Les nouveaux matériaux pour PCB

Happy Holden
|  Created: September 12, 2019  |  Updated: September 9, 2020

Si vous entendez parler des nouveaux HDI-PCB à densité plus élevée utilisés par Apple, appelés SLP, et de leurs procédés SAP, uSAP ou mSAP(Semi-Additive Processes), leurs pistes ne dépassent pas 30 microns et les espaces 25 microns (1 mil). La production HDI est maintenant estimée à plus de 250 millions de mètres carrés par an - et elle continue d’augmenter ! Mais les SAP ne sont pas une nouveauté !  Nous les avons utilisés au début des années 60 et 70 pour fabriquer des cartes en acier revêtues d'époxy. Et Photocircuits produisait alors des PCB à additif intégral. 

La figure 1 montre une répartition des 11 matériaux actuellement utilisés dans des HDI. Par ordre d’utilisation :

  • Préimprégnés perçables au laser - 38,4%
  • RCC - 28,3%
  • Préimprégnés conventionnels - 19,2%
  • Film ABF - 5,0%
  • Epoxy liquide - 3,3%
  • Autres - 3,2%
  • BT - 1,8%
  • Aramide - 0,4%
  • Polyimide - 0,3%
  • Photo Dry Film - 0,1%
  • Diélectriques Photo Liquide ~0,08%

Les principaux composants matériels des PCB sont la résine polymère (diélectrique) avec ou sans recharge, renfort et feuille de métal. Pour créer un PCB, des couches alternées de diélectrique, avec ou sans renfort, sont empilées entre des couches de feuilles métalliques. 

Le Tableau 1 présente une liste actualisée des matériaux HDI trouvée sur l’internet. La plupart des matériaux sont de l’époxy, mais certains sont en BT, PPE, cyanate ester et acrylates modifiés. Les matériaux les plus récents incluent un nombre croissant de préimprégnés perçables au laser. 

TABLEAU 1. Cette étude des nouveaux matériaux pour les PCB HDI, incluant les types thermodurcis et photodurcis, couvre les stratifiés perçables au laser, les films à accumulation, les RCF et les diélectriques liquides. Les stratifiés conventionnels sont exclus.

FIGURE 1. Comprendre les améliorations des matériaux PCB: Tableau des diélectriques typiques des PCB et de leurs propriétés électriques.

Outre les résines thermodurcissables, des résines thermoplastiques sont utilisées, notamment le polyimide et lepolytétrafluoro-éthylène (PTFE). Contrairement à la version thermodurcissable du polyimide, qui est relativement cassante, la version thermoplastique flexible est fournie sous forme de film. Elle est généralement utilisée pour fabriquer des circuits flexibles ainsi que des circuits combinés appelés rigide-flex. Le film polyimide peut être fabriqué de plusieurs façons. Il est généralement fourni sous la forme d'un stratifié complètement durci revêtu d’une feuille de cuivre sur une seule face, ou les deux. Il est également plus cher que l'époxy et n'est utilisé qu'en cas de nécessité. La figure 1 présente la gamme des propriétés électriques de tous les diélectriques HDI courants. Le PTFE est apprécié pour ses excellentes propriétés électriques et sa faible absorption d'humidité. On lui ajoute généralement une recharge afin de modifier sa constante diélectrique pour répondre aux exigences d’applications spécifiques. Par exemple, un circuit utilisé dans des applications micro-ondes exige une faible perte et un Q élevé à de très hautes fréquences. Les PTFE sont parmi les matériaux les plus chers, mais à mesure que les fréquences augmentent et que les applications sans fil se développent, leur utilisation ne cesse de croître. 

Les fabricants de fibre de verre ont développé des procédés pour minimiser les problèmes de perçage. Ils ont créé ce que l'on appelle des diélectriques perçables au laser en étalant les fils dans les deux sens et en rendant le matériau plus uniforme, ce qui minimise les zones sans fibre de verre ainsi que la zone des articulations, comme l'illustre la figure 2. 

FIGURE 2. Une autre amélioration dans le monde du PCB: Gros plans sur des préimprégnés conventionnels et des préimprégnés en fibre de verre perçables au laser (avec l'aimable autorisation de NanYa Plastics

Les matériaux fabriqués avec ce type de verre sont plus chers et ne sont utilisés qu'en cas de nécessité. Il est également utilisé en conjonction avec des systèmes de résine à haute performance, ce qui rend le diélectrique obtenu relativement coûteux. 

