Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie Ihr lokales Vertriebsbüro

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD-PLATTFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    Dielektrizitätskonstante von PCB-Substraten: High-k oder Low-k Dielektrika?

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  September 5, 2019

    Pencil in a glass of water

    The relative permittivity of water makes this pencil appear bent

    Wenn Sie sich mit dem Thema Lichtbrechung beschäftigt haben, kennen Sie sich mit der Physik der Dielektrizitätszahl aus. Der Halbleiterbranche ist es gelungen, sich in Richtung kleinerer Technologieknoten zu bewegen, indem sie Material mit einer hohen dielektrischen Kontante verwendet (so genannte High-k Dielektrika), aber kann man ähnliche Vorteile auch am PCB mit den gleichen Substratmaterialien erkennen? Wie sieht es mit der Verwendung von Low-K Dielektrika aus?

    Die Antwort ist nicht einfach und man muss Kompromisse bei der Nutzung des Materials mit unterschiedlichen dielektrischen Konstanten abwiegen. Auch die anderen Eigenschaften des Substrats müssen berücksichtigt werden, wobei diese mit der Dielektrizitätszahl des Substrats nichts zu tun haben.

    Dielektrizitätszahl von PCB-Substratmaterial

    Bei den meisten Platinen kommen Designer dank kreativer Designentscheidungen damit davon, auf FR4 zu designen. Heutzutage gibt es aber viele weitere Optionen für PCB-Substrate, die unzählige Vorteile bei spezifischen Anwendungen bieten. Wenn man nach einfachem Thermomanagement in rauem Umfeld sucht, sind Keramiksubstrate wahrscheinlich die beste Lösung zur Wärmeableitung ohne zusätzliche aktive Kühlmaßnahmen. Wenn man sich auf die Reduzierung von Verlusten auf langen Übertragungsleitungen konzentriert, stehen viele High-Speed-Laminate zur Verfügung, die auf geringen Verlust in bestimmten Frequenzbereichen spezialisiert sind.

    Die Frequenzabhängigkeit der Dielektrizitätszahl und Verlusttangente sollte man berücksichtigen, ebenso wie die Optimierung des Verhaltens der Platine im relevanten Frequenzbereich. Die Dielektrizitätszahl kann grob zwischen ~2 bis über ~10 bei verschiedenen Frequenzen variieren. Das gilt auch für den imaginären Teil der Dielektrizitätszahl. Wenn man die Daten auf diesen Quantitäten bei unterschiedlichen Materialien betrachtet, stellt man fest, dass die meisten Hersteller einfach nur einen Wert für spezifische Frequenzen angeben oder nicht einmal eine Frequenz nennen. In diesem Fall muss man sich an die Forschungsliteratur wenden, eigene Messungen mit dem empfohlenen Substratmaterial vornehmen oder ein Modell wie zum Beispiel ein Breitband-Debye-Modell oder Kramers-Kronig Beziehungen verwenden, um die reale und imaginäre Dielektrizitätszahl zu bilden.

    Schaltplan mit Änderungen der Dielektrizitätskonstante von PCB-Substraten mit Frequenz
    Schaltplan mit Änderungen der Dielektrizitätskonstante von PCB-Substraten mit Frequenz

    Allgemein verhalten sich dielektrische Verluste, die proportional zum imaginären Teil der Dielektrizitätszahl sind, auch proportional zur Frequenz der sich verbreitenden elektromagnetischen Welle in einem Material. Daher wird die Dämpfung normalerweise als lineare Funktion der Frequenz gezeichnet, obwohl dies aus technischer Sicht falsch ist, da die imaginäre Dielektrizitätszahl auch eine Funktion der Frequenz, wie oben dargestellt, ist. Spitzenwerte im Spektrum der imaginären Dielektrizitätszahl entstehen aufgrund verschiedener Polarisierungsmechanismen, die in verschiedenen Frequenzbereichen auftreten. Diese Mechanismen bilden die Grundlage für die Berechnung des Brechungsindex eines Materials in verschiedenen Frequenzbereichen.

    Die unten aufgeführte Tabelle stellt einige repräsentative Werte dar, die als objektiv akkurat im Bereich zwischen 100 MHz und 1 GHz aufgefasst werden können. Man sollte beachten, dass der Wert für ein typisches FR4 um bis zu ~15% schwankt, je nach Fiberglas Gewebestruktur und Füllfaktor. Die Ausrichtung des Routings auf dem Fiberglas wirkt sich auch auf die effektive dielektrische Konstante aus, die ein Signal auf einer Leiterbahn erkennen würde.

