6层PCB叠层设计指南

Zachariah Peterson
|  已创建:五月 4, 2022  |  已更新:July 14, 2024
6层PCB设计

4层PCB上的空间用完后,就该升级到6层电路板了。额外的层可以为更多的信号、额外的平面对或导体的混合提供空间。如何使用这些额外的层并不重要,重要的是如何在PCB叠层中排列它们,以及如何在6层PCB上布线。如果您以前从未使用过6层电路板,或者遇到过难以解决的此类叠层EMI问题,请继续阅读以了解一些6层PCB设计指南和最佳实践。

为什么使用6层?

在开始制作电路板之前,我认为有必要考虑人们可能想要使用6层PCB的原因。除了简单地为信号添加更多路径之外,还有几个原因。6层叠层的最基本版本将采用与4层电路板中的SIG/PWR/GND/SIG叠层相同的方法,只是将信号放在叠层中心的另外两个上。实际上,从EMC的角度来看,SIG/PWR/SIG/SIG/GND/SIG是最差的6层PCB叠层,它可能只适用于在DC运行的电路板。

我选择6层电路板而不是4层电路板的一些原因包括:

  1. 您使用的是4层SIG+PWR/GND/GND/SIG+PWR叠层,您需要在表层为元件留出更多空间。将PWR和SIG置于内部层可通过PWR/GND平面对实现更多去耦。
  2. 对于混合信号电路板,您可以将整个表面层专用于模拟接口,并且会有一个额外的内部层用于较慢的数字布线。
  3. 您正在使用具有高I/O数量的高速电路板,并且您想要一种将信号分离到电路板不同层的好方法。您可以在#1中实施相同的策略。

所有这些配置中都只添加一个额外的信号层。另一层专用于GND平面、电源轨或全电源平面。您的叠层将是电路板中EMC和信号完整性以及布局和布线策略的主要决定因素。

如何布线信号

在开始布线之前,让我们看一下您将在6层PCB中使用的典型PCB叠层:

6层PCB叠层
6层PCB示例。

在此叠层中,顶层和底层位于薄电介质上,因此这些层应用于阻抗控制信号。10密耳可能是您应该使用的最厚的电介质,因为这将需要使用15-20密耳宽度的微带布线,具体取决于介电常数。如果您正在布线附带差分对的数字接口,间距也将允许减少走线宽度,这将允许您布线到更细间距的元件中。举个示例,我们为许多支持多个多千兆位以太网通道的小型网络产品使用了上述叠层的一个版本。

如果您需要在外层使用更小的走线宽度,只需减小外部电介质厚度(可能低至4-5密耳),然后在L3-L4电介质上增加一些厚度,以便达到您的电路板厚度目标。接下来要考虑的一点是如何布线电源。

如何布线电源

在上述6层PCB叠层的示例中,有一整层专门用于PWR。在6层PCB中,这通常是一个很好的做法,因为它可以为元件释放表面区域,并且更容易通过过孔为这些元件供电。

只是作为一个示例,看看下面所示的BGA。这种特殊的BGA是典型的高速接口控制器,需要在多电压下提供大量电流,因此许多球将连接到电源和接地。诸如FPGA,您可能会在其整个封装中发现多个用于电源和接地的引脚。将单层专用于电源,便可将平面分解成轨道,以便在必要时在高电流下使用多电压。这样就无需在不同的电压下重叠这些电源轨,从而防止出现额外的EMI问题

6层PCB设计指南BGA
在此FPGA BGA封装中,您可以看到中央区域的多个引脚专用于GND和多个VCC轨。GND引脚可以直接连接到第2层的平面,VCC引脚可以连接到第3层的不同电源轨。

请注意,仅仅因为您将电源放在内部层上,并不意味着您无法将电源放在其他位置。您仍然可以在其他信号层上把电源布线为使用敷铜的电源轨或粗的走线。

如果您需要在6层电路板中进行高电流操作,可能在多个电压下,我建议使用额外的电源层而不是额外的信号层。换句话说,您将在叠层内的内部层上有两个与接地交错的电源层。您甚至可以更进一步,在背面层放置一个电源平面,以获得更多的电流处理能力。这将为您提供足够的空间以大面积布线电源,可能使用较重的铜,从而确保低直流电阻和低功率损耗。

除了这几点,其他用于4层或8层电路板确保EMC的重要布线策略也适用于6层电路板。如果您使用与上述示例6层叠层类似的元素,您将更容易布线并确保信号和电源完整性。4层或8层电路板中的相同DFM考虑因素也适用于6层板;在开始创建布局、调整走线尺寸和布线之前,让制造厂批准您的叠层。

在创建叠层和开始布线之前,请确保遵循这些6层PCB设计指南。当您准备构建6层电路板时,请使用Altium Designer®中最好的PCB设计工具集。您将拥有一套完整的工具,用于布局、布线和准备电路板以投入生产。创建PCB封装并准备好与协作者共享后,您的团队就可以通过Altium 365™平台协同工作。您可以在一个软件包中找到设计和生产高级电子产品所需的一切。

我们仅仅触及了在Altium 365上使用Altium Designer可能实现的功能的皮毛。立即开始免费试用Altium Designer + Altium 365

关于作者

关于作者

Zachariah Peterson拥有学术界和工业界广泛的技术背景。在从事PCB行业之前,他曾在波特兰州立大学任教。他的物理学硕士研究课题是化学吸附气体传感器,而应用物理学博士研究课题是随机激光理论和稳定性。他的科研背景涵盖纳米粒子激光器、电子和光电半导体器件、环境系统以及财务分析等领域。他的研究成果已发表在若干经同行评审的期刊和会议论文集上,他还为多家公司撰写过数百篇有关PCB设计的技术博客。Zachariah与PCB行业的其他公司合作提供设计和研究服务。他是IEEE光子学会和美国物理学会的成员。

相关资源

相关的技术文档

返回主页
Thank you, you are now subscribed to updates.

