Der autonome Schneeroboter von Left Hand Robotics

Judy Warner
|  Erstellt: February 14, 2018  |  Aktualisiert am: September 23, 2021

Snowbot Pro

Judy Warner: Shane, ich freue mich Sie kennenzulernen. Bevor wir anfangen, darf ich fragen, was für eine Geschichte hinter dem ungewöhnlichen Namen Ihres Unternehmens steht?

Shane Zinner: In dieser Region gab es einen amerikanischen Indianerhäuptling mit dem Namen Niwot oder Linke Hand (Linkshänder) (ca. 1825–1864), der Stammesführer des Volkes der südlichen Arapaho war und eine wichtige Rolle in der Geschichte von Colorado spielte. Viele Dinge, die nun den Namen „Linkshänder“ tragen, wie der Left Hand Canyon, die Left Hand Brewery und die Stadt Niwot in Colorado wurden nach ihm benannt. Da unsere Firmengründer aus Niwot in Colorado stammen, lag es nahe, das Unternehmen Left Hand Robotics zu nennen.

Chief Niwot namesake of Left Hand Robotics
Häuptling Niwot „Linke Hand“ und Namensgeber für Left Hand Robotics

Warner: Was für eine interessante Hintergrundgeschichte! Wie lange ist Left Hand Robotics schon im Geschäft?

Zinner: Seit dem 26. Juli 2016.

Warner: Würden Sie uns erklären, wie ein autonomer Schneeroboter funktioniert?

Zinner: Der SnowBot Pro nutzt fortschrittliche GPS-Technologie zum Abfahren eines vorgegebenen Wegs und eine Reihe von Sensoren, um Hindernissen auszuweichen. Seine rotierende Bürste räumt in einem einzigen Durchgang den Gehweg in voller Breite und wird damit höchsten Ansprüchen gerecht.

Warner: Welche Art von Steuereinheit und Motor hat er?

Zinner: Im Moment hat er einen Gasmotor mit einem Hydrauliksystem, wie man es meist bei Erdbewegungsmaschinen oder anderem schwerem Gerät findet. Allerdings möchten wir eines Tages ein rein elektrisches Modell entwickeln.

Warner: Wo sehen Sie Ihren Markt und wie möchten Sie Ihren autonomen Schneeroboter dort vermarkten?

Zinner: Unser Markt ist rein kommerziell, also zum Beispiel 24-Stunden-Pflegeeinrichtungen, Krankenhäuser, Immobilienverwaltungen sowie Gewerbe- und Wohnkomplexe. Kurz gesagt also alle Einrichtungen, die aus Sicherheitsgründen und zum Einsparen von Arbeitskräften Schneeräumung benötigen. Das Schneeräumen zu später Stunde ist ein großes Problem für diese Menschen. Wenn es um 2 Uhr morgens anfängt zu schneien, ist es sehr schwierig, um diese Zeit eine Schneeräumungsfirma zu finden. Zudem ist es extrem teuer, sich einen 24-Stunden-Bereitschaftsdienst für die Schneebeseitigung zu leisten. Unsere Kunden können unser Gerät wahlweise leasen oder kaufen.

Warner: Oft wird befürchtet, dass Roboter Arbeitsplätze wegnehmen. Was sagen Sie dazu?

Zinner: Das gewerbliche Schnee- und Eisräumen ist eine gefährliche, anstrengende und ermüdende Arbeit. Außerdem treten Schneefälle in den meisten Teilen Nordamerikas unvorhersehbar und sporadisch auf. Die professionellen Schnee- und Eisräumer sagen, dass es schwierig ist, Mitarbeitende für das Schneeräumen auf Gehwegen und Fußgängerüberwegen zu finden. Unsere Roboter leisten 60-80 % der Schneeräumarbeit, und die professionellen Schnee- und Eisräumer kümmern sich dann um den Rest wie etwa Treppen und Engstellen. Außerdem hoffen wir, im Zuge unseres weiteren Wachstums besser bezahlte Jobs in der Herstellung des SnowBot Pro anbieten zu können.

Warner: Shane, können Sie als Elektroingenieur und PCB-Designer etwas über die Art der Elektronik in der Maschine verraten?

Zinner: Wir verwenden eine rein kundenspezifische Leiterplatte mit vielen Funktionen. Es gibt eine Controllerkarte mit GPS, Funktionen zum Verarbeiten der Sensordaten sowie Lidar-, Ultraschall- und Analog-Digital-Funktionen. Das war eine anspruchsvolle Aufgabe, denn auf einer der Leiterplatten befinden sich rauschende Steuerungssysteme neben rauscharmen Funktionen.

