Que faut-il pour devenir concepteur de circuits imprimés ?

Créé: October 7, 2021

Dans le film « Men of Honor », Robert De Niro interprète le rôle de Billy Sunday, un instructeur de plongée de la marine qui a une méthode pédagogique difficile. Il motivait ses élèves plongeurs en décrivant la difficulté de leur travail pour les préparer à la difficulté de leurs tâches. Il conclut son discours en disant : « Je ne sais pas pourquoi quelqu’un voudrait être un plongeur de la marine ». Son honnêteté, dans ce cas, n’était pas destinée à être démotivante — parfois, un travail exige d’avoir un certain type de personnalité : être une personne qui est prête à faire un travail que d’autres ne feront pas.

Il y a eu des jours où j’ai pensé la même chose de ma propre carrière : « Je ne sais pas pourquoi quelqu’un voudrait être un concepteur de circuits imprimés. » Mais dans l’adversité, je me souviens que grâce à mes compétences, je conçois des produits que la plupart ne savent pas faire. Mon expérience et mon esprit visuel me permettent d’imaginer comment les composants doivent être disposés sur une carte de circuit imprimé afin de créer une conception efficace. En outre, je sais comment utiliser les outils à ma disposition pour connecter les composants et faire fonctionner le circuit imprimé comme il se doit.

Le travail peut parfois être difficile et exigeant, et la plupart des gens que vous connaissez et avec qui vous interagissez n’ont pas la moindre idée de ce que vous faites réellement. Mais vous éprouverez un incroyable sentiment d’accomplissement lorsque vous verrez votre conception fonctionner comme prévu. Je ne sais pas pourquoi vous voulez devenir concepteur de circuits imprimés, mais j’imagine que vous êtes ici parce que vous êtes intéressé par la recherche de solutions créatives pour des conceptions difficiles. Alors plongez dans la lecture de cet article et découvrez si vous êtes fait pour ce métier.

Les erreurs courantes sur les concepteurs de schémas de circuits imprimés

Je ne cesse de m’étonner de la fréquence à laquelle les gens se méprennent sur ce que je fais. En particulier, lorsque je me décris comme un « concepteur de circuits imprimés » ; il n’est pas rare de recevoir un regard vide en retour. Même mes collègues de travail ne semblent pas avoir une idée de ce que je fais, ou de ce que je suis en train de faire lorsque je termine mon travail. D’autres ont carrément exigé que je leur dise pourquoi diable quelqu’un voudrait faire un travail comme ça.

Une grande partie de mon travail semble se résumer à déplacer des lignes et des formes sur un écran d’ordinateur, pour un œil non averti. Cependant, je promets à tous ceux qui veulent en savoir plus sur ce que fait le concepteur de circuits imprimés que ce n’est pas un jeu. Nous ne sommes pas des « gaspilleurs de temps créatifs » ni des reliques d’un ancien système. Être capable d’apaiser efficacement ces interrogations fait également partie des attentes professionnelles d’un concepteur de circuits imprimés.

constructeur habillé avec son équipement qui semble être confus et fait un mouvement avec ses mains

 

Les compétences d’un concepteur de circuits imprimés

Contrairement aux jeux vidéo où vous pouvez minimiser et maximiser vos attributs pour vous concentrer uniquement sur les compétences dont vous avez besoin, le métier de concepteur de circuits imprimés exige certaines des combinaisons de compétences les plus diverses que je connaisse. Une grande partie du rôle du concepteur consiste à utiliser ses pensées créatives pour résoudre les problèmes de conception de cartes. Cependant, cette créativité n’est possible que si le concepteur de circuits imprimés a la capacité technique de mettre ses idées en pratique. Voici une liste de ce que je considère comme des compétences indispensables :

  1. Une grande attention aux détails: Lorsque votre travail consiste à essayer de trouver des solutions à des changements d’ajustement mineurs, ou que vous travaillez avec des matériaux qui ne remplissent pas toute votre paume, vous devez être capable de vous concentrer sur les détails.

  2. Se tenir au courant des tendances du secteur: Dans un secteur où les nouvelles technologies font constamment leur apparition et où les nouveaux logiciels permettent des solutions de conception plus efficaces et plus intelligentes, ignorer les tendances du secteur signifie vous priver de travail à l’avenir.

  3. Apprendre de nouvelles techniques de conception: Bien que cela semble être l’un des besoins les plus sensés, il peut être facile d’en faire une habitude en trouvant quelques techniques qui fonctionnent et en les appliquant à vos designs. Mais cela peut encourager les erreurs continues, ou permettre à de nouvelles erreurs d’apparaître au fur et à mesure que vos layouts deviennent plus complexes.

