Stripline oder Microstrip: Unterschiede und Richtlinien beim PCB-Routing

Altium Designer
|  September 22, 2017
Stripline oder Microstrip: Unterschiede und Richtlinien beim PCB-Routing

Als ich zum ersten Mal eine Präsentation über Hochgeschwindigkeits-Designtechniken hörte, überstieg es meinen Verstand. Noch am Beginn meiner Karriere als Leiterplattenentwickler war es sicher meine Unerfahrenheit, die meine Verwirrung verursachte. Das ganze Konzept des Stripline- und Microstrip-Routing ergab für mich keinen Sinn, und ich glaubte, dass der Referent von einer völlig anderen Art von PCB-Designs sprach, mit der ich nicht vertraut war. Zum Glück löste sich ein Großteil meiner Verwirrung auf, als ich mehr über PCB-Streifenleitungen lernte.

Strip-Leitung (Stripline) und Streifenleiter (Microstrip) sind verschiedene Designausprägungen von Hochgeschwindigkeits-Übertragungsleitungen auf einer Leiterplatte. Die fundierte Kenntnis der feinen Unterschiede zwischen beiden Typen könnte Ihnen sogar ein Wettbewerbsvorteil ggü. Mitbewerbern verschaffen.  

Strip-Leitung oder Streifenleitung: Was ist was?

Stripline vs Microstrip: Understanding Their Differences and Their PCB Routing Guidelines

Stripline- und Microstrip-Routing sind Methoden zum Verlegen von Hochgeschwindigkeits-Übertragungsleitungen auf gedruckten Leiterplatten. Die Strip-Leitung (Stripline) ist eine Leiterbahnstruktur, die zwischen zwei Masseflächen innerhalb einer Leiterplatte verläuft und vom dielektrischen Platinenmaterial umschlossen ist. Bei einer Streifenleitung (Microstrip) handelt es sich dagegen um eine Leiterbahn, die auf einer Außenlage der Leiterplatte verlegt wird. Dadurch ist sie durch das dielektrische Material der Platine von einer einzigen Massefläche getrennt.

Mit der Übertragungsleitung auf der Oberflächenschicht der Leiterplatte hat das Microstrip-Routing bessere Signaleigenschaften als die Stripline. Auch die Leiterplattenherstellung ist mit Microstrip kostengünstiger, da der Zweischichtaufbau den Herstellungsprozess vereinfacht. Die Herstellung einer Strip-Leitung ist folglich komplexer, da mehr Schichten erforderlich sind – die eingebettete Leiterbahn und zwei umgebende Masse-Layer. Allerdings ist die Breite einer impedanzkontrollierten Leiterbahn bei einer Strip-Leitung geringer als bei einem Microstrip gleicher Impedanz; das liegt an der zweiten Massefläche. Diese geringere Leiterbahnbreite ermöglicht wiederum höhere Packungsdichten und damit eine kompaktere Bauform. Zudem reduziert die innere Leitungsführung EMI und bietet einen besseren Gefahrenschutz.

Stripline und Microstrip haben also unterschiedliche Vorteile. Welche für Sie die bessere Methode ist, sollte auf der Grundlage Ihrer individuellen Anforderungen entschieden werden. Bei einem kompakten High-Speed-Design wird oft eine Mischung aus beiden Methoden auf einer mehrlagigen Leiterplatte verwendet, um alle Ziele zu erreichen.

Darüber hinaus ist es bei der Entflechtung eines solchen Designs wichtig, die Impedanz über das gesamte Design zu kontrollieren. Das Layer, auf dem die Übertragungsleitung verlegt wird, die physikalischen Eigenschaften der Leiterbahn und die Eigenschaften des Dielektrikums müssen alle zusammen berechnet werden, um die richtigen Impedanzwerte für die Schaltung zu erhalten. Es gibt viele verschiedene Impedanz-Rechner mit verschiedenen Stripline- und Microstrip-Modellen, die für die Durchführung dieser Berechnungen zur Verfügung stehen.

