PCB-Design-Regeln für analoge Schaltungen

Zachariah Peterson
|  Erstellt: March 18, 2019  |  Aktualisiert am: December 8, 2020

Glowing vacuum tube on a blue background

Manche Leute verstehen einfach nicht, wie Elektronikingenieure die Welt sehen. Manchmal ist es so, als wären wir Neo am Ende von „The Matrix“ und betrachten alles als digitale Daten. Analoges Design erscheint wie ein Rückzug in die reale Welt.

Auch wenn die Konstruktion analoger Systeme wie eine Reise in die Zeit der Vakuumröhren erscheinen mag, so ist die analoge Signalverarbeitung noch lange kein Auslaufmodell. Rein analoge Platinen und Mixed-Signal-Boards sind immer noch in vielen Produkten von Bedeutung, und Neueinsteiger sollten einige wichtige PCB-Designregeln für analoge Schaltungen beachten.

Entflechtungsregeln für analoge Leiterplatten

Die Leiterbahnen auf Ihrer analogen Platine sollten aus mehreren Gründen so kurz wie möglich gehalten werden. Erstens verhalten sich Leiter, die analoge Signale führen, wie eine Übertragungsleitung, wenn diese zu lang sind – genau wie solche, die digitale Signale führen. Gelegentlich spricht man von diesem Vorgang, wenn die Laufzeitverzögerung größer als ein Viertel der Schwingungsdauer des Analogsignals ist – der tatsächliche Übergang ist natürlich eher fließend. Um festzustellen, ob eine Leiterbahn ein Übertragungsleitungsverhalten zeigt, müssen Sie deren charakteristische Impedanz mit der Eingangsimpedanz der Schaltung abgleichen und jede Abweichung vom idealen Eingangsimpedanzwert, den Ihr Treiber sieht, untersuchen. In diesem Artikel erfahren Sie, wie Sie die kritische Länge der Übertragungsleitung bestimmen können. Wenn die Leiterbahn kurz genug ist, spielt ihre Impedanz praktisch keine Rolle mehr und die Eingangsimpedanz (Leitung + Empfänger) scheint einfach die Impedanz des Empfängers zu sein.

Halten Sie daher die Leiterbahnen kurz, besonders in Schaltungen mit höheren Frequenzen, um Übertragungsleitungseffekte zu vermeiden. Beim Übergang zum Übertragungsleitungsverhalten können analoge Signale an einer Impedanzfehlanpassung reflektiert werden, was möglicherweise zu einer entsprechenden Signalresonanz auf der Leiterbahn führt. Dann bildet sich eine stehende Welle auf der Übertragungsleitung, die wiederum ein starkes Übersprechen (EMI) in benachbarte Komponenten hervorrufen können.

Die Verwendung von Durchkontaktierungen auf kritischen Leiterbahnen sollte ebenfalls minimiert werden. Alle Durchsteiger haben aufgrund ihrer Geometrie eine inhärente Eigeninduktivität. Während die Signalresonanz bei Vias typischerweise im GHz-Bereich liegt, erhöht sich die Induktivität, wenn mehrere von ihnen in Reihe geschaltet werden, wodurch die Resonanzfrequenz für die betreffende Leiterbahn sinkt. Ein weiteres Problem beim Verlegen von analogen Leiterbahnen zwischen den Lagen besteht darin, dass Durchkontaktierungen Öffnungen in Masseebenen provozieren und damit eine Impedanzdiskontinuität entsteht, die Masseschleifen verursachen kann. Versuchen Sie stattdessen, alle analogen Signalbahnen auf einer einzigen Ebene zu führen.

Stromversorgungs- und Masseflächen

Die Platzierung von Stromversorgungs- und Masseflächen auf Ihrem Multi-Layer-Board ist für die Gewährleistung der Signalintegrität entscheidend. Diese Ebenen überschneiden sich meist und sind bei einer Digitalbaugruppe mit einem Kondensator entkoppelt. Im Gegensatz dazu sollten sich vergleichbare Ebenen für die analoge Stromversorgung und Masse nicht überschneiden.

Bei Mixed-Signal-Platinen müssen Sie eine Kombination aus digitalen und analogen Regeln anwenden. Digitale und analoger Schaltungsteil sollten durch Aufteilung der Massefläche getrennt werden. Dadurch wird sichergestellt, dass alle Signale auf die gleiche Masse bezogen sind. Die Verbindung zwischen der digitalen und der analogen Masseebene sollte so nah wie möglich an der Masseverbindung für die Spannungsversorgung liegen.

Die digitalen und analogen Versorgungslagen sollten sich zudem nicht überschneiden. Überlappen sich diese beiden Ebenen, dann herrscht zwischen ihnen eine gewisse Kapazität. Dies kann zu HF-Emissionen führen, die sich zwischen diesen beiden Layern ausbreiten.

Wenn Sie eine PLL zur Frequenzsynthese mit einem Analogsignal verwenden, um einen Referenzoszillator oder Taktgenerator zu bilden, müssen Sie den Taktausgang sehr sorgfältig in den Digitalteil zurückführen – mitunter eine knifflige Sache, wenn Sie statt eines PLL-ICs einen eigenen aus separaten Komponenten aufbauen wollen.

