Comment établir une estimation du coût d’un PCB

Zachariah Peterson
|  June 5, 2020
Comment établir une estimation du coût d’un PCB

À moins que le travail de conception ne provienne directement d'un fabricant, mes clients me demandent généralement si je suis un fabricant. Mon entreprise ne fabrique pas de cartes de circuits imprimés, mais je pense qu'il est important de tenir les clients informés des frais d’un PCB et de sa fabrication. Dès que j'ai commencé à estimer certains de mes projets de PCB, j'ai pu mieux comprendre les principaux facteurs de coût de leur fabrication, et comment structurer correctement une estimation complète pour mes clients.

Certains fabricants disposent de calculateurs d'estimation du coût d’un PCB et sa fabrication très pratiques que vous pouvez utiliser, mais les frais d’un PCB réels dépendent de plusieurs facteurs. Si vous êtes un entrepreneur et que vous produisez vos propres circuits-imprimés, ou si vous gérez la fabrication, les essais et la livraison pour un nouveau projet, il vous incombe d'aider les clients à comprendre les principaux facteurs de coût des nouvelles cartes. Voici comment vous pouvez obtenir une estimation du coût d’un PCB et sa fabrication, tant pour les fabricants locaux qu'étrangers.

Sur quoi baser une estimation des coûts d’un PCB ?

Divers facteurs déterminent les frais d’un PCB et de sa fabrication. En général, les coûts de fabrication augmentent avec le nombre de cartes, de vias par carte, du choix des pistes/vias/trous de montage plus petits et du nombre de composants par carte. Néanmoins, les coûts ne sont pas linéaires. En d'autres termes, le doublement du nombre de cartes et de composants ne doublera pas le coût total d'une commande.

D’importantes raisons expliquent cette situation. Tout cycle de fabrication comporte un certain nombre de coûts fixes, notamment les coûts d'outillage, la révision de la conception, la création de pochoirs et autres, en fonction de vos besoins. Les autres coûts sont variables et sont déterminés sur une base individuelle. Le coût par carte peut diminuer à mesure que la taille des commandes diminue, ce qui est moins lié à la panélisation. Au lieu de cela, cette diminution des coûts par carte est obtenue en amortissant les coûts fixes sur l'ensemble du projet. La même idée s'applique à l'assemblage (voir ci-dessous).

Voici un bref résumé de certains des principaux facteurs de coûts liés à la fabrication. N’oubliez pas tenir compte de chacun de ces domaines pour estimer des coûts de fabrication des PCB.

table

Les facteurs pouvant influencer les différents frais d’un PCB

Coûts des tests et des inspections

Les essais et les inspections sont deux activités importantes qui doivent être effectuées pour tout nouveau panneau. La production et l'inspection jusqu'à la classe 3 de la norme IPC-A-600 coûtent plus cher que la classe 2 ; il en va de même pour les autres normes et classes pertinentes. Les fabricants proposent différents niveaux de révision de la conception et de l'ingénierie pendant la production. Une évaluation technique complète peut augmenter considérablement le frais d’un PCB  par carte et tend à ajouter un coût fixe supplémentaire. Avant d'ajouter un service d'évaluation technique à votre devis, vous devez vérifier ce qu'implique ce type évaluation et déterminer les éléments livrables de la conception à fournir.

Facteurs de coûts de l’assemblage

Les facteurs de frais d’un PCB et de son assemblage se résument comme suit :

  • Nombre des composants uniques : Plus les composants uniques sont nombreux, plus les frais d’un PCB et de sa fabrication augmentent, même si cela peut être compensé par l’augmentation du volume de la commande des composants en vrac, grâce à la réduction du prix par composant.
  • Type de composants : Le montage tout SMD peut coûter jusqu'à environ 50 % de plus par trou de montage.
  • Écart des broches des composants SMD : J’ai constaté que ce facteur varie selon le fabricant. Si vous utilisez déjà des composants tout CMS, certains fabricants ne facturent pas de supplément pour les composants à pas plus fins.
  • Utilisation des matrices à billes ou BGA : L'assemblage de composants BGA peut coûter environ 20 % de plus que les autres composants CMS.
  • Conformité IPC-A-600 Classe 3 et ITAR : La production et l'assemblage jusqu'à la classe 3 de la norme IPC-A-600 peuvent largement augmenter les coûts, mais la qualité du produit final sera bien meilleure. Si vous travaillez aux États-Unis, votre projet devra probablement être conforme à la norme ITAR. Les PCB finis devront être conformes aux exigences ITAR sur l'intégrité des données, l'intégrité des PCB et l'expédition, qui entraînent toutes des coûts supplémentaires.

