Identification des interférences électromagnétiques (IEM) en champ proche dans le Power Distribution Network d'un PCB

Zachariah Peterson
|  Créé: September 8, 2020  |  Mise à jour: April 8, 2022
Identification des interférences électromagnétiques (IEM) en champ proche dans le Power Distribution Network d'un PCB

Tout produit électronique destiné à être homologué FCC ou CE doit réussir les tests CEM et d'émissions par rayonnement. Si votre produit échoue, identifier les sources d'interférences électromagnétiques (IEM) rayonnées excessives peut s'avérer laborieux. Les concepteurs de circuits imprimés ont souvent recours à des mesures de champ proche à l'aide d'un oscilloscope afin d'identifier les composants ou les zones de la carte à l'origine de l'anomalie, ainsi que le contenu de fréquence des IEM rayonnées. Ils doivent ensuite s'appuyer sur leur expérience pour établir un lien entre le rayonnement associé à des fréquences spécifiques et les différentes sources d'IEM.

Toutes ces étapes nécessitent du temps, des efforts et une solide expertise pour identifier les sources d'interférences électromagnétiques et envisager des solutions. Une des options consiste à utiliser un solveur de champ pour simuler directement les IEM en champ proche dans un circuit imprimé, ainsi qu'à évaluer les solutions potentielles aux problèmes qui s'y rapportent.

En calculant le champ électromagnétique émis à partir de différentes zones d'un circuit imprimé, un solveur de champ peut être utilisé pour identifier un problème d'interférence électromagnétique dans une zone spécifique de la carte avant de procéder au lancement d'un prototype. Lorsque vous parvenez à repérer et corriger cette anomalie avant la fabrication, vous réduisez vos coûts de développement et vos délais de commercialisation.

Avec le logiciel Ansys SIwave® , vous pouvez accéder à plusieurs solveurs de champ intégrés qui vous permettent d'examiner l'intégrité du signal et de l'alimentation, et d'analyser les IEM. Grâce à l'extension Ansys EDB Exporter, Altium Designer® s'intègre également de manière optimale à SIwave. Les concepteurs peuvent ainsi facilement effectuer ces analyses directement à partir des données de routage. Pour voir comment cette solution fonctionne avec un routage de PCB dans Altium, nous allons examiner un projet réalisé dans Altium Designer et comment des IEM excessives en champ proche peuvent être identifiées à partir d'une série de résultats de simulation.

Webinaire Ansys Altium - Inscrivez-vous dès maintenant


Analyse des interférences électromagnétiques en champ proche dans un Power Distribution Network

Dans cet article, nous utiliserons le projet d'exemple de Mini PC dans Altium Designer afin d'analyser les IEM en champ proche à l'aide d'Ansys SIwave. Cette carte spécifique contient plusieurs interfaces haute vitesse. Or, elles pourraient rencontrer des problèmes d'intégrité du signal et de l'alimentation. Après avoir importé la géométrie et le routage de la carte dans SIwave, une solution de pleine onde dans le domaine fréquentiel peut être envisagée afin d'identifier les sources d'IEM en champ proche dans la carte du Mini PC.

Ce dernier contient de multiples composants et interfaces haute vitesse qui doivent être examinés pour détecter les problèmes d'intégrité du signal et de l'alimentation.

  • FGPA Intel Arria 10 
  • 2 puces DRAM DDR4 intégrées de 8 Go, d'une fréquence de 1866 MHz
  • 2 emplacements d'extension SODIMM pour des modules RAM DDR3/4
  • USB 3.0, Ethernet 10/100/1000Base, PCIe

Tous ces composants haute vitesse et les interconnexions entre eux peuvent constituer une source d'interférences électromagnétiques en champ proche s'ils ne sont pas disposés correctement.

Afin d'identifier les sources des interférences électromagnétiques de la carte pendant son fonctionnement, le scanner des IEM de SIwave peut être utilisé pour vérifier automatiquement le routage du PCB par rapport à leurs règles de conception avant d'exécuter des simulations pleine onde. Cette technique permet d'identifier les zones problématiques afin de les inspecter plus en détail lors d'une simulation pleine onde.