  4. De longues heures: Comme pour tout travail, il est bon de garder une idée précise de ce que vous devez faire, et quand cela doit être fait. Mais parfois, même avec la meilleure gestion des priorités, vous devrez compléter des conceptions et travailler des heures supplémentaires pour respecter les délais.

  5. Résolution des problèmes en commun: Le plus grand obstacle dans les projets est le temps qu’un concepteur devra consacrer à la gestion des autres. Ainsi qu’à la gestion des demandes de conception provenant de sources multiples. En tant que concepteur, vous devrez gérer ceux avec qui vous travaillez. Vous serez entre l’ingénierie et la fabrication, et il vous appartiendra de trouver une solution qui satisfera les deux parties.

Illustration de dessin animé

 

Les raisons de devenir concepteur de circuit imprimé

Après tout ce que j’ai dit jusqu’à présent, vous vous demandez peut-être pourquoi quelqu’un voudrait devenir concepteur de circuits imprimés. Ce n’est peut-être pas pour vous, mais voici quelques raisons pour lesquelles j’aime le design des circuits imprimés :

  • Votre travail vous mettra au défi: Concevoir une carte de circuit imprimé de manière à ce qu’elle réponde aux spécifications de fabrication et fonctionne comme prévu vous tiendra en haleine.

  • Vous serez exposé à de nouvelles idées: La technologie est en constante évolution, et vous chercherez toujours de meilleures façons d’accomplir votre tâche.

  • Des conditions de travail décentes: Il est peu probable que vous ayez à concevoir des cartes de circuits sous la pluie ou la neige. Ce n’est peut-être pas l’objectif de tout le monde, mais c’est certainement l’un des miens.

  • Bon salaire: La plupart des concepteurs de circuits imprimés gagnent un bon salaire, et il n’est pas rare de gagner un excellent salaire.

  • Voir ce que vous créez prendre vie: L’une des plus grandes joies que j’éprouve est de voir les dessins que je crée prendre vie dans les produits que mon entreprise commercialise. Il n’y a rien de mieux que de voir un appareil, un ordinateur ou un téléphone portable fonctionner parce qu’il contient un circuit imprimé que j’ai conçu.

  • Créer du matériel: Bien que la plupart des gens ne comprennent pas ce que vous faites, ils seront impressionnés lorsque vous pourrez leur montrer ce que vous avez créé. J’ai un mur à la maison où j’ai accroché des exemples de certaines de mes conceptions de circuits imprimés. Je reçois toujours des questions sur ce qu’ils sont et ce que je fais. C’est une grande fierté pour moi de raconter leurs histoires.

Je suis concepteur de circuits imprimés parce que j’aime ça. Je fais chaque jour quelque chose de stimulant, d’enrichissant et de gratifiant. Et vous ? Êtes-vous prêt à entrer dans le monde de la conception de circuits imprimés et à vivre les mêmes expériences que celles que j’ai décrites ? Si c’est le cas, vous aurez besoin de travailler avec des outils de conception qui vous permettront de réussir dès le départ. Si vous avez besoin d’accéder à un outil de conception de circuits imprimés facile à utiliser pour construire des circuits manufacturables de haute qualité, optez pour CircuitMaker. Outre un logiciel de conception de circuits imprimés facile à utiliser, tous les utilisateurs de CircuitMaker ont accès à un espace de travail personnel sur la plate-forme Altium 365. Vous pouvez télécharger et stocker vos données de conception dans le cloud, et vous pouvez facilement visualiser vos projets via votre navigateur Web dans une plateforme sécurisée.

Commencez à utiliser CircuitMaker dès aujourd’hui et restez connecté pour découvrir le nouveau CircuitMaker Pro d’Altium.

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    What Does it Take to be a PCB Layout Designer?

    Altium Designer
    |  December 15, 2017

    In the movie “Men of Honor,” Robert De Niro portrayed Billy Sunday, a Navy diving instructor with a challenging pedagogical method. He motivated his student divers by describing how hard their job would be to prepare them for the difficulties of their tasks. He concluded his speech by saying, “I don’t know why anybody would want to be a Navy Diver.” His honesty, in this case, wasn’t intended to be demotivating—sometimes a job takes a certain type of person, one who is willing to do work that others won’t.

    There have been days that I’ve thought the same thing about my own career: “I don’t know why anybody would want to be a PCB layout designer.” But even with the adversity, I only have to remind myself that I can and am doing things with my skills that most other people can not. My experience and visually-oriented mind can imagine how components need to be arranged on a circuit board in order to create an efficient design. Furthermore, I know how to use the tools at my command to connect the components and make the circuit board function as it should.

