ISO 13485-Konformität: Werkzeuge für Leiterplattendesigner und -hersteller

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: August 31, 2020  |  Updated: October 16, 2020
ISO 13485-Konformität: Werkzeuge für Leiterplattendesigner und -hersteller

Von allen regulierten Branchen, in denen Sie als Elektronikdesigner arbeiten können, haben medizinische Geräte die strengsten Branchen- und behördlichen Auflagen, die eingehalten werden müssen. Wenn Ihr neues Produkt zur Diagnose oder Behandlung von Krankheiten bestimmt ist und Sie es für die breite Masse vermarkten wollen, benötigen Sie eine Genehmigung der Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in den Vereinigten Staaten, der European Medicines Agency (EMA) in Europa oder einer anderen Zulassungsbehörde. Diese Vorschriften konzentrieren sich alle auf Sicherheit und Wirksamkeit. Daneben gibt es aber noch eine andere Gruppe von Standards, die bei der Konstruktion und Herstellung berücksichtigt werden müssen.

ISO 13485 compliance for medical PCB design
Elektronische medizinische Geräte benötigen möglicherweise eine große Platine wie diese oder eine kleine Flex-Platine für Wearables.

ISO 13485 ist eine dieser branchenspezifischen Normen, die sich auf den Entwurf und die Herstellung von Medizinprodukten bezieht. Die meisten Leiterplattenentwickler konzentrieren sich auf die IPC-Standards für das Design bzw. kennen ISO 9001 für die Qualität, doch die ISO 13485 geht in Bezug auf die Anforderungen an die Qualität und Wirksamkeit medizinischer Geräte darüber hinaus. Angesichts der Tatsache, dass immer mehr Menschen aus der Ferne arbeiten, hilft eine Cloud-Design- und Datenmanagement-Lösung bei der Entwicklung von Leiterplatten im Medizinbereich den Leiterplattenherstellern, Qualitätsprobleme frühzeitig zu erkennen und zu beheben, bevor das Produkt gefertigt wird.

Was beinhaltet die Qualitätsnormen ISO 13485?

ISO 13485 richtet sich an alle Organisationen, die direkt am Lebenszyklus von Medizinprodukten beteiligt sind, und definiert Anforderungen an deren Qualitätsmanagementsysteme (QMS). Die aktuelle Fassung der ISO 13485:2016 harmonisiert diese wichtigen Qualitätsstandards mit den Anforderungen der amerikanischen FDA. Beachten Sie dabei, dass die Konformität und Zertifizierung nach ISO 13485 in einigen Ländern obligatorisch ist und die regulatorischen Anforderungen in U.S. 21 CFR 820.30 mit den Normen ISO 13485:2016 übereinstimmen.

Entwickler und Hersteller von medizinischen Produkten, die möchten, dass ihre Produkte ein ISO 13485 Audit bestehen und eine größere Chance haben, die FDA-Qualifizierung zu erhalten, sollten mit Leiterplattenherstellern zusammenarbeiten, die ebenfalls ISO 13485 zertifiziert sind. Beachten Sie dabei, dass ISO 13485 keine Konstruktionsanforderungen definiert. Sie definiert Prozessanforderungen, die die Produktqualität und die Einhaltung von Rechtsvorschriften sicherstellen. Designer und PCB-Hersteller mit einem konformen QMS müssen jedoch einige wichtige Dokumentationsanforderungen für medizinische PCBs befolgen:

