PCB-Kosten: Erstellung einer Kostenschätzung für die Leiterplattenherstellung

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: June 5, 2020  |  Updated: November 11, 2020
So erstellen Sie eine Schätzung für PCB-Kosten

Solange ich keinen Layout-Auftrag direkt von einem Hersteller erhalte, fragen meine Kunden mich normalerweise, ob ich ein Hersteller bin. Meine Firma stellt keine Leiterplatten her. Dennoch halte ich es für notwendig, meine Klienten über die PCB-Kosten der Herstellung aufzuklären. Als ich begann, Kostenschätzungen für meine ersten Projekte zu sammeln, fing ich an, die primären Kostentreiber der Leiterplattenherstellung besser zu verstehen und zu lernen, wie man Voranschläge für Leiterplatten-Kosten am besten strukturiert.

Manche Anbieter bieten praktische Kalkulatoren zur Schätzung der Leiterplattenherstellungskosten an. Die wahren Kosten hängen jedoch von einer Vielzahl von Faktoren ab. Als Unternehmer, der seine eigenen Leiterplatten herstellt oder die Fertigung, Prüfung und Lieferung für neue Projekt leitet, ist es Ihre Aufgabe, Ihren Kunden die primären Kostentreiber transparent zu machen. Nachfolgend erfahren Sie, wie Sie die Fertigungskosten schätzen können, egal ob für lokale oder ausländische Hersteller.

Was bestimmt die PCB-Kosten der Herstellung?

Die PCB-Kosten der Fertigung werden von einer Reihe an Faktoren beeinflusst. Im Allgemeinen führen höhere Stückzahlen, die Anzahl von Durchkontaktierungen auf der Leiterplatte, kleinere Leiterbahnen, Vias und Bestückungslöcher sowie die Anzahl der Komponenten pro Leiterplatte zu steigenden Herstellungskosten. Diese sind jedoch nicht linear. Mit anderen Worten, die doppelte Anzahl Platinen und Komponenten verdoppelt nicht die Gesamtkosten eines Auftrags.

Dafür gibt es wesentliche Gründe: Zunächst fallen eine Reihe von Fixkosten bei jedem Fertigungsdurchgang an, wie Werkzeugkosten, Designprüfung, Schablonenerstellung und andere, abhängig von Ihren Anforderungen. Andere Aufwände sind variabel und werden pro Stück ermittelt. Diese Kosten sinken mit abnehmender Auftragsmenge, was jedoch wenig mit der Paneelisierung zu tun hat. Vielmehr sinken die Kosten pro Board durch Amortisation der Fixkosten über das gesamte Fertigungslos. Dasselbe Konzept gilt für die Montage (siehe unten).

Hier ist ein kleiner Überblick über die bedeutendsten Kostentreiber, die bei der Herstellung anfallen. Berücksichtigen Sie diese Faktoren, wenn Sie eine Kostenschätzung für die PCB-Herstellung erstellen.


Tabelle mit den wichtigsten Kostentreibern

PCB-Kosten für Prüfung und Inspektion

Prüfung und Inspektion sind zwei wichtige Aktivitäten, die bei der Fertigung neuer Baugruppen durchgeführt werden müssen. Fertigung und Inspektion nach IPC-A-600 Klasse 3 kostet mehr als Klasse 2; ähnliches gilt für andere relevante Normen und Klassen. Hersteller bieten zudem verschiedene Formen von Design- und Konstruktionsreviews bei der Produktion an. Bei allen Vorteilen einer vollständigen technischen Prüfung erhöht diese die Kosten pro Board deutlich und verursacht typischerweise zusätzliche Fixkosten. Erkundigen Sie sich auf jeden Fall, was mit den gewählten Prüfungsarten verbunden ist und legen Sie fest, welche Konstruktionsleistungen Sie dafür erbringen müssen, bevor Sie Ihrem Angebot eine technische Prüfung hinzufügen.

