Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie Ihr lokales Vertriebsbüro

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD-PLATTFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    Vermeidung von Siebdruckfehlern bei der PCB-Herstellung

    Altium Designer
    |  August 25, 2017

    PCB-Siebdruckvorlage

    Wenn Sie sich an die Olympischen Spiele von 1996 erinnern, dann kennen Sie sicher das starke Finish von Kerri Strug. Sie vollendete ihren zweiten und letzten Sprung mit einem verletzten Knöchel, holte die Goldmedaille für das US-Team und demonstrierte damit, wie wichtig es ist, bis zum Schluss durchzuhalten. Dennoch kennen wir alle die Versuchung, sich am Ende eines Projektes zu entspannen und in unserer Aufmerksamkeit nachzulassen – sogar beim PCB-Design. Zu den letzten Arbeiten vor der Freigabe eines Designs für die Fertigung gehören Anpassungen an den Siebdruckvorlagen und Referenzbezeichnern für die Platine. Allerdings wird dieser Schritt meist nicht mit der gleichen Sorgfalt wie der Rest des Designs durchgeführt. Dies kann dazu führen, dass das Design vom Hersteller abgelehnt und zur Korrektur an den Designer zurückgesandt wird. Sehen wir uns einige der möglichen Probleme beim PCB-Siebdruck und die Möglichkeiten zu ihrer Vermeidung durch den Designer an.

    Turnerin beim Sprung

    Sorgen Sie, wie diese Turnerin, für ein starkes Finish.

    Welche potenziellen Probleme gibt es beim PCB-Siebdruck?

    Sie fragen sich wahrscheinlich, was eigentlich schief gehen kann. Es folgen deshalb einige der Konsequenzen, wenn Sie vor der Freigabe Ihres Designs keine abschließenden Anpassungen an der Siebdruckvorlage machen.

    Falsch dargestellte Bauteile: Wenn die Siebdruckvorlage die geplanten Bauteile nicht genau wiedergibt, kann dies die Techniker verwirren, die das Debugging oder die Modifikationen durchführen. Es kann um eine Form gehen, die das zugehörige Bauteil falsch darstellt, oder Pin-Nummern und Polaritätsanzeigen, die sich an den falschen Pins befinden. Sie können sich den Schreck der Leiterplatten-Techniker sicher vorstellen, wenn sie den Pluspol eines Kondensators prüfen und herausfinden, dass die Polaritätsbezeichnungen vertauscht wurden.

    Unlesbarer Siebdrucktext: Wenn der Siebdrucktext nicht lesbar ist, braucht der Techniker mehr Zeit für das Interpretieren der Referenzbezeichner. Das passiert oft aufgrund der Verwendung zu kleiner und daher nicht lesbarer Schriftgrößen oder falscher Schriftstärken. Zu geringe Schriftstärken werden nicht richtig auf die Leiterplatten gedruckt, zu große blähen die Linien der Buchstaben auf und machen diese damit ebenfalls unleserlich.

    Platzierung von Referenzbezeichnern an den falschen Bauteilen: Manchmal landen die Referenzbezeichner an den falschen Bauteilen. Das kann passieren, wenn ein Bauteil, aber nicht der Referenzbezeichner bewegt wird, oder es kann ein Fehler seitens des Designers sein. In jedem Fall werden die Techniker, die die Platinen testen, am Ende Bauteile prüfen, die nicht mit denen auf dem Schaltplan übereinstimmen.

    Platzierte Referenzbezeichner werden von bereits bestückten Bauteilen verdeckt: Wir haben es schon oft erlebt, dass Referenzbezeichner für den Siebdruck unter bestückten Bauteilen gelandet sind. Manchmal ist das in dicht bestückten Designs unumgänglich, aber wir sollten wirklich versuchen, es nicht dazu kommen zu lassen. Stellen Sie sich auch hier die Techniker vor, die sich abquälen, „C143“ in Ihrem Design zu finden, wenn der Referenzbezeichner gar nicht sichtbar ist.

