Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie Ihr lokales Vertriebsbüro

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD-PLATTFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    Einheiten von mm auf mil umstellen und andere Einstellungen für Maßeinheiten beim PCB-Design

    Altium Designer
    |  August 3, 2018

    Darstellung von Zollstöcken mit mm- und mil-Einteilung

     

    Es gab eine Zeit, da hing die Maßeinheit, die ein PCB-Designer benutzte, davon ab, auf welcher Seite der Welt er sich gerade befand. Das hat sich mit der Zeit geändert, und das metrische System wurde zum Standard bei Maßeinheiten. Das Problem war jedoch, dass viele alte Datenblätter und Designs weiterhin angloamerikanische Maßeinheiten enthielten. Designer mussten sich mit einem Notizblock, einem Taschenrechner und einer Packung Aspirin bewaffnen, um die ständigen Umrechnungen zu bewältigen.

    Es war eine große Erleichterung, als CAD-Programme endlich die Möglichkeit boten, zwischen verschiedenen Maßeinheiten zu wechseln, sodass man nicht mehr von Hand umrechnen musste. Altium Designer ist ein ausgezeichnetes Beispiel für ein PCB-Designsystem, in dem der Anwender mühelos zwischen mm und mil wechseln kann. Diese Flexibilität und viele andere Systemeinstellungen können bei der Arbeit an PCB-Designs eine Menge Zeit und Kopfzerbrechen sparen. Sehen wir uns einige dieser zeitsparenden Funktionen einmal kurz an.

    Im Schaltplan von mm auf mil wechseln

    Wenn Sie Altium Designer zum ersten Mal öffnen, können Sie noch vor dem Aufruf des Fanggitters einige Einstellungen für die Arbeit mit dem Schaltplan festlegen. Diese Einstellungen werden durch Klicken auf das Zahnradsymbol oben rechts in Altium Designer aufgerufen, wie unten dargestellt. Wenn Sie diese Einstellungen innerhalb eines Schaltplans aufrufen möchten, öffnen Sie einfach das Pull-Down-Menü „Tools“ und wählen „Preferences“.

     

    Screenshot der Preferences-Schaltfläche in AD18 zum Wechseln von mm zu mil

    Öffnen des Einstellungen-Dialogs in Altium Designer

     

    Im Dialogfeld „Preferences“ können Sie das Verhalten der verschiedenen Werkzeuge in Altium Designer steuern, noch bevor Sie sie zum ersten Mal öffnen. Im Schaltplan können Sie praktisch alle Einstellungen ändern, von Blattvorlagen bis zum Zoom in PCB-Bibliotheksbauteile. Auch für die verschiedenen Maßeinheiten gibt es entsprechende Einstellungen, wie unten zu sehen ist.

     

    Screenshot der Schaltplan-Einstellungen in AD18 zum Wechseln von mm nach mil

    Drei verschiedene Bereiche, in denen Sie in den Schaltplaneinstellungen von Altium Designer die Einheiten festlegen können

     

    In der Abbildung oben sehen Sie drei verschiedene Bereiche, in denen Sie die Einheiten für einen neuen Schaltplan in Altium Designer einstellen können. Der erste sind die Haupteinheiten für den Schaltplan. Diese finden Sie in den „General“-Einstellungen des Einstellungsdialogs. Der zweite ermöglicht Ihnen, Einheiten für Raster einzustellen, und der dritte dient dazu, die Einheiten für Ihre vorgegebenen Standardobjekte festzulegen.

    Sie sind bei der Arbeit mit Schaltplänen jedoch nicht auf die Einheiten beschränkt, die in den Einstellungen festgelegt wurden, sondern können die Einheiten jederzeit problemlos ändern. Nutzen Sie dazu den Befehl „Toggle Units“ im Pull-Down-Menü „View“. In der Abbildung unten können Sie sehen, wo Sie den Befehl im Pull-Down-Menü finden. Beachten Sie, dass das „U“ bei den „Units“ (Einheiten) unterstrichen ist. Das bedeutet, dass Sie diesen Buchstaben auch innerhalb einer Tastenkombination zum Umschalten der Einheiten benutzen können. In diesem Fall befindet sich der Befehl im Pull-Down-Menü „View“, Sie müssten zum Umschalten der Einheiten also die Tastenkombination „vu“ verwenden.