Identifier les zones problématiques

Le routage du Mini PC contient 16 couches avec des dispositions multiples de couches plan-signal-plan pour le routage de la ligne ruban. Dans un premier aperçu du routage du Mini PC dans Altium Designer, nous voyons que deux signaux de bus DDR4 de ligne ruban (couche 7) sont associés au plan d'alimentation PLL_1V8 (couche 6, fournit une régulation de 2,5 V à 1,8 V pour le FPGA) et au plan d'alimentation VDD_DDR sans (couche 8, fournit l'alimentation aux modules DDR4). Les autres groupes d'octets se trouvent sur la couche 5, qui exploite également les couches 4 et 6 comme référence GND. Étant donné que les chemins de retour sont générés dans les plans d'alimentation en tant que courants de déplacement, il doit y avoir un chemin de retour à faible impédance vers le potentiel de référence du plan de masse.

Dans le routage du Mini PC, le seul plan de la section DDR4 qui n'a pas suffisamment de chemin de retour à faible impédance vers la masse est la couche 6, plus particulièrement le signal PLL_1V8. Ce chemin de retour à faible impédance vers les plans de masse les plus proches (couches 4 et 9) pourrait être assuré par des condensateurs de découplage. On s'attend logiquement à ce qu'un problème d'interférences électromagnétiques en champ proche survienne quelque part dans cette zone, car il y a une faible capacitance interplan entre le signal PLL_1V8 et les signaux GND les plus proches sur les couches 4 et 9.

Le signal PLL_1V8 dans le Mini PC est illustré dans le schéma n° 1. Sur cette image, on observe une zone du circuit imprimé où des chemins de retour discontinus pour les signaux DDR4 ont été identifiés avec le scanner des interférences électromagnétiques de SIwave. La zone en surbrillance du schéma n° 1 représente le signal PLL_1V8.

Simulation d'interférences électromagnétiques en champ proche (schéma n° 1)
Schéma n° 1: signal PLL_1V8 identifié par l'absence de condensateurs de découplage.

Maintenant que le scanner a identifié ce signal afin de réaliser un examen plus approfondi, des techniques plus élaborées peuvent être mobilisées pour vérifier si cette violation de la règle de conception des IEM engendre une anomalie majeure dans la conception. Pour ce faire, nous pouvons utiliser SIwave pour :

  1. Identifier les antirésonances d'impédance dans la partie PLL_1V8 du réseau d'alimentation (PDN), car elles pourraient être stimulées par des courants de déplacement.
  2. Simuler les IEM rayonnées en champ proche avant et après la résolution du problème du chemin de retour.

Penchons-nous plus en détail sur cette problématique à l'aide des outils de simulation de SIwave.

Correspondance entre les fréquences d'interférences électromagnétiques potentielles et les antirésonances du PDN

Le solveur hybride de SIwave peut être utilisé pour extraire les paramètres Z à bande large pour le signal PLL_1V8, ce qui permet ensuite d'identifier toutes les antirésonances dans le spectre des paramètres Z. Dans ce cas, les résonances du Power Distribution Network (PDN) peuvent être stimulées si leur fréquence tombe dans la bande passante du courant de déplacement, ce qui produirait une forte oscillation sur le PDN. Ceci aurait pour conséquence de rayonner un puissant champ électrique dans le régime de champ proche à la fréquence antirésonante du Power Distribution Network.

Le schéma n° 2 montre l'auto-impédance extraite du signal PLL_1V8 de 100 kHz à 4 GHz. Notez que d'autres solveurs électromagnétiques d'Ansys peuvent également être utilisés pour extraire d'autres paramètres Z pour un PDN complexe à entrées et sorties multiples, comme l'impédance de transfert entre PLL_1V8 et tout autre plan d'alimentation.

Simulation d'interférences électromagnétiques en champ proche (schéma n° 2)
Schéma n°
2: auto-impédance du signal PLL-1V8 extrait avec SIWave.

La partie PLL_1V8 du PDN présente une forte antirésonance à 580 MHz, l'étape suivante consiste donc logiquement à étudier l'émission par rayonnement en champ proche à proximité de cette fréquence. Grâce à l'option AC Solver de SIwave, plutôt que d'essayer de modéliser des chemins de retour discontinus dans le domaine temporel, les émissions par rayonnement en champ proche à travers le PCB peuvent être simulées directement dans le domaine fréquentiel.