Autres renforts

D’autres renforts sont intégrés à la fabrication des PCB au fil des ans. Le Thermount est un produit en fibre d'aramide hachée, mais il n’est plus disponible. Il était fabriqué par DuPont et offrait plusieurs propriétés intéressantes. Ce matériau thermoplastique se caractérisait par une coupe au laser semblable à celle de la résine et comme il s'agissait d'un papier, il n'avait aucun problème de raccords, comme les tissus. Sa constante diélectrique était très bonne, ce qui était un avantage pour les circuits à grande vitesse. Le Thermount avait quelques problèmes d'absorption d'humidité, et il était relativement cher. En 2006, DuPont a décidé d'arrêter sa fabrication. Cependant, Shin-Kobe Electric au Japon continue de fabriquer trois types différents de préimprégnés et de laminés d'aramide. Des alternatives à ce produit sont encore à l'étude. En plus du Thermount, d'autres renforts non tissés ont été utilisés, notamment un papier de fibre de verre haché et une matrice de PTFE expansé. La matrice PTFE a été renforcée avec une résine à haute performance. Ce produit est actuellement disponible sous l’appellation GorePly. Bien que le GorePly possède d'excellentes propriétés électriques, il est coûteux et n'est utilisé qu'en cas de nécessité.

Film Ajinomoto Buildup

Le Film Ajinomoto Buildup (ABF) est le principal matériau diélectrique pour SAP. Cette série de diélectriques à film très fin combine un durcisseur époxy/phénol, un ester cyanate/époxy et un ester cyanate avec une oléfine thermodurcissable (tableau 2). Le type époxy est également disponible sans halogène. Le film mince (15 - 100 um d'épaisseur) est renforcé avec un film PET de 38 um et protégé par un film de couverture OPP de 16 um. Le matériau est laminé sous vide dans des machines spéciales à convoyeur (figure 3) pendant un processus en cinq étapes : 

  • Préparation de la surface du diélectrique et du cuivre
  • Noyau cuit (130 degrés C pendant 30 mn)
  • Découpe automatique de l'ABF, retrait du film de couverture et mise en place
  • Laminage sous vide ABF et pressage à chaud du métal 
  • Retrait du film PET et post-durcissement (170-190 degrés C pendant 30 mn.)

 

FIGURE 3 : Laminage sous vide par convoyeur et pressage à chaud du film ABF.

FIGURE 3. Laminage sous vide par convoyeur et pressage à chaud du film ABF, principal nouveau matériau PCB diélectrique pour SAP

Les films ABF, comme les diélectriques liquides et les films secs, doivent être métallisés avec un SAP. Les étapes critiques sont le décapage, le gonflement du solvant, la gravure du film avant la métallisation, la gravure et le recuit (post-durcissement). Les conditions et les étapes détermineront le niveau de résistance au pelage du cuivre. Voir le "Chapitre 8 - Déglaçage et métallisation" dans le Manuel HDI (téléchargement gratuit surhttp://hdihandbook.com).

Photo Dry Film

Les diélectriques photosensibles à film sec étaient autrefois considérés comme le meilleur diélectrique HDI, car aucun équipement externe n'était nécessaire pour produire les vias. Il s'est avéré que ce n'était pas le cas, car il s'agissait de photosystèmes à action négative. Par son action négative, un rayonnement ultraviolet était nécessaire pour durcir le diélectrique de façon permanente. Toute zone du film non exposée continue d’évoluer. Le problème était en fait lié à la propreté de l'installation du revêtement et des systèmes d'exposition. Une salle blanche pour semi-conducteurs de classe 100 fut donc la condition requise et s'est avérée trop chère pour la plupart des fabricants. Au Japon, certains fabricants OEM qui disposent encore de leurs propres installations continuent à utiliser ce diélectrique. Il fonctionne très bien avec le perçage au laser et le SAP.

TABLEAU 2. Caractéristiques - Ajinomoto Buildup Film, nouveau matériau PCB diélectrique principal pour SAP


___

For conclusions/CTAs: 

Pour Concord : 

Souhaitez-vous en savoir plus sur Altium et les avantages qu’il peut vous apporter pour concevoir votre prochain projet de circuits imprimés ? Discutez avec un expert Altium et découvrez comment prendre des décisions de conception avec facilité et confiance. 

Upverter :


Découvrez les nouveautés d'Upverter ou contactez-nous pour plus d'informations, si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur les possibilités de conception et de développement de produits par navigateur. Ou inscrivez-vous à notre service dès aujourd'hui. 

