Éviter de replacer les mêmes pièces encore et encore grâce à la check-list de pré-placement

Altium Designer
|  Créé: September 26, 2021

Voiture de tourisme assemblée à partir d'une nouvelle voiture de rechange pour le marché de l'occasion

Au cours de l’évolution de l’industrie automobile, les constructeurs ont remarqué que la lecture et la compréhension des indicateurs du moteur étaient des tâches trop difficiles pour le conducteur moyen. Pour remédier à cette situation, ils ont remplacé le voyant de contrôle du moteur par le témoin de contrôle. Contrairement aux indicateurs de dysfonctionnement actuels, qui sont des avertissements contrôlés par ordinateur, les premiers témoins de contrôle du moteur ne vous signalaient le problème qu’une fois qu’il s’était produit. Signaler un problème après qu’il se soit produit n’est pas très utile, c’est pourquoi le voyant de contrôle du moteur des vieilles voitures était peu efficace. L’objectif d’une procédure de contrôle efficace est de détecter les problèmes avant qu’ils ne surviennent. C’est pourquoi dans notre vie quotidienne nous utilisons des check-lists (liste de contrôle), pour rechercher d’éventuels problèmes à l’avance ou nous assurer que nous n’oublions rien d’important.

À l’époque, le seul but du voyant de contrôle du moteur était simplement de vous dire : « vérifiez le moteur, car il doit être remplacé ». Mais les check-lists peuvent être d’une aide bien plus précieuse lorsque vous concevez des cartes de circuits imprimés. Une check-list vous donne l’assurance que vous avez correctement terminé une phase de conception et que vous êtes prêt à passer à la suivante. Une check-list de pré-placement en est un bon exemple : vous pouvez vérifier que votre schéma et votre carte sont prêts à être placés et que vous disposez de suffisamment d’informations pour continuer. Bien vérifier que vous êtes prêt à commencer le placement des composants est la meilleure façon d’éviter de perdre du temps à replacer les pièces plus tard.

Première étape pour votre check-list de pré-placement : est-elle complète ?

J’ai vu de nombreux concepteurs se précipiter dans le placement sans être prêts et se heurter à de nombreuses empreintes incomplètes ou incorrectes. L’empreinte d’un composant étant l’une des bases de la conception d’un circuit imprimé, une empreinte incorrecte peut nuire à l’ensemble de la conception. De nos jours, avec les conceptions à haute densité, l’espace est compté. Comme la modification d’une empreinte a souvent pour effet de l’agrandir, la correction d’une empreinte incorrecte nécessitera probablement le remplacement de sections entières sur la carte.

Si vous travaillez à partir de bibliothèques établies, vous n’aurez pas à vous soucier des empreintes incorrectes. Le problème est que les nouvelles conceptions sont basées sur de nouveaux composants, ce qui implique de nouvelles empreintes dans vos bibliothèques de circuits imprimés. Souvent, ces nouvelles empreintes seront dans un état préliminaire et leurs formes peuvent finir par changer jusqu’à qu’elles soient finalisées. Un élément important à inclure dans votre check-list est de savoir si les nouvelles empreintes et le schéma pour pointer vers celles-ci ont été mis à jour dans les bibliothèques de circuits imprimés. Vous devrez également vérifier que toutes les modifications d’empreintes pour des technologies de conception spécifiques (comme les empreintes RF) ou spécialisées (comme les empreintes doubles) ont été intégrées.

image 3d d'une empreinte de composant
Make sure that your footprints are correct and up-to-date

Le schéma est-il suffisamment avancé pour le placement ?

Le schéma sera probablement finalisé juste avant la fin de la conception de la carte, mais vous devez savoir où il en est avant de commencer le placement. Le fait de devoir apporter des modifications à la conception pour tenir compte de nouveaux circuits fait partie du jeu, mais revoir complètement la conception de la carte est une autre histoire. Trop souvent, j’ai dû jeter des parties importantes de mon montage et recommencer, car le schéma avait complètement changé sans que personne ne m’en informe.