    Material

    Dielektrizitätszahl (realer Teil)

    Verlusttangente

    Typisches FR4

    4

    0,02

    GETEK

    3,9

    0,01

    Isola 370HR

    4,17

    0,016

    Isola FR406

    4,29

    0,014

    Isola FR408

    3,7

    0,011

    Panasonic Megtron 6

    3,4

    0,002

    Nelco 4000-6

    4,12

    0,012

    Nelco 4000-13 EP

    3,7

    0,009

    Nelco 4000-13 EP SI

    3,2

    0,008

    Rogers 4350B

    3,48

    0,0037

    Quelle: Intel PCB Stackup Guidelines für FPGA

    Die Dielektrizitätszahl Ihres PCB Substratmaterials variiert auch je nach Feuchtigkeit und Temperatur. Manche FR4-Strukturen haben in Bezug auf Wasser einen hohen Absorptionsgrad, da sie extrem porös sein können. Da Wasser über eine hohe Dielektrizitätszahl (~80) und Leitfähigkeit verfügt, hat jedes PCB auf FR4 in einer sehr feuchten Umgebung größere Verluste bei höheren Geschwindigkeiten/höheren Frequenzen zu verzeichnen. Eine höhere Umgebungstemperatur begünstigt allgemein ebenfalls Verluste, da sie die Dephasierung der Polarisierung bei jedem Material steigert. Dies wird durch einen Wärmekoeffizienten Dk (TCDk) verstärkt; geringere TCDk Werte werden über die Bandbreite an Funktionstemperaturen möglichst vorgezogen.

    Überlagerungen durch kapazitive Kopplung

    Änderungen der Dielektrizitätszahl haben Auswirkungen auf die parasitäre Kapazität einer Platine zwischen einer Leiterbahn und ihrem Bezugsleiter oder zwischen einer Leiterbahn/Powerbus und anderen nahegelegenen Leitern. Sie wirken sich auch auf die natürliche Frequenz und Impedanz der Übertragungsleitung eines Substrats aus. Die Geometrie Ihrer Übertragungsleitungen muss präzise kontrolliert werden, um eine konsistente Impedanz zu gewährleisten.

    Die Dielektrizitätszahl des Substrats ist ein wichtiger Bestimmungsfaktor von kapazitiven Überlagerungen. Wenn wir davon ausgehen, dass zwei Leiterbahnen parallel auf einem Substrat verlaufen, löst eine potenzielle Abweichung zwischen den zwei Leiterbahnen einen ähnlichen (wenn auch verfälschten) Puls auf jeder Leiterbahn aus. Die zwei Pulse verbreiten sich und vermehren sich in Richtung der Enden der entsprechenden Leiterbahnen mit niedrigerem Potenzial.

    Die Stärke der kapazitiv gekoppelten Stromstärke verhält sich proportional zur gleichen (oder parasitischen) Kapazität zwischen den zwei Leiterbahnen, deshalb ist eine Platine mit einer geringeren Dielektrizitätszahl erstrebenswert, wenn man die Stärke eines Induktionsstroms verringern möchte. Hinsichtlich der Impedanz wird diese aus Sicht eines Stroms digitaler Pulse dadurch gesteigert, was den kapazitiven Induktionsstrom verringert. So können Sie Überlagerungssignale in Leiterbahnen mit einzelnem Ende innerhalb des Geräuschpegels halten.

    An der obigen Tabelle werden Sie erkennen, dass die Verlusttangente sich mit einer geringeren Dielektrizitätszahl nach unten ausrichtet, dadurch gewinnt man die Vorteile des geringeren dielektrischen Verlusts (achten Sie bitte auf den Frequenzbereich!). Allerdings steigert eine geringere Dielektrizitätszahl die Länge entscheidender Verbindungen, die einem Übergang zum Verhalten der Übergangsleitung entsprechen. Bitte denken Sie daran, ebenso wie an die Impedanz beim Routing. Hierbei gibt es einen Vorteil, denn die Verwendung eines Substrats mit geringerer Dielektrizitätszahl ermöglicht die Nutzung einer Leiterbahngeometrie mit geringerer gegenseitiger Induktivität zur Aufrechterhaltung konstanter charakteristischer Impedanz. Dadurch sinkt die Stärke induktiver Überlagerungen neben den kapazitiven Überlagerungen.

