Reduzieren Sie die Zeit der PCB-Herstellung durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Herstellern

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: April 1, 2020  |  Updated: February 10, 2021
die Zusammenarbeit mit Herstellern

In einem Interview mit PCB007 erinnerte sich Lawrence Romine, Vice President Marketing bei Altium, vor kurzem an ein Gespräch mit Tara Dunn. Diese merkte an, dass alle Designs, die ihr Unternehmen für die Fertigung erhält, zurückgestellt werden. Wenn Sie ein Hersteller sind, überrascht Sie dies wahrscheinlich nicht; manche Designer sind bei ihren Designentscheidungen sehr unbekümmert. Obwohl diese Designs aus Sicht der Signalintegrität und des Layouts innovativ und nützlich sein können, sind sie möglicherweise nicht herstellbar oder führen zu einem geringen Ertrag.

Der Trick, um Redesigns zu vermeiden und die Herstellungszeit für PCBs zu verkürzen, besteht darin, früh im Designprozess mit Ihrem Hersteller zusammenzuarbeiten. Hersteller werden Ihnen sagen, dass Designer früher im Designprozess mit ihrem Fertigungs- und Montagehaus sprechen müssen. Der beste Weg, um diesen Prozess zu realisieren und die Zeit der PCB-Herstellung zu verkürzen, ist die Verwendung eines Cloud-basierten Systems für den Datenzugriff, die gemeinsame Nutzung und die Zusammenarbeit bei Designänderungen.

Ineffiziente Zusammenarbeit = verzögerte Fertigung

Die Branche verwendet nach wie vor weitgehend Dateiübertragungen (DXF, IDF oder IDX) zwischen den beiden Domänen. Meine Kunden bevorzugen immer noch den FTP-Zugang oder E-Mails, um      Designdateien zu senden und zu empfangen. Dies ist zwar in Ordnung, wenn wir anfängliche Anforderungen, Dokumentationen oder Schaltpläne erhalten müssen, aber es wird zeitaufwändig, wenn Ihr Designer eine komplexe Frage an den Ingenieur des Kunden hat. Wir mussten Screenshots des Layouts machen, sie in Photoshop so ändern, dass sie Fragen enthalten und bestimmte Layoutpunkte angeben, sie an den Kunden senden und Tage auf eine Antwort warten. Wenn Ihr Kunde versucht, sein Design so schnell wie möglich zu einem Hersteller zu bringen, bedeutet jede Wartezeit ein erhöhtes Risiko.

Bei der Zusammenarbeit mit Herstellern mussten wir denselben ineffizienten Kommunikationsprozess implementieren. Im Laufe der Zeit ist es uns gelungen, uns auf eine ausgewählte Liste von Herstellern zu beschränken und deren DFM-Empfehlungen zusammenzustellen. Wir müssen jedoch immer noch Fragen stellen, wenn wir uns in Bezug auf die Herstellbarkeit nicht sicher sind. Werden Dateien mit einem Kunden oder einem Hersteller hin und her gesendet, erschwert dies auch mechanische Änderungen, und wir greifen bei Skype-Anrufen häufig auf Screenshots und Bildschirmfreigaben zurück. Dies ist auch wichtig, wenn wir einen mechanischen Aspekt eines Designs überprüfen müssen, z.B. die Anordnung mehrerer Platinen, Biegebereiche auf einer Flex- oder Rigid-Flex-Platine und Freiräume.

Zusammenarbeit beim 3D-Design zur Reduzierung der Herstellungszeit von Leiterplatten
Das 3D-Design von PCBs kann ohne Kollaborationsfunktionen schwierig und zeitaufwändig sein.