Im digitalen Schaltungsbereich der Baugruppe kann es sinnvoll sein, eine oder mehrere Signallagen zwischen den digitalen Stromversorgungs- und Masseflächen zu definieren. Hier können Sie Signalleitungen verlegen, die vor EMI geschützt werden müsse. Diese wird von den beiden großen Leitungsflächen abgeschirmt. Vermeiden Sie unbedingt die übermäßige Verwendung von Durchkontaktierungen zwischen diesen inneren Signalebenen, da diese sehr leicht Störungen in die bzw. aus der Versorgungsebene einkoppeln können.

Wenn digitale Leiterbahnen über die digitale Massefläche geführt werden, entweder auf der Oberfläche oder im Inneren, hilft dies, sicherzustellen, dass Ihr Rücksignal nur in der Massefläche induziert wird und zum Masseanschluss des Netzteils wandert. Die Masseebene unterdrückt jegliche Signalinduktion in der Stromversorgungsebene. Bei empfindlichen Signalleitungen, die zwischen der Leistungs- und der Masseebene verlegt werden, kann der Entkopplungskondensator ein in die Stromversorgungsebene induziertes digitales Signal kompensieren.

Computer-Motherboard mit digitalen und analogen Anschlüssen

Durchsteck- vs. oberflächenmontierte Bauteile

Durchsteckkomponenten werden normalerweise auf Platinen verwendet, bei denen der Platzbedarf eine untergeordnete Rolle spielt. Ist Bauraum auf Ihrer Platine jedoch begrenzt, ist es besser, oberflächenmontierbare Bauelemente zu verwenden. Durchsteckbauteile sind oft auch belastbarer als SMDs.

Wenn Sie durchkontaktierte passive Bauteile verwenden müssen, vermeiden Sie nach Möglichkeit eine vertikale Montage, insbesondere bei High-Speed-Platinen. Kürzere Anschlüsse, die Sie horizontal strecken können, verkleinern die von Ihrer Schaltung umschlossene Fläche und minimieren die Selbstinduktivität. Dies trägt auch zur Minimierung von EMI in andere Komponenten bei, insbesondere in Hochfrequenzschaltungen.

Eine sauberere Alternative, sowohl aus Sicht der Signalintegrität als auch der Ästhetik, ist die Verwendung oberflächenmontierter passiver Komponenten. Obwohl durchkontaktierte Bauteile billiger sind, kann die Herstellung einer Platine zur Aufnahme von diesen Bauteilen aufgrund der zusätzlich erforderlichen Bohrarbeitsschritte teurer werden.

Umgang mit unbenutzten Operationsverstärkern

Eine Komponente, die in analogen Schaltungen zwangsläufig vorkommt, ist der Operationsverstärker. In vielen Operationsverstärker-ICs bleiben einige der OP-Amps unbenutzt. Alle unbenutzten Leitungen des ICs sollten ordnungsgemäß abgeschlossen werden; nicht abgeschlossen bilden sich Rauschquellen, die im IC die Signalintegrität beeinträchtigen.

Wenn Sie eine einzelne Spannungsversorgung verwenden, sollten Sie zunächst den Ausgang direkt mit dem invertierenden Eingang verbinden. Dies erzeugt eine negative Rückkopplung und stellt sicher, dass der Ausgang dem Eingang richtig folgt. Als Nächstes schließen Sie einen Spannungsteiler mit gleichen Widerständen an den nicht-invertierenden Eingang und den Masse-Pin an. Dadurch wird das Eingangspotenzial auf den Mittelpunkt des linearen Bereichs eingestellt. Wenn Sie eine geteilte Spannungsversorgung verwenden, können Sie den Ausgang einfach mit dem invertierenden Eingang kurzschließen und den nicht-invertierenden Eingang erden.

Oberflächenmontierter IC in einer Pinzette über einer blauen Leiterplatte

Der Bau von Geräte in Gebäuden, die als drahtlose Sender zur Steuerung und Erfassung von Daten aus Sensornetzwerken verwendet werden oder die eine Schnittstelle zu externen analogen Systemen haben, erfordert eine Design-Software mit Signalintegritätstools, einem leistungsstarken PDN Analyzer und einem intuitiven Layer Stackup Manager. Altium Designer® enthält all diese Funktionen und viele mehr in einer einheitlichen, regelbasierten Design-Plattform.

Wenn Sie mehr über Altium erfahren möchten, laden Sie eine kostenlose Testversion herunter und profitieren Sie von den besten Layout-, Routing- und Simulationsfunktionen der Branche. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Altium-Experten, um mehr zu erfahren.

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    PCB Design Rules for Analog Circuits

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  March 18, 2019

    Glowing vacuum tube on a blue background

    Some people just don’t understand how electronics engineers see the world. Sometimes, it’s like we’re Neo at the end of The Matrix, looking at everything in digital data. Analog design is like a retreat back to the real world.

