PDN仿真中的铁氧体磁珠模型和转移阻抗

Zachariah Peterson
|  已创建:February 6, 2022  |  已更新:February 11, 2024
铁氧体磁珠PDN

在PDN中使用铁氧体是一项设计建议,其中充满了不明确的指导和过于笼统的建议。看到建议在PDN中放置铁氧体的应用注释或参考设计时,您应该在具体设计中遵循这一点,还是应该忽略这一点并专注于增加电容?如果使用铁氧体隔离两个电源轨会怎样?

我们将在本文中回答两个问题。铁氧体在PDN中可能有两种典型用途:作为直接连接到VDD引脚的假定滤波元素,或者作为两个不同轨道之间的阻断元素。应该避免第一种情况,但如果正确选择铁氧体并在适当的轨道上使用,则第二种情况有希望实现。您可以在中频范围内(最高约1 GHz)的SPICE仿真中检查这一点,这也是我将在本文中讨论的内容。

PDN中的铁氧体磁珠:滤波还是隔离?

我已经多次重申(其他设计人员也会表示同意),在PDN中放置铁氧体会在中频下向PDN增加电感;如果PDN需要支持以快速边沿速率(大约1纳秒或更短的时间)切换的元件,这通常是一个坏主意。大量数据支持这一说法,特别是当铁氧体连接到为高速I/O供电的电源轨时。尽管如此,电源调节器的应用注释通常会说明这一点,并且铁氧体的使用有时会被断章取义或在没有意义的地方实施。

话虽如此,我设计的电路板没有包含用于隔离的铁氧体,即使铁氧体被推荐作为参考设计的一部分或包含在应用注释中也是如此。这篇博客的另一位作者也支持这一说法。这包括省略铁氧体作为电源轨(例如VDD输入和PLL电源轨)相互隔离的元件。

在本文的SPICE仿真中,我们希望看到在PDN的两个轨道之间使用铁氧体作为隔离元件。本质上,我们希望仿真PDN上两个电源轨之间的转移阻抗。在继续操作之前,请阅读本文以了解有关转移阻抗的更多信息,以及本文介绍的具有多个电容器的基本PDN仿真。我将继续使用基本的PDN仿真模型,方法是添加一个轨道并尝试用铁氧体将其隔离。

使用铁氧体磁珠的仿真模型

采用铁氧体的PDN的仿真模型包括两个电源轨:一个用于I/O的电源轨,另一个用于建模较慢开关元素(例如PLL)的额外电轨。使用铁氧体磁珠(有时称为铁氧体芯片)将PLL轨与I/O轨隔离。仿真的目的是检查典型铁氧体作为这两个轨道之间隔离元件的有效性。

PDN仿真模型铁氧体

去耦电容器组由36个具有各种自谐振频率(SRF)值的电容器组成,如前篇PDN仿真文章所示。

仿真中使用的铁氧体产品型号为Murata的BLM18PG121SN1。该建模使用并联RLC电路,通常在SPICE仿真中用于表示铁氧体。使用带宽、谐振电阻和谐振频率,则可取R = 150 Ohms、L = 347 nH和0.3603 pF,对铁氧体进行建模。请注意,虽然这并不是铁氧体的完美表示,但这是在没有该零件的精确仿真模型的情况下可以完成的最佳表示。

铁氧体PDN

在仿真过程中,我们将调制铁氧体的R值,以查看其对仿真模型中两个轨道之间噪声转移的影响。借助之前的去耦仿真模型和上述PLL轨上的隔离铁氧体模型,我们现在拥有执行仿真所需的条件。我们将研究几个案例,以区分不同的噪声源:

  • 当仅I/O轨切换时PLL轨上的电压
  • 当PLL切换和I/O切换时PLL轨上的电压

如果我们愿意,这两种情况都允许我们计算PDN的整个阻抗矩阵。由于我们有2个轨道,这将是一个2x2矩阵,将端口n的电流消耗与端口m测量的电压联系起来:

转移阻抗铁氧体
此仿真中2端口PDN的阻抗参数矩阵定义。

上述目标#1相当于计算阻抗矩阵中的Z21。我们将用其帮助解释仿真中看到的结果。为了检查噪声传播到PLL轨中的情况,我们会将PLL轨电压波形与I/O轨电压波形进行比较。