Kostentreiber Montage

Bei der Montage lassen sich die Kostentreiber wie folgt zusammenfassen:

  • Anzahl individueller Komponenten: Mehr unterschiedliche Bauteile bedeuten höhere Leiterplatten-Kosten, obwohl die Bestellung von größeren Bauteilmengen den Preis pro Teil senkt.
  • Komponententypen: Eine reine SMD-Baugruppe kann bis zu ~50 % mehr kosten als eine in Durchstecktechnik.
  • Anschlussabstände bei SMD-Bauteilen: Das hängt nach meiner Erfahrung stark vom Hersteller ab. Wenn Sie ausschließlich SMD verwenden, werden manche Hersteller für Bauelemente mit kleinerem Pitch keinen Aufpreis berechnen.
  • Verwendung von Ball-Grid-Arrays: Die Montage von BGAs kann ~20 % Mehrkosten gegenüber konventionellen SMD-Komponenten verursachen.
  • IPC-A-600 Klasse 3 und ITAR-Konformität: Produktion und Montage gemäß IPC-A-600 Klasse 3 verursachen deutlich höhere Kosten, wenngleich die Qualität des Endprodukts ebenfalls höher ist. Für die USA muss Ihr Projekt ggf. ITAR-konform sein. Fertige Baugruppen müssen dazu die ITAR-Anforderungen bezüglich Datenintegrität, PCB-Integrität und Versand erfüllen, was mit zusätzlichen Kosten verbunden ist.

Sofern keine Handmontage erfolgt, steigen die Montagekosten nicht linear mit der Baugruppenanzahl. Mit anderen Worten: Bei der maschinellen Bestückung verdoppelt eine Verdoppelung der Baugruppenstückzahl nicht die Montagekosten. Ein Teil fließt in die Werkzeugherstellung und Programmierung der Automaten, während der Rest für die Maschinenzeit aufgewendet wird.

Durch die automatisierte Bestückung sparen Sie insgesamt Kosten.

Die Bauteilkosten folgen einer ähnlichen Struktur. Bei der Beschaffung größerer Mengen kommen Sie ggf. in eine günstigere Preisklasse bei Ihrem Distributor, wodurch die PCB-Kosten pro Bauteil sinken. Aus diesem Grund ist es auch günstiger, von einem Lieferanten zu kaufen, statt mehrere Anbieter zu kombinieren.

Übersee oder lokale Fertigung

Ich bevorzuge lokale Produzenten, da ich so mehr Kontrolle über den Fertigungsprozess habe. Bei einfachen Baugruppen erledigen, nach meiner Erfahrung, chinesische Hersteller gute Arbeit, wenngleich sie sich jede kleine Auftragsergänzung (z. B. bestimmte Siebdruckmerkmale, Tests, andere Lötstoppmaskenfarbe) auf Heller und Pfennig bezahlen lassen. Für komplexere Baugruppen oder wenn das Design bestimmte Testanforderungen erfüllen muss, ziehe ich einen lokalen Hersteller vor, da ich Verantwortliche bei Bedarf telefonisch leicht erreichen kann.

Was die Stückkosten betrifft, so kann der Leiterplattenpreis von einem lokalen Hersteller (in den USA) um Faktor 5 höher liegen als für dieselbe im Ausland produzierten Leiterplatte – bei gleicher Lieferzeit. Montage ist ein ganz anderes Thema. Nicht alle Hersteller bieten diese vor Ort an, sodass Sie ein Angebot von einem Bestücker einholen müssen. Die Tatsache, dass Sie Ihre Leiterplatten vom Hersteller an Ihren Bestücker liefern müssen, erhöht die Beschaffungszeit, wodurch die immateriellen PCB-Kosten für das Endprodukt steigen.

Altium Designer® gibt Ihnen bei dem Entwurf Ihrer neuen Leiterplatte alle nötigen Tools an die Hand, um hochentwickelte Produkte zu designen, die auch die DFM-Anforderungen Ihres Herstellers erfüllen. Es erlaubt Ihnen in kürzester Zeit Fertigungsdaten zu generieren, die bei der Kostenkalkulation Ihrer Leiterplatte ausschlaggebend sind.

Mit dem neuen Altium 365 steht außerdem eine Cloud-Plattform zur Verfügung, mit der Sie eine noch bessere Kommunikation innerhalb Ihres Teams sowie zu Lieferanten gewährleisten können, und zwar von überall aus.

Laden Sie sich jetzt eine kostenlose Testversion von Altium Designer herunter, um mehr über das leistungsfähigste Layout-, Simulations- und Produktionsplanungstool der Branche erfahren. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Altium-Experten, um mehr zu erfahren.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    How to Create a PCB Manufacturing Cost Estimation

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  June 5, 2020
    How to Create a PCB Manufacturing Cost Estimation

    Unless I receive a layout job directly from a manufacturer, my clients will usually ask if I’m a manufacturer. My company doesn’t manufacture boards, but I think it’s important to keep clients informed of the manufacturing costs for new PCBs. Once I started gathering estimates for some of my first projects, I started to better understand the primary cost drivers of PCB manufacturing and how to properly structure a comprehensive estimate for my clients.