Circuitboard
Die von Shane Zinner entworfene multifunktionale Controllerkarte Leiterplatte

Warner: Ich weiß, dass Sie beim Layout der Leiterplatte mit Altium Designer gearbeitet haben. Gab es bestimmte Funktionen, die besonders hilfreich waren?

Zinner: Bei der Mechanik war die 3D-Modellierung eine große Hilfe, um sicherzustellen, dass alles zusammenpassen würde. Obwohl ich auch schon mit anderen EDA-Werkzeugen gearbeitet habe, ist die 3D-Funktionalität von Altium Designer doch weit überlegen und hat uns die Möglichkeit gegeben, diese Leiterplatte in einem einzigen Durchlauf hinzubekommen. Es ist immer großartig, wenn alles schon beim ersten Mal passt.

Warner: Glückwunsch dazu! Das sagt mindestens genauso viel über Ihre Fähigkeiten wie über das Tool, aber wir wissen Ihre freundlichen Worte auf jeden Fall zu schätzen. Haben Sie schon angefangen, Maschinen zu verkaufen? Und wenn nicht – wo stehen Sie in Ihrem Produktentwicklungszyklus und was ist Ihre Strategie für die Markteinführung?

Zinner: Wir haben im ganzen Land und in Kanada ein Pilotprogramm gestartet, um Feedback zu bekommen und uns um etwaige letzte Modifizierungen zu kümmern, bevor wir mit dem Versand beginnen. Wir nehmen jedoch ab jetzt Vorbestellungen an, also steht die Einführung kurz bevor.

Warner: Zum Schluss, was hat die Firmengründer dazu inspiriert, diesen autonomen Schneeroboter zu entwickeln?

Zinner: Obwohl beide auf lange und erfolgreiche Karrieren in Technologieunternehmen zurückblicken, waren die mehr als zehn Jahre, die sie mit der Betreuung des FIRST Robotic Teams verbracht haben, ihre größte Inspiration. Tatsächlich arbeiten inzwischen einige der von ihnen betreuten Kinder bei Left Hand Robotics und waren maßgeblich an der Entwicklung unseres Produkts beteiligt. Die Inspiration kam zudem, weil sie es satt hatten, jeden Winter ihre Wege und Zufahrten räumen zu müssen!

Warner: Das ist schön zu hören. Wir sponsern hier bei Altium viele FIRST Robotics Teams und hören es deshalb gern, wenn die nächste Ingenieur- und Designergeneration auch von anderen unterstützt wird. Vielen Dank, Shane, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns über Left Hand Robotics zu erzählen. Wir wünschen Ihnen allen viel Erfolg!

Zinner: Die Freude ist ganz meinerseits, Judy, Ihnen ebenfalls vielen Dank.

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Judy Warner ist seit über 25 Jahren in einer einzigartigen Vielfalt von Rollen in der Elektronikindustrie tätig. Sie verfügt über einen Hintergrund in der Leiterplattenherstellung, Hochfrequenz- und Mikrowellen-Leiterplatten, sowie in der Auftragsfertigung mit Schwerpunkt auf Militär-, Luft- & Raumfahrt-Anwendungen.

Darüber hinaus war sie als Autorin, Bloggerin und Journalistin für verschiedene Branchenpublikationen wie Microwave Journal, PCB007 Magazine, PCB Design007, PCD&F und IEEE Microwave Magazine tätig und ist ein aktives Vorstandsmitglied der PCEA (Printed Circuit Engineering Association). Im Jahr 2017 kam Warner als Director of Community Engagement zu Altium. Neben der Veranstaltung des OnTrack-Podcasts und der Erstellung des OnTrack-Newsletters rief sie die jährliche Altium-Anwenderkonferenz AltiumLive ins Leben. Warners Leidenschaft ist es, Ressourcen, Unterstützung und Fürsprecher für PCB Design Engineers weltweit bereitzustellen.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Left Hand Robotics Autonomous Snowbot

    Judy Warner
    |  February 14, 2018

    Snowbot Pro

    Judy Warner: Shane, so nice to meet you. Before we get started, I just had to ask what the story is behind your unique name?

    Shane Zinner: In this area, there was an American Indian Chief Niwot or Left Hand (-ed) (c. 1825–1864) who was a tribal leader of the Southern Arapaho people and played an important part in the history of Colorado. Many 'Left Hand' things, such as Left Hand Canyon, Left Hand Brewery, and the town of Niwot, Colorado were named after him. So, given our founders are from Niwot, CO, it only made sense to name the company Left Hand Robotics.