     

    Screenshot des Befehls „Toggle Units“ im Schaltplan in AD18 zum Umschalten von mm in mil

    Der Befehl „Toggle Units“ im Pull-Down-Menü „View“

     

    Im Layout von mm auf mil wechseln

    Im PCB-Layoutbereich von Altium Designer liegen die Dinge ein bisschen anders. In früheren Versionen des PCB-Editors von Altium Designer wurden die Einheiten im Menü „Board Options“ geändert. Dies wurde jetzt in das Eigenschafts-Fenster verschoben, das man über die Schaltfläche „Panels“ aufrufen kann. Außerdem wäre zu erwähnen, dass dort jetzt nicht mehr von „metrischen“ (Metric) und „angloamerikanischen“ (Imperial) Einheiten gesprochen wird. Stattdessen werden die Maßeinheiten in Altium Designer als „mm“ (Millimeter) oder „mil“ (Millesimus, entspricht einem Tausendstel Zoll) bezeichnet.

    Wenn Sie die Maßeinheiten in Ihrem PCB-Editor ändern möchten, zum Beispiel um Bauteile oder Leiterbahnen in angloamerikanischen Einheiten darzustellen, müssen Sie die Leiterplatten-Optionen öffnen. Öffnen Sie zum Ändern der Maßeinheiten für die Leiterplatte das „Properties“-Fenster und scrollen Sie ganz nach unten. Dort finden Sie die Einheiten im Abschnitt „Other“ des Eigenschafts-Fensters, wie in der folgenden Abbildung zu sehen ist.

     

    creenshot des Properties-Fensters in AD18 zum Wechsel von mm nach mil

    Wechsel der Einheiten im Properties-Fenster des Layoutwerkzeugs von Altium Designer

     

    Wenn Sie die Einheiten ändern, werden die Positions‑ und Rasterdaten unten links im Sitzungsfenster entsprechend aktualisiert. Sehen Sie sich die folgende Abbildung an. Sie sehen dort den Unterschied bei den Daten, wenn wir von einer Maßeinheit zur anderen wechseln. Diese Datenanzeige finden Sie im Schaltplan-Editor an der gleichen Stelle.

     

    Screenshot der Anzeige von Position und Raster in AD18 beim Wechsel von mm nach mil

    Anzeige der verwendeten Einheiten in Altium Designer

     

    Es gibt jedoch noch andere Möglichkeiten, die Maßeinheiten im Layoutwerkzeug von Altium Designer zu ändern. Sie können den Befehl „Toggle Units“ aus dem Pull-Down-Menü „View“ verwenden, wie unten dargestellt. Wie beim Schaltplan, können Sie auch die Tastenkombination „vu“ benutzen, um die Einheiten zu ändern. Im Layout haben Sie auch noch eine andere Möglichkeit, die Einheiten zu ändern, und das ist das Tastenkürzel „q“.

     

    Screenshot des Befehls „Toggle Units“ im Layout in AD18 zum Wechsel von mm nach mil

    Der Befehl „View“ > „Toggle Units“ im Layoutwerkzeug von Altium Designer

     

    Es gibt noch weitere Stellen in Altium Designer, an denen Sie die Maßeinheiten ändern können. So können Sie zum Beispiel im Lagenaufbau-Verwalter die Einheiten umschalten, mit denen der Lagenaufbau entwickelt wird.

