Le logiciel Concord Pro et la création de composants

John Watson
|  Created: October 15, 2019  |  Updated: September 13, 2020

Introduction

Tout d'abord, je dois vous dire une chose évidente pour moi, plus j'utilise Altium Concord Pro, plus j'aime ça. En fait, je l’adore ! Altium m'a maintes fois surpris par la qualité des outils fournis. Voici quelques exemples : Draftsman®, ACTIVEBOM® ou ActiveRoute®, et Concord Pro (que je classerais parmi les meilleurs). Comment ai-je survécu jusqu'à présent sans de tels outils ? 

Grâce à mon implication avec Altium et au fait que j'utilise l'outil presque tous les jours, je sais que la philosophie qui les anime est de fournir aux concepteurs tout ce dont ils ont besoin pour faciliter leur travail. Concord Pro répond efficacement aux attentes. 

J'ai récemment vu une publicité pour la nouvelle Corvette 2020. Un véritable monstre de puissance. V-8 de 6,2 litres, 500 chevaux, couple de 637 newton-mètres à 5150 tr/mn. Le plus impressionnant est qu’il passe de 0 à 100 km en TROIS SECONDES. Je me demande si vous avez besoin d'une assurance médicale supplémentaire pour le coup du lapin que peut générer une telle accélération ! Pour cette performance, il suffit de passer les cinq premiers rapports sur les huit disponibles, mais que se passerait-il si le conducteur reste constamment en première ? Quel gaspillage, toute cette puissance muselée, inexploitée ! 

Comme vous ne voudriez jamais perdre la moindre goutte de puissance d’un tel bolide, vous ne voudriez rien perdre de la puissance de votre logiciel ECAD).

Choisissez logiciel Concord Pro est l’un des outil les plus puissants du marché.

Alors pourquoi le faisons-nous avec notre logiciel ECAD (ou tout autre logiciel) ? Avec Altium, et maintenant avec Concord Pro, nous disposons de l'un des outils les plus puissants du marché. Cependant, de nombreux concepteurs de PCB n’ont jamais passé la deuxième. Ce n'est pas une condamnation, mais plutôt un défi pour les concepteurs. Il est temps de passer au rapport supérieur, de découvrir toute la boîte de vitesses. Concord Pro est notre Corvette 2020 : êtes-vous prêt à passer de 0 à 100 en trois secondes ?

Concord Pro monte les rapports pour accélérer la création des composants.

La toute première chose que j'ai remarquée quand j'ai commencé à utiliser Concord Pro, c'est la simplicité de la création des composants. Il fut un temps où toutes les pièces individuelles du symbole schématique, l'empreinte, le modèle 3D, les informations paramétriques, l'approvisionnement, tout devait être créé à partir de zéro. Les seules combinaisons de touches nécessaires étaient alors CTRL+C et CTRL+V pour copier-coller les informations. 

Maintenant, nous bénéficions de la connexion avec la base de données Octopart, où toutes les informations et les modèles sont déjà joints aux composants. Toutes ces informations sont automatiquement disponibles en quelques secondes. Quand j’ai découvert cela, un seul mot est sorti de ma bouche : WOUAH !

Mais un tel niveau d'efficacité et de puissance pour conduire le processus nous oblige à modifier nos méthodes de travail.

Pré-requis pour la création de composants 

Il est essentiel de s'assurer que quelques pré-requis sont en place avant de créer des composants. 

Tout d'abord, une recherche exhaustive est effectuée dans la bibliothèque pour s'assurer que le composant n'est pas déjà disponible.

Ceux qui me connaissent, savent mon mépris pour l’utilisation de plusieurs bibliothèques. Le même risque existe lorsque vous avez plusieurs éléments en double. Avec un tel processus automatisé, il est facile de précipiter les choses et de sauter cette étape cruciale. 

La deuxième condition préalable est d'avoir le numéro de pièce que vous souhaitez créer ainsi que la catégorie et la famille de composants. Ils nous décrivent ce que vous créez et où cela doit être stocké. 

Enfin, juste une vérification dans Altium Vault®, pour ceux qui ne sont pas familiers avec cette ressource phénoménale, Altium a créé sa propre bibliothèque de ressources. Ce qui, je dois le dire, est un outil sous-utilisé. Il est logique que si le composant existe déjà, vous pouvez l'utiliser directement dans votre concept, ou le télécharger pour l’enregistrer dans votre bibliothèque Altium Concord Pro locale.  

Création automatique de composants

En sélectionnant une catégorie et une famille, puis en cliquant sur <Ajouter un composant>, la nouvelle fenêtre de création de composant s'ouvre. Saisissez dans le champ du nom le numéro de pièce que vous voulez créer. La recherche commence, et votre sélection s'inscrit dans une liste. 