Pour éviter ce type de problèmes, incluez certains éléments suivants dans votre check-list de pré-placement :

  • Prévoyez-vous d’ajouter ou de supprimer des composants à ce projet ?
  • Y a-t-il des composants dans cette conception qui pourraient être changés pour une empreinte différente ?
  • Prévoyez-vous des modifications de circuits dans cette conception qui pourraient nécessiter des changements de placement, tels que des modifications des chemins de signaux ?

Avec ce type de questions, vous obtenez une meilleure idée de l’état d’avancement du schéma avant de commencer le placement. Souvenez-vous que l’essentiel n’est pas d’avoir un schéma terminé, mais de savoir où en est le schéma et ce qui peut ou ne peut pas changer au fur et à mesure. Vous serez ainsi prêt à faire face aux changements lorsqu’ils se produiront.

placement de composants sur un circuit imprimé
Once your pre-placement checklist is complete, you will be ready to place those components

Disposez-vous de toutes les informations de placement pour terminer votre liste de contrôle ?

Une fois la confirmation que le schéma est finalisé ou presque finalisé pour le placement, vous devez confirmer toutes les informations concernant le placement des composants. Utilisez la liste suivante pour votre check-list de pré-placement :

  • Le contour de la carte est-il finalisé ?
  • La position des composants fixes tels que les connecteurs, les interrupteurs ou les blindages est-elle finalisée ?
  • Y a-t-il des problèmes thermiques qui auront un impact sur le placement ?
  • Existe-t-il des exigences de placement pour la distribution de l’énergie ?
  • Existe-t-il des exigences de placement pour les circuits critiques ?

Certains de ces éléments peuvent être automatiquement pris en charge dans votre processus de conception, notamment si vous disposez des informations relatives au contour de la carte d’un système de conception assistée par ordinateur. Dans ce cas, le contour de la carte et les positions de vos composants fixes sont spécifiés pour correspondre aux caractéristiques de la carte. Il est néanmoins préférable d’inclure ce type de questions dans votre check-list afin de vous assurer que toutes les bases sont couvertes et de vous rappeler ce qui doit être garanti.

En créant et en suivant une check-list de pré-placement, vous vous donnez de meilleures chances de placer votre carte sans avoir à revenir en arrière ni à modifier le placement pour corriger les erreurs. Il existe de nombreux domaines dans lesquels une check-list peut être utile, par exemple avant de commencer une conception ou lorsque vous créez des fichiers définitifs. Dans le domaine de la construction, le vieil adage veut que l’on mesure deux fois et que l’on coupe une fois. Pour ceux d’entre nous qui conçoivent des circuits imprimés, il est préférable de vérifier deux fois et de placer une fois.

Pour obtenir des outils de placement puissants qui vous permettront de réaliser des conceptions complexes, utilisez un logiciel de conception de circuits imprimés comme Altium Designer. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur la façon dont Altium peut vous aider à concevoir votre prochain circuit imprimé, n’hésitez pas à contacter un expert Altium.

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Outils de conception de circuits imprimés pour la conception électronique et DFM. Informations pour les dirigeants de l'AED.

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Avoid Re-Placing the Same Parts Over and Over Again with a Pre-Placement Checklist

    Altium Designer
    |  January 23, 2018

    Passenger car assembled from new spare auto  for shop aftermarket.

    Sometime during the evolution of the automobile, car makers decided that reading and understanding engine gauges were too difficult tasks for the average driver. To remedy this they substituted the check engine light instead; unlike the malfunction indicators of today which are computer controlled warnings, those early check engine lights would only tell you of a problem once it was occurring. Reporting a problem after it occurs is not the purpose of a check, which is why the check engine light in those older cars was such a joke. The point of a good checking procedure is to catch problems before they happen. This is why we use checklists in our daily lives, to look for potential problems or to make sure that we don’t forget something important.

