Belastungstests Ausfälle auf Leiterplatten- und Komponentenebene aufdecken. Diese Tests werden dann genau mit oder über den spezifizierten Betriebsbedingungen durchgeführt.

    Einige Leiterplattenentwickler zögern mitunter, Ergebnisse von Burn-In-Tests und anderen Belastungstests zu akzeptieren, die über den Komponentenspezifikationen oder außerhalb der vorgesehenen Betriebsbedingungen für die Leiterplatte/Komponenten liegen. Die Logik dahinter ist, dass die Platine und/oder die Komponenten niemals solche Betriebsbedingungen vorfinden sollen, wenn sie in ihrer vorgesehenen Umgebung eingesetzt werden. Daher seien die Testergebnisse nicht aussagekräftig. Dies verfehlt jedoch gerade den Sinn von beschleunigten Burn-In-Tests und Stresstests im Allgemeinen.

    Burn-in and stress testing
    Stresstests auf Baugruppenebene können diese Gefahr bei Ihrem nächsten Entwurf verhindern.

    Mit der Durchführung dieser Tests bei Überschreitung der Spezifikation können mehr Fehlerquellen früher lokalisiert werden; mehrere dieser Tests in Serie zeigen, wie diese Fehlerquellen über die Betriebsdauer auftreten, wodurch Sie einen viel besseren Überblick über die Zuverlässigkeit erhalten. Das Überschreiten der Spezifikationen führt schlicht zu einer schnelleren Alterung Ihres Produkts und gibt Ihnen einen genaueren Einblick in die Ausfallverteilung.

    Indem Sie eventuelle Schwachstellen beheben, die bei einem überdimensionierten Test festgestellt wurden, können Sie die Lebensdauer Ihrer Platine erheblich verlängern. Wenn Ihre Konstruktionssoftware Zugriff auf Supply-Chain-Daten hat, lassen sich dann problemlos einzelne Bauteile gegen geeignete Alternativen austauschen, die über eine längere Nennlebensdauer verfügen. All diese Schritte tragen wesentlich dazu bei, die Zuverlässigkeit Ihres Endprodukts zu erhöhen.

    Sobald Sie Ihre Burn-In-Testergebnisse von Ihrem Hersteller erhalten haben und Sie Design-Änderungen planen, können Sie Ihr Layout gezielt modifizieren und sich auf einen neuen Fertigungslauf mit Altium Designer® vorbereiten. Zusätzlich zu den branchenüblichen Routing- und Layout-Funktionen haben Sie Zugriff auf einen kompletten Werkzeugkasten für die Datenverwaltung, die Wiederverwendung von Entwürfen und das Supply-Chain-Management, was eine problemlose Änderung Ihres Designs ermöglicht.

    Jetzt können Sie eine kostenlose Testversion von Altium Designer herunterladen und mehr über die besten Layout-, Simulations- und Produktionsplanungstools der Branche erfahren. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Altium-Experten, um mehr zu erfahren.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

Altium Online Store

Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Altium Online Store

    Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    What is Burn-in Testing for Electronics?

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  May 6, 2020
    What is Burn-in Testing for Electronics?

    Once you’re planning for production of any new board, you’ll likely be planning a battery of tests for your new product. These tests often focus on functionality and, for high speed/high frequency boards, signal/power integrity. However, you may intend for your product to operate for an extreme period of time, and you’ll need some data to reliably place a lower limit on your product’s lifetime.

    In addition to in-circuit tests, functional tests, and possibly mechanical tests, the components and boards themselves can benefit from burn-in testing. If you’re planning to produce at scale, this is best performed before ramping up to high volume.

    What is Burn-in Testing?

    During burn-in testing, components on a special burn-in board are stressed at or above their rated operating conditions in order to eliminate any components that would prematurely fail before their rated lifetime. These operating conditions can include temperature, voltage/current, operating frequency, or any other operating conditions that are specified as an upper limit. These types of stress tests are sometimes called accelerated lifetime tests (a subset of HALT/HASS), as they mimic the operation of a component for an extended period of time and under extreme conditions.

    The goal in these reliability tests is to gather enough data to form a bathtub curve (an example is shown below). The unfortunately-named “infant mortality” portions comprises early component failures due to manufacturing defects. These tests are normally performed at 125 °C.

    Bathtub curve in burn-in testing
    Bathtub curve showing product reliability

    Burn-in tests and environmental stress tests can be performed with a prototype board at 125 °C, or above the glass transition temperature for the intended substrate material. This will provide some extreme data on mechanical stress failures for the board alongside data on component failures. Burn-in testing comprises two different types of tests:

    Static Testing

    A static burn-in involves simply applying extreme temperatures and/or voltages to each component without applying input signals. This is a simple, low-cost, accelerated lifetime test. Probes simply need to run into an environmental chamber, the chamber is brought up to temperature, and the device is brought up to the desired applied voltage. This type of test is best used as a thermal test to mimic storage at extreme temperatures. Applying a static voltage during the test will not activate all nodes in the device, so it does not give a comprehensive view of component reliability.

    Dynamic Testing

    This type of test involves applying input signals to each component while a burn-in board is exposed to extreme temperatures and voltage. This provides a more comprehensive view of component reliability, as internal circuitry in ICs can be assessed for reliability. The outputs can be monitored during a dynamic test, giving some view of exactly which points on the board are most vulnerable to failure.

    Any burn-in test that leads to failure needs to be followed up with a thorough inspection. This is especially true in stress tests for prototype boards. These tests can be time-consuming and expensive in terms of time and materials, but they are critical for maximizing the useful lifetime of your product and qualifying your design choices. These tests go far beyond in-circuit tests and functional tests, as they stress a new product to its breaking point.

    Board-level vs. Component-level Reliability Tests

    Burn-in tests do not refer specifically to stress tests with prototype boards—this is normally given the name HALT/HASS. Burn-in tests, alongside other environmental/stress tests, can reveal board-level and component-level failures. These tests can be performed exactly at specifications or above specified operating conditions.

    Some board designers may be hesitant to accept results from burn-in tests and other stress tests that are above component specs, or outside the intended operating conditions for the board/components. The logic behind this is that the board and/or components will never see such operating conditions when deployed in its intended environment, so the test results must not be valid. This misses the point of over-spec’d burn-in tests and stress tests in general.

    Burn-in and stress testing
    Board-level stress testing can prevent this type of disaster in your next design.

    Running these tests over-spec allows more failure points to be located. Running multiple tests in series allows you to see how these failure points arise over time, giving you a much better view of reliability. Running over-spec simply provides greater acceleration of your product’s lifetime and gives you a deeper view of the bathtub curve.

    If you can address any failure points identified during an over-spec’d test, you can significantly increase the lifetime of your finished board. If you have access to supply chain data in your design software, you can easily swap out components with suitable replacements that have longer rated lifetimes. All these steps go a long way toward increasing the lifetime of your finished product.

    Once you get your burn-in test results from your manufacturer and you’re planning design changes, you can quickly modify your layout and prepare for a new fabrication run with Altium Designer®. In addition to the industry-standard routing and layout features, you’ll have access to a complete set of data management, design reuse, and supply chain visibility tools that make design modification easy.

    Now you can download a free trial of Altium Designer and learn more about the industry’s best layout, simulation, and production planning tools. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home