Picture of different types of transmission line routing

Beispiele für Stripline- und Microstrip-Routing

Nachfolgend finden Sie einige Routing-Modelle für Strip- und Streifenleiter und wie ihre individuellen Eigenschaften die Impedanzberechnungen beeinflussen:

  1. Microstrip. Übertragungsleitungen, die auf den äußeren Schichten verlegt sind, werden als Streifenleitung bezeichnet. Das Modell hierfür basiert auf der Leiterbahndicke und -breite sowie der Substrathöhe und der Art des Dielektrikums.
  2. Kantengekoppelte Streifenleitung. Diese Technik wird für das Routing differentieller Microstrip-Paare verwendet. Dabei handelt es sich um die gleiche Struktur wie beim regulären Microstrip-Routing, aber das Modell ist um den Leiterbahnabstand des Differenzialleiterpaars erweitert.
  3. Eingebetteter Streifenleiter. Diese Struktur ähnelt dem regulären Microstrip, jedoch befindet sich über der Übertragungsleitung eine weitere Schicht Dielektrikum. Beispielsweise kann die Lötstoppmaske als eine solche Dielektrikumsschicht betrachtet werden und muss daher in die Impedanzberechnung mit einfließen.
  4. Symmetrische Strip-Leitung. Übertragungsleitungen, die auf internen Lagen (zwischen zwei Masseflächen) verlegt werden, gelten als symmetrische Streifenleitung. Wie bei Microstrip basiert ihr Modell auf der Dicke und Breite der Leiterbahnen, der Substrathöhe und dem Dielektrikumstyp, wobei die Berechnung, für die zwischen den beiden Ebenen eingebettete Leiterbahn angepasst wurde.
  5. Asymmetrische Strip-Leitung. Wenngleich es in seiner Struktur dem symmetrischen Streifenleitungsmodell ähnelt, berücksichtigt dieses Modell die Auswirkungen einer Übertragungsleitung, die nicht genau mittig zwischen beiden Substratebenen verläuft.
  6. Kanten-gekoppelte Strip-Leitung. Diese Technik wird für das Routing von Differenzialpaaren in internen Schichten verwendet. Es ist die gleiche Struktur wie die reguläre Strip-Leitung, aber das Modell ist durch die Hinzufügung des Leiterbahnabstandes für das Differenzialpaar erweitert.
  7. Breitseitengekoppelte Strip-Leitung. Dieses Modell ähnelt dem der Kanten-gekoppelten Strip-Leitung, jedoch werden die Paare nicht nebeneinander, sondern übereinandergestapelt. Das Modell ähnelt dem für Kanten-gekoppelte Strip-Leitungen.

Ich hoffe, dass Ihnen dieser Überblick geholfen hat, die Verwirrung um diese Konzepte zu beseitigen. Wenn Sie verstehen, was sich hinter den verschiedenen Stripline- und Microstrip-Methoden zur Leiterbahnführung verbirgt, wird es Ihnen bei der Entwicklung von High-Speed-Leiterplatten zugutekommen.

Möchten Sie mehr über Hochgeschwindigkeitsdesign erfahren und herausfinden, wie Ihre CAD-Layout-Software Ihnen dabei helfen kann? Dann sprechen Sie mit einem Experten von Altium Designer.

About Author

About Author

PCB Design Tools für Electronics Design und DFM. Informationen für EDA-Führungskräfte.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Stripline vs Microstrip: PCB Routing Differences and Guidelines

    Altium Designer
    |  September 22, 2017
    Stripline vs Microstrip: Understanding The Differences and The Best PCB Routing Guidelines

     

    The first time I heard a presentation on high speed design techniques, it went straight over my head. Since this was at the beginning of my career as a PCB designer, I’m sure that it was my inexperience that caused the confusion. The whole concept of stripline and microstrip routing didn’t make any sense to me and I thought that the instructor was talking about a completely different type of PCB designs that I wasn’t familiar with. Fortunately, much of my confusion was clarified when I learned more about a PCB stripline and PCB microstrip.