结果:I/O电源轨切换,PLL静音

比较I/O轨上电压与PLL轨上电压的初始结果如下所示。I/O轨在1 MHz频率下以1 ns上升时间进行切换,而PLL轨不进行切换。

下面的时域波形似乎表明,无论铁氧体如何有效并联电阻和电感,铁氧体对噪声隔离均无影响。事实上,将铁氧体的电感增加1000倍似乎对噪声隔离没有影响。

铁氧体PDN
各种铁氧体参数的I/O电源轨和PDN电源轨上的电压。

虽然并不明显,但在I/O电压波形的上升沿存在一个非常急剧的过渡。如果放大,则可看到该上升沿并非人为因素,而是与I/O轨阻抗中的高频极点(在Z11参数中)相关联。

铁氧体PDN
已放大比较I/O电源轨和PDN电源轨的各种铁氧体参数的结果。请注意,蓝色和灰色曲线重叠。

现在我们可以看到铁氧体的效果;由于Z11参数中的极点为631 MHz,I/O轨上会产生高频噪声。转移阻抗谱(Z21)中存在相同的极点,但其阻抗恰好要低得多。不过,如上所示,由于放置了铁氧体,瞬态响应的高频部分会受到更大的阻尼。很明显,铁氧体模型中的标准R/L值是决定瞬态响应阻尼的因素,就像任何其他RLC电路中的情况一样。换句话说,我们更偏好大电阻和低电感,这与在PDN中使用铁氧体的理由背道而驰。

相比之下,低频噪声似乎完全不受铁氧体的影响。这两个轨道在2.81 MHz处的低频噪声几乎相同,因此我们预计这些轨道的Z参数和2.81 MHz处的Z21频谱具有相同的极点。事实上,这就是我们在下方所示的Z参数频谱中观测的情况。

铁氧体PDN阻抗和转移阻抗
已放大比较I/O电源轨和PDN电源轨的各种铁氧体参数的结果。

通过比较I/O轨(Z11)的自阻抗与转移阻抗谱(Z21),可以明显发现,在631 MHz极点处仅存在边际效益,而在2.81 MHz极点处不存在效益(这是重要的主极点)。虽然似乎PLL轨上的铁氧体负责降低噪声,但旁路电容器也能降低噪声,因为其SRF值为1.59 GHz。两者的共同作用类似于受控ESR电容器,可提供高阻尼并降低噪声。

结果:PLL轨切换、I/O切换

现在,我们可以研究铁氧体的存在如何影响PLL轨上的切换。下面的瞬态分析结果清楚地显示了PLL中的切换操作如何在PLL轨电压中产生重大故障。红色和绿色曲线分别显示使用和不使用铁氧体的PLL轨电压。一旦PLL在5 us后切换为“开启”(蓝色虚线),就会观测到使用铁氧体的PLL轨表现出巨大的电压尖峰。移除铁氧体后,在同一PLL轨上无法观测到这些尖峰。

PDN切换和电源故障
当PLL由于铁氧体的存在而切换时,会出现显著的故障。移除铁氧体后,大型故障就会消除。

移除铁氧体后,可以清楚地看到PLL轨再次变得平滑(参见上方绿色曲线)。事实上,我们甚至无法观测到I/O部分的噪声!这应该是铁氧体在此设计中的致命伤。旁路电容器是降低噪声的主力,而不是铁氧体。结果证实,增加电容比增加电感更有利于设计变更。这也说明了I/O轨上所需的设计更改:添加一些直接针对PDN阻抗谱中631 MHz峰值的小型电容器。

概括

我们从本次演练中学到了什么?结果似乎喜忧参半,高频极点的结果勉强可以接受,而问题较多的低频极点则没有结果。四个要点如下:

  1. 铁氧体阻止来自I/O轨的一些高频噪声到达PLL轨。这是因为极点位于铁氧体的电阻带内,通过比较在I/O轨上测量的I/O噪声与在PLL轨上测量的I/O噪声,即可观测这一点。
  2. 只要正确选择电容器(使其SRF接近高频极点),PLL轨上的旁路电容器就可以极大地帮助隔离。
  3. 铁氧体对于降低来自I/O轨的低频噪声到达PLL轨完全没有任何作用。如果PLL运行电压低至0.9V,则低频噪声将产生显著的干扰。
  4. 当仿真的慢边沿PLL元素切换时,铁氧体的电感会在PLL轨上产生非常大的尖峰。

总而言之,铁氧体在需要的情况下并没有多大帮助。我们可以推断,添加精心选择的电容器将提供与铁氧体相同的优点,而不会出现铁氧体带来的额外问题。从磁珠的阻抗曲线可以看出,磁珠在低频时提供的附加阻尼几乎为零,因此我们预计低频噪声不会出现衰减。相反,可以通过使用两个电源轨上SRF = 2.81 MHz的大型电容器来解决低频噪声。

那么,应该在PDN中使用铁氧体进行隔离吗?请谨慎使用,因为它取决于您需要隔离的频率范围。此外,您应该检查铁氧体是否会在隔离轨上产生新的噪声问题。如果您认为需要在PDN中使用铁氧体进行轨道隔离,请务必首先进行仿真,以确保铁氧体能够实现预期目的。

无论您需要使用铁氧体执行PDN仿真,还是需要对更复杂的电源和信号行为进行建模,您都可以使用Altium Designer®中的内置SPICE软件包来评估设计。您和您的团队将能够通过Altium 365™平台在先进的电子设计方面保持多产和高效协作。您可以在一个软件包中找到设计和生产高级电子产品所需的一切。

我们仅仅触及了在Altium 365上使用Altium Designer可能实现的功能的皮毛。立即开始免费试用Altium Designer + Altium 365

关于作者

关于作者

Zachariah Peterson拥有学术界和工业界广泛的技术背景。在从事PCB行业之前,他曾在波特兰州立大学任教。他的物理学硕士研究课题是化学吸附气体传感器,而应用物理学博士研究课题是随机激光理论和稳定性。他的科研背景涵盖纳米粒子激光器、电子和光电半导体器件、环境系统以及财务分析等领域。他的研究成果已发表在若干经同行评审的期刊和会议论文集上,他还为多家公司撰写过数百篇有关PCB设计的技术博客。Zachariah与PCB行业的其他公司合作提供设计和研究服务。他是IEEE光子学会和美国物理学会的成员。

相关资源

相关的技术文档

返回主页
Thank you, you are now subscribed to updates.

Ferrite Beads and Transfer Impedance in a PDN Simulation

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: February 6, 2022  |  Updated: April 19, 2022
ferrite bead PDN

The use of ferrites in a PDN is one design recommendation that is fraught with unclear guidance and over-generalized recommendations. If you see an application note or a reference design that recommends placing a ferrite in a PDN, should you follow this in your specific design, or should you ignore this and focus on adding capacitance? What if you’re using the ferrite to isolate two rails?

These are two questions we want to answer in this article. There may be two typical uses of ferrites in a PDN: as a supposed filtering element connected directly to a VDD pin, or as a blocking element between two different rails. The first one case should be avoided, yet the 2nd case has shown some promise if the ferrite is chosen correctly and if used on the appropriate rail. This is something you can examine in a SPICE simulation in an intermediate frequency range (up to about 1 GHz), and it’s what I’ll look at in this article.

Ferrite Beads in a PDN: Filtering or Isolation?

I’ve stated many times, and other designers will agree, that placing a ferrite in a PDN will add inductance to a PDN at intermediate frequencies, which is generally a bad idea if the PDN needs to support components that switch at fast edge rates (about 1 ns or less). Plenty of data backs up this assertion, particularly when the ferrite is connected to a rail that supplies power to high speed I/Os. Still, this is something seen in application notes on power regulators generally, and the use of ferrites sometimes gets taken out of context or implemented where it doesn’t make sense.

That being said, I’ve designed boards without including a ferrite for isolation, even if the ferrite was recommended as part of the reference design or included in an application note. Another author on this blog backs up this assertion. This includes omitting the ferrite as an element to isolate one rail from another, such as the VDD input and a PLL power rail.