Angesichts der Fülle von File-Sharing-Diensten, Chat- und Video-Meeting-Diensten sowie Cloud-Backup-Diensten ist die Überwindung dieser Ineffizienzen im Umgang mit Herstellern viel einfacher geworden. Obwohl diese Dienste die Datenübertragung und -kommunikation erleichtern, ist es jedoch immer noch schwierig, in Echtzeit direkt an denselben Designdaten zusammenzuarbeiten. Sie möchten verhindern, dass Ihr Design den „No bid-Status“ erhält, oder Sie möchten die erforderlichen Designänderungen mit Ihrem Hersteller abgleichen? Dann müssen Sie Zugriff auf dieselben Designdaten in einem zuverlässigen Cloud-Portal haben, das für das PCB-Design und Management entwickelt wurde.

Wie sieht die Cloud-basierte Zusammenarbeit für die  PCB-Herstellung aus?

Ich kann mit ziemlicher Sicherheit sagen, dass die beste Zusammenarbeit, sowohl mit einem Endkunden als auch mit einem Hersteller, nicht darauf basiert, dass Dateien hin und her geschickt werden. Meiner Erfahrung nach gilt dies für alle Bereiche, von Software bis hin zu schriftlichen Dokumenten. Durch das hin- und her wird eine lange Dateienkette erstellt, die in jeder Iteration gespeichert und nachverfolgt werden muss. Dies ist ein zeitaufwändiger Prozess und das Zurücksetzen auf eine frühere Version eines Designs scheint länger zu dauern, als das manuelle Zurücksetzen einer Designänderung.

Stellen Sie sich Google Docs vor, aber für das PCB-Design, bei dem ein Hersteller und ein Designer dieselben Designdaten öffnen, die Änderungen des jeweils anderen sehen und Änderungsvorschläge miteinander abstimmen können. Diese Art der Zusammenarbeit erfordert eine Reihe an Funktionen, die normalerweise auf verschiedene Cloud-Plattformen verteilt sind:

  • Änderungsverfolgung und Versionskontrolle: Falls eine Designänderung rückgängig gemacht werden muss, sollten Designer in der Lage sein, schnell und einfach auf frühere Versionen des Designs zurückzugreifen. Anstatt diese Funktionen auf separate Umgebungen zu begrenzen, sollten Designer und Hersteller Revisionen verfolgen und auf frühere Versionen derselben Designdaten zurückgreifen können.
  • Austausch von Designdaten in Echtzeit: Alle Änderungen an Designdaten müssen auf Knopfdruck zwischen einem Designer, Kunden und Hersteller geteilt werden. Dies beseitigt die verwirrenden, zeitaufwändigen E-Mail-Ketten von gestern.
  • Bauteildaten und Transparenz der Lieferkette: Anstatt Bibliotheken zu erstellen, neu zu erstellen und per E-Mail zu senden, sollten Hersteller diese Daten neben ihren Informationen zur Lieferkette zugänglich haben.
  • MCAD-Zusammenarbeit: Jeder konzentriert sich beim PCB-Design auf die elektrische Seite, aber die fortschrittliche Elektronik stellt auch strengere mechanische Anforderungen. Dies gilt insbesondere für Flex- und Rigid-Flex-PCBs.

Sie finden all diese Funktionen in einer Vielzahl separater Kollaborationstools und Supply-Chain-Management-Plattformen von Drittanbietern. Sie können jedoch auch alle diese Funktionen in einer einzigen Schnittstelle nutzen, wenn Sie eine Cloud-basierte Kollaborationsplattform verwenden, die in Ihre PCB-Designfunktionen integriert ist.

Reduzierung der Herstellungszeit für Leiterplatten, ohne das Labor zu verlassen
Ihre Designer sollten das Labor nicht verlassen müssen, um mit Herstellern zusammenzuarbeiten

Reduzieren Sie die Herstellungszeit von PCBs mit Altium Concord Pro

Wenn Ihre Designer und Hersteller mit einer einzigen Cloud-basierten Design- und Management-Plattform für Elektronik zusammenarbeiten, können Designdaten problemlos geteilt und Designaktualisierungen erheblich optimiert werden. Altium Concord Pro bietet diese wichtigen Vorteile zusätzlich zu den Standarddesignfunktionen in Altium Designer. Da der Datenaustausch in der Cloud stattfindet, können Designer bei allen Aspekten ihrer neuen Produkte in Echtzeit mit ihrem Hersteller zusammenarbeiten und so die Zeit der PCB-Herstellung verkürzen.

