Méthodes de terminaison pour carte de circuit imprimé flexible

Tara Dunn
|  Created: September 15, 2019  |  Updated: September 10, 2020

Quelles sont les méthodes de terminaison courantes utilisées dans les applications avec circuits flexibles ?

Je pense qu'il est important de savoir que fondamentalement, tout connecteur que vous choisiriez pour des circuits imprimés rigides peut également être assemblé sur un circuit flexible. Les connecteurs traditionnels à trous traversants et SMT, les connecteurs circulaires à haute densité, les connecteurs D-Subminiature, les connecteurs à broche et à douille, avec ou sans plomb, sont autant d'options à envisager avec les matériaux flexibles. Cela dit, je vais m'écarter un peu du sujet, avec la promesse de NE PAS oublier de revoir et d'appliquer les règles de conception recommandées lorsque des raidisseurs sont nécessaires pour soutenir la zone des connecteurs. Dans de nombreux cas, les connecteurs eux-mêmes sont plus lourds que les matériaux flexibles, ce qui peut provoquer des tensions et des fissures dans les conducteurs en l’absence de renfort supplémentaire. Mais, pour revenir au sujet, dans le blog d'aujourd'hui, nous parlerons de quelques méthodes de terminaison qui sont plus spécifiques aux circuits flexibles : les connecteurs ZIF, les doigts flexibles non supportés et les contacts sertis.

 Connecteurs ZIF (Zero Insertion Force) :

Les connecteurs à force d'insertion nulle sont l'une des méthodes de connexion les plus populaires et présentent plusieurs avantages. Le circuit flexible peut être inséré et retiré plusieurs fois avec peu d'usure mécanique sur les pistes de cuivre. Les connecteurs ZIF contiennent souvent des verrouillages mécaniques qui se fixent sur les pistes exposées, assurant une connexion durable et robuste. L'insertion du flex directement dans le connecteur ZIF homologue sur la carte rigide peut éliminer la nécessité d'un connecteur homologue, ce qui peut entraîner une réduction du profil de connexion, en maintenant le coût et le poids au minimum.

Il y a quelques éléments dont vous devez tenir compte lorsque vous concevez un flex qui sera directement raccordé à un connecteur ZIF. Premièrement, l'épaisseur globale dans la zone de raccord est critique. En général, l'exigence d'épaisseur commune à partir de l'extrémité du circuit inséré dans le connecteur est de 0,012" +/- 0,002".  Souvent, l'épaisseur totale du circuit flexible est plus fine que cela et nécessite l'ajout d'un raidisseur en polyimide dans la zone de contact pour atteindre cette épaisseur. Encore une fois, en nous écartant légèrement du sujet, n'oublions pas que les points d'extrémité de la couverture finale et du raidisseur doivent se chevaucher d'au moins 0,030" pour éviter d'ajouter un point de contrainte au circuit.

 La deuxième chose à prendre en compte et à intégrer dans la conception est que la tolérance de contour pour les terminaisons ZIF est souvent de +/- 0,0002". Cette spécification est plus stricte que ne le permet un outillage standard et peut nécessiter un outillage spécialisé. Le découpage au laser du contour ou un outillage de classe A est souvent utilisé pour satisfaire des exigences strictes.

 Enfin, il est important de prendre en compte l'impact que votre choix de finition de surface peut avoir si plusieurs insertions sont nécessaires. Si vous spécifiez une métallisation mince, des insertions et des retraits répétés peuvent rayer le métal mince, et exposer le métal en dessous.

Doigts flexibles non soutenus :

Cette option de terminaison est hautement personnalisable et combine essentiellement des extensions de conducteurs qui ne sont pas encapsulés par des matériaux de couverture ou des matériaux de base sur trois côtés. Cela crée un conducteur "flottant" qui est accessible de chaque côté du flex. Ces doigts flexibles peuvent être fabriqués sur mesure pour répondre à des exigences spécifiques en matière de pas, de longueur et de positionnement et assurer une terminaison robuste tout en conservant une certaine souplesse pendant l'installation et l'utilisation. Cette méthode permet une connexion directe et aisée aux PCB ou à d'autres composants. Ces doigts flexibles non supportés peuvent être droits, ou ils peuvent être pliés pour l'assemblage SMT.