Par exemple, nous voulons créer le TCA9509DGKR, qui est un CI ReDriver I2C 1CH utilisant le package d'un 8VSSOP. Saisissez le numéro de pièce sous « Nom ». (Attention, préparez-vous à changer de vitesse et à décoller). Toutes les informations sont automatiquement chargées dans votre composant. Je rappelle constamment Altium que certains d'entre nous sont encore payés à l'heure et avec autant de puissance au bout des doigts, nous devons trouver de nouveaux prétextes pour justifier le temps passé... 

 L’interface du logiciel Concord Pro pour créer des composants est simple. Vous pouvez saisir le nom du composant ici, et Concord Pro extraira automatiquement le reste

Avec une telle efficacité, des contrôles importants sont nécessaires. Concord extrait les modèles disponibles, ce qui signifie que vous les avez peut-être déjà. Dans cet exemple particulier, Concord utilise l'empreinte 8VSSOP et le modèle 3D, et après une recherche dans nos modèles, nous constatons qu’ils sont déjà dans notre bibliothèque. Il est facile de remplacer des informations ou des modèles selon les besoins.

Le logiciel Concord Pro n’est pas seulement intuitif, mais aussi très riche en fonctions

Méthode manuelle

Chaque fois que vous créez un composant avec la méthode automatique, il y a un risque que le modèle ne soit pas disponible. Dans ce cas, la création doit être manuelle, ou suivez mon conseil et utilisez l’assistant d'empreinte et le symbole schématique disponible. Mais même avec la méthode manuelle pour créer un composant, le travail avance beaucoup plus rapidement qu'auparavant. 

Cela pose toutefois un problème lorsque vous utilisez différentes sources de composants, lorsque vous travaillez avec plusieurs composants et fournisseurs internationaux. C’est une source de composants stable et bon marché, mais pour les créer, aucune information n’est disponible (les fournisseurs asiatiques ne font pas partie d’Octopart®). Ce qui signifie qu'ils doivent être créés manuellement. Il est toujours préférable de disposer simultanément d'une source nationale et d’une source internationale pour pouvoir aisément croiser les références des composants.

Lors de la création de composants automatiques n’est pas possible, il est important de connaître les informations ci-dessus

Conclusion

Synergie. Le type même des termes qui doivent être judicieusement placés pendant les réunions pour impressionner un patron. La définition technique est l'interaction ou la coopération de deux ou plusieurs organisations, substances ou autres agents pour produire un effet combiné plus important que la somme de leurs effets séparés. C’est une excellente description d’une bibliothèque de composants. Elle génère de la synergie. Ces composants individuels et indépendants sont combinés pour créer certains dispositifs parmi les plus innovants au monde. De ce fait, il est facile de comprendre toute l'importance de votre bibliothèque et le rôle clé que peut jouer son gestionnaire. 

Souhaitez-vous en savoir plus sur Altium et les avantages qu’il peut vous apporter pour concevoir votre prochain projet de circuits imprimés ? Discutez avec un expert Altium et découvrez comment prendre des décisions de conception avec facilité et confiance. 

About Author

About Author

Avec près de 40 ans dans l'industrie électronique, dont 20 ans dans le secteur de la conception et de l'ingénierie des circuits imprimés, John est resté à la pointe de l'industrie des PCB en tant que concepteur/ingénieur et, plus récemment dans un nouveau rôle de formateur et mentor. Spécialiste de la fabrication, John a également développé des compétences étendues dans plusieurs domaines des services pour PCB. Il a fièrement servi son pays dans le renseignement militaire. John est un concepteur de PCB certifié CID. Il travaille actuellement pour obtenir la certification Advance CID. Aujourd'hui, en tant qu'ingénieur principal en PCB chez Legrand Inc, John dirige les concepteurs et les ingénieurs en PCB dans différentes divisions aux États-Unis et en Chine.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Concord Pro and Component Creation

    John Watson
    |  October 15, 2019

    Introduction

    First off, before I say anything, the more that I have been using Altium Concord Pro™, the more I like it. In fact, I love it. Altium has surprised me many times with the quality of the tools they put out. A few examples: Draftsman®, ACTIVEBOM® or ActiveRoute®, and Concord Pro (which I would categorize as one of the best). How have I survived up to this point without them? 

    I know through my involvement with Altium and the fact that I use the tool just about every day, that the philosophy that drives them is to place into the hands of designers, what they need to make their jobs easier. Concord Pro delivers. 

    I recently saw an advertisement for the New 2020 Corvette. It is an absolute Beast. 6.2-liter V-8 500 horsepower 470 foot-pounds of torque at 5,150 rpm. What was very surprising was that it goes from 0-60 MPH (100 Km) in all of THREE SECONDS. I wonder if you need extra medical insurance for the whiplash that you would get just taking off like that. That’s done by using gears 1-5 of the total 8-gears available, but, I thought what happens if the driver is in the habit of never shifting out of 1st gear? What an absolute waste that would be; all that power left unused. 