Octopart :

Nous espérons que vous avez trouvé cet article utile ! Si vous souhaitez recevoir ce type de contenu dans votre boîte de réception, inscrivez-vous à notre lettre d'information mensuelle !

About Author

About Author

Happy Holden est retraité de GENTEX Corporation, l'un des principaux équipementiers électroniques du marché automobile américain. Il a été le directeur technique du plus grand fabricant de circuits imprimés au monde : HonHai Precision Industries (Foxconn) en Chine. Avant Foxconn, Happy était le technologue principal en matière de PCB pour Mentor Graphics, mais aussi le responsable des technologies avancées chez NanYa/Westwood Associates et Merix Corporations. Il a pris sa retraite après plus de 28 ans chez Hewlett-Packard. Auparavant, il a été directeur de la R&D des PCB et responsable de l'ingénierie de la fabrication. Chez HP, il a géré la conception des PCB, les partenariats de PCB et les logiciels d'automatisation à Taïwan et à Hong Kong. Happy a travaillé dans le domaine des technologies avancées pour PCB pendant plus de 47 ans. Il a publié plusieurs chapitres sur la technologie HDI dans 4 ouvrages, ainsi que son propre livre, le « HDI Handbook », disponible en e-Book gratuit sur http://hdihandbook.com. Il a récemment terminé la 7e édition du « McGraw-Hill's PC Handbook » en collaboration avec Clyde Coombs.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Newer PCB Materials

    Happy Holden
    |  September 12, 2019

    If you are hearing about the newer, higher density HDI-PCBs used by Apple called SLP, and their processes like SAP, or uSAP or mSAP (Semi-Additive Processes) recently, these are the printed circuits that are getting down to 30 micron and 25 micron (1 mil) traces and spaces. HDI is now estimated to be over 250 million square meters produced per year-and still growing! But SAP is not NEW!  We used it early in the 60’s and 70’s when we were making the epoxy-coated steel boards and when Photocircuits produced full-additive PCBs. 

    Figure 1 shows a breakdown of the 11 materials currently used for HDI. In order of usage:

    • Laser Drillable Prepregs-38.4%
    • RCC-28.3%
    • Conventional Prepregs-19.2%
    • ABF Film-5.0%
    • Liquid Epoxy-3.3%
    • >Other-3.2%
    • BT-1.8%
    • Aramid-0.4%
    • Polyimide-0.3%
    • Photo Dry fi lm-0.1%
    • Photo Liquid Dielectrics-~0.08%

    The major material components of PCBs are the polymer resin (dielectric) with or without fillers, reinforcement, and metal foil. To form a PCB, alternate layers of dielectric, with or without reinforcement, are stacked in between the metal foil layers. 

    Table 1 shows a current list of HDI materials taken from the Internet. Many of the materials are epoxy, but some are BT, PPE, cyanate ester, and modified acrylates. The newest materials are the growing number of laser drillable prepregs. 

    A table of the types of materials, their thermally cured resins, and their photo cured resins.

    TABLE 1. This survey of HDI materials including thermally cured and photo-cured types contain laser drillable laminates, buildup films, RCF, and liquid dielectrics. Conventional laminates were excluded.

    Chart of typical PCB dielectrics and their electrical properties showing Df on the x-axis and Dk on the y-axis

    FIGURE 1. Chart of typical PCB dielectrics and their electrical properties.

    Besides thermosetting resins, thermoplastic resins are utilized including polyimide and polytetrafluoro-ethylene (PTFE). Unlike the thermosetting version of polyimide, which is relatively brittle, the thermoplastic version is flexible and is supplied in film form. It is typically used to make flexible circuits as well as the combination circuits called rigid-flex. The polyimide film can be made in several ways and is usually supplied as a completely cured laminate with copper foil on one or both sides. It is also more expensive than epoxy and is only used as needed. Figure 1 shows the range of electric properties of all the common HDI dielectrics. PTFE is valued for its excellent electrical properties and low moisture absorption. It typically has filler added to modify its dielectric constant for specific applications. A typical example is a circuit used in microwave applications where low loss and high Q are needed at very high frequencies. PTFEs are among the most expensive materials, but as frequencies continue to rise and wireless applications grow, their use continues to grow. 

    The fiberglass manufacturers have been working on ways to minimize drilling problems. They have created so-called laser-drillable dielectrics by spreading the yarns in both directions and making the fabric more uniform, which minimizes the areas with no fiberglass as well as the knuckle area as illustrated in Figure 2. 

