Was braucht man, um PCB-Layout-Designer zu werden?

Erstellt: October 8, 2021

In dem Film „Men of Honor“ spielte Robert De Niro Billy Sunday, einen Navy-Tauchausbilder mit einer anspruchsvollen pädagogischen Methode. Dieser motivierte seine Tauchschüler, indem er ihnen beschrieb, wie schwer ihre Arbeit sein würde, um sie auf die Herausforderungen ihrer Tätigkeit vorzubereiten. Er schloss seine Rede mit den Worten: „Ich weiß wirklich nicht, warum irgendjemand Navy-Taucher werden wolle“. Seine Ehrlichkeit sollte in diesem Fall nicht demotivierend wirken – manchmal braucht es für einen Job den Typ Mensch, der bereit ist, eine Arbeit zu tun, die andere nicht tun würden.

Es gab Tage, da dachte ich genau dasselbe über meinen eigenen Beruf: „Wieso sollte jemand PCB-Layout-Designer werden wollen?“ Aber trotz aller Widrigkeiten muss ich mich nur daran erinnern, dass ich mit meinen Fertigkeiten Dinge tun kann, die andere Menschen nicht können. Dank meiner Erfahrung und meines visuellen Denkvermögens kann ich mir vorstellen, wie die Bauteile auf einer Leiterplatte angeordnet werden müssen, damit ein effizientes Design entsteht. Zudem weiß ich, wie ich die mir zur Verfügung stehenden Werkzeuge einsetzen kann, um die Bauteile zu verbinden und die Platine so zu gestalten, dass sie funktioniert.

Die Arbeit ist manchmal sehr anspruchsvoll. Die meisten Leute, die man kennt und mit denen man zu tun hat, haben nicht die geringste Ahnung, was man eigentlich tut. Aber auf der anderen Seite erlebt man ein unglaubliches Gefühl der Erfüllung, wenn man sieht, dass der Entwurf so funktioniert, wie er geplant war. Ich weiß nicht, warum Sie PCB-Layout-Designer werden wollen; das können nur Sie selbst wissen, aber ich nehme an, Sie wollen kreative Lösungen für schwierige Designs suchen und finden. Tauchen Sie also ein. Sollten Sie Ihren Schatz finden, dann wissen Sie, dass Sie an der richtigen Stelle tauchen.

Häufige Missverständnisse über PCB-Layout-Designer

Es erstaunt mich immer wieder, wie viele Menschen nicht verstehen, was ich eigentlich tue. Vor allem, wenn ich mich als „PCB-Layout-Designer“ bezeichne, ernte ich nicht selten einen verständnislosen Blick. Selbst meine Kollegen scheinen nicht immer eine Vorstellung davon zu haben, womit ich mich beschäftige. Es gibt andere, die mich mit Nachdruck aufgefordert haben, ihnen zu erklären, warum in aller Welt jemand so etwas tun möchte.

Für das ungeschulte Auge erscheint meine Arbeit größtenteils als bloßes Herumschieben von Linien und Formen auf einem Computerbildschirm. Ich versichere jedoch jedem, der mehr darüber wissen möchte: Leiterplattendesign ist kein Kinderspiel. Wir sind keine „kreativen Zeitverschwender“, und wir sind keine Relikte eines alten Systems. Die Fähigkeit, diese Bedenken wirksam zu zerstreuen, gehört ebenfalls zu den Erwartungen an einen Leiterplattenentwickler.

