Concepteurs de circuits imprimés pour SpaceX et au-delà : la fiction d’hier devient la réalité de demain

Créé: October 3, 2021
SpaceX Dragon en orbite autour de la terre

Aussi loin que je me souvienne, j’ai toujours voulu faire carrière dans l’ingénierie. J’étais inspiré par ces personnes capables de créer quelque chose à partir de rien, comme MacGyver. Je voulais être l’un d’entre eux. Je suis sûr que le fait de regarder de la science-fiction à la télévision y a beaucoup contribué : qui ne voudrait pas manipuler de la technologie et contrôler un pouvoir immense comme « Scotty » dans Star Trek ? J’ai découvert que je n’étais pas le seul à faire ces rêves — apparemment, Scotty a inspiré suscité beaucoup d’intérêt pour l’ingénierie.

À l’époque, la science-fiction n’était pas le divertissement commun qu’elle est aujourd’hui, et mes parents ne faisaient que tolérer mon intérêt pour elle. Qui aurait pu deviner que ceux d’entre nous qui rêvaient de vaisseaux spatiaux seraient un jour à l’avant-garde de leur conception ? Nous y sommes pourtant, et dire « sky is the limit » n’a jamais semblé aussi vrai. De nombreuses technologies étonnantes sont actuellement en cours de conception, comme les voitures sans conducteur, la robotique, les dispositifs IOT et les vaisseaux spatiaux.

Il faut cependant plus que des rêves pour concevoir ce niveau de technologie. Pour concevoir les technologies de demain dans les industries d’aujourd’hui, il faut des concepteurs capables de relever de nouveaux défis. Une connaissance approfondie de leur domaine est une exigence évidente. De plus, ces concepteurs doivent être suffisamment ingénieux pour ne pas être enfermés dans le cadre de ces mêmes connaissances. Il faudra également des designers capables d’utiliser les outils du métier pour faire d’une petite avancée, une réalité.

Des concepteurs bien formés

SpaceX est l’une des marques les plus connues qui conçoivent les technologies de demain. C’est un bon exemple du type de connaissances et d’expérience dont les concepteurs de circuits imprimés devraient être dotés pour atteindre l’atmosphère. Les concepteurs avec une expérience de la conception RF ainsi que des conceptions utilisant des composants à haute densité de broches sont très demandés dans les postes actuels. Les concepteurs ayant une expérience des bibliothèques de CAO du logiciel PCB et de la gestion de la configuration sont également très recherchés.

Parmi les autres qualifications recherchées, citons les conceptions analogiques et numériques mixtes, l’expérience des alimentations électriques, les différentes techniques de conception à grande vitesse et la compréhension de la conception pour la fabrication (DFM), des spécifications, des normes, de l’assemblage et des principes de test. Quelle liste détaillée ! On dirait bien qu’ils veulent la lune, mais je suppose que ce n’est pas une mauvaise chose si vous visez effectivement la lune avec vos produits.

entrée de tunnel futuriste

Cependant, la conception de circuits imprimés ne se limite pas à disposer des connaissances et de l’expérience nécessaires pour faire fonctionner vos conceptions. Souvent, les problèmes de conception vous obligeront à trouver des solutions créatives à des problèmes que vous n’avez jamais rencontrés auparavant. En étant capable de communiquer efficacement et de résoudre les problèmes, vous ferez avancer vos conceptions.

Des concepteurs innovants pour sortir des sentiers battus

De toute évidence, les concepteurs de technologies émergentes devront posséder un large éventail de connaissances et d’expériences. Toutefois, la caractéristique distinctive de bon nombre de ces concepteurs réside dans leur capacité à penser et à agir de manière proactive. Laisser une simple erreur dans votre conception entraver les tests et le prototypage de projets à grande échelle peut être facilement évité avec une bonne prévoyance.

Les méthodologies de conception de circuits imprimés sont ce sur quoi vous devez vous concentrer le plus. Il s’agit de savoir exactement comment fonctionnent vos outils et comment vous pouvez utiliser vos compétences pour obtenir une conception rapide et solide. Vous devez être capable d’utiliser des outils différents ou d’essayer de gérer l’organisation de plusieurs fonctions logicielles.

Pour toutes ces technologies émergentes, et en particulier pour les vols spatiaux, les conceptions de circuits imprimés devront être plus petites, plus robustes, tout en offrant davantage de fonctionnalités. Cela nécessitera des matériaux différents et des conceptions à plus haute densité. La réalisation de ces conceptions nécessitera des avancées dans les processus de fabrication, d’assemblage et de test. C’est le concepteur de circuits imprimés qui devra être capable de s’adapter à ces nouvelles méthodologies et à ces nouveaux processus pour les optimiser afin de créer des conceptions de niveau supérieur.

Ordinateur, conception et routage avec la terre en arrière-plan

La prochaine génération d’outils de conception de circuit imprimé indispensable pour relever les défis de l’espace

Nous savons déjà comment les cycles de conception sont comprimés afin de répondre aux besoins globaux des produits, et c’est une tendance qui ne fera que s’intensifier. Avec la nécessité de co-concevoir des projets de cartes multiples pour ces technologies émergentes, le besoin d’outils capables de fournir des solutions de conception devient de plus en plus important. Un concepteur qui maîtrise les derniers outils de conception et qui sait comment optimiser sa méthodologie en termes de vitesse, de sécurité et de puissance est essentiel.

