Phased-Array-Antennendesign für 5G-Anwendungen

Zachariah Peterson
|  Erstellt: June 5, 2019  |  Aktualisiert am: January 25, 2021

Hand holding smartphone near antenna

Neue Antennenkonstruktionen sind der Eckpfeiler von 5G-Geräten der kommenden Generation

Mit dem Beginn des 5G-Rollouts kommt Designern eine wichtige Rolle bei der Gestaltung der technischen Infrastruktur zu, um mehr Connected Devices zu unterstützen und höhere Datenraten bereitzustellen. Immer mehr Komponentenhersteller bieten auch eine breitere Palette von Antennenlösungen für 5G-Systeme an.

Entwickler von 5G-fähigen Mobilgeräten benötigen für ihre Systeme geeignete Antennendesigns. Zwei wichtige Anforderungen sind die Durchstimmbarkeit, um die Resonanzfrequenz der Antenne zu verändern, sowie das Beamforming, bei dem das Abstrahlverhalten der Antenne beeinflusst werden kann. Das Design von Patch- oder Microstrip-Phased-Array-Antennen für 5G-Anwendungen ist ein dankbares Betätigungsfeld für jeden Designer, um drahtlose Funktionen in neuen 5G-Systemen zu implementieren.

Phased-Array-Antennen in 5G

5G-Antennen arbeiten in verschiedenen Frequenzbändern, darunter die LTE-Bänder sowie Frequenzbereichen über 5 GHz. Die höheren Frequenzbänder umfassen 24,25–27 GHz und 37–40 GHz mit 50 bis 400 MHz Bandbreite pro Kanal. Die US-amerikanische FCC hat kürzlich zusätzliche Bänder im Bereich von 64–71 GHz freigegeben und ähnliche Bänder werden auch in Europa, Japan und China verwendet.

Wegen der hohen Verluste galten mmWave-Frequenzen seit jeher als ungeeignet für die Kommunikation zwischen mobilen Endgeräten. Streuung und Absorption der Luft dämpfen die Signale stärker als bei niedrigeren Frequenzen, sodass die Sender mit deutlich höherer Leistung arbeiten müssten, um dies zu kompensieren – was Funkantennen für die Langstreckenkommunikation von mobilen Geräten im GHz-Bereich unpraktisch macht.

Ungeachtet dieser Dämpfung von mmWellen-Frequenzen können Beamforming-Techniken verwendet werden, um die von einem Antennenfeld (Array) emittierte Strahlung zu bündeln. Dieser Antennentyp wird auch als phasengesteuerte Antenne (Phased-Array-Antenne) bezeichnet und wurde ursprünglich beim Militär in gerichteten Radarsystemen eingesetzt. Der Antennentyp besteht aus einer Anordnung mehrerer Strahler, die in einem kugelförmigen oder dipolaren Strahlungsdiagramm abstrahlen. Jede Antenne im Array muss einen bestimmten Abstand haben, um die erforderliche Interferenz zu erzeugen, die eine Strahlungskeule mit minimaler Nebenkeulenbildung ausbildet.

The Russian Woodpecker antenna

 

„Der Russenspecht“: eine frühe Phased-Array-Antenne

Eine der frühesten Varianten der Phased-Array-Antenne wurde 1905 von Ferdinand Braun konstruiert. Diese einfache Antennengruppe bestand aus drei separaten Monopol-Antennen, die in einem gleichseitigen Dreieck mit einer Basisstation in der Mitte angeordnet waren. Das an eine der Antennen gesendete Signal wurde um eine Viertelwellenlänge verzögert, wodurch die Richtwirkung im Strahlungsdiagramm durch Interferenz verstärkt wurde. Die gleiche Idee wird in Arrays von Patchantennen verwendet, wo die Verzögerung zwischen den Signalen auf einer Platine mit einem Phasenschieber gesteuert wird.

PCBs für 5G-Phased-Array-Antennen

Eine Phased-Array-Antenne besteht aus mehreren abstrahlenden Elementen, die in einer bestimmten Geometrie auf einer Leiterplatte angeordnet sind. Jedes Element ist mit einer Verzögerungsleitung oder einem Phasenschieber verbunden, und die Interferenz zwischen den Strahlungsdiagrammen der einzelnen Antennen bildet einen Strahl mit geringer Divergenz. Monopol-/Dipol-Strahler, die in diesen Anwendungen eingesetzt werden, können eine in einem bestimmten Winkel gerichtete Strahlungskeule erzeugen. Dies geschieht, indem das an jede Antenne im Array gesendete Signal um einen bestimmten Betrag verzögert wird.