Tant que l'assemblage n’est pas manuel, l’augmentation des coûts d'assemblage ne sera pas linéaire en fonction du nombre de cartes. En d'autres termes, avec l'assemblage automatisé, le fait de doubler le nombre de cartes ne double pas le coût de l'assemblage. Une partie des frais d’un PCB et de son assemblageconcerne l'outillage et la programmation des machines, tandis que le reste sert en fait à payer le temps d’utilisation des machines.

Automated assembly PCB manufacturing cost estimation

L'assemblage automatisé vous permettra de faire baisser votre estimation du coût d’un PCB

Les coûts des composants suivent une structure similaire. Lorsque vous commandez des volumes de composants plus élevés, votre fournisseur peut vous offrir une nouvelle gamme de prix, avec un coût par composant réduit. C'est l'une des raisons pour lesquelles il est préférable d'acheter auprès d'un seul distributeur, au lieu de combiner plusieurs distributeurs.

Fournisseurs locaux ou fournisseurs étrangers

Je préfère les fabricants locaux car je bénéficie d’un meilleur contrôle du processus. Pour les conceptions de base, j'ai constaté que les fabricants chinois peuvent très bien faire le travail, même s'ils vous facturent au centime près les moindres ajouts à la commande (par exemple, certaines caractéristiques de sérigraphie, les essais, la couleur du masque de soudure). Pour les conceptions plus avancées, ou si elles comportent des exigences de test spécifiques, je préfère un fabricant local car je peux parler directement à quelqu'un au téléphone.

En termes de frais d’un PCB, le prix unitaire d'une carte produite localement (aux États-Unis) peut être cinq fois plus élevé que le prix de la même carte fabriquée à l'étranger avec le même délai de livraison. L'assemblage est une tout autre affaire, car tous les fabricants ne fournissent pas un assemblage sur place, et vous devrez obtenir un devis séparé d'une entreprise d'assemblage. L’expédition de vos cartes entre votre fabricant et votre assembleur augmente les délais d'exécution, ce qui ajoute des coûts intangibles à votre nouveau produit.

Lorsque vous construisez un nouveau PCB, Altium Designer® vous donne les outils dont vous avez besoin pour créer des produits qui incluent des fonctionnalités avancées tout en respectant les exigences de votre fabricant en matière de directives de fabrication (DFM). Vous serez en mesure de générer rapidement des livrables aux fabricants, ce qui facilite largement l'estimation du coût d'un PCB.

Vous pouvez télécharger une version d'essai gratuite d'Altium Designer et en savoir plus sur les meilleurs outils d’agencement, de simulation et de planification de la production de l’industrie. Discutez de vos besoins avec un expert Altium pour en savoir plus.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson possède une vaste expérience technique dans le milieu universitaire et industriel. Avant de travailler dans l'industrie des PCB, il a enseigné à la Portland State University. Il a dirigé son M.S. recherche sur les capteurs de gaz chimisorptifs et son doctorat en physique appliquée, recherche sur la théorie et la stabilité du laser aléatoire. Son expérience en recherche scientifique couvre des sujets tels que les lasers à nanoparticules, les dispositifs électroniques et optoélectroniques à semi-conducteurs, les systèmes environnementaux et l'analyse financière. Ses travaux ont été publiés dans diverses revues spécialisées et actes de conférences et il a écrit des centaines de blogs techniques sur la conception de PCB pour de nombreuses entreprises. Zachariah travaille avec d'autres sociétés de PCB fournissant des services de conception et de recherche. Il est membre de l'IEEE Photonics Society et de l'American Physical Society

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    How to Create a PCB Manufacturing Cost Estimation

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  June 5, 2020
    How to Create a PCB Manufacturing Cost Estimation

    Unless I receive a layout job directly from a manufacturer, my clients will usually ask if I’m a manufacturer. My company doesn’t manufacture boards, but I think it’s important to keep clients informed of the manufacturing costs for new PCBs. Once I started gathering estimates for some of my first projects, I started to better understand the primary cost drivers of PCB manufacturing and how to properly structure a comprehensive estimate for my clients.

