PCB Via Current-Carrying Capacity: How Hot is Too Hot?

Zachariah Peterson
|  Créé: November 15, 2021
PCB Via Current-Carrying Capacity: How Hot is Too Hot?

Les designers, en particulier les nouveaux designers qui se familiarisent tout juste avec les normes industrielles, posent régulièrement une question concernant la capacité de transport du courant des conducteurs dans un circuit imprimé. La capacité de transport de courant des pistes et des traversées est un point légitime sur lequel il faut se concentrer lors de la conception d'une nouvelle carte destinée à transporter un courant élevé. L'objectif est de maintenir la température des conducteurs en dessous d'une certaine limite, ce qui permet ensuite de maintenir les composants de la carte au frais.

Alors que la capacité de courant recommandée pour les traces est bien étudiée et documentée dans les normes IPC 2152, les vias dans les cartes multicouches ont reçu beaucoup moins d'attention. Quelques croisés se sont penchés sur les questions relatives à la capacité de transport de courant et aux limites de température de via, et sur leur comparaison avec la température d'une trace typique transportant le même courant. Examinons l'état actuel des exigences thermiques des vias dans les circuits imprimés et comparons-les aux traces internes et externes des circuits imprimés.

Quelle est la capacité de transport de courant de via ?

Vos traces ont une capacité de transport de courant spécifiée, qui peut être déterminée à partir du poids du cuivre et de l'élévation de température souhaitée en utilisant le nomogramme IPC 2152. L'objectif des traces de dimensionnement est de s'assurer que votre carte et vos composants restent dans une température de fonctionnement sûre. Les règles de dimensionnement des traces sont souvent appliquées au dimensionnement des vias, mais les concepteurs peuvent avoir des réserves quant à une limite de température sûre pour les vias. J'ai même vu des concepteurs novices s'inquiéter de voir un via fondre en cours de fonctionnement si la température augmente trop.

Même si vos vias ne seront pas aussi chauds, il est important de comparer la température de vos vias avec celle des traces et des plans auxquels ceux-ci sont connectés. Vous pourriez avoir l'intuition que le via, étant connecté à chaque extrémité à une trace chaude avec un courant élevé, aura une température au moins aussi élevée que la trace qui lui est connectée. Cela semble logique, les traces connectées et tous les plans voisins peuvent devenir assez chauds à un courant élevé (faible poids de cuivre à ~5-10 A). La chaleur ne s'accumulerait-elle donc pas dans le via ? De plus, vous pourriez naturellement en conclure que les traces sur une couche de surface seraient plus froides que les traces dans une couche intérieure. Cela ne ferait-il pas en sorte que le via atteigne une température plus élevée lorsque celui-ci traverse l'intérieur d'une carte ? Ces questions entourent des points importants liés à la fiabilité des vias, notamment pour les microvias.

En fait, la situation réelle peut être à l'opposé de notre intuition. Premièrement, les traces sur la couche de surface seront plus chaudes que les traces dans une couche interne. En effet, la conductivité thermique du FR4 (environ 0,25 W/m⋅K) est supérieure d'un ordre de grandeur à celle de l’air. Il existe d'autres options de substrat offrant une conductivité thermique supérieure. Cela signifie que le substrat agit comme un puits de chaleur pour les conducteurs qui le traversent. Cela s'applique également aux vias et permet d'expliquer pourquoi ces derniers ont tendance à être plus froids que les traces qui leur sont connectées.

Les résultats expérimentaux

Un article récent de Douglas Brooks et Johannes Adam, paru dans le Signal Integrity Journal, contient des mesures expérimentales de la température dans les traces et les vias transportant un courant élevé. À ma connaissance, ces mesures fournissent la première comparaison de la température dans des traces conçues selon les normes IPC 2152 et un via qui y est connecté. Ces mesures et les résultats des simulations sont présentés dans les tableaux ci-dessous.

Via des mesures de la capacité de transport du courant et de la température de la trace
Les résultats des simulations et des mesures.

Évidemment, c'est beaucoup moins que la règle empirique de 0,5 A visible parfois sur les forums. Les règles empiriques ont tendance à être trop conservatrices, il est donc possible de les suivre dans la plupart des cas. Cependant, si vous devez fournir un courant continu élevé, vous risquez de faire plus de mal que de bien si vous découpez les plans avec un nombre excessif de vias. Il faut en tenir compte lors du choix du nombre de vias nécessaires pour l'alimentation. Si vous fixez une limite moins prudente de 1 A par via, et que vous devez fournir 5 A instantanément, alors 5 grands vias avec un placage épais devraient convenir, tant que la température de votre via ne devient pas trop élevée près d'un composant. Le danger ici n'est pas celui d'une température élevée, je dirais qu'il s'agit plutôt d'un cycle de température. En cas de cycles répétés entre des températures très élevées et très basses, la fatigue peut finir par s'installer et conduire à une défaillance via le système.