Neuere 5G-fähige Smartphones müssen zwischen 6 und 10 Antennen enthalten, um sicherzustellen, dass das Gerät senden kann – unabhängig davon, wie es während des Betriebs gehalten wird. Jede Antenne in einem 5G-fähigen Array wird normalerweise als gedruckte Patchantenne mit einer durch die Platinenrückseite geführten Zuleitung platziert. Beamforming-Transceivermodule, mit denen der Abstrahlwinkel in einer Phased-Array-Antenne gesteuert werden kann, sind als ICs erhältlich.

Diese werden normalerweise über eine Koaxialleitung mit der Hauptplatine verbunden, und jede Patchantenne im Array kann über einen Microstrip und einem Via auf der Rückseite an das Modul angeschlossen werden. Eine gute Designentscheidung kann die Verwendung einer 4-Lagen-Platine mit einer inneren Massefläche unterhalb des Masselayers des Antennen-Arrays sein. Es verhindert, dass sich die Strahlung zurück in die Schaltung des Moduls bzw. der Hauptplatine ausbreitet. Dies ist bei analogen Beamforming-Modulen besonders wichtig, da diese anfälliger für EMI-Probleme sind als digitale Module.

Um diese Beamforming-ICs auf einer Leiterplatte zu platzieren, müssen einige Standard-HF-Designtechniken beachtet werden. Allerdings trägt die Richtwirkung der von jedem Array ausgesandten Wellen dazu bei, die Gefahr der Eigenstörung zu verringern. Eine Abschirmung und ordnungsgemäße Erdung um die Komponenten herum sowie die richtige Anordnung der Mixed-Signal-Massefläche tragen ebenfalls dazu bei, die EMI-Empfindlichkeit zu reduzieren.

Ein wichtiger Aspekt bei der Antennenkonstruktion selbst ist der Abstand zwischen benachbarten Array-Elementen. Der maximale Abstand zwischen den einzelnen Strahlern hängt von der Wellenlänge des von der Antenne abgestrahlten Signals und dem maximalen Winkel ab, unter dem das Array abstrahlen soll. Zur Sicherheit nehmen die meisten Konstrukteure einfach die Abstrahlung entlang der Normalrichtung, wodurch der maximale Abstand zwischen den Elementen einer halben Wellenlänge entspricht. Das folgende Beispiel zeigt ein 2x4-Phased-Array-Antennendesign für 5G-Anwendungen.

Phased patch antenna array

Patch-Antennenentwurf für 5G-Anwendungen als phasengesteuertes Array

Es bleiben noch etliche Herausforderungen für 5G-Leiterplatten-Designer zu berücksichtigen, darunter das Wärmemanagement, die Platzierung von gepulsten ICs auf dem Smartphone-Mainboard, die Berücksichtigung des Formfaktors von 5G-Telefonen und vieles mehr. Die Verwendung eines PCB-Design-Softwarepakets wie Altium Designer ermöglicht es Ihnen, ein Antennen-Array zu entwerfen, wie Sie es für 5G-Geräte benötigen. Sie haben auch Zugang zu Simulationswerkzeugen, die für das Design von Hochfrequenz-Leiterplatten von unschätzbarem Wert sind.

Wenn Sie mehr über Altium Designer erfahren möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns oder laden Sie eine kostenlose Testversion herunter und profitieren Sie von den besten Layout-, Routing- und Simulationstools der Branche. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Altium-Experten, um mehr zu erfahren.

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Phased Array Antenna Design for 5G Applications

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  June 5, 2019

    Hand holding smartphone near antenna

    New antenna designs are the cornerstone of next-gen 5G devices

    As the 5G rollout begins, designers have an important role to play in designing the technical infrastructure to support more connected devices and provide higher data rates. More component manufacturers are also providing a broader range of solutions for antennas in 5G systems.