6-Layer PCB Design Guidelines | PCB Design

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: May 4, 2022
6-Layer PCB Design

Once you’ve run out of room on your 4-layer PCB, it’s time to graduate to a 6-layer board. The additional layer can give you room for more signals, an additional plane pair, or a mix of conductors. How you use these extra layers is less important than how you arrange them in the PCB stackup, as well as how you route on a 6-layer PCB. If you’ve never used a 6-layer board before, or you’ve had EMI troubles with this stackup that are difficult to solve, keep reading to see some 6-layer PCB design guidelines and best practices.

Why Use 6 Layers?

Before starting a board, I think it’s important to consider the reasons one might want to use a 6-layer PCB. There are several reasons beyond simply adding more paths for signals. The most basic version of a 6-layer stackup will take the same approach as a SIG/PWR/GND/SIG stackup in a 4-layer board and just puts signal on two additional in the center of a stackup. In reality, a SIG/PWR/SIG/SIG/GND/SIG is the worst 6-layer PCB stackup from an EMC perspective, and it’s probably only appropriate for a board running at DC.

Some of the reasons I would opt for a 6-layer board over a 4-layer board include:

  1. You were using a 4-layer SIG+PWR/GND/GND/SIG+PWR stackup, and you need more room on the surface layer for components. Putting PWR and SIG in the inside layers gives more decoupling with a PWR/GND plane pair.
  2. For mixed signal boards, you can have an entire surface layer dedicated to the analog interfaces, and there will be an extra internal layer for slower digital routing.
  3. You’re using a high speed board that has high I/O count, and you want a good way to separate signals into different layers of the board. You can implement the same strategy as in #1.

In all these configurations, you’re only adding one additional signal layer, not two. The other layer is dedicated to a GND plane, power rails, or a full power plane. Your stackup will be the major determinant of EMC and signal integrity in your board, as well as your layout and routing strategy.

How to Route Signals

Before you start routing, let’s look at the typical PCB stackup you would use in a 6-layer PCB:

6 layer PCB stackup
6-layer PCB example.

In this stackup, the top and bottom layers are on thin dielectrics, so these layers should be used for impedance controlled signals. 10 mil is probably the thickest dielectric you should use because this will require microstrip routing with 15-20 mil width, depending on dielectric constant. If you’re routing a digital interface with differential pairs, the spacing will also allow a reduced trace width, which will allow you to route into finer pitch components. Just as an example, we have used a version of the above stackup for many of our small form factor networking products that support multiple multi-gigabit Ethernet channels.

If you need to use much smaller trace widths on the outer layers, just decrease the outer dielectric thicknesses (maybe as low as 4-5 mil), and then add some thickness to the L3-L4 dielectric so that you hit your board thickness target. The next point to consider is how to route power.

How to Route Power

In the above 6-layer PCB stackup example, there is an entire layer dedicated to PWR. This is generally a good practice in a 6-layer PCB as it frees up area on the surfaces for components, and it will be easier to get power to these components through vias.

Just as an example, take a look at the BGA shown below. This particular BGA is typical of a high speed interface controller that requires a lot of current at multiple voltages, so a lot of the balls will be connected to power and ground. In something like an FPGA, you might find multiple pins for power and ground throughout the footprint. Dedicating a single layer to power lets you break up the plane into rails so that multiple voltages can be used at high current if necessary. This way, you would not need to overlap these rails at different voltages, which prevents an additional EMI problem.

6-layer PCB design guidelines BGA
In this FPGA BGA footprint, you can see that multiple pins in the central region are dedicated to GND and multiple VCC rails. The GND pins can connect directly to the plane on Layer 2, and the VCC pins can connect to different power rails on Layer 3.

Note that, just because you placed power on an internal layer, that doesn’t mean you can’t put power elsewhere. You can still route power on your other signal layers as rails using copper pour, or as thick traces.

If you need high current operation in a 6-layer board, possibly at multiple voltages, I would recommend using an additional power layer instead of the additional signal layer. In other words, you’ll have two power layers interleaved with ground on the internal layers inside the stackup. You could even go a step further and put a power plane on the back layer for even more current handling capabilities. This would give you enough room to route power over a large area, possibly with heavier copper, to ensure low DC resistance and low power loss.

Aside from these points, the other important routing strategies used in a 4-layer or 8-layer board to ensure EMC will also apply in a 6-layer board. If you use something similar to the above example 6-layer stackup, you will have a much easier time of routing and ensuring signal and power integrity. The same DFM considerations in a 4-layer or 8-layer board will also apply in a 6-layer board; get your stackup approved by a fabrication house before you start creating your layout, sizing traces, and routing.

Make sure to follow these 6-layer PCB design guidelines before you create your stackup and start routing. When you’re ready to build your 6-layer circuit board, use the best set of PCB design tools in Altium Designer®. You’ll have a complete set of tools for layout, routing, and preparing your board for production. Once you’ve created your PCB footprints and you want to share them with your collaborators, your team can work together through the Altium 365™ platform. Everything you need to design and produce advanced electronics can be found in one software package.

We have only scratched the surface of what is possible to do with Altium Designer on Altium 365. Start your free trial of Altium Designer + Altium 365 today.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to companies in the electronics industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University and conducted research on random laser theory, materials, and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensors, and stochastics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written 1000+ technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, American Physical Society, and the Printed Circuit Engineering Association (PCEA), and he previously served on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

Recent Articles

Back to Home