    The only real purpose of the check engine light in those days was simply to tell you; “check the engine, because it needs to be replaced.” But checklists can be a much larger help when you design printed circuit boards. A checklist will give you the assurance that you have completed one phase of the design and are ready to move on to the next. Having a pre-placement checklist is a great example of this: you can check to make sure that your and schematic are ready for placement, and if you have enough placement information to proceed. Checking to make sure that you are prepared for beginning component placement is the best way of protecting yourself from the pain of re-placing those later on.

    First Step for Your Pre-Placement Checklist: Is the Complete?

    I have seen many designers rush into placement without being ready only to run face-first into incomplete or incorrect . As one of the foundations of a PCB design, an incorrect component footprints could make an entire design suffer. With today’s high-density designs, space is at a premium. Since changing a footprint often results in it getting bigger instead of smaller, correcting an incorrect footprint will likely require re-placing entire sections of the board.

    If you are working from established libraries you won’t have to worry much about incorrect footprints. The problem is that many new designs are based on new components which will mean new footprints in your PCB libraries. Often these new footprints will be in a preliminary state until they are finalized and their shapes may end up changing. An important item to include in your checklist is if the new footprints have been updated in the and if the schematic has been correctly updated to point to these new footprints. You will also want to check to make sure that any footprint modifications for specific design technologies (like RF), or specialized (like dual footprints) have been incorporated.

    3D picture of a  footprint
    Make sure that your footprints are correct and up-to-date

    Is the Schematic Far Enough Along for Placement?

    The schematic will probably not be finalized until right before the board design is completed, but you should know how far along it is before you begin placement. Having to make design changes to accommodate new circuitry is part of the game, but having to completely redesign the board is a different story. All too often I have had to throw away significant portions of my placement and start over because the schematic completely changed, and no one thought that it was important enough for me to know that.

    To avoid these kinds of frustrations, include some of the following in your pre-placement checklist:

    • Are you anticipating adding or removing components to this design?
    • Are there any components in this design that might be changed to a different footprint?
    • Are you expecting any circuitry changes in this design that might force placement changes, such as changes to signal paths?

    With questions like these, you can get a much better idea of how far along the schematic is before you start placement. Remember that the key isn’t having the schematic totally done, it is in understanding how far along the schematic is and what may or may not change as you go. This way you can be prepared for the changes when they do come.

     placed on a PCB
    Once your pre-placement checklist is complete, you will be ready to place those components

    Do You Have the Placement Information to Close the Pre-Placement Checklist?

    Once you have confirmed that the and the schematic are ready, or mostly ready for placement, you need to finalize all of the component placement information. Use the following list for your pre-placement checklist:

    • Has the board outline been finalized?
    • Has the position of fixed components such as connectors, switches, or shields been finalized?
    • Are there any thermal concerns that will impact placement?
    • Are there any placement requirements for power distribution?
    • Are there any placement requirements for critical circuitry?

    Some of these items may be automatically taken care of by your design process if you receive your board outline information from a mechanical CAD system. In that case, the board outline and the positions of your fixed components will probably be specified to match up with any features of what the board will be enclosed in. It is still best though to include these kinds of questions in your pre-placement checklist to make sure that you have all of your bases covered, and to remind yourself of what exactly needs to be ensured.

    By creating and following a pre-placement checklist, you will give yourself the best chance to place your board without having to go back and re-do the placement later to correct errors. There are many other areas where a checklist can be useful, such as before starting your layout and when you create the final deliverable output files. The old adage in construction is to measure twice and cut once; for those of us designing PCBs, it might be better stated as check twice, and place once.

    For powerful placement utilities that will enable your complex designs, use PCB design software like Altium Designer® . If you would like to find out more about how Altium can help you to design your next PCB, talk to an expert at Altium.

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home