    A PCB stripline and microstrip are different methods of routing high speed transmission lines on a PCB design. Understanding the nuanced differences between a PCB microstrip line and a stripline can give you an great edge over the competition. So whether you are new to PCB design schematic or if you are looking for a refresher on the topic, this basic review is for you.

     

     

    Stripline and Microstrip - What Are They?

    Stripline vs Microstrip: Understanding Their Differences and Their PCB Routing Guidelines

    Stripline and microstrip line routing are methods of routing a high speed PCB transmission line on your circuit board design. Stripline is a PCB transmission line trace surrounded by dielectric material suspended between two ground plane layers within of a printed board. Microstrip line routing is a transmission line trace routed on an external layer of the board. Because of this, it is separated from a single ground plane by a dielectric material.

    With the transmission line on the surface layer of the board, microstrip routing has better signal characteristics than stripline. board fabrication is also less expensive with microstrip since the layer structure of one plane and one signal layer makes the manufacturing process simpler. Stripline can be more complex to manufacture because is requires multiple layers to support the embedded trace between two ground planes. However, the width of a controlled impedance trace in stripline is less than an impedance trace in microstrip of the same value. This is because of the second ground plane. These smaller trace widths enable greater densities, which in turn enables a more compact design. The internal layer routing of stripline also reduces EMI and provides better hazard protection.

    Stripline and microstrip have different benefits. The decision of which is the better method should be based on the needs of the design. In a dense high speed design, a mixture of both methods on a multi-layer board is often used to accomplish the design goals.

    Furthermore, it is extremely important to maintain controlled impedance across the design when routing transmission lines on a high speed design. The layer of the PCB that the transmission line is routed on, the physical characteristics of the transmission line trace, and the characteristics of the dielectric all need to be calculated together in order to give the correct impedance values for the circuit. There are many different impedance calculators with different stripline and microstrip models that are available for making these calculations.

    Picture of different types of transmission line routing

    Examples of Stripline and Microstrip Routing

    The following are some examples of stripline and microstrip routing techniques and how some of their characteristics affect their impedance calculations:

    1. Microstrip. Transmission lines that are routed on the external layers are considered to be microstrip. The model for these is based on the trace thickness and width, and the substrate height and dielectric type.

    2. Edge-Coupled Microstrip. This technique is used for routing differential pairs. It is the same structure as regular microstrip routing, but the model is more complex with the addition of the trace spacing for the differential pair.

    3. Embedded Microstrip. This structure is similar to regular microstrip except that there is another layer of dielectric above the transmission line. Soldermask can be considered as a layer of dielectric and must be accounted for in the impedance calculation.

    4. Symmetric Stripline. Transmission lines that are routed on internal layers (between two ground planes) are considered to be symmetric stripline, or just plain “stripline” routing. Like microstrip, their model is based on the trace thickness and width, and the substrate height and the dielectric type with the calculation adjusted for the trace being embedded between the two planes.

    5. Asymmetric Stripline. Although similar in structure to the symmetric stripline model, this model accounts for the transmission line trace that is not balanced precisely between the two planes.

    6. Edge-Coupled Stripline. This technique is used for routing internal layer differential pairs. It is the same structure as regular stripline, but the model is more complex with the addition of the trace spacing for the differential pair.

    7. Broadside-Coupled Stripline. This technique is also used for routing internal layer differential pairs, but instead of side by side, the pairs are stacked on top of each other. The model is similar as for edge-coupled stripline.

    I hope that this tutorial on stripline and microstrip has been helpful in clearing up some of the confusion surrounding these concepts. Understanding what the different stripline and microstrip methods of routing transmission lines are will ultimately help you to design a better high speed board

    Would you like to find out more about high speed design and how your CAD layout software can help you to achieve success? Talk to an expert at Altium Designer.

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home