 Alors que cette méthode de terminaison peut n'exiger que l'épaisseur du doigt comme simple extension du conducteur en cuivre, la zone des doigts est plus souvent conçue pour des doigts plus épais et plus robustes qui se rétrécissent jusqu'à une épaisseur de cuivre plus fine dans la zone de flexion. En général, l'épaisseur du conducteur dans la zone des doigts est de 0,010", les zones autres que les doigts étaient prégravées pour obtenir un poids de cuivre plus fin. Ces doigts sont ensuite formés, généralement par ablation au laser, ce qui permet d'enlever du matériau sur trois côtés de la zone des doigts. Cette option a l'avantage d'être personnalisable pour répondre aux exigences exactes de la demande, mais il faut également avertir que le traitement supplémentaire pour cette option augmentera les coûts. De plus, cette solution est susceptible d'endommager la zone des doigts avant l'assemblage. Pour atténuer ce risque, il est courant de minimiser les dommages dans la zone non supportée des doigts en connectant tous les doigts à une barre omnibus qui maintient tous les doigts alignés. 

Contacts sertis et connecteurs à déplacement :

Une troisième option consiste à sertir mécaniquement des broches sur chaque conducteur. Cette méthode assure une robuste connexion mécanique et électrique en perçant le circuit et en enroulant le contact autour de chaque conducteur. Cette méthode offre deux options de raccord, mâle et femelle, et généralement en deux emplacements standard qui répondent à la plupart des besoins du marché. Des boîtiers Centerline sont également disponibles pour encapsuler le contact. Cette option n'est pas aussi personnalisable que la méthode de terminaison de doigt non supportée, mais c'est une option moins coûteuse qui offre également une alternative de connexion robuste. 

Pour répondre à la question initiale, presque toutes les options de connecteurs peuvent être utilisées dans les conceptions de circuits flexibles. Mais il existe trois méthodes de terminaison communes qui sont propres au flex : les connecteurs ZIF, les doigts flexibles non supportés et les contacts sertis et les connecteurs à déplacement. Chacune de ces options présente des avantages, des inconvénients et des critères de conception spécifiques dont il faut tenir compte.   

Avez-vous d’autres questions ? Faites appel à un expert d'Altium ou perfectionnez-vous dès maintenant en matière de modélisation et de placement de connecteurs dans Altium Designer®.

About Author

About Author

Tara est une experte reconnue de l'industrie, avec plus de 20 années de collaboration avec des ingénieurs, concepteurs, fabricants, organisations d'approvisionnement et utilisateurs de cartes de circuits imprimés. Son expertise porte sur les technologies flexibles et rigides-flexibles, les technologies additives et les projets à développement court. Elle fait partie des piliers du secteur, étant capable de se mettre rapidement au courant dans une grande diversité de sujets, soutenue par son site de référence technique PCBadvisor.com. Elle contribue régulièrement aux événements industriels en tant que conférencière, avec notamment une colonne dans le magazine PCB007.com et le site Geek-a-palooza.com. Son entreprise, Omni PCB, est connue pour ses réponses rapides sous 24 heures, sa capacité à réaliser des projets sur la base de spécifications uniques : délai, technologie et volume.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Unique Flex Termination Methods

    Tara Dunn
    |  September 15, 2019

    What are common termination methods used in flexible circuit applications?

    I think it is important to know that basically any connector you would select for rigid printed circuit boards can also be assembled to a flexible circuit. Traditional thru-hole and SMT connectors, high density circular connectors, D-Subminiature connectors, pin and socket connectors, leaded and unleaded, are all options to consider with flexible materials. That said, I am going to veer slightly off topic with the caution to NOT forget to review and implement the recommended design rules when stiffeners are needed to help support the connector area. In many cases, the connectors themselves are heavier than the flex materials, which can cause stress and conductor cracking without an added stiffener for support. But, back on topic, in today’s blog, we will talk about a few termination methods that are more unique to flexible circuits; ZIF connectors, unsupported flex fingers and crimped contacts.