    Siebdrucktinte überzieht Metallteile oder läuft in Bohrungen: Siebdrucktinte, die blankes Metall bedeckt, wie z. B. oberflächenmontierte Pins oder Durchkontaktierungen, kann tatsächlich dazu führen, dass eine Platine verschrottet werden muss. Ebenso wenig helfen Siebdruckelemente, die mit anderen Siebdruckelementen kollidieren, oder Siebdruck, der außerhalb der Umrandung der Platine landet, was niemandem hilft.

    Arbeiten Sie mit Ihrem Hersteller zusammen

    Der erste Schritt zur Vermeidung von Fehlern dieser Art sollte es sein, sich mit den Siebdruck-Designrichtlinien  Ihres PCB-Herstellers vertraut zu machen. Hier finden Sie die Informationen zu den optimalen und minimalen Schriftgrößen und -stärken. Sie erhalten auch Abstands-Spezifikationen zu anderen Objekten beim Siebdruck, einschließlich blanker Metallteile und Durchkontaktierungen. Entscheidend für das Reduzieren von Herstellungsfehlern ist es, eine gute Kommunikation mit Ihrem Hersteller zu pflegen und vor der Freigabe des Designs zu wissen, wie er es haben will.

    Gelbe Haftnotiz mit „Let's Do This“

    Packen wir's an!

    Wie können Sie als Designer zur Minimierung von Siebdruckfehlern beitragen?

    Sehen Sie sich Ihr Design einmal mit anderen Augen an, so als ob Sie der Verantwortliche für das Ändern und Debuggen Ihrer Leiterplatte wären. Eine große Hilfe bei dieser Überprüfung ist es, wenn Sie sich die Siebdruckvorlage für Ihr Design mit einer separaten Viewer-Software ansehen. Können Sie alle Referenzbezeichner sehen und lesen? Haben Sie Bauteile mit hoher Pin-Anzahl markiert, um Pin 1 zu finden? Haben Sie an den betreffenden Bauteilen die richtige Polarität angegeben? Wenn Sie den Siebdruck nicht lesen und interpretieren können, dann werden Ihre Techniker es ebenfalls nicht können.

    Nutzen Sie die Siebdruck-DRCs in Ihrem CAD-System. Achten Sie auf Siebdruck auf blankem Metall, Siebdruck in Bohrungen und Siebdruck-Abstände zu anderen Objekten und Siebdruckelementen. Diese Überprüfungen können Ihnen viel Ärger ersparen.

    Seien wir ehrlich: das Entwerfen einer Platine kann viel Spaß machen. Tatsächlich kann das abschließende manuelle Routing sehr erlösend sein, vor allem nach dem Vollenden einer anspruchsvollen Platzierung und kritischen Leiterbahnführung. Dennoch muss das Design für die endgültigen Ausgabedateien vorbereitet werden, was eine mühsame und monotone Aufgabe sein kann. Es ist nicht ungewöhnlich, dass PCB-Designer der Anpassung der Siebdruckvorlage und anderen mit der Ausgabe zusammenhängenden Aufgaben nicht ihre volle Aufmerksamkeit widmen, weil sie einfach nur mit dem Design fertig werden und zum nächsten Projekt übergehen wollen. Aber das Finish muss genauso stark sein wie bei einem olympischen Turner.

    Möchten Sie mehr Ideen wissen, wie Sie Ihr Design mit den Siebdruck-DRCs abschließen können? Dann sprechen Sie mit einem Experten bei Altium.