    Close-ups of conventional prepregs and laser drillable fiberglass prepregs

    FIGURE 2. Close-ups of conventional prepregs and laser drillable fiberglass prepregs (Courtesy of NanYa Plastics)

    Fabric manufactured with this type of glass is more expensive and only used when necessary. It is also used in conjunction with high-performance resin systems making the resulting dielectric relatively expensive. 

    Other Reinforcements

    Other reinforcements have been used to make PCBs over the years. One product that is no longer available was a chopped aramid fiber paper called Thermount. It was supplied by DuPont and had several good properties. Being a thermoplastic material, its laser ablated more like the resin and since it was a paper, it did not have the issue of knuckles to deal with like woven fabric. It also had a very good dielectric constant which was an advantage for high-speed circuitry. Thermount had some issues with moisture absorption and was relatively expensive. In 2006, DuPont decided to discontinue manufacturing this product. However, Shin-Kobe Electric in Japan still manufactures three different types of aramid laminates and prepreg. Alternatives to this product are still being investigated. In addition to Thermount, other non-woven reinforcements have been used, including a chopped fiberglass paper and an expanded PTFE matrix. The PTFE matrix has been incorporated with a high-performance resin and is available as a product called GorePly. While GorePly has excellent electrical properties, it is expensive and only used when necessary.

    Ajinomoto Buildup Film

    The Ajinomoto Buildup Film (ABF) is the primary dielectric for SAP. It is a series of very thin film dielectrics made with epoxy/phenol hardener, cyanate ester/epoxy, and cyanate ester with thermosetting olefin (Table 2). The epoxy type is also available halogen-free. The thin film (15 – 100 um thick) is supported by a 38 um PET film and protected by a 16 um OPP cover film. The material is vacuum laminated in special conveyorized machines (Figure 3) using a five-step process: 

    • Surface preparation of core dielectric and copper
    • Dry core (130 C for 30 min)
    • ABF auto-cutting, remove cover film, and placement
    • ABF vacuum lamination and metal hot-press
    • Remove PET film and post-cure (170-190 C for 30 min.)

    Several views of a conveyorized vacuum lamination and hot press machine used for ABF film production shown, and certain parts labeled

    FIGURE 3. Conveyorized vacuum lamination and hot press for ABF film.

    ABF films, like the liquid dielectrics and dry films, must be semi-additively metallized (SAP). The critical steps are desmear, solvent swell, film etch before metallization, etching, and annealing (post-curing). The conditions and steps will determine the resulting copper peel strengths and are covered in ‘Chapter 8—Desmear and Metallization’ of the HDI Handbook.

    Photo Dry Film

    Photosensitive dry film dielectrics were once thought to be the ultimate HDI dielectric as no external equipment was required to produce the vias. This proved not to be the case,  as these were negative acting photosystems. By negative acting, ultraviolet energy was required to cure the dielectric permanently. Any area of the film which is unexposed would develop away. The problem proved to be the cleanliness of the coating and exposure facility. A semiconductor Class-100 Clean Room was the condition required and proved to be too expensive for most fabricators. In Japan, certain OEMs that still have their own facilities continue to use this dielectric. It has worked very well with laser drilling and SAP.

    A table of Ajinomoto Buildup Film (ABF) characteristics showing several properties for all different ABF resin types

    TABLE 2. Ajinomoto Buildup Film characteristics 

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you with your next PCB design? Talk to an expert at Altium and learn more about making design decisions with ease and confidence. 

    About Author

    About Author

    Happy Holden is retired from GENTEX Corporation (one of the U.S.'s largest automotive electronics OEM. He was the Chief Technical Officer for the world’s biggest PCB Fabricator-HonHai Precision Industries (Foxconn) in China. Prior to Foxconn, Mr. Holden was the Senior PCB Technologist for Mentor Graphics; he was the Advanced Technology Manager at NanYa/Westwood Associates and Merix Corporations. He retired from Hewlett-Packard after over 28 years. His prior assignments had been as director of PCB R&D and Manufacturing Engineering Manager. While at HP, he managed PCB design, PCB partnerships, and automation software in Taiwan and Hong Kong. Happy has been involved in advanced PCB technologies for over 47 years. He has published chapters on HDI technology in 4 books, as well as his own book, the HDI Handbook, available as a free e-Book at http://hdihandbook.com and de recently completed the 7th Edition of McGraw-Hill's PC Handbook with Clyde Coombs.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home