    The job can be challenging and demanding at times, and most of the people you know and interact with won’t have much of a clue as to what it is that you are actually doing. But on the other hand, you will get to experience an incredible feeling of accomplishment when you see your design working as it was intended. I don’t know why you would want to be a PCB layout designer—only you can know that reason, but I imagine that you’re here because you’re interested in pursuing and finding creative solutions for difficult designs. So dive in, and if you find your treasure then you know you’re in the right field.

    Common Confusions Over PCB Layout Designers

    It never ceases to amaze me how often people misunderstand what it is that I do. Especially when I describe myself as a “PCB Designer,” it is not unusual to get a blank stare in return. Even my coworkers don’t always seem to have much of an idea as to what it is that I do, or am doing when I complete my work. There are others who have point blank demanded I tell them why in the world anyone would want to do something like this.

    Much of my job appears to just be moving lines and shapes around on a computer screen, to the untrained eye; however, I promise, to anyone wanting to know more about what the PCB designer they work with does, this is hardly a game. We’re not ‘creative time wasters,’ and we’re not relics from an older system. Being able to effectively assuage these concerns, too, is part of the job expectations for a PCB layout designer.

    Constructor wearing equipment making confused or wondering gesture with hands
    Most people have no idea what a PCB Layout actually is

    The Attributes of a PCB Layout Designer

    Unlike in video games where you can minimize and maximize your attributes to focus solely on the skills you need, being a PCB designer requires some of the most diverse combinations of skills that I know of. A large part of the designer’s role is to utilize their creative thoughts to problem solve board design challenges; however, this creativity is only enabled if a layout designer has the technical capacity to enact their ideas. Here is a list of what I find to be important traits:

    1. Great attention to detail: When your job entails trying to map solutions to minor adjustment changes, or has you working with materials that don’t fill your whole palm, you need to be able to focus on the details.

    2. Keeping up-to-date on industry trends: In an industry where new technology is constantly popping up, and new software is enabling more efficient and smart design solutions, ignoring industry trends will mean more work for you down the line.

    3. Learning new design techniques: While this seems to be one of the most common-sense needs for a PCB Layout Designer, it can be easy to make a habit of your layout designing by finding a few techniques which work and applying them to your layouts. But this may encourage continuous errors, or enable new errors to pop up as your layouts become more complex.

    4. Long hours: Just like with any job, it is good to keep a strong idea of what you need to get done, and when it needs to get done. But sometimes, even with the best priority management, you will have to complete designs and work extra hours to meet deadlines.

    5. Common ground problem solving: The biggest wrench in many of these plans is the amount of time a layout designer will spend managing others and managing design demands from multiple sources. As a designer, you will need to manage and balance those that you work with. Often you will be the rope in a tug-of-war between engineering and manufacturing, and it will be up to you to find a solution that will satisfy both sides.

    Illustration of cartoon diver
    Some of the largest challenges you'll face will feel like the most rewarding to complete.

    Here's the Treasure at the Bottom of the Ocean

    After everything that I’ve said so far, you may also be wondering why anyone would want to be a PCB layout designer. It still might not be for you, but these are some reasons why I love PCB layout design:

    • Your work will challenge you: Designing a circuit board so that it meets the manufacturing specifications and works as it is intended will keep you on your toes.

    • You will be exposed to new ideas: Technology is constantly changing, and you will always looking at better ways to accomplish your task.

    • Decent working conditions: More than likely, you won’t be designing boards outside in the rain or snow. While that might not be everyone’s goal, it certainly is one of mine.

    • Good salary: Most PCB layout designers make a good salary, and it isn’t uncommon to make a great salary. While I can’t give specific numbers, I hope these superlatives can offer some guidance.

    • Seeing what you create come to life: One of the greatest joys that I have is in seeing the designs that I create come to life in the products that my company markets. There is nothing better than seeing an appliance, computer, or cell phone work because it contains a PCB in it that I’ve designed.

    • Creating hardware: Although most people won’t understand what it is that you do, most everyone will be impressed when you can show them what you’ve created. I have a wall at home where I’ve hung examples of some of my PCB designs, and I always get questions about what they are and what I do. It is no small joy of mine to tell their stories.

    I am a PCB layout designer because I love it. I get to do something every day that is challenging, fulfilling, and rewarding. How about you? Are you ready to step into the world of PCB design and enjoy the same experiences that I have described? If you are, then you will need to work with design tools that can enable you to be successful from the start.

    PCB design software, like Altium Designer, is intuitive for the entry level designer and powerful enough for the veteran designer. Whichever end of the experience spectrum that you are at, Altium Designer can help you to be a success.

    Find out more about how Altium can help you by talking to an expert at Altium.

    Check out Altium in action...

    Powerful PCB Design

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home