  • Identifikation von Mängeln und Dokumentation von Maßnahmen: Konstruktionsfehler, die vor und während der Herstellung erkannt werden, müssen identifiziert und optimale Lösungen dokumentiert werden. Sowohl Designer als auch Hersteller haben eine wichtige Aufgabe bei der Korrektur von Qualitätsmängeln und der Aufzeichnung von Maßnahmen. Design-Aspekte, die nicht den regulatorischen Anforderungen entsprechen, sowie etwaige Korrekturmaßnahmen sollten ebenfalls aufgezeichnet werden. Diese Anforderungen gelten sowohl für Korrektur- als auch für Präventivmaßnahmen.
  • Lieferantenbewertung und Rückverfolgbarkeit: Bei Elektronik und Leiterplatten müssen die eingesetzten Materialien und Komponenten rückverfolgbar sein und über eine gründliche Dokumentation verfügen, die die beabsichtigte Produkt-Performance unterstützt. Informationen der Bauelementehersteller und entsprechende Dokumentationen (z. B. Datenblätter) müssen sichtbar sein. Falls erforderlich, können Entwickler so Bauteile an ISO-zertifizierte Hersteller zurückverfolgen, um die Übereinstimmung mit dem passenden Satz von QMS-Softwarewerkzeugen sicherzustellen.
  • Auditierbarkeit: Daten in den beiden oben genannten Bereichen müssen intern nachverfolgt und bei Bedarf Dritten (z. B. Regulierungsbehörden) zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Es gibt weitere Anforderungen, die von Herstellern und anderen Akteuren der medizinischen Lieferkette befolgt werden müssen. Die obigen Punkte sind jedoch die für die Entwicklung und Herstellung medizinischer Leiterplatten besonders wichtig. Sie stellen auch die größte Herausforderung dar, wenn Hersteller und Entwickler nicht am gleichen Ort arbeiten. Cloud-basierte QMS-Lösungen spielen daher eine große Rolle bei der Einhaltung von ISO-13485-Anforderungen, einschließlich der nötigen Dokumentation – sowohl für Konstrukteure als auch für Hersteller.

Eine besondere Herausforderung bei der Dokumentation und Berichterstattung liegt beim Schutz des geistigen Eigentums. Dies gilt insbesondere dann, wenn QMS-Verfahren mit einer Cloud-basierten Softwarelösung implementiert werden. Solche Softwarelösung zur Erfüllung der ISO 13485-Konformität, einschließlich Cloud-basierte Lösungen, müssen daher Benutzerzugriffskontrollen, Sharing-Funktionen und geeignete Protokollierungsmöglichkeiten bieten. 

ISO 13485 compliance in PCB design
Der Entwurfs- und Herstellungsprozess für diese medizinische Leiterplatte muss dokumentiert werden, um die Konformität mit ISO 13485 zu gewährleisten.

ISO 13485-Konformität für Cloud-basierte PCB-Entwicklung und Fertigung 

Der bei weitem beste Weg, die Produktqualität zu gewährleisten, ist die Zusammenarbeit mit Ihrem Hersteller zu einem frühen Zeitpunkt des Designprozesses. Dies ist für die Einhaltung der ISO 13485 umso wichtiger, da die Mitglieder jedes Teams Produktfehler oder DFM-Probleme frühzeitig erkennen können. Wird die richtige Cloud-Plattform für diese Zusammenarbeit verwendet, können die Entwickler und ein ISO 13485-zertifizierter Hersteller alle Designfehler, die die Wirksamkeit des Produkts und die Einhaltung von Vorschriften beeinträchtigen, schnell prüfen, kommentieren und korrigieren.

Wenn Sie die ISO 13485-Konformität Ihres neuen Medizinproduktes sicherstellen müssen, kann Ihr Entwicklungsteam mit Altium Concord Pro™ in Altium-365™-Plattform bei allen Aspekten Ihres Designs mit dem Hersteller zusammenarbeiten. Entwürfe Ihres medizinischen Produkts lassen sich zur Ansicht und Bearbeitung von mehreren Teammitgliedern in Altium Designer importieren. Darüber hinaus haben Sie Zugriff auf eine Reihe von Dokumentationsfunktionen, mit denen Sie die für die Einhaltung der ISO 13485 erforderlichen Design- und Dokumentationsprozesse rationalisieren können:

  • Zugriff auf Projektdaten innerhalb von Altium Designer: Entwickler wie Hersteller können auf alle Daten in Altium Designer gemeinsam zugreifen. Für die mechanische Konstruktion lassen sich auch Gehäusedaten in gängige MCAD-Programme einlesen. Sobald Änderungen vorgenommen wurden, werden diese in die Cloud zurückgeschoben und lassen sich in einem Concord-Arbeitsbereich anzeigen.
  • Lieferantenverfolgung:  Bauteillebenszyklen, Spezifikationen und Dokumentation sind in der Weboberfläche von Altium Concord Pro zugänglich, sowohl für Standard- als auch für kundenspezifische Bauteile.
  • Direktes Kommentieren von Entwurfsdaten: Jedes Mitglied eines Entwicklungsteams kann zu Konstruktionsmängeln oder DFM-Verletzungen Stellung nehmen, die sich auf die Produktqualität oder -leistung auswirken können. Ein Ingenieur kann dann spezifische Lösungen als Teil seiner Dokumentationsanforderungen identifizieren – entweder direkt im Schaltplan oder wenn Revisionen in Ihren Concord-Arbeitsbereich zurückgeschoben werden.
  • Änderungsverfolgung: Sobald eine Designänderung an einem Entwurf vorgenommen wurde, werden alle Änderungen in der Cloud getrackt. Schiebt ein Anwender ein geändertes Design in den Concord-Arbeitsbereich, kann er einen Kommentar einfügen, der den Umfang und Art der Änderung beschreibt und erklärt, wie diese Änderung etwaige Qualitätsmängel behebt. Diese Kommentare sind dann im Web über den Concord Workspace einsehbar oder können aufgerufen werden, wenn das Projekt in Altium Designer betrachtet wird.
  • Versionskontrolle: Wenn ein Entwicklungsteam entscheidet, dass es auf eine frühere Version einer Datei zurückgreifen möchte, so ist dies über das Storage Manager Panel in Altium Designer möglich. Falls erforderlich, kann das Projekt auch geklont werden.
Altium 365 version control ISO 13485 compliance
Bildunterschrift: Sobald auf ein Projekt in Ihrem Concord Workspace innerhalb von Altium Designer zugegriffen wird, kann der Benutzer ein Dokument auf eine frühere Version zurücksetzen und die Unterschiede in Altium Designer vergleichen.

Altium Concord Pro auf Altium 365 bietet ein in der Elektronikindustrie bisher nie dagewesenes Maß an Integration, welches bislang ausschließlich der Welt der Softwareentwicklung vorbehalten war. So können Entwickler remote arbeiten und dennoch ein hohes Maß an Produktivität erreichen.

Wir haben nur an der Oberfläche dessen gekratzt, was mit Altium Concord Pro auf Altium 365 möglich ist. Auf der Produktseite finden Sie eine ausführlichere Beschreibung der Funktionen bzw. eines der On-Demand-Webinare.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    ISO 13485 Compliance: Tools for PCB Designers and Manufacturers

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  August 31, 2020
     ISO 13485 Compliance: Tools for PCB Designers and Manufacturers

    Of all the regulated industries you can work in as an electronics designer, medical devices come with stringent industry and governmental standards that must be followed. If your new product is intended to diagnose or treat diseases, and if you want to market it to the masses, you’ll need to get approval from the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in the United States, European Medicines Agency (EMA) in Europe, or other regulatory body. These regulations are all focused on safety and effectiveness, but there is another set of standards that need to be addressed during design and manufacturing.

    ISO 13485 compliance for medical PCB design
    Electronic medical devices may need a large board like this, or a small flex board for wearables.

    ISO 13485 is one of those industry-specific standards as it pertains to the design and manufacture of medical devices. Most printed circuit design (PCB) designers focus on IPC standards for design and ISO 9001 for quality, but ISO 13485 compliance goes beyond these in terms of medical device quality and efficacy. With more people working remotely, a cloud design and data management solution for medical PCB design helps PCB manufacturers identify quality problems early and address them before a new product hits the production line.

    What’s in the ISO13485 Quality Standards?

    ISO 13485 specifies requirements for any organization directly involved in the medical device life cycle and defines requirements for quality management systems (QMS). The current ISO 13485:2016 revision aligns these important quality standards with U.S. FDA requirements. Note that ISO 13485 compliance and certification is mandatory in some countries, and the regulatory requirements in U.S. 21 CFR 820.30 are consistent with the ISO 13485:2016 standards.