Résultats des simulations des interférences électromagnétiques en champ proche

Certains résultats initiaux de simulations en champ proche dus aux courants de retour générés dans le signal PLL_1V8 sont illustrés dans le schéma n° 3. Dans ce schéma, on visualise clairement une forte émission à proximité de Q4. Cette dernière alimente le signal du plan d'alimentation PLL_1V8 (partie supérieure droite de la région représentée sur le schéma n° 3). Le champ électrique rayonné (amplitude) de cette zone est un ordre de grandeur supérieur au champ électrique d'arrière-plan dans le reste de la carte. On constate également que cette forte IEM est rayonnée à 580 MHz, ce qui correspond précisément à l'antirésonance du Power Distribution Network.

Simulation d'interférences électromagnétiques en champ proche sans condensateurs de découplage
Schéma n° 3: distribution simulée des IEM en champ proche à l'entrée du signal PLL_1V8t.

Ce constat nous conduit à envisager deux solutions possibles pour réduire les IEM rayonnées par le signal PLL_1V8 :

  1. Augmenter la taille latérale de la paire de plans d'alimentation/de masse pour obtenir une capacitance interplan plus élevée.
  2. Modifier l'empilage de couches de sorte que les signaux DDR ne référencent pas le plan d'alimentation.
  3. Ajouter des condensateurs de découplage avec une fréquence d'autorésonance élevée à la couche de surface pour amortir l'antirésonance dans le PDN.

Le troisième chemin est le plus simple, car la poursuite des deux premiers chemins d'un routage terminé peut nécessiter de nombreuses modifications. Une fois que les condensateurs de découplage ont été ajoutés, vous pouvez procéder à la simulation et comparer les résultats obtenus. Le schéma n° 4 montre une simulation de la carte du Mini PC après l'ajout de condensateurs de découplage sur le signal PLL_IV8 dans Altium Designer.

Simulation d'interférences électromagnétiques en champ proche avec des condensateurs de découplage
Schéma n° 4: distribution simulée des IEM en champ proche après l'ajout de condensateurs de découplage.

Ce résultat montre que le champ électrique rayonné à 580 MHz dans le régime de champ proche est réduit d'environ 70 % en ajoutant simplement des condensateurs de découplage au Power Distribution Network. La résolution de ce problème de Power Distribution Network ne se limite pas à solutionner un problème d'interférences électromagnétiques en champ proche ; elle réduit également le bruit de phase et la gigue couplés à d'autres composants connectés au signal PLL_1V8.

RÉSUMÉ

Le projet d'exemple de Mini PC dans Altium Designer a été examiné dans Ansys SIWave afin d'identifier les problèmes potentiels d'IEM en champ proche : une anomalie majeure d'émission par rayonnement en champ proche a été localisée et corrigée. En identifiant les résonances du PDN dans SIWave et en y ajoutant des condensateurs de découplage dans Altium Designer, son impédance à la fréquence antirésonante la plus forte a été réduite, diminuant ainsi d'environ 70 % le champ électrique rayonné en champ proche.

L'intégration fournie par Ansys SIwave et Altium Designer optimise ce type de processus de simulation post-routage grâce à l'extension EDB Exporter d'Altium Designer. Les concepteurs de PCB peuvent ainsi l'utiliser pour concevoir des circuits imprimés de pointe et exécuter rapidement des simulations multiphysiques post-routage.

Pour en savoir plus, inscrivez-vous au webinaire organisé conjointement par Altium et Ansys.

Sans les bons outils de conception et d'analyse, préparer et mettre en œuvre des simulations d'interférences électromagnétiques en 3D avec de réels circuits imprimés peut s'avérer extrêmement difficile. Altium Designer® peut s'interfacer avec Ansys SIwave® à l'aide de l'extension Ansys EDB Exporter, ce qui vous offre un moyen simple mais puissant d'exécuter des analyses d'intégrité du signal, de l'alimentation et des IEM dans le domaine temporel ou fréquentiel avec un large éventail de solveurs de champ 3D.

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Zachariah Peterson possède une vaste expérience technique dans le milieu universitaire et industriel. Avant de travailler dans l'industrie des PCB, il a enseigné à la Portland State University. Il a dirigé son M.S. recherche sur les capteurs de gaz chimisorptifs et son doctorat en physique appliquée, recherche sur la théorie et la stabilité du laser aléatoire. Son expérience en recherche scientifique couvre des sujets tels que les lasers à nanoparticules, les dispositifs électroniques et optoélectroniques à semi-conducteurs, les systèmes environnementaux et l'analyse financière. Ses travaux ont été publiés dans diverses revues spécialisées et actes de conférences et il a écrit des centaines de blogs techniques sur la conception de PCB pour de nombreuses entreprises. Zachariah travaille avec d'autres sociétés de PCB fournissant des services de conception et de recherche. Il est membre de l'IEEE Photonics Society et de l'American Physical Society