Constructor wearing equipment making confused or wondering gesture with hands
Die meisten Menschen wissen nicht, was ein PCB-Layout eigentlich ist

Die Qualitäten eines PCB-Layout-Designers

Anders als in Videospielen, wo man seine Stärken minimieren und maximieren kann, um sich ausschließlich auf die benötigten Fähigkeiten zu konzentrieren, erfordert die Arbeit eines PCB-Layout-Designers einige der vielfältigsten Kompetenzen, die ich kenne. Ein wesentlicher Teil der Designerfunktion besteht darin, ihre kreativen Gedanken zur Problemlösung beim Leiterplattendesign einzusetzen. Diese Kreativität ist jedoch nur möglich, wenn ein Layouter über die technischen Möglichkeiten zur Umsetzung seiner Ideen verfügt. Im Folgenden finden Sie eine Liste von Charaktereigenschaften, die ich für wichtig halte:

  1. Detailgenauigkeit: Wenn Ihre Aufgabe darin besteht, Lösungen für kleinste Anpassungen zu finden, oder mit Materialien zu arbeiten, die nicht die ganze Handfläche ausfüllen, müssen Sie in der Lage sein, sich auf die Details zu konzentrieren.

  2. Halten Sie sich über Branchentrends auf dem Laufenden: In einer Branche, in der ständig neue Technologien auftauchen und neue Software effizientere und intelligentere Designlösungen ermöglicht, bedeutet das Ignorieren von Branchentrends für Sie in Zukunft mehr Arbeit.

  3. Erlernen neuer Designtechniken: Auch wenn dies für einen PCB-Layout-Designer eine der selbstverständlichsten Anforderungen sein dürfte, so kann es doch leicht zur Gewohnheit werden, ein paar funktionierende Vorgehensweisen zu finden und sie auf Ihre Layouts anzuwenden. Dies kann jedoch dazu führen, dass immer wieder Fehler auftreten oder dass neue Fehler entstehen, wenn Ihre Layouts komplexer werden.

  4. Lange Arbeitszeiten: Wie bei jeder Arbeit ist es gut, eine genaue Vorstellung davon zu haben, was zu tun ist und wann es getan werden muss. Allerdings kann es vorkommen, dass Sie trotz eines optimalen Prioritätenmanagements Entwürfe fertigstellen und Überstunden machen müssen, um Termine einzuhalten.

  5. Gemeinsame Problemlösung: Das größte Hindernis bei vielen dieser Vorhaben ist der Zeitaufwand, den ein Layout-Designer aufwenden muss, um andere zu managen und Designanforderungen aus verschiedenen Quellen zu bewältigen. Als Designer müssen Sie die Menschen, mit denen Sie zusammenarbeiten, führen und ausgleichen. Oft sind Sie das Seil in einem Tauziehen zwischen Technik und Fertigung, und es liegt an Ihnen, eine Lösung zu finden, die beide Seiten zufriedenstellt.

Illustration of cartoon diver
Einige der größten Herausforderungen, die Sie zu bewältigen haben, werden sich am lohnendsten anfühlen.

Hier ist der Schatz auf dem Grund des Ozeans

Nach allem, was ich bisher gesagt habe, fragen Sie sich vielleicht, warum jemand PCB-Layout-Designer werden will. Vielleicht ist es immer noch nichts für Sie. Aber hier sind einige Gründe, warum ich PCB-Layout-Design liebe:

  • Ihre Arbeit wird Sie herausfordern: Eine Leiterplatte so zu entwerfen, dass sie den Fertigungsspezifikationen entspricht und wie vorgesehen funktioniert, wird Sie auf Trab halten.

  • Sie werden mit neuen Ideen konfrontiert: Die Technologie verändert sich ständig, und Sie werden immer nach besseren Möglichkeiten suchen, Ihre Aufgabe zu erfüllen.

  • Gute Arbeitsbedingungen: Höchstwahrscheinlich werden Sie keine Platinen im Freien bei Regen oder Schnee entwerfen. Das ist vielleicht nicht jedermanns Ziel, aber auf jeden Fall eines meiner.

  • Gutes Gehalt: Die meisten PCB-Layout-Designer verdienen gut, und es ist nicht ungewöhnlich, dass sie angemessen entlohnt werden. Ich kann zwar keine konkreten Zahlen nennen, aber ich hoffe, dass diese Superlative eine gewisse Orientierung bieten.