    Medical electronics designers and manufacturers who want their products to pass an ISO 13485 audit and stand a greater chance of receiving FDA qualification should work with a PCB manufacturer that has received ISO 13485 certification. Note that ISO 13485 does not define design requirements; it defines process requirements that ensure product quality and regulatory compliance. Designers and PCB manufacturers with a compliant QMS need to follow some important documentation requirements for medical PCBs:

    • Identifying defects and recording solutions: Design defects that are identified before and during manufacturing need to be identified, and ideal solutions need to be recorded. Designers and manufacturers both have a role to play in correcting quality defects and recording solutions. Aspects of a design that do not conform to regulatory requirements and any corrective action should also be recorded. These requirements apply to both corrective and preventive action.
    • Supplier evaluation and traceability: For electronics and PCBs, materials and components need to be traceable and have thorough documentation that supports intended device performance. Component manufacturer information and documentation (e.g., datasheets) need to be visible. If necessary, designers can link components back to ISO-certified manufacturers to ensure compliance with QMS software tools’ right set.
    • Auditability: Data in the above two areas needs to be tracked internally and, if needed, made available to 3rd parties (e.g., regulators).

    There are other requirements that need to be followed by manufacturers and other members of the medical supply chain. Still, the above points are the most important for medical PCB design and manufacturing. They also happen to be the most challenging when the manufacturer and design team aren’t in the same location. Cloud-based QMS solutions have a role to play in ISO 13485 compliance and documentation, both for designers and manufacturers.

    One of the challenges involved in documentation and reporting is in the area of IP protection. This is particularly true when QMS procedures are implemented with a cloud-based software solution. This is where any software solution for ISO 13485 compliance, including cloud-based solutions, needs to provide control over user access, sharing, and recordkeeping. When working in this type of secure environment, designers and manufacturers.

    ISO 13485 compliance in PCB design
    The design and manufacturing process for this medical PCB need to be documented for ISO 13485 compliance.

    ISO 13485 Compliance for PCB Design and Manufacturing in the Cloud

    By far, the best way to ensure product quality is to collaborate with your manufacturer early in the design process. This is even more important for ISO 13485 compliance as members of each team can identify product defects or DFM problems early. When the right cloud platform is used for this collaboration, members of a design team and an ISO 13485 certified manufacturer can quickly inspect, annotate, and correct any design defects that affect product efficacy and regulatory compliance.

    When you need to ensure ISO 13485 compliance for your new medical device, your design team and manufacturer can collaborate on all aspects of your design using Altium Concord Pro™ on the Altium 365™ platform. Designs for your medical devices can be imported into Altium Designer for viewing and editing by multiple team members. You’ll also have access to a set of documentation features for PCB design that help streamline the design and documentation processes needed for ISO 13485 compliance:

    • Access project data within Altium Designer: All data in a project can be accessed within Altium Designer by members of a design team or a manufacturer. Your enclosure data can also be imported into popular MCAD programs for mechanical design. Once edits are applied, these edits are pushed back to the web and can be viewed in a Concord Workspace.
    • Supplier tracking: Component lifecycles, specifications, and documentation can be accessed within the Altium Concord Pro web interface, both for standard and customized components.
    • Direct commenting on design data: Each member of a design team can comment on any design defects or DFM violations that may affect product quality or efficacy. An engineer can identify specific solutions as part of their documentation requirements. This can be done within the schematic, and when revisions are pushed back to your Concord Workspace.
    • Revision tracking: Once a correction is made to a design, revisions are tracked in the cloud. When a user pushes a modified design to the Concord Workspace, they can include a comment that deals with the extent of the change and how it addresses any quality defects. These comments are then viewable on the web through the Concord Workspace, or they can be viewed when a project is viewed in Altium Designer.
    • Version control: If a design team decides they need to roll back to a previous version of a file, they can easily roll back to a previous version of the file using the Storage Manager panel in Altium Designer. The team can also clone a project when needed.
    Altium 365 version control ISO 13485 compliance
    Once a project in your Concord Workspace is accessed within Altium Designer, the user can roll back a document to a previous version and compare differences within Altium Designer.

    Altium Concord Pro on Altium 365 is bringing an unprecedented amount of integration to the electronics industry until now relegated to the world of software development, allowing designers to work from home and reach unprecedented levels of efficiency.

    We have only scratched the surface of what is possible to do with Altium Concord Pro on Altium 365. You can check the product page for a more in-depth feature description or one of the On-Demand Webinars.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home