Concord Pro bietet auch Unterstützung für fortschrittliche Designs, die strenge mechanische Anforderungen erfüllen müssen und über einzigartige Gehäuse verfügen. Mit den ECAD-MCAD-Kollaborationsfunktion können Designer und Hersteller sicherstellen, dass Designänderungen unter mechanischen Bedingungen funktionieren und gleichzeitig herstellbar bleiben. Diese Änderungen können auf derselben Plattform auch mit den Kunden geteilt werden, wodurch eine einheitliche Erfahrung für alle Parteien entsteht.

Reduzierung der PCB-Herstellungszeit bei komplexen ECAD / MCAD-Designs
Reduzieren Sie die Herstellungszeit von PCBs durch die Zusammenarbeit in Echtzeit in Altium Concord Pro

Die in Altium Concord Pro™ integrierten Tools für Elektronikdesign und -herstellung sind ideal für die Zusammenarbeit mit Ihren Kunden und Herstellern. Sie können die Zeit für die PCB-Herstellung verkürzen, indem Sie einen Redesign-Prozess verhindern oder optimieren. Dies hilft Ihnen auch dabei, den Ertrag zu steigern, indem sichergestellt wird, dass Ihre Platine im Rahmen der Möglichkeiten Ihres Herstellers vollständig hergestellt werden kann. Diese Management- und Kollaborationsfunktionen sind in die branchenüblichen PCB-Designtools in Altium Designer® integriert und bilden die leistungsstärkste Design- und Produktionsplanungsplattform der Branche.

Kontaktieren Sie uns oder laden Sie eine kostenlose Testversion von Altium Designer® und Altium Concord Pro™ herunter. Sie haben Zugriff auf die branchenweit besten Funktionen für MCAD/ECAD Co-Design, PCB Layout, Dokumentation und Datenverwaltung in einem einzigen Programm. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Altium-Experten, um mehr zu erfahren.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Reduce PCB Manufacturing Time Through Manufacturer Collaboration

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  April 1, 2020
    Reduce PCB manufacturing time with collaboration

    In a recent interview with PCB007, Altium VP of Marketing Lawrence Romine recalled a brief conversation with Tara Dunn, who remarked that all designs her company receives for manufacturing get put on hold. If you’re a manufacturer, this probably doesn’t surprise you; some designers can be very cavalier with their design choices. Although these designs may be innovative and useful from a signal integrity and layout perspective, they may not be manufacturable or may result in low yield.

    The trick to avoiding redesigns and to reduce PCB manufacturing time is to collaborate with your manufacturer early in the design process. Manufacturers will tell you that designers need to talk to their fabrication and assembly house earlier in the design process. The most seamless way to realize this process and reduce PCB manufacturing time is to use a cloud-based system for data access, sharing, and collaboration on design changes.

    Inefficient Collaboration = Delayed Manufacturing

    The industry still largely uses file transfers (DXF, IDF, or IDX) between the two domains. My customers still prefer to use FTP access or email to send and receive design files. While this is fine when we need to receive initial requirements, documentation, or schematics, it becomes a time-suck when your designer has a complex question for the customer’s engineer. We’ve had to take screenshots of the layout, modify them in photoshop to include questions and indicate specific layout points, send them to the customer, and wait days for a response. When your customer is trying to take their design to a manufacturer as soon as possible, any time spent waiting increases their risk.

    We’ve had to implement the same inefficient communication process when working with manufacturers. Over time, we’ve managed to narrow down to a select list of manufacturers and compile their DFM recommendations, but we still have to ask questions whenever we are unsure of manufacturability. Back-and-forth file transfers with a customer or a manufacturer also make mechanical changes difficult, and we’re often stuck resorting to screenshots and screen shares during Skype calls. This is also important when we need to verify some mechanical aspect of a design, such as arrangements of multiple boards, bend regions on a flex or rigid-flex board, and clearances.