Afin de respecter le calendrier de conception et de permettre à l’équipe d’ingénieurs de travailler efficacement, les outils de conception assistée par ordinateur (CAO) pour circuits imprimés permettent désormais de travailler dans un environnement de conception unifié. Cela permet au groupe de conception de travailler sur toutes les phases de la conception dans le même environnement sans avoir à utiliser différents outils de schéma et de disposition. Les outils de conception assistée par ordinateur vous donnent également la possibilité de concevoir plusieurs cartes système en même temps dans le même environnement.

Les améliorations apportées aux logiciels de conception de circuits imprimés vous permettront d’être plus efficace pour travailler sur les technologies de demain. Pour travailler avec des fonctionnalités telles qu’un environnement de conception unifié et des conceptions multi-cartes, Altium Designer® est ce qu’il vous faut.

Ne laissez pas un environnement logiciel inadapté vous ralentir et vous empêcher de progresser. Améliorez votre efficacité et commencez à construire l’avenir en vous adressant à un expert d’Altium.

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    PCB Designers for SpaceX and Beyond: Yesterday’s Fiction, Tomorrow’s Reality

    Altium Designer
    |  February 5, 2018

    SpaceX Dragon orbiting the earth

    I’ve wanted a career in engineering for as long as I can remember. There were people who could MacGyver something out of nothing and I wanted to be one of those people. I’m sure that watching science fiction on TV added a lot to that. I mean, who wouldn’t want to manipulate technology and control immense power like “Scotty” on Star Trek? I found out that I’m not alone in those dreams—apparently, Scotty was the inspiration for much interest in engineering.

    Back then science fiction was not the staple of entertainment that it is today, my parents only tolerated my interest in it. Who would have guessed that those of us who dreamt about spaceships would one day be on the forefront of designing them? Here we are though, and to say “the sky’s the limit,” has never felt more achievable. Many amazing technologies are being designed now such as driverless cars, robotics, IoT devices, and spacecraft.

    It takes more than dreams to design this level of technology though. To design tomorrow’s technologies in today’s industries is going to take designers who can step up into new challenges. A thorough knowledge of their field is an obvious requirement, but these designers also need to be flexible enough to not be boxed in by that same knowledge. It will also take designers who can use the tools of the trade to be able to make one small step a reality.

    Designers who are Knowledgeable

    SpaceX, one of the most recognizable brands designing tomorrow’s technologies, is a good sample for the kind of knowledge and experience that PCB designers should be equipped with when reaching for the atmosphere. Designer positions look for designers with experience in RF design as well as designs utilizing high pin-density components. Designers with experience in PCB CAD libraries and configuration management are also highly sought after.

    Further experience being sought after includes mixed analog and digital designs, experience with power supplies, different high-speed design techniques, and understandings of design for manufacturability (DFM), specifications, standards, assembly, and testing principles. What an earful! It sure sounds like they are wanting the moon, but I suppose that’s not a bad thing if you are in fact aiming for the moon with your products.

    Futuristic tunnel entrance
    Designing tomorrow’s technologies will require out of the box thinking

    There’s much more that goes into PCB design than simply having the knowledge and experience to make your designs function, though. Oftentimes, design problems will force you to think of creative solutions to problems you’ve never encountered directly before. Being able to communicate effectively and problem-solve will keep your designs rocketing forward.

    Designers who are Flexible Enough to Think Outside of the Box

    Obviously, designers of emerging technologies will need a wide range of knowledge and experience; however, the distinguishing feature of many of these designers tends to be in their abilities to think and act proactively. Letting a simple error in your design hinder the testing and prototyping of large-scale projects can be easily avoided with the right foresight and design for stability.

    PCB design methodologies are what you’ll need to be focusing on most, here. Knowing exactly how your tools function, and how well you can utilize everything available to you for a quick and solid design without having to backtrack, reach into separate tools, or try to manage the organization of multiple software functions.

    For any of these emerging technologies and especially for space flight, PCB designs will need to get smaller, more robust, and yet handle more functionality. This will require different materials and higher density designs. To build these designs will require advancements in the fabrication, assembly, and test processes. It is the PCB designer who will need to be able to adapt to and champion these new methodologies and processes in order to create their next level designs.

    Computers, designs, and routing over a background of Earth
    Advanced design tools will be needed to conquer the design challenges of tomorrow’s technologies

    The Next Generation of PCB Design Tools Will be Necessary for the Challenges of Space

    We already know how design cycles are being compressed in order to meet the overall product needs, and that is a trend that will only intensify. With the need to co-design multiple board projects for these emerging technologies, the need for tools that can provide design solutions is becoming more and more important. A designer whose fluent in the latest design tools and can understand how to optimize their methodology for speed, security, and potency is pivotal.

    To help keep the design on schedule and the engineering team focused, PCB CAD tools now feature the ability to work within a unified design environment. This allows the design group to work on all phases of the design within the same environment without having to interface between different schematic and layout tools. CAD tools also now give you the ability to design multiple system boards at the same time within the same environment.

    Enhancements in PCB design software will give you the edge that you need when working on tomorrow’s technologies, and for features like a unified design environment and multi-board designs, Altium Designer® has just what you need.

    Don’t let the wrong software environment keep you slow and trudging along. Upgrade your workflow and start building for tomorrow by talking to an expert at Altium.

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home