    Even though building analog systems might seem like going back in time to the days of vacuum tubes, analog signalling is not going away any time soon. Purely analog boards and mixed signal boards are still important in many products, and new designers should take note of some important PCB design rules for analog circuits.

    Routing Guidelines for Analog PCBs

    Traces in your analog PCB should be made as short as possible for several reasons. First, traces carrying analog signals can exhibit transmission line behavior if the trace is too long, just like a trace carrying a digital signal. This transition is sometimes said to occur if the propagation delay is larger than one-quarter of the oscillation period of the analog signal, although the real transition is not so specific. When determining whether a trace will exhibit transmission line behavior, you need to compare the trace's characteristic impedance with the circuit's input impedance and examine any deviation from the ideal input impedance value seen by your driver. Take a look at this article to see how you can determine the transmission line critical length. In essence, if the trace is short enough, the trace's impedance won't matter, and the (line + receiver) input impedance will appear to simply be the receiver's impedance.

    Keeping traces short, especially in higher frequency circuits, will help prevent transmission line effects. Upon transition to transmission line behavior, analog signals can reflect from an impedance mismatch, potentially leading to analog signal resonance in the trace. This forms a standing wave on the transmission line that generates strong crosstalk (EMI) in nearby components.

    The use of vias on critical traces should also be minimized. All vias have inherent self inductance thanks to their geometry. While signal resonance for vias are typically in the GHz range, inductance adds when multiple vias are placed in series, lowering the resonant frequency for the trace in question. Another problem with routing analog traces between layers is that the vias require placing holes in ground planes, creating a high impedance discontinuity that can cause ground loops. Instead, try to place all analog signal traces on a single layer.

    Power and Ground Planes

    The placement of power and ground planes on your multilayer board is critical to ensuring signal integrity. The ground and power planes typically overlap and are decoupled with a capacitor in a digital board. In contrast, the analog power and ground planes should not overlap.

    In mixed signal boards, you’ll need to adopt a combination of digital and analog rules. The digital block and the analog block should be separated by splitting the ground plane. This ensures that all signals are referenced to the same ground. The join between the digital and analog ground planes should be placed as close as possible to the ground connection for the power supply.

    The digital and analog power planes should also not overlap. If these two planes do overlap, the two planes will have some capacitance between the overlapping areas. This is likely to cause RF emissions that propagate between these two planes.

    If you are using a PLL for frequency synthesis with an analog signal to form a reference oscillator or a clock pulse train, you’ll need to very carefully route the clock output back into the digital section. This can be very tricky and depends on whether you are using a PLL IC or if you intend to design your own from separate components.

    In the digital section of the board, it may be a good idea to define one or more signal layers between the digital power and ground planes. This gives you a place to route some signals that need to be protected from EMI; the two large sections of conductor will block EMI. Be sure to avoid excessive use of vias to pass between these inner signal layers as vias can easily couple noise back into the power plane, and vice versa.

    Once digital traces are routed over the digital ground plane, either on the surface or the interior, this helps ensure that your return signal is only induced in the ground plane and travels to the ground connection on the power supply. The ground plane will suppress any signal from being induced in the power plane. For sensitive signal traces routed between the power and ground planes, the decoupling capacitor can compensate any digital signal induced in the power plane.

    Computer motherboard with digital and analog connections

    Through-hole vs. Surface Mount Components

    Through-hole components are normally used on boards where space is not an issue. If real estate on your board is limited, it is better to use surface mount components. Through-hole components can also have higher power ratings than surface mount components.

    If you must use through-hole mounted passive components, avoid mounting them vertically if possible, especially in high speed boards. If you can use shorter leads and stretch them horizontally, the area enclosed by your circuit will be smaller, minimizing self inductance. This will also help minimize EMI into other components, especially in high frequency circuits.

    A cleaner alternative, both from a signal integrity standpoint as well as aesthetically, is to use surface mounted passive components. Although through-hole components are cheaper, fabricating a board to support through-hole components can be more expensive due to the extra drilling steps required.

    Dealing with Unused Op-amps

    One component that is bound to appear in an analog board is an operational amplifier. In many op-amp ICs, some of the op-amps will be left unused. Any unused leads on the IC should be terminated properly. Unterminated leads on op-amps in an IC can produce noise that propagates into the operating ICs, degrading signal integrity.

    If you are using a single power supply rail, you should first short the output back to the inverting input. This creates negative feedback and ensures that the output will properly follow the input. Next, connect a voltage divider with equal resistors to the non-inverting input and the ground pin. This will set the input potential to the midpoint of the linear range. If you are using a split rail, you can simply short the output to the inverting input and ground the non-inverting input.

    Surface mount IC in tweezers over a blue PCB

    Building devices that act as wireless beacons, are used to control and gather data from sensor networks, or that interface with external analog systems require design software with signal integrity tools, a powerful PDN Analyzer™, and an intuitive layer stackup manager. Altium Designer®​ contains all of these features and many more in a unified, rules-driven design platform.

    If you’re interested in learning more about Altium , you can download a free trial and get access to the industry’s best layout, routing, and simulation features. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah works with other companies in the PCB industry providing design and research services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home