     

     

     

     

     

     

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools für Electronics Design und DFM. Informationen für EDA-Führungskräfte.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    How to Prevent Silkscreen Placement Errors in PCB Manufacturing

    Altium Designer
    |  August 25, 2017

    PCB silkscreen picture

    If you remember the 1996 Olympics then you’ll know about Kerri Strug’s strong finish. She completed her second and final vault with an injured ankle, giving the U.S. team the gold medal, and proving the importance of persevering to the end. And yet we all know how tempting it is to relax and let our guard down at the end of a project, even in circuit board design. One of the last things we do before releasing a design for fabrication is making adjustments to the board’s silkscreen images and reference designators. However, most of the time this step is not done with the same diligence as the rest of the design. This can result in the design being rejected by the manufacturer and sent back to the designer for corrections. Let’s look at some of the potential problems with PCB silk screen printing and how designers can avoid them.

    Gymnast on a vault
    Finish strong like gymnast

    What are potential Printed Circuit Board silkscreen problems?

    You're probably wondering what can go wrong, here are some of the repercussions of not making final PCB silk screen printing adjustments before sending off your design. 

    Misrepresented components: If a silkscreen doesn’t accurately represent its intended components, it can lead to confusion for the technicians doing debug or modifications. This can include a shape that incorrectly represents the associated component or pin numbers and polarity indicators that are on the wrong pins. You can imagine the sort of angst that board technicians will feel when they are probing for the plus side of a cap and find out that the polarity indicators are actually reversed.

    Un-readable silkscreen text: If the silkscreen text is unreadable it takes the board technicians more time to interpret the reference designators. This is often due to using too small of a font size to be legible or using the wrong linewidth size. Linewidths that are too narrow won’t screen print on the board successfully while linewidths that are too large will balloon and become equally unreadable.

    Reference designators placed on wrong components: Sometimes the reference designators end up on the wrong components. This can happen if a component is moved but not the reference designator, or it can be an error on the part of the designer. In any event, the board technicians trying to test the board will end up probing components that don’t match what they see in the schematic.

    Reference designators placed so that they are covered by assembled components: We’ve also seen plenty of examples where silkscreen reference designators end up under assembled parts. This is sometimes unavoidable in dense designs, but we should do our best to not let it happen. Again, picture the board technicians struggling to find “C143” on your design when the reference designator isn’t visible.

    Silkscreen ink covering metal or going into holes: Silkscreen ink that ends up covering bare metal, such as surface mount pins or plated thru-holes, can actually cause a board to be scrapped. As well, silkscreen elements that collide with other silkscreen elements or silkscreen that end up off the edge of the board don't help anyone.

    Working with your manufacturer

    The first step in avoiding these kinds of errors is to become familiar with your circuit board fabricator’s silkscreen design guidelines. They will give you information on the optimum and minimum font sizes and line widths. They will also be able to give you clearance specifications for silkscreen to other objects, including bare metal and plated thru-holes. Establishing good communication with your fabricator and understanding what they need before you submit a design to them is an essential key to reducing manufacturing errors. 

    Yellow sticky note with “Let’s Do This” printed on it
    Let’s do this!

    What can you as a designer do to minimize silkscreen errors?

    Look at your design with a fresh pair of eyes, as if you were the one responsible for modifying and debugging the board. If you can view the output of your design’s silkscreen through a separate viewer it will help with this check. Can you see and read all of the reference designators? Do you have large pin-count parts marked in order to find pin 1? Do you have the correct polarity indicated on the appropriate parts? If you can’t read and interpret the silkscreen, then be assured that your technicians won’t be able to either.

    Finally, use the Silkscreen DRC’s in your CAD system. Make sure to check for silkscreen over bare metal, silkscreen going into holes, and silkscreen clearances to other objects and other silkscreen elements. These checks can save you from a lot of grief.

    Let’s face it; designing a board can be a lot of fun. In fact, the final hand routing can be very cathartic, especially after completing a challenging place and critical route. Nevertheless, the design has to be prepared for the final output files and that can be a tedious and monotonous task. It is not uncommon for Printed Circuit Board designers to give silkscreen clean-up and other output related tasks less than their full attention because they just want to be finished with the design and move on to the next project. But like an Olympic gymnast, you have to finish strong.

    Want more ideas on how to finish your design with silkscreen DRC’s? Talk to an expert at Altium.

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home