  • Zu sehen, wie das, was man geschaffen hat, zum Leben erwacht: Eine der größten Freuden für mich ist es, zu sehen, wie die von mir entworfenen Designs in den Produkten, die mein Unternehmen vertreibt, lebendig werden. Es gibt nichts Schöneres, als zu erleben, dass ein Gerät, ein Computer oder ein Mobiltelefon funktioniert, weil es eine von mir entworfene Leiterplatte enthält.

  • Hardware erstellen: Auch wenn die meisten Leute nicht verstehen werden, was Sie machen, werden die meisten beeindruckt sein, wenn Sie ihnen zeigen können, was Sie geschaffen haben. Ich habe zu Hause eine Wand, an der ich Beispiele für einige meiner Leiterplattenentwürfe aufgehängt habe, und ich werde immer wieder gefragt, was das ist und was ich mache. Es ist mir eine große Freude, die Geschichten zu erzählen.

Ich bin PCB-Layout-Designer, weil ich es liebe. Ich habe jeden Tag etwas zu tun, das mich herausfordert, erfüllt und befriedigt. Wie steht es mit Ihnen? Sind Sie bereit, in die Welt des Leiterplattendesigns einzutauchen und die gleichen Erfahrungen zu machen, die ich beschrieben habe? Dann müssen Sie mit Design-Tools arbeiten, mit denen Sie von Anfang an erfolgreich sein können. Wenn Sie auf ein einfach zu bedienendes PCB-Layout-Tool zugreifen möchten, das alles enthält, was Sie für die Erstellung qualitativ hochwertiger, herstellbarer Leiterplatten benötigen, sind Sie bei CircuitMaker an der richtigen Adresse. Zusätzlich zu der benutzerfreundlichen PCB-Designsoftware haben alle CircuitMaker-Anwender Zugang zu einem persönlichen Arbeitsbereich auf der Altium-365-Plattform. Sie können Ihre Designdaten in die Cloud hochladen und speichern, und Ihre Projekte ganz einfach über Ihren Webbrowser auf einer sicheren Plattform betrachten.

Nutzen Sie CircuitMaker noch heute und freuen Sie sich auf das kommende CircuitMaker Pro von Altium.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    What Does it Take to be a PCB Layout Designer?

    Altium Designer
    |  December 15, 2017

    In the movie “Men of Honor,” Robert De Niro portrayed Billy Sunday, a Navy diving instructor with a challenging pedagogical method. He motivated his student divers by describing how hard their job would be to prepare them for the difficulties of their tasks. He concluded his speech by saying, “I don’t know why anybody would want to be a Navy Diver.” His honesty, in this case, wasn’t intended to be demotivating—sometimes a job takes a certain type of person, one who is willing to do work that others won’t.

    There have been days that I’ve thought the same thing about my own career: “I don’t know why anybody would want to be a PCB layout designer.” But even with the adversity, I only have to remind myself that I can and am doing things with my skills that most other people can not. My experience and visually-oriented mind can imagine how components need to be arranged on a circuit board in order to create an efficient design. Furthermore, I know how to use the tools at my command to connect the components and make the circuit board function as it should.

    The job can be challenging and demanding at times, and most of the people you know and interact with won’t have much of a clue as to what it is that you are actually doing. But on the other hand, you will get to experience an incredible feeling of accomplishment when you see your design working as it was intended. I don’t know why you would want to be a PCB layout designer—only you can know that reason, but I imagine that you’re here because you’re interested in pursuing and finding creative solutions for difficult designs. So dive in, and if you find your treasure then you know you’re in the right field.

    Common Confusions Over PCB Layout Designers

    It never ceases to amaze me how often people misunderstand what it is that I do. Especially when I describe myself as a “PCB Designer,” it is not unusual to get a blank stare in return. Even my coworkers don’t always seem to have much of an idea as to what it is that I do, or am doing when I complete my work. There are others who have point blank demanded I tell them why in the world anyone would want to do something like this.