    A new 2020 Corvette red sports car

    The same way you would never miss out on this beast’s power, you shouldn’t miss out on your ECAD software power!

    Why we do the same thing with our ECAD software (whatever it is we’re using)? With Altium, and now with Concord Pro, we have one of the most powerful tools on the market. However, many PCB Designers never get it out of first gear. That is not a condemnation, but rather a challenge for you, the designer. It’s time to shift gears. Concord Pro is our 2020 Corvette—are you ready to go from 0-60 in three seconds?

    Concord Pro shifting the gears on Component Creation.

    The very first thing I noticed when I started to use Concord Pro was how simple it was to create components. There was a time that all the individual parts of the Schematic symbol, the Footprint, 3D Model, the parametric information, sourcing, all had to create it from scratch. The only vital keystrokes needed were CTRL+C and CTRL+V for the copy and pasting the needed information. 

    What now happens is that it connects with the Octopart database, where all the information and models are already attached to the component. All that information is automatically brought in within seconds. My first response when I saw that was WOW.

    But with that level of efficiency and power driving the process, it means introducing changes to how we would do things.

    Component Creation Pre-Requisites 

    It is vital to make sure that a few Pre-Requisites are in place before creating any components. 

    First, an exhaustive search is done of the library to assure that the component does not already exist.

    Those who know me, know my disdain for multiple libraries. However, the same risk is there when you have multiple duplicate components. With such an automated process, it is easy to rush things and skip this critical step. 

    The second pre-requisite is having the part number you wish to create and the component category and family. These tell us what you are creating and where it is to be stored. 

    Lastly, just a check of the Altium Vault®, for those who are not familiar with this phenomenal resource, Altium has created their own resource library. Which I must say is an underutilized tool. It only makes sense that if the component already exists there, then use it directly to your design or download it and put into your local Altium Concord Pro library.  

    Automatic Component Creation

    By selecting a category and family, then hitting <Add a Component>, the new Component Creation window opens. Enter the part number you want to create in the name field. The search begins, and your selection is on a list. 

    For example, we want to create the TCA9509DGKR, which is an IC ReDriver I2C 1CH using the package of an 8VSSOP. Enter the part number under name. (Warning get ready to shift gears and take off.) Automatically, all the information is loaded into your component. I do keep reminding Altium that some of us still work by the hour and with this much power at our fingertips, we need to come up with new excuses for why things took so long. 

    Altium Concord Pro interface for adding a new component showing the creation of a TCA9509DGKR IC ReDriver I2C 1CH component

    Concort Pro interface for component creation is straightforward. You can enter the component name here, and concord pro will automatically pull the rest.

    With this much efficiency, there is a significant check to conduct. Concord pulls the models that are available, which means that you may already have them. In this particular example it uses the 8VSSOP footprint and 3D model, and well after a search in our models we find that we already have those in our library. It is effortless to replace any information or models if we need to.

    Altium Concord Pro interface after it has loaded a component from the library, showing the schematic block, 3D model and footprints, and various component properties.

    Concord Pro is not just intuitive, but also full of features

    Manual Method

    Every time you create a component using the automatic method, there is some chance that the model is unavailable. With this they must be created manually by doing it “by hand”, or follow my recommendation, which is to use the available Schematic Symbol and Footprint Wizard. Still, even doing the Manual method of creating a component it is still much faster than how it used to be. 

    This does bring up a problem, though when dealing with various sources of components as someone who works with international vendors and components. Which is a stable and cheap source of components but when creating them they have no information (Asian Vendors not in Octopart®) which means they must manually be created. It is always best to have both a domestic and international source for the components to allow natural cross-referencing.

    1 - Description, 2 - Parameters, 3 - Sourcing Information, 4 - Schematic Symbol, 5 - 3-Footprints L N and M, 6 - Embedded 3D Models

    Labels for the image above.

    Conclusion

    Synergy. It is one of those business catchwords that is commonly dropped in meetings, usually to impress a boss. The technical definition is the interaction or cooperation of two or more organizations, substances, or other agents to produce a combined effect more significant than the sum of their separate effects. That is an excellent description a Component library. It has synergy. These individual and independent components are combined to create some of the most innovative things in the world. Because of that, it is easy to see the importance of your library and the importance of your librarian. 

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you with your next PCB design? Talk to an expert at Altium and learn more about making design decisions with ease and confidence. 

    About Author

    About Author

    With nearly 40 years in the Electronic industry with 20 of them being in the field of PCB Design and engineering, John has stayed on the cutting edge of the PCB industry as a designer/Engineer and more recently as a trainer and mentor. His primary work has been in the Manufacturing field but it has also expanded to several PCB Service arenas. As a veteran, he proudly served in the Army in the Military Intelligence field. John is a CID Certified PCB designer. Presently pursuing his Advance CID certification. Now as the Senior PCB engineer at Legrand Inc, he leads the PCB Designers and Engineers in various divisions across the United States and China.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home