    Dielektrizitätskonstante erklärt: Theoretisch überdämpfte, in einer Leiterbahn durch starke induktive und kapazitive Überlagerungen induzierte Nahnebenreaktion
    Dielektrizitätskonstante erklärt: Theoretisch überdämpfte, in einer Leiterbahn durch starke induktive und kapazitive Überlagerungen induzierte Nahnebenreaktion

    Im Gegensatz dazu hat ein Substrat mit einer höheren Dielektrizitätszahl aufgrund der langsameren Vermehrungsgeschwindigkeit eine kürzere Länge entscheidender Leiterbahnen. Verwendet man eine Platine mit höherer Kapazität, benötigt man Leiterbahnen mit einer höheren Induktivität, um bei einer Koppelung eine konsistente Impedanz zu ergeben. Dies steigert die Dämpfungskonstante aus Sicht der vorübergehenden Rückwirkung, was dazu führen kann, eine Koppelung näher an das perfekt gedämpfte oder überdämpfte Gehäuse zu bringen, je nach Verwendung des Abschlussnetzwerkes. Der Autor ist der Meinung, dass es eine gute Idee ist, entscheidende Kopplungen für eine Bandbreite an Dielektrizitätszahlen zu simulieren, um das beste Substrat für die entsprechende Anwendung zu finden.

    Ob Sie ein High-Speed oder ein Hochfrequenz-PCB designen, Ihre Designsoftware sollte eine vollständige Materialbibliothek enthalten, um die Materialeigenschaften Ihres Substrats zu definieren. Altium Designer bietet diese wichtigen Tools für mehrschichtige Designs, ebenso wie Layout, MCAD/ECAD Kooperation und Simulationsfunktionen auf einer einheitlichen Designoberfläche.

    Sie können jetzt eine kostenlose Probeversion von Altium Designer herunterladen, um mehr über Layout, Layer Stack Management und Simulationstools zu erfahren. Sie haben so auch Zugriff auf die beste Dokumentations- und Produktionsplanung der Branche in einem einzelnen Programm. Wenden Sie sich heute an einen Altium Experten, um mehr zu erfahren.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah works with other companies in the PCB industry providing design and research services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Relative Permittivity of PCB Substrates: High-k or low-k dielectrics?

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  September 5, 2019

    Pencil in a glass of water

    The relative permittivity of water makes this pencil appear bent

    If you’ve paid attention to refraction, then you know something about the physics of relative permittivity. The semiconductor industry has managed to continue scaling to smaller technology nodes by using materials with high dielectric constant (so-called high-k dielectrics), but can you see similar benefits in your PCB with similar substrate materials? What about the use of low-k dielectrics?

    The answer is not so simple, and you’ll need to weigh tradeoffs involved in using materials with different dielectric constant. There are other properties of the substrate to consider as well, and these properties are unrelated to the substrate’s relative permittivity.

    Relative Permittivity of PCB Substrate Materials

    With most boards, designers have been able to get away with designing on FR4 thanks to some creative design decisions. These days, there are many more options for PCB substrates that provide a number of benefits in specific applications. If you’re looking for ease of thermal management in a harsh environment, ceramic substrates may be your best bet for heat dissipation without additional active cooling measures. If your focus is on reducing losses on long transmission lines, there are many high speed laminates available that are specialized for low loss in particular frequency ranges.

    The frequency dependence of relative permittivity and loss tangent are important points to consider as you should aim to optimize the behavior of your board over the relevant frequency range. Relative permittivity can vary widely from ~2 to above ~10 over a range of frequencies. The same applies to the imaginary part of the relative permittivity. If you look at data on these quantities in a variety of materials, you’ll find that most manufacturers only quote a value at specific frequencies, or they don’t even specify a frequency. In this case, you’ll have to look to the research literature, take your own measurements with your proposed substrate material, or use a model like the wideband Debye model or Kramers-Kronig relations to model the real and imaginary relative permittivity.