    Chief Niwot namesake of Left Hand Robotics
    Chief Niwot (Left Hand) and namesake of Left Hand Robotics

    Warner: What an interesting backstory.. So how long has Left Hand Robotics been in business?

    Zinner: Since July 26, 2016.

    Warner: Can you explain how an autonomous snowbot works?

    Zinner: The SnowBot Pro uses advanced GPS technology to follow a predetermined path and an array of sensors to avoid obstacles during operation. Its rotating brush clears a sidewalk from edge-to-edge in a single pass to meet even the highest standards.

    Warner: What kind of controller and engine does it have? Zinner: Right now it has a gas engine with a hydraulic system, which is typical in earth movers or other heavy equipment. We’d like to one day create a fully electric model.

    Warner: Who is your market and how will you be going to market with your autonomous snowbot?

    Zinner: Our market is fully commercial, such as 24-hour care facilities, hospitals, property managers, and commercial and residential properties. Any organization in need of snow clearing for safety purposes and labor savings. Late hour snow removal is a big problem for these people. If snow starts falling at 2 in the morning, it’s very difficult to find a snow removal company to service them at those hours—and it’s extremely expensive to have 24-hour on call snow removal services. As far as how our customers will acquire our equipment, they can either buy or lease.

    Warner: People are often concerned robots will take away jobs. How would you respond to this fear and concern?

    Zinner: Commercial snow and ice management is dangerous, hard, fatiguing work. Also, snowfall in most of North America is unpredictable and sporadic. Snow and ice professionals tell us sourcing workers who are willing to clear snow from paths and walkways is difficult. Our robots perform 60-80% of the snow clearing work, while snow and ice professionals take care of the remaining work, such as clearing steps and narrow areas. Additionally, it is our hope that we will provide higher paying jobs to make the SnowBot Pro as we continue to grow.

    Warner: So Shane, you are an EE and a board , can you tell us about the kind of electronics under the hood?

    Zinner: We have a fully custom board that is packed with a lot of functions. There is a controller board with gps, processing capabilities for the sensor data, lidar, ultrasound, and analog-digital features. It was challenging because on one board there are noisy control systems alongside low noise features.

    Circuitboard
    The multi-function controller board designed by Shane Zinner

    Warner: I know you used Altium Designer® to layout the board. Were there any specific features that were particularly helpful?

    Zinner: The 3D Modeling was a great help mechanically to make sure everything was going to fit together. While I’ve used other EDA tools, the 3D capability in Altium is far superior and this allowed us to get this board right in one spin which is always great if you can get it right the first time.

    Warner: Congratulations! That says as much about your ability as the tool, but we appreciate your kind words. Have you begun selling units yet? If not, where are you in your product development cycle and what is your launch strategy?

    Zinner: We have instituted a pilot program across the country and Canada to get feedback and take care of any final modifications before we start shipping. We are however taking reservations now, so we are getting close.

    Warner: Lastly, what inspired the founders to create this autonomous snowbot?

    Zinner: While both have enjoyed long and successful careers in technology companies, their biggest inspiration came from mentoring FIRST Robotic teams for over a decade. In fact, some of the kids they have mentored have come to work at Left Hand Robotics and been very instrumental in the development of our product. The other inspiration was how much they both tire of clearing their own walks and driveways every winter!

    Warner: That’s great to hear. We sponsor many FIRST Robotics teams here at Altium and we love to hear when others help mentor the next generation of engineers and designers. Shane, thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about Left Hand Robotics and we wish you all great success!

    Zinner: My pleasure, Judy and thank you.

    About Author

    About Author

    Judy Warner has held a unique variety of roles in the electronics industry since 1984. She has a deep background in PCB Manufacturing, RF and Microwave PCBs and Contract Manufacturing with a focus on Mil/Aero applications in technical sales and marketing.
    She has been a writer, contributor and journalist for several industry publications such as Microwave Journal, The PCB Magazine, The PCB Design Magazine, PDCF&A and IEEE Microwave Magazine and is an active member of multiple IPC Designers Council chapters. In March 2017, Warner became the Director of Community Engagement for Altium and immediately launched Altium’s OnTrack Newsletter. She led the launch of AltiumLive: Annual PCB Design Summit, a new and annual Altium User Conference. Judy's passion is to provide resources, support and to advocate for PCB Designers around the world.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home