    3D PCB design collaboration to reduce PCB manufacturing time
    3D PCB design can be difficult and time-consuming without collaboration features.

    Given the wealth of file sharing services, chat and video meeting services, and cloud backup services, overcoming these inefficiencies in dealing with manufacturers has become much easier. Although these services make data transfer and communication easier, it is still difficult to collaborate directly on the same design data in real-time. If you want to prevent your design from receiving no-bid status, or if you need to reconcile required design changes with your manufacturer, then you need to have access to the same design data in a reliable cloud portal that is built for PCB design and management.

    What Does Cloud-based Collaboration with PCB Manufacturers Look Like?

    I’ll say with certainty that the best collaboration process, both with an end customer or a manufacturer, should not rely on back-and-forth file sharing. In my experience, this holds true for everything from software to written documents. Back-and-forth file sharing creates a long chain of files that need to be stored and tracked in each iteration. It’s a time consuming process, and rolling back to a previous version of a design seems to take longer than reverting a design change manually.

    Imagine Google Docs, but for PCB design, where a manufacturer and a designer can open the same set of design data, see each other’s changes, and push changes to each other for real-time review and qualification. This type of collaboration requires a number of features that are normally fragmented across different cloud platforms:

    • Revision tracking and version control: In the event that a design change needs to be rolled back, designers need to be able to revert to previous versions of a design quickly and easily. Rather than confining these features to separate environments, a designer and manufacturer need to track revisions and revert to previous versions of the same design data.
    • Design data exchange in real-time: Any design data changes need to be sent between a designer, customer, and manufacturer at the click of a button. This eliminates the confusing, time-consuming email chains of yesteryear.
    • Component data and supply chain visibility: Rather than compiling and recompiling libraries and sending them through email, manufacturers should have this data accessible alongside their supply chain information.
    • MCAD collaboration: Everyone focuses on the electrical side when it comes to PCB design, but advanced electronics are carrying more stringent mechanical requirements. This is especially true with flex and rigid-flex PCBs.

    You can find all these features in a variety of separated collaboration tools and third-party supply chain management platforms. However, you can take advantage of all these features in a single interface when you use a cloud-based collaboration platform that integrates with your PCB design features.

    Reducing PCB manufacturing time without leaving the lab
    Your designers shouldn’t need to leave the lab to collaborate with manufacturers

    Reduce PCB Manufacturing Time with Altium Concord Pro

    When your designers and manufacturer can work together with a single cloud-based electronics design and management platform, design data can be easily passed back and forth, and design updates can be highly streamlined. Altium Concord Pro provides these important benefits alongside the standard design features in Altium Designer. Because data exchange takes place on the cloud, designers can easily collaborate with their manufacturer in real time on all aspects of their new products.

    Concord Pro also provides support for advanced designs that carry strict mechanical requirements and have unique enclosures. The ECAD/MCAD collaboration features allow designers and manufacturers to ensure design changes will work within mechanical constraints while remaining manufacturable. These changes can also be shared with customers within the same platform, creating a unified experience for all parties.

    Reducing PCB manufacturing time on complex ECAD/MCAD designs
    Reduce PCB manufacturing time with real-time collaboration in Altium Concord Pro

    The integrated set of electronics design and manufacturing tools in Altium Concord Pro™ are ideal for collaboration with your customers and manufacturers. You’ll be able to reduce PCB manufacturing time by preventing or streamlining any redesign process. This also helps you increase yield by ensuring your board will be fully manufacturable within your fabricator’s capabilities. These management and collaboration features integrate with the industry-standard PCB design tools in Altium Designer®, forming the industry’s most powerful design and production planning platform.

    Contact us or download a free trial of Altium Designer® and Altium Concord Pro™. You’ll have access to the industry’s best MCAD/ECAD co-design, PCB layout, documentation, and data management features in a single program. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah works with other companies in the PCB industry providing design and research services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home