This case of using a ferrite as an isolating element between two rails on a PDN is what we want to look at in a SPICE simulation in this article. Essentially, we want to simulate the transfer impedance between two rails on a PDN. Read this article to learn more about transfer impedance before proceeding further, as well as this article looking at our basic PDN simulation with multiple caps. I’ll continue with the basic PDN simulation model by adding a rail and attempting to isolate it with a ferrite.

Simulation Model With a Ferrite Bead

The simulation model for our PDN with a ferrite includes two rails: a supply rail for I/Os, and an additional rail modeling a slower switching element such as a PLL. The PLL rail is being isolated from the I/O rail using a ferrite bead (sometimes called a ferrite chip). The goal of our simulation is to examine the effectiveness of a typical ferrite as an isolating element between these two rails.

PDN simulation model ferrite

The decoupling capacitor bank consists of 36 caps with various self resonant frequency (SRF) values as shown in a previous PDN simulation article.

The ferrite used in the simulation is part number BLM18PG121SN1 from Murata. This was modeled using a parallel RLC circuit as is typically used in SPICE simulations to represent ferrites. Using the bandwidth, the resistance at resonance, and the resonant frequency, the ferrite can be modeled by taking R = 150 Ohms, L = 347 nH, and 0.3603 pF. Note that this is not a perfect representation of the ferrite, but it is the best that can be done without a precise simulation model for this part.

Ferrite PDN

During the simulation, we’ll modulate the R value of the ferrite just to see its effects on noise transfer between the two rails in the simulation model. With the earlier decap simulation model and the above model for the isolating ferrite on the PLL rail, we now have what we need to perform a simulation. We’ll examine a few cases to distinguish between different noise sources:

  • The voltage at the PLL rail when only the I/O rail is switching
  • The voltage at the PLL rail when the PLL is switching and the I/O is switching

Both cases allow us to calculate the PDN’s entire impedance matrix if we like. Since we have 2 rails, this would be a 2x2 matrix relating the current draw at port n to the voltage measured at port m:

Transfer impedance ferrites
Impedance parameter matrix definition for the 2-port PDN in this simulation.

Goal #1 above amounts to calculating Z21 in the impedance matrix. We’ll use this to help explain the results seen in the simulation. To examine noise propagation into the PLL rail, we’ll compare the PLL rail voltage waveform with the I/O rail voltage waveform.

Results: I/O Rail Switching, PLL Quiet

The initial results comparing the voltage on the I/O rail with the voltage on the PLL rail are shown below. The I/O rail is switching with 1 ns rise time at 1 MHz frequency, while the PLL rail is not switching.

The time-domain waveforms below seem to suggest the ferrite has no effect on noise isolation, regardless of the ferrite’s effective parallel resistance and inductance. In fact, increasing the ferrite’s inductance by a factor 1000 appears to have no effect on noise isolation.

Ferrite PDN
Voltage on the I/O power rail and PDN power rail for various ferrite parameters.

While it is not obvious, there is a very sharp transition right on the rising edge of the I/O voltage waveform. If we zoom in, we can see that this rising edge is not an artifact, but rather it is associated with a high-frequency pole in the I/O rail’s impedance (in the Z11 parameter).

Ferrite PDN
Zoomed in result comparing I/O power rail and PDN power rail for various ferrite parameters. Note that the blue and grey curves overlap.

Now we can see the effect of the ferrite; there is high-frequency noise generated on the I/O rail due to a pole in the Z11 parameter located at 631 MHz. This same pole exists in the transfer impedance spectrum (Z21), but it happens to be at much lower impedance. However, the high-frequency portion of the transient response, as shown above, experiences greater damping thanks to the placement of the ferrite. It’s clear that the standard R/L value in the ferrite model is the factor that determines damping in the transient response, just as is the case in any other RLC circuit. In other words, we would prefer a large resistance and a low inductance, which runs counter to the justification for using a ferrite in a PDN.

In contrast, the low-frequency noise appears to be totally unaffected by the ferrite. The low-frequency noise at 2.81 MHz is nearly identical on both rails, so we would expect the Z-parameters for these rails and the Z21 spectrum to have the same poles at 2.81 MHz. Indeed, this is what we see in the Z-parameter spectra shown below.