    Einfachere Steuerelemente, die Sie noch produktiver machen

    Neben den Einheiten, in denen Sie arbeiten, bietet Altium Designer noch viele weitere einfache Steuermöglichkeiten, mit denen Sie Ihre Arbeitsumgebung anpassen können. Sie haben enorm viele Steuermöglichkeiten fürdas benutzte Fanggitter, das gilt sowohl bei der Einrichtung als auch für das Umschalten zwischen verschiedenen Einstellungen. Im Layout können Sie die Darstellung der Lagen steuern und zwischen den Einstellungen über d View Configuration-Panel  wechseln. Dieser Wechsel geht am einfachsten mit dem Tastaturkürzel „L“ als Kleinbuchstabe. Wenn Sie zwischen 2D- und 3D-Darstellung umschalten möchten, können Sie dies wie unten dargestellt mit dem Pull-Down-Menü „View“ tun oder einfach die Tastenkürzel „2“ und „3“ benutzen.

     

    creenshot der 2D- und 3D-Umschaltbefehle im Layout in AD18

    Sie können in Altium Designer mühelos zwischen 2D- und 3D-Ansicht wechseln

     

    Was immer wir in Altium Designer gerade tun, können wir uns die Arbeit durch entsprechende Konfigurationen leichter machen. DEr einfache Wechsel zwischen verschiedenen Maßeinheiten ist nur ein Beispiel dafür. Wenn Altium Designer für Sie noch neu ist, hoffen wir, dass dieser Beitrag Ihnen beim schnellen Einstieg hilft. Wenn Sie die Software noch nicht benutzt haben, sollten Sie sich einmal ansehen, was sie zu bieten hat. Sie werden feststellen, dass Altium Designer zu denproduktivsten und leistungsfähigsten PCB-Designwerkzeugsets gehört, die es gibt.

    PCB-Designsoftware wie Altium Designer bietet viele benutzerfreundliche Funktionen, mit denen Sie schneller und produktiver arbeiten können. Wenn Sie mehr darüber wissen möchten, wie Ihnen Altium bei Ihrem nächsten Leiterplattendesign helfen kann,sollten Sie sich unbedingt einmal mit einem Altium-Experten unterhalten.

     

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Switching the Default Unit and Other PCB Design Measurement Preferences

    Altium Designer
    |  August 3, 2018

    There was a time when the unit of measurement that a PCB designer utilized was dependent on the side of the world they were currently residing in. Gradually, that began to change as the metric system and SI units became the standard unit of measurement and the millimeter (millimetre) replaced fractions of an inch as the default unit. The problem, however, was that many older data sheets and designs still referenced imperial measurements. Designers had to arm themselves with a scratch pad, calculator, and a bottle of aspirin to constantly calculate the conversions between an inch and millimeter.

     Image of rulers with both units in switching from MM to mil

    Image of ruler with both units in switching from MM to mil

    To our immense relief, CAD programs began to incorporate the ability to switch between a default of measurement in their software, thereby eliminating the need for manual conversions. Altium Designer is an excellent example of a PCB design system that allows the user to easily switch from MM to Mil. This kind of flexibility, along with a host of other system settings and preferences, can save you lots of time and headaches when it comes to working on your PCB designs. Let’s take a quick look at some of these time-saving features.

    Switching from MM to Mil in the Schematic

    When you first open up Altium Designer, before you even move to the snap grid, you can set up some preferences for working in the schematic, whether you're switching the default unit from inch to millimetre or MM to Mil. These preferences can be found by clicking on the gear wheel in the upper right corner of the Altium Designer as shown below. You can also access these preferences with a schematic sheet open by going to the “Tools” pulldown menu and selecting “Preferences.”

     Screenshot of AD20’s preferences button in switching from MM to mil

    Opening the Preferences dialog in Altium Designer

    The preferences dialog box gives you the ability to set up how you want the different tools in Altium Designer to behave when you first open them, such as your default unit. In the schematic section, you can set up behaviors for just about everything from sheet templates to how it is going to zoom into PCB library components. There are also different settings for units of measurement as you can see below.