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Identifying Near-field EMI in a PCB's Power Distribution Network

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  September 8, 2020
    Identifying Near-field EMI in a PCB's Power Distribution Network

    Any electronic product that is intended for FCC or CE certification needs to pass radiated emissions and EMC testing. If your product doesn’t pass testing, identifying sources of excessive radiated electromagnetic interference (EMI) can be difficult. PCB designers often resort to near-field probe measurements with an oscilloscope to identify offending components or board areas, as well as the frequency content of the radiated EMI. Designers then need to rely on their experience to link radiation at specific frequencies to various EMI sources.

    All this takes time, effort, and specialized experience to identify EMI sources and propose solutions. The alternative is to use a field solver to simulate near-field EMI in a PCB directly, as well as evaluate potential solutions to EMI problems. By calculating the electromagnetic field emitted from different regions in a PCB, a field solver can be used to pinpoint an EMI problem to a specific area of the board before a prototyping run. Anytime you can identify and correct an EMI problem before manufacturing, you’ve cut down your development costs and time to market.

    With the Ansys SIwave® package, you can access multiple integrated field solvers for signal integrity, power integrity, and EMI analyses. Altium Designer® also provides seamless integration with SIwave through the Ansys EDB Exporter extension, giving designers a simple way to perform these analyses directly from their layout data. To see how this works with an Altium PCB layout, we’ll look at an example Altium Designer project and how excessive near-field EMI can be identified from a series of simulation results.

    Ansys Altium Webinar Register Now


    Near-Field EMI Analysis for a PDN

    The Mini PC example project in Altium Designer will be used here for near-field EMI analysis with Ansys SIwave. This particular board contains multiple high-speed interfaces, and any of these could experience power integrity or signal integrity problem. After importing the board geometry and layout into SIwave, a full-wave solution in the frequency domain can be used to identify sources of near-field EMI in the Mini PC board.

    The Mini PC contains multiple components and high-speed interfaces that should be investigated for signal integrity and power integrity problems.

    • Intel Arria 10 FPGA 
    • 2 Onboard 8 GB DDR4 DRAM chips running at 1866 MHz
    • 2 SODIMM expansion slots for DDR3/4 RAM modules
    • USB 3.0, 10/100/1000Base Ethernet, PCIe

    Any of these high-speed components and the interconnects between them can act as a source of near-field EMI if not laid out correctly. In order to identify any EMI sources in the board during operation, the EMI Scanner tool in SIwave can be used to automatically check a PCB layout against EMI design rules before running full-wave simulations. This allows problem areas to be identified so that they can be inspected further during a full-wave simulation.

    Identifying Problem Areas

    The Mini PC layout contains 16 layers with multiple plane-signal-plane layer arrangements for stripline routing. In an initial survey of the Mini PC layout in Altium Designer, we see two stripline DDR4 bus nets (Layer 7) are referenced to the PLL_1V8 power plane (Layer 6, provides 2.5 V to 1.8 V regulation for the FPGA) and to the VDD_DDR power plane without (Layer 8, provides power to the DDR4 modules). Other byte lanes sit on Layer 5, which also use Layers 4 and 6 as their GND reference. As return paths are being established in power planes as displacement currents, there needs to be a low-impedance return path back to the reference potential on the ground plane.

    In the Mini PC layout, the only plane in the DDR4 section that doesn’t have a sufficiently low-impedance return path back to ground is Layer 6, specifically the PLL_1V8 net. This low-impedance return path back to the nearest ground planes (Layers 4 and 9) could be provided through decoupling capacitors. One would reasonably expect a near-field EMI problem to arise somewhere in this region as there is low interplane capacitance between PLL_1V8 and the nearest GND nets on Layers 4 and 9.

    The PLL_1V8 net in the Mini PC is shown in Figure 1. In this image, we see a region in the PCB layout where discontinuous return paths for the DDR4 nets were identified with the EMI Scanner tool in SIwave. The highlighted region in Figure 1 is the PLL_1V8 net.

    Near-field EMI simulation Figure 1
    Figure 1: PLL_1V8 net flagged by missing decoupling capacitors.