Ferrite PDN impedance and transfer impedance
Zoomed in result comparing I/O power rail and PDN power rail for various ferrite parameters.

From comparing the self-impedance of the I/O rail (Z11) with the transfer impedance spectra (Z21), it’s very clear that there is only marginal benefit at the 631 MHz pole and no benefit at the 2.81 MHz pole (this is the main pole that matters). While it might appear that the ferrite on the PLL rail is responsible for reducing the noise, the bypass capacitor also reduces the noise thanks to its SRF value at 1.59 GHz. The two together act similar to a controlled ESR capacitor, providing high damping and reduced noise.

Results: PLL Rail Switching, I/O Switching

Now we can investigate how switching on the PLL rail will be affected by the presence of the ferrite. The transient analysis results below clearly show how the switching action in the PLL creates huge glitches in the PLL rail voltage. The red and green curves show the PLL rail voltage with and without a ferrite, respectively. As soon as the PLL switches on after 5 us (blue dashed curve), we see that the PLL rail with the ferrite exhibits huge voltage spikes. These spikes are not seen on the same PLL rail with the ferrite removed.

PDN switching and power glitches
Significant glitches are seen when the PLL switches due to the presence of the ferrite. When the ferrite is removed, the large glitches are eliminated.

We can clearly see that the PLL rail is clean again once we remove the ferrite (see the green curve above). In fact, we don’t even see the noise from the I/O section! This should be the nail in the coffin for the ferrite in this design; the bypass capacitor is the big reducer of noise, not the ferrite. The results confirm that more capacitance is a favorable design change rather than adding inductance. This also illustrates the required design change on the I/O rail: add some small capacitors that directly target the 631 MHz peak in the PDN impedance spectrum.

Summary

What have we learned from this exercise? The results seem mixed, giving minimally acceptable results for the high-frequency pole and no results for the more problematic low-frequency pole. There are four important points:

  1. The ferrite blocked some high-frequency noise from the I/O rail from reaching the PLL rail. This was achieved because the pole was located in the ferrite's resistive band, which can be seen by comparing the I/O noise measured on the I/O rail vs. the I/O noise measured on the PLL rail.
  2. The bypass capacitor on the PLL rail greatly aids isolation as long as this capacitor is chosen properly (such that its SRF is close to the high-frequency pole).
  3. The ferrite did absolutely nothing to reduce the low-frequency noise from the I/O rail from reaching the PLL rail. If the PLL were running as low as 0.9 V, the low frequency noise would create significant interference.
  4. When the simulated slow-edge PLL element was switching, the inductance of the ferrite caused very large spikes on the PLL rail.

Overall, it looks like the ferrite was not much help where it was needed. We can deduce that adding dutifully chosen capacitors would provide the same benefits as the ferrite without the additional problems that come with the ferrite. From the bead’s impedance curve, we can see that the bead provides practically zero additional damping at low frequency, so we would not expect the low-frequency noise to be attenuated. The low-frequency noise can instead be addressed by targeting it with a large capacitor that has SRF = 2.81 MHz on both rails.

So, should you use a ferrite for isolation in your PDN? Be careful with this as it depends on the range of frequencies you need to isolate against. In addition, you should check that the ferrite does not create a new noise problem on the isolated rail. If you think you need to use a ferrite for rail isolation in your PDN, make sure you simulate this first to ensure the ferrite accomplishes the intended purpose.

Whether you need to perform a PDN simulation with a ferrite, or you need to model more complex power and signal behavior, you can evaluate your design with the built-in SPICE package in Altium Designer®. You and your team will be able to stay productive and collaborate efficiently on advanced electronics designs through the Altium 365™ platform. Everything you need to design and produce advanced electronics can be found in one software package.

We have only scratched the surface of what is possible to do with Altium Designer on Altium 365. Start your free trial of Altium Designer + Altium 365 today.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to companies in the electronics industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University and conducted research on random laser theory, materials, and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensors, and stochastics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written 1000+ technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, American Physical Society, and the Printed Circuit Engineering Association (PCEA), and he previously served on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

Recent Articles

Back to Home