Analyse

Ici, nous pouvons voir que les traces fines ont tendance à être plus chaudes que les vias qui leur sont connectés, avec une différence de température de quelques °C seulement. Cela peut être attribué aux différences de conductivité thermique entre la trace exposée à l'air et le via. En effet, la chaleur est dissipée par le via plus rapidement que celle-ci n'est dissipée par la trace mince. Les résultats présentés ci-dessus montrent une contradiction avec l'argument de la conductivité thermique que j'ai mentionné plus haut.

Lorsque la trace devient assez large (200 mils), la trace est maintenant plus froide que le via, bien que la différence de température ne soit que de quelques °C. Le flux de chaleur s'éloignant de la trace dépend de la surface exposée et de la conductivité thermique du milieu environnant. Dans ce cas, là où la trace large a une grande surface exposée, la chaleur est dissipée plus rapidement de la trace que du via. La température d'équilibre de la trace est donc plus basse. Cette relation peut être résumée de la manière suivante :

  • Lorsque la trace est fine, le via agit comme un petit dissipateur thermique pour la trace,
  • Lorsque la trace est large, la trace agit comme un petit dissipateur thermique pour le via.

Il y a d'autres points à prendre en compte dans cette analyse. Tout d'abord, les couches planes ne sont pas prises en compte, celles-ci agissent comme un grand puits de chaleur, réduisant encore la température des conducteurs. Ensuite, d'autres substrats présentant une conductivité thermique élevée (par exemple, les céramiques ou les circuits imprimés à noyau métallique) extrairont encore plus de chaleur des conducteurs, ce qui entraînera une température d'équilibre encore plus basse pour tous les conducteurs.

Dimensionnement en fonction de la capacité de transport du courant

 

Le verdict

Tant que les pistes de votre circuit imprimé sont dimensionnées conformément aux largeurs de piste minimales spécifiées dans la norme IPC 2152, et que vos vias ont un placage suffisamment épais, vous n'aurez probablement pas à vous soucier de l'élévation de température dans vos vias. L'excès de chaleur à l'intérieur du via se dissipe dans le substrat et les traces à proximité. Dans le cas où les traces sont très larges, celles-ci ont une plus grande surface pour dissiper la chaleur par rapport au via. Dans ce cas, la chaleur quitte la trace plus rapidement que celle-ci ne quitte le via, la trace atteindra donc une température d'équilibre plus basse. Cela a été confirmé par l'étude expérimentale de Douglas Brooks et Johannes Adam dans le SIJ.

Les fonctions de conception, de mise en page et de routage de via dans Altium Designer® sont idéales pour créer des conceptions de via et construire un empilement à partir d'une grande variété de matériaux standard. L'environnement de conception unifié permet de vérifier immédiatement vos choix de mise en page par rapport aux règles de conception importantes et de les corriger avant d'envoyer votre carte à la fabrication. Toutes ces fonctionnalités sont accessibles dans un seul et même environnement de conception, ce qui vous permet de rester productif et d'accéder rapidement au marché.

Vous pouvez maintenant télécharger une version d'essai gratuite d'Altium Designer et en savoir plus sur les meilleurs outils de mise en page, de simulation et de planification de la production. Pour en savoir plus, contactez un expert d’Altium dès aujourd'hui !

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Zachariah Peterson possède une vaste expérience technique dans le milieu universitaire et industriel. Avant de travailler dans l'industrie des PCB, il a enseigné à la Portland State University. Il a dirigé son M.S. recherche sur les capteurs de gaz chimisorptifs et son doctorat en physique appliquée, recherche sur la théorie et la stabilité du laser aléatoire. Son expérience en recherche scientifique couvre des sujets tels que les lasers à nanoparticules, les dispositifs électroniques et optoélectroniques à semi-conducteurs, les systèmes environnementaux et l'analyse financière. Ses travaux ont été publiés dans diverses revues spécialisées et actes de conférences et il a écrit des centaines de blogs techniques sur la conception de PCB pour de nombreuses entreprises. Zachariah travaille avec d'autres sociétés de PCB fournissant des services de conception et de recherche. Il est membre de l'IEEE Photonics Society et de l'American Physical Society

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    PCB Via Current-Carrying Capacity: How Hot is Too Hot?

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  April 28, 2020
    Via current carrying capacity for PCBs

    One common question from designers, particularly new designers that are learning about industry standards, is current-carrying capacity of conductors in a PCB. Trace and via current-carrying capacity are legitimate design points to focus on when designing a new board that will carry high current. The goal is to keep conductor temperatures below some appropriate limit, which then helps keep components on the board cool.