    Some manufacturers have very convenient PCB manufacturing cost estimation calculators you can use, but the real costs depend on a number of factors. If you’re an entrepreneur and you’re producing your own boards, or you are managing manufacturing, testing, and delivery for a new project, it’s your job to help clients understand the primary cost drivers for new boards. Here’s how you can get an estimate of your fabrication costs, both for local and overseas manufacturers.

    What Drives PCB Manufacturing Cost Estimation?

    There are a number of factors that drive manufacturing costs. In general, producing more boards, using more vias per board, using smaller traces/vias/mounting holes, and using more components per board will all increase manufacturing costs. However, the costs involved are not linear. In other words, double the number of boards and components will not double the total cost of an order.

    There are some important reasons for this. There are a number of fixed costs involved in any manufacturing run, including tooling costs, design review, stencil creation, and others, depending on your requirements. Other costs are variable and are determined on a per-board basis. The cost per board can decrease as order size decreases, which has less to do with panelization. Instead, this cost decrease per board is achieved by amortizing the fixed costs across the entire board run. The same idea applies to assembly (see below).

    Here is a short summary of some major cost drivers involved in fabrication. Be sure to consider each of these areas when creating a PCB manufacturing cost estimation.

    table


    Testing and Inspection Costs

    Testing and inspection are two important activities that also need to be performed when a new board is produced. Production and inspection up to IPC-A-600 Class 3 costs more than Class 2; the same applies to other relevant standards and classes. Manufacturers also offer different levels of design and engineering review during production. Taking advantage of a full engineering review can significantly increase the per-board cost and tends to carry an additional fixed cost. Be sure to inquire what is involved in this type of review and determine which design deliverables you need to provide before adding an engineering review service to your quote.

    Assembly Cost Drivers

    The cost drivers involved in assembly boil down to the following:

    • Number of unique components: More unique components equates to higher cost, although ordering components in bulk reduces the price per component.
    • Type of components: All-SMD assembly can cost up to ~50% more through-hole assembly.
    • Lead pitch on SMD components: I’ve seen that this varies by manufacturer. If you’re already using all-SMD, some manufacturers will not charge extra for finer pitch components.
    • Presence of any BGAs: BGA component assembly can cost ~20% more than other SMD components.
    • IPC-A-600 Class 3 and ITAR compliance: Production and assembly up to IPC-A-600 Class 3 can carry significantly higher costs, although the quality of the final product will be much higher. If you’re working in the U.S., your project may need to be ITAR compliant. Finished PCBs will need to adhere to ITAR requirements on data integrity, PCB integrity, and shipping, all of which carry additional costs.

    Unless assembly is being done by hand, assembly costs will not increase linearly with the number of boards. In other words, with automated assembly, doubling the number of boards does not double the cost of assembly. Some of the assembly cost goes into tooling and programming machines, while the remainder effectively pays for machine time.

    Automated assembly PCB manufacturing cost estimation
    Automated assembly will save you costs overall.

    Component costs follow a similar structure. When you order more components, you might reach a new price tier with your component distributor where the cost per component drops. This is one reason it’s better to buy from a single distributor rather than mix-and-match multiple distributors.

    Overseas vs. Local

    I prefer local manufacturers as it gives me more control over the process. For basic designs, I’ve found that Chinese manufacturers can do the job just fine, although they nickel-and-dime you on small additions to the order (e.g., certain screen printing features, testing, solder mask color). For more advanced designs, or if the design carries some specific testing requirements, I’d rather use a local manufacturer as I can talk to someone on the phone directly.

    In terms of cost, the per-unit price for a board produced locally (in the U.S.) can be a factor 5 as large as the price for the same board produced overseas with the same lead time. Assembly is another matter altogether, as not all manufacturers will provide on-site assembly, and you’ll need to get a quote from an assembler company. Having to ship your boards from your manufacturer to your assembler also increases your lead time, which adds intangible costs to your new product.

    When you’re building a new PCB, Altium Designer® gives you the tools you need to create products that include advanced features while complying with your manufacturer’s DFM requirements. You’ll also be able to quickly generate fabricator deliverables that aid PCB manufacturing cost estimation

    Now you can download a free trial of Altium Designer and learn more about the industry’s best layout, simulation, and production planning tools. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home