    Designers of 5G-capable mobile devices need to consider appropriate antenna designs for their systems. Two important requirements are tunability, where the response frequency of an antenna can be tuned, as well as beamforming, where the radiation pattern from an antenna can be directed. Patch or microstrip phased array antenna design for 5G applications is an easy area for any designer to begin implementing wireless capabilities in new 5G systems.

    Phased Array Antennas in 5G

    5G antennas operate in a number of bands that include the LTE bands, as well as higher frequency bands that exceed 5 GHz. The higher frequency bands include 24.25-27 GHz and 37-40 GHz with 50 to 400 MHz bandwidth in each channel. The U.S. FCC recently opened up higher bands extending to 64-71 GHz, and similar bands are in use in Europe, Japan, and China.

    mmWave frequencies have always viewed as unsuitable for communication between mobile devices due to high losses. Scattering and absorption air attenuate signals to a greater degree than at lower frequencies, thus transmitters needed to operate at much higher power to compensate, making GHz wireless antennas impractical for long range communication in mobile devices.

    Despite the attenuation of mmWave frequencies, beamforming techniques can be used to focus radiation emitted from an array of antennas. This type of antenna is called a phased array antenna, and they were originally used by the military in directional radar systems. This type of antenna consists of a number emitters that radiate in a spherical or dipole radiation pattern. Each antenna in the array must have particular spacing in order to provide the required interference that forms a beam with minimal side lobe generation.

    The Russian Woodpecker antenna

    The Russian Woodpecker: an early phased array antenna

    The earliest type of phased array antenna was constructed in 1905 by Ferdinand Braun. This simple antenna array consisted of three separate monopole antennas placed in an equilateral triangle with a base station in the center. The signal sent to one of the antennas was delayed by a quarter wavelength, which enforced directionality in the radiation pattern through interference. This same idea is used in arrays of patch antennas, where the delay between signals on a board is controlled with a phase shifter.

    PCBs for 5G Phased Array Antennas

    On a PCB, a phased-array antenna contains multiple radiating elements placed in a particular geometry. Each element is connected to a delay line or phase shifter, and interference among the radiation patterns from each antenna forms a beam with low divergence. Monopole/dipole emitters be used in these applications can generate a beam directed along a specific angle. This is done by delaying the signal sent to each antenna in the array by a set amount.

    Newer 5G-capable smartphones will need to include anywhere from 6 to 10 antennas in order to ensure the device can transmit no matter how it is held during operation. Each antenna in a 5G-capable array is normally placed as a printed patch antenna with a feeder line routed through the back of the board. Beamforming transceiver modules are available as ICs that can be used to control the beam steering angle in a phased array antenna.

    These are normally connected to the mainboard with a coaxial line, and each patch antenna in the array can be connected to the module using a microstrip and via on the back layer. A good design choice may be to use a 4 layer board with an interior ground plane below the antenna array ground plane, as this will block radiation from propagating back into the module or mainboard circuitry. This is more important for analog beamforming modules as these are more prone to EMI problems than digital modules.

    Placing these beamforming ICs on a PCB requires the following some standard RF design techniques, although the directionality of the beam emitted from each array helps reduce the possibility of self-jamming. Shielding and proper grounding around component sections and proper mixed signal ground plane arrangement will also help prevent susceptibility to EMI.

    An important point regarding the construction of the antenna itself involves the spacing between neighboring elements in the array. The maximum spacing between the elements in the array depends on the wavelength of radiation emitted from the antenna and the maximum angle at which the array intends to emit. Most designers simply take emission along the normal direction just to be safe, thus the maximum spacing between elements would be equal to half a wavelength. The example below shows a 2x4 phased array antenna design for 5G applications.

    Phased patch antenna array

    Patch antenna design for 5G applications as a phased array

    There are still many challenges for 5G PCB designers to consider, including thermal management, placement of pulsing ICs on the phone’s mainboard, accommodating the form factor of 5G phones, and much more. Working with a PCB design software package like Altium Designer allows you to design the antenna array you need for 5G devices. You’ll also have access to simulation tools that are invaluable for high frequency PCB design.

    If you’re interested in learning more about Altium Designer, you can contact us or download a free trial and get access to the industry’s best layout, routing, and simulation tools. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah works with other companies in the PCB industry providing design and research services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home