    Now that EMI Scanner has flagged this net for further inspection, more sophisticated techniques can be used to check whether this EMI design rule violation causes a significant problem in the design. To do this, we can use SIwave to:

    1. Identify impedance anti-resonances in the PLL_1V8 portion of the power delivery network (PDN) as these could be excited by displacement currents, and
    2. Simulate near-field radiated EMI before and after the return path problem is fixed.

    Let’s look at this in greater depth using the simulation tools in SIwave.

    Matching Potential EMI Frequencies to PDN Anti-resonances

    The hybrid solver in SIwave can be used to extract broadband Z-parameters for the PLL_1V8 net, which then allows any anti-resonances in the Z-parameter spectrum to be identified. In this case, PDN resonances can be excited if their frequency falls in the bandwidth of the displacement current, which would produce strong ringing on the PDN. This would then radiate a strong electric field in the near-field regime at the PDN anti-resonant frequency.

    Figure 2 shows the extracted self-impedance for the PLL_1V8 net from 100 kHz to 4 GHz. Note that other Ansys electromagnetic solvers could also be used to extract other Z-parameters for a complex multiple-input multiple-output PDN, such as the transfer impedance between PLL_1V8 and any other power plane.

    Near-field EMI simulation Figure 2
    Figure 2: Self-impedance of the PLL-1V8 net extracted with SIWave.

    The PLL_1V8 portion of the PDN has a strong anti-resonance at 580 MHz, so the next logical step is to investigate near-field radiated emission near that frequency. Rather than trying to model discontinuous return paths in the time domain, near-field radiated emissions throughout the PCB can be simulated directly in the frequency domain with the AC Solver option in SIwave.

    Near-field EMI Simulation Results

    Some initial near-field simulation results due to return currents induced in the PLL_1V8 net are shown in Figure 3. In this figure, we clearly see strong emission near Q4, which supplies power to the PLL_1V8 power plane net (upper-right portion of the region shown in Figure 3). The radiated electric field (magnitude) from this region is orders of magnitude larger than the background electric field in the rest of the board. We also see that this strong EMI is radiated at 580 MHz, corresponding exactly to the PDN anti-resonance.

    Simulated near-field EMI without decoupling capacitors
    Figure 3: Simulated Near-field EMI distribution at the input to the PLL_1V8 net.

    This motivates two possible solutions to reduce radiated EMI from the PLL_1V8 net:

    1. Increase the lateral size of the power/ground plane pair to provide higher interplane capacitance.
    2. Change the layer stackup so that the DDR nets do not reference the power plane.
    3. Add decoupling capacitors with high self-resonant frequency to the surface layer to damp the anti-resonance in the PDN.

    The third route is easiest as pursuing the first two routes in a finished layout could require extensive redesigns. After adding decoupling capacitors, the simulation can be run again and the results can be compared. Figure 4 shows a simulation of the Mini PC board after adding decoupling capacitors on the PLL_IV8 net in Altium Designer.

    Simulated near-field EMI with decoupling capacitors
    Figure 4: Simulated Near-field EMI distribution after adding decoupling capacitors.

    This result shows that the radiated electric field at 580 MHz in the near-field regime is reduced by ~70% by merely adding decoupling capacitors to the PDN. Solving this PDN problem does more than address a near-field EMI issue; it also reduces phase noise/jitter coupled to other components connected to the PLL_1V8 net.

    Summary

    The Mini PC example project in Altium Designer was examined in Ansys SIWave to identify potential near-field EMI problems, and a severe problem with near-field radiated emission was located and resolved. By identifying PDN resonances in SIWave and adding some decoupling capacitors to the PDN in Altium Designer, the PDN impedance at the strongest anti-resonant frequency was reduced, thereby reducing the radiated electric field in the near-field regime by ~70%.

    The integration provided by Ansys SIwave and Altium Designer makes this type of post-layout simulation workflow quick and easy thanks to Altium Designer’s EDB Exporter extension. PCB designers can use this integration to create advanced PCBs and quickly run post-layout multiphysics simulations for their designs.

    Register for the joint Altium and Ansys Webinar to learn more.

    3D near-field EMI simulations with real PCBs can be complicated to prepare and implement without the right design and analysis tools. Altium Designer® can interface with Ansys SIwave® using the Ansys EDB Exporter extension, giving you a simple yet powerful way to run power integrity, signal integrity, and EMI analyses in the time domain or frequency domain with a variety of 3D field solvers.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home