    Screenshot of AD20’s schematic preferences in switching from MM to mil

    Three different areas where you can set the units in Altium Design’s schematic preferences

    In the picture above, you can see three different areas where you can set unit preferences for a new schematic in Altium Designer. The first is the main units for the schematic, which is found in the “General” settings of the preference dialog. The second in “Grids” allows you to set unit preferences for grids, while the third shows the “Defaults” tab for setting the units of your default primitive objects.
     
    You are not restricted to the units that were set up in the preferences when working in a schematic, however. You can easily change units on the fly as you work by using the “Toggle Units” command in the “View” pulldown menu. Look closely at the picture below, and you can see that command in the pulldown menu. Notice that the “U” in “Toggle Units” is underlined. This means that you can use this letter in a keystroke combination to toggle the units as well. In this case, the command is in the “View” pulldown, so you would need to use the keystroke combination of “vu” to change the units.

    Screenshot of AD18’s schematic toggle units command in switching from MM to mil

    The Toggle Units command in the View pulldown menu

    Switching from MM to Mil in Layout

    On the PCB layout side of Altium Designer, things are a little different. In previous versions of the PCB editor in Altium Designer, the units were changed in the “Board Options” menu. This has now moved to the properties panel, which can be accessed from the View > Panels > Properties button in the “View” menu. Another thing that we should mention is that instead of “Metric” and “Imperial,” Altium Designer now refers to units of measurement as “MM” (Millimeters) or “Mils.”
     
    If you’re looking to change your PCB editor measurements or to demonstrate components or traces as imperial units, then you’ll need to locate your board options. To change the units of measurement for the board, open up the “Properties” panel and scroll down to the bottom. There you can find the units in the “Other” section of the properties panel, as shown in the picture below.

    Screenshot of AD20’s properties panel in switching from MM to mil

    The units switch in the properties panel of Altium Designer’s PCB layout tool

    When you change the units, the location and grid data displayed in the lower left corner of the session window will update. Take a look at the picture below, and you can see the difference in data when we toggle from one unit of measurement to the other. This display of data is also found in the same location in the schematic editor as well.

    Screenshot of AD20’s location and grid display in switching from MM to mil

    The display of units in use in Altium

    There are some other ways to change the default unit of measurement in Altium Designer’s layout tool. You can use the command: “Toggle Units” found in the View pulldown menu as shown below. As with the schematic, you can also use the keystroke shortcut combination of “vu” to change the units. You also have one other option in layout to change the units, and that is to use the keystroke shortcut of “Q” assigned by default to Toggle Units.

    Screenshot of AD20’s layout toggle units command in switching from MM to mil

    The View > Toggle Units command in Altium Designer’s layout tool

    There are other locations in Altium Designer where you can make changes to the default unit of measurement as well. For instance, the layer stack manager gives you the ability to toggle the units being used to develop the stackup.

    Simplified Controls to Make You More Productive

    In addition to the units that you are working in, Altium Designer gives you many other simplified controls to change your working environment. You have an incredible amount of control over the snap grids that you use, both in setting them up and in switching between them. In layout, you can control the display of your layers and switch between them by using the View Configuration panel which is easily accessed with the keystroke shortcut of a lower case “L.” Do you want to switch between 2D and 3D, use the “View” pulldown menu as shown below or simply use the keystroke shortcuts of “2” or “3.”

    Screenshot of AD18’s layout 2D and 3D commands in switching from MM to mil

    You can easily switch between the 2D and the 3D view in Altium Designer

    No matter what we are doing in Altium Designer, we have found that it has been configured to work with us to make our job easier. The ease of toggling back and forth between units of measurement is just one example of this. If you are new to Altium Designer, we hope that this has helped you to get a running start on using it. If you haven’t used it yet, take a look at what it has to offer. You will discover that Altium Designer is one of the most productive and powerful sets of PCB design tools out there.

    PCB design software like Altium Designer has many easy-to-use features that make you faster and more productive in your work. If you would like to learn more about how Altium Designer can help you with your next printed circuit board design, talk to an expert at Altium Designer today.

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home