    While the recommended current capacity of traces is well-explored and documented in the IPC 2152 standards, vias in multilayer boards have received much less focus. A few crusaders have been busy investigating the questions around via current-carrying capacity and temperature limits, and how they compare to the temperature of a typical trace carrying the same current. Let’s dig into the current (no pun intended) state of thermal demands on vias in PCBs and how they compare to internal and external PCB traces.

    What is the Via Current-Carrying Capacity?

    Your traces have specified current-carrying capacity, which can be determined using the copper weight and desired temperature rise using the IPC 2152 nomograph. The goal in sizing traces to ensure your board and components remain within a safe operating temperature. The rules for sizing traces are often applied to sizing vias, yet there may be some reservations by designers regarding a safe via temperature limit. I’ve even seen some novice designers worry about a via melting during operation should the temperature rise too high. While your vias won’t get this hot, it is important to compare the temperature of your vias with the traces and planes to which they are connected.

    One might have some intuition that the via, being connected at each end to a hot trace with high current, will have a temperature at least as high as the trace connected to it. This seems to make sense; the connected traces and any nearby planes can get quite hot at high current (low copper weight at ~5-10 A), so wouldn’t heat accumulate in the via? In addition, one might naturally conclude that traces on a surface layer would run cooler than traces in an interior layer; so wouldn’t this cause the via to reach a higher temperature as it passes through the interior of a board? These questions surround important points related to via reliability, particularly for microvias.

    In fact, the real situation can run opposite to our intuition. First, traces on the surface layer will run hotter than traces in an internal layer. This is because the thermal conductivity of FR4 (0.25 W/m⋅K) is an order of magnitude larger than that of air; there are alternative substrate options that provide higher thermal conductivity. This means the substrate acts like a heat sink for conductors that pass through the substrate. This applies to vias as well, and it helps explain why vias tend to run cooler than the traces connected to them.

    Experimental Results

    A recent article Douglas Brooks and Johannes Adam in Signal Integrity Journal contains some experimental measurements of temperature in traces and vias carrying high current. To my knowledge, these measurements provide the first comparison of temperature in traces designed to IPC 2152 standards and a via connected to them. These measurements and results from simulations are shown in the tables below.

    Via current-carrying capacity and trace temperature measurements
    Simulation and measurement results.

    Analysis

    Here, we can see that thin traces tend to run hotter than the via connected to them, with a temperature difference of only a few °C. This can be attributed to the thermal conductivity differences for the air-exposed trace and the via. In effect, heat is dissipated from the via faster than it is dissipated from the thin trace.

    The results presented above show one contradiction to the thermal conductivity argument I mentioned above. When the trace becomes quite wide (200 mils), the trace now runs cooler than the via, although the temperature difference is only a few °C. The heat flux away from the trace depends on the exposed surface area and the thermal conductivity of the surrounding media. In this case, where the wide trace has a large exposed surface area, heat is dissipated faster from the trace than it is from the via. This causes the trace to have a lower equilibrium temperature. This relationship can be nicely summarized as follows:

    • When the trace is wide, the via acts like a small heat sink for the trace.
    • When the trace is thin, the trace acts like a small heat sink for the via.

    There are some other points to consider in this analysis. First, plane layers are not considered, and plane layers will act like a large heat sink, further reducing the temperature of the conductors. Next, alternative substrates with high thermal conductivity (e.g., ceramics or metal-core PCBs) will pull even more heat from conductors, leading to an even lower equilibrium temperature for all conductors.

    Sizing via current-carrying capacity

     

    The Verdict

     

    As long as your PCB traces are sized according to the minimum trace widths specified in the IPC 2152 standard, and your vias are sized to comply with DFM standards and applicable IPC standards, you won’t have to worry about temperature rise in your vias. The excess heat in the interior of the via gets dissipated into the substrate and the nearby traces. In the case where the traces are very wide, they have a larger surface through which to dissipate heat compared to the via. In this case, the heat leaves the trace at a faster rate than it leaves the via, thus the trace will reach a lower equilibrium temperature. This was confirmed in the experimental study by Douglas Brooks and Johannes Adam in SIJ.

    The via design, layout, and routing features in Altium Designer® are ideal for creating via designs and building a stackup from a wide variety of standard materials. The unified design environment ensures your layout choices can be immediately checked against important design rules and corrected before you send your board off for manufacturing. All these features are accessible in a single design environment, which helps you remain productive and get to market quickly.

    Now you can download a free trial of Altium Designer and learn more about the industry’s best layout, simulation, and production planning tools. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home