    Some manufacturers have very convenient PCB manufacturing cost estimation calculators you can use, but the real costs depend on a number of factors. If you’re an entrepreneur and you’re producing your own boards, or you are managing manufacturing, testing, and delivery for a new project, it’s your job to help clients understand the primary cost drivers for new boards. Here’s how you can get an estimate of your fabrication costs, both for local and overseas manufacturers.

    What Drives PCB Manufacturing Cost Estimation?

    There are a number of factors that drive manufacturing costs. In general, producing more boards, using more vias per board, using smaller traces/vias/mounting holes, and using more components per board will all increase manufacturing costs. However, the costs involved are not linear. In other words, double the number of boards and components will not double the total cost of an order.

    There are some important reasons for this. There are a number of fixed costs involved in any manufacturing run, including tooling costs, design review, stencil creation, and others, depending on your requirements. Other costs are variable and are determined on a per-board basis. The cost per board can decrease as order size decreases, which has less to do with panelization. Instead, this cost decrease per board is achieved by amortizing the fixed costs across the entire board run. The same idea applies to assembly (see below).

    Here is a short summary of some major cost drivers involved in fabrication. Be sure to consider each of these areas when creating a PCB manufacturing cost estimation.

    table


    Testing and Inspection Costs

    Testing and inspection are two important activities that also need to be performed when a new board is produced. Production and inspection up to IPC-A-600 Class 3 costs more than Class 2; the same applies to other relevant standards and classes. Manufacturers also offer different levels of design and engineering review during production. Taking advantage of a full engineering review can significantly increase the per-board cost and tends to carry an additional fixed cost. Be sure to inquire what is involved in this type of review and determine which design deliverables you need to provide before adding an engineering review service to your quote.

    Assembly Cost Drivers

    The cost drivers involved in assembly boil down to the following:

    • Number of unique components: More unique components equates to higher cost, although ordering components in bulk reduces the price per component.
    • Type of components: All-SMD assembly can cost up to ~50% more through-hole assembly.
    • Lead pitch on SMD components: I’ve seen that this varies by manufacturer. If you’re already using all-SMD, some manufacturers will not charge extra for finer pitch components.
    • Presence of any BGAs: BGA component assembly can cost ~20% more than other SMD components.
    • IPC-A-600 Class 3 and ITAR compliance: Production and assembly up to IPC-A-600 Class 3 can carry significantly higher costs, although the quality of the final product will be much higher. If you’re working in the U.S., your project may need to be ITAR compliant. Finished PCBs will need to adhere to ITAR requirements on data integrity, PCB integrity, and shipping, all of which carry additional costs.

    Unless assembly is being done by hand, assembly costs will not increase linearly with the number of boards. In other words, with automated assembly, doubling the number of boards does not double the cost of assembly. Some of the assembly cost goes into tooling and programming machines, while the remainder effectively pays for machine time.

    Automated assembly PCB manufacturing cost estimation
    Automated assembly will save you costs overall.

    Component costs follow a similar structure. When you order more components, you might reach a new price tier with your component distributor where the cost per component drops. This is one reason it’s better to buy from a single distributor rather than mix-and-match multiple distributors.

    Overseas vs. Local

    I prefer local manufacturers as it gives me more control over the process. For basic designs, I’ve found that Chinese manufacturers can do the job just fine, although they nickel-and-dime you on small additions to the order (e.g., certain screen printing features, testing, solder mask color). For more advanced designs, or if the design carries some specific testing requirements, I’d rather use a local manufacturer as I can talk to someone on the phone directly.

    In terms of cost, the per-unit price for a board produced locally (in the U.S.) can be a factor 5 as large as the price for the same board produced overseas with the same lead time. Assembly is another matter altogether, as not all manufacturers will provide on-site assembly, and you’ll need to get a quote from an assembler company. Having to ship your boards from your manufacturer to your assembler also increases your lead time, which adds intangible costs to your new product.

    When you’re building a new PCB, Altium Designer® gives you the tools you need to create products that include advanced features while complying with your manufacturer’s DFM requirements. You’ll also be able to quickly generate fabricator deliverables that aid PCB manufacturing cost estimation

    Now you can download a free trial of Altium Designer and learn more about the industry’s best layout, simulation, and production planning tools. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home