     ZIF (Zero Insertion Force) Connectors:

    Zero Insertion Force connectors are one of the more increasingly popular connection methods with several benefits. The flexible circuit can be inserted and removed multiple times with little mechanical wear on copper traces. ZIF connectors often contain mechanical latching mechanisms that clamp down onto exposed traces, ensuring a long-lasting, robust connection. Inserting the flex directly into the ZIF “mating” connector on the rigid board can eliminate the need for a mating connector which can result in a reduction to the connection profile, keeping cost and weight to a minimum.

    There are a few things that you need to be aware of when designing a flex that will be mated directly to a ZIF connector. First, the overall thickness in the mating area is critical. Typically, the common thickness requirement from the end of the circuit inserted into the connector is 0.012” +/- 0.002”.  Often, the overall thickness of the flex circuit is thinner than this and requires the addition of a polyimide stiffener in the contact area to build up to that thickness. Again, veering slightly off topic, don’t forget that the coverlay and stiffener end points should overlap by at least .030” to avoid adding a stress point to the circuit.

     The second thing to be aware of and build into the design is that the outline tolerance for ZIF terminations is often +/- 0.0002”. This is tighter than standard outline tooling and may require specialized tooling to meet that spec. Laser cutting the outline or class A tooling is often used to meet these tight requirements.

     The final thing to note is that it is important to consider the impact your surface finish selection may have if multiple insertions will be required. If you are specifying a thin plating, repeated insertions and removals can scratch away at the thin metal exposing the metal underneath.

    Unsupported Flex Fingers:

    This termination option is highly customizable and is essentially extensions of the conductors that are not encapsulated by coverlay or base materials on three sides. This creates a “free-floating” conductor that is accessible from either side of the flex. These flex fingers can be custom built to meet specific requirements for pitch, length and location and provide a robust termination while still retaining flexibility during installation and use. This method allows an easy direct connection to PCBs or other components. These unsupported flex fingers can be straight, or they can be bent for SMT assembly.

     While this termination method may only require the finger thickness to simply be an extension of the copper conductor, the finger area is more often designed to have thicker, more robust fingers that taper down to a thinner copper thickness in the flexing area. Typically, conductor thickness in the finger area is 0.010” with the non-finger areas pre-etched to a thinner copper weight. These fingers are then formed, typically with laser ablation removing materials on 3 sides of the finger area. This option has the benefit of being customizable to meet exact application requirements, but it should also be cautioned that the extra processing for this option will increase cost. As a final note, this solution is prone to damage of the finger area prior to assembly. To mitigate this risk, it is common to minimize damage to the unsupported finger area by connecting all fingers with a bus bar holding all fingers in alignment. 

    Crimped Contacts and Displacement Connectors:

    A third option is to mechanically crimp pins at each conductor. This method ensures a robust mechanical and electrical connection by piercing the circuit and wrapping the contact around each conductor. This method is available in both male and female mating options and typically in two standard pitches which meet most market needs. Centerline housings are also available to encapsulate the contact. This option is not as customizable as the unsupported finger termination method, but this is a lower cost option that also provides a robust connection alternative. 

    To answer the original question, nearly any connector option can be used in flexible circuit designs. But there are three common termination methods that are unique to flex; ZIF connectors, unsupported flex fingers and crimped contacts and displacement connectors. Each of these options has benefits, drawbacks and specific design criteria to be aware of.   

    Have more questions? Call an expert at Altium or upskill yourself now on modeling and placing connectors within Altium Designer®.

    About Author

    About Author

    Tara is a recognized industry expert with more than 20 years of experience working with: PCB engineers, designers, fabricators, sourcing organizations, and printed circuit board users. Her expertise is in flex and rigid-flex, additive technology, and quick-turn projects. She is one of the industry's top resources to get up to speed quickly on a range of subjects through her technical reference site PCBadvisor.com and contributes regularly to industry events as a speaker, writes a column in the magazine PCB007.com, and hosts Geek-a-palooza.com. Her business Omni PCB is known for its same day response and the ability to fulfill projects based on unique specifications: lead time, technology and volume.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home