    SSD PCB

    Schematic showing changes in the relative permittivity with frequency

    In general, dielectric loss, which is proportional to the imaginary part of the relative permittivity, is also proportional to the frequency of an electromagnetic wave propagating in a material. This is why attenuation is normally plotted as a linear function of frequency, although this is technically incorrect as the imaginary permittivity is also a function of frequency as shown above. Peaks in the imaginary relative permittivity spectrum arise due to different polarization mechanisms that occur in different frequency ranges. These mechanisms form the basis for calculating the refractive index of a material in different frequency ranges.

    The table below shows some representative values that can be taken as objectively accurate somewhere in the 100 MHz to 1 GHz range. One should note that the value for typical FR4 varies by up to ~15%, depending on the fiberglass weave pattern and fill factor. The routing direction across the fiberglass also affects the effective dielectric constant a signal would see as it travels on a trace.

    Material

    Relative Permittivity (Real Part)

    Loss Tangent

    Typical FR4

    4

    0.02

    GETEK

    3.9

    0.01

    Isola 370HR

    4.17

    0.016

    Isola FR406

    4.29

    0.014

    Isola FR408

    3.7

    0.011

    Panasonic Megtron 6

    3.4

    0.002

    Nelco 4000-6

    4.12

    0.012

    Nelco 4000-13 EP

    3.7

    0.009

    Nelco 4000-13 EP SI

    3.2

    0.008

    Rogers 4350B

    3.48

    0.0037

    Source: Intel PCB Stackup Guidelines for FPGAs

    The relative permittivity of your PCB substrate material will also vary with humidity and temperature. Some FR4 weaves have high adsorptivity toward water as they can be very porous. As water has a high relative permittivity (~80) and conductivity, any PCB on FR4 that operates in a very humid environment will have greater losses at higher speed/higher frequency. A higher ambient temperature also increases losses in general as it increases the polarization dephasing in any material. This is quantified using a thermal coefficient of Dk (TCDk); lower TCDk values are preferred over the widest range of operating temperature as possible.

    Crosstalk Through Capacitive Coupling

    Changes to the relative permittivity will affect a board’s parasitic capacitance between a trace and its reference conductor, or between a trace/power bus and any other nearby conductors. It will also affect the natural frequency and impedance of a transmission line on a substrate. The geometry of your transmission lines must be precisely controlled to ensure consistent impedance.

    The substrate’s relative permittivity is an important determinant of capacitive crosstalk. If we consider two traces running in parallel along a substrate, a potential difference between the two traces will induce a similar (albeit distorted) pulse in each trace. The two pulses then spread and propagate towards the lower potential ends of the respective traces.

    The magnitude of the capacitively coupled current is proportional to the mutual (or parasitic) capacitance between the two traces, thus a board with a lower relative permittivity is desirable if you want to reduce the magnitude of any induced current. From an impedance perspective, this increases the impedance seen by a stream of digital pulses, which decreases the capacitively induced current. This can help you keep crosstalk signals in single ended traces within your noise margin.

    You’ll notice from the above table that the loss tangent tends to scale downwards with lower relative permittivity, so you stand to gain the benefits of lower dielectric loss (be careful to note the frequency range!). However, a lower relative permittivity increases the critical link length that corresponds to a transition to transmission line behavior. Be sure to keep this in mind alongside impedance during routing. There is one benefit in that using a substrate with lower relative permittivity requires using a trace geometry with lower mutual inductance in order to maintain constant characteristic impedance. This then decreases the magnitude of inductive crosstalk alongside capacitive crosstalk.

    Coupled current graph

    Theoretical overdamped near-end response induced in a trace through strong inductive and capacitive crosstalk

    In contrast, a substrate with higher relative permittivity will have a shorter critical trace length due to the slower propagation velocity. Using a board with higher capacitance requires arranging traces with higher inductance to yield consistent impedance throughout an interconnect. This will increase the damping constant seen by transient response, which could bring an interconnect closer to the perfectly damped or overdamped case, depending on the termination network one uses. In the author’s opinion, it is a good idea to simulate critical interconnects for a range of relative permittivity values in order to determine the best substrate for your particular application.

    Whether you’re designing a high speed or high frequency PCB, your design software needs to include a complete materials library for defining the material properties of your substrate. Altium Designer provides these important multilayer design tools alongside layout, MCAD/ECAD collaboration, and simulation features in a unified design interface.

    Now you can download a free trial of Altium Designer to learn more about the layout, layer stack management, and simulation tools. You’ll also have access to the industry’s best documentation and production planning features in a single program. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah works with other companies in the PCB industry providing design and research services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home