    Much of my job appears to just be moving lines and shapes around on a computer screen, to the untrained eye; however, I promise, to anyone wanting to know more about what the PCB designer they work with does, this is hardly a game. We’re not ‘creative time wasters,’ and we’re not relics from an older system. Being able to effectively assuage these concerns, too, is part of the job expectations for a PCB layout designer.

    Constructor wearing equipment making confused or wondering gesture with hands
    Most people have no idea what a PCB Layout actually is

    The Attributes of a PCB Layout Designer

    Unlike in video games where you can minimize and maximize your attributes to focus solely on the skills you need, being a PCB designer requires some of the most diverse combinations of skills that I know of. A large part of the designer’s role is to utilize their creative thoughts to problem solve board design challenges; however, this creativity is only enabled if a layout designer has the technical capacity to enact their ideas. Here is a list of what I find to be important traits:

    1. Great attention to detail: When your job entails trying to map solutions to minor adjustment changes, or has you working with materials that don’t fill your whole palm, you need to be able to focus on the details.

    2. Keeping up-to-date on industry trends: In an industry where new technology is constantly popping up, and new software is enabling more efficient and smart design solutions, ignoring industry trends will mean more work for you down the line.

    3. Learning new design techniques: While this seems to be one of the most common-sense needs for a PCB Layout Designer, it can be easy to make a habit of your layout designing by finding a few techniques which work and applying them to your layouts. But this may encourage continuous errors, or enable new errors to pop up as your layouts become more complex.

    4. Long hours: Just like with any job, it is good to keep a strong idea of what you need to get done, and when it needs to get done. But sometimes, even with the best priority management, you will have to complete designs and work extra hours to meet deadlines.

    5. Common ground problem solving: The biggest wrench in many of these plans is the amount of time a layout designer will spend managing others and managing design demands from multiple sources. As a designer, you will need to manage and balance those that you work with. Often you will be the rope in a tug-of-war between engineering and manufacturing, and it will be up to you to find a solution that will satisfy both sides.

    Illustration of cartoon diver
    Some of the largest challenges you'll face will feel like the most rewarding to complete.

    Here's the Treasure at the Bottom of the Ocean

    After everything that I’ve said so far, you may also be wondering why anyone would want to be a PCB layout designer. It still might not be for you, but these are some reasons why I love PCB layout design:

    • Your work will challenge you: Designing a circuit board so that it meets the manufacturing specifications and works as it is intended will keep you on your toes.

    • You will be exposed to new ideas: Technology is constantly changing, and you will always looking at better ways to accomplish your task.

    • Decent working conditions: More than likely, you won’t be designing boards outside in the rain or snow. While that might not be everyone’s goal, it certainly is one of mine.

    • Good salary: Most PCB layout designers make a good salary, and it isn’t uncommon to make a great salary. While I can’t give specific numbers, I hope these superlatives can offer some guidance.

    • Seeing what you create come to life: One of the greatest joys that I have is in seeing the designs that I create come to life in the products that my company markets. There is nothing better than seeing an appliance, computer, or cell phone work because it contains a PCB in it that I’ve designed.

    • Creating hardware: Although most people won’t understand what it is that you do, most everyone will be impressed when you can show them what you’ve created. I have a wall at home where I’ve hung examples of some of my PCB designs, and I always get questions about what they are and what I do. It is no small joy of mine to tell their stories.

    I am a PCB layout designer because I love it. I get to do something every day that is challenging, fulfilling, and rewarding. How about you? Are you ready to step into the world of PCB design and enjoy the same experiences that I have described? If you are, then you will need to work with design tools that can enable you to be successful from the start.

    PCB design software, like Altium Designer, is intuitive for the entry level designer and powerful enough for the veteran designer. Whichever end of the experience spectrum that you are at, Altium Designer can help you to be a success.

    Find out more about how Altium can help you by talking to an expert at Altium.

    Check out Altium in action...

    Powerful PCB Design

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home