免费试用

看看哪些下载,最适合您的需求

如何购买

请联系当地销售网点,提升您的设计环境

下载

下载最新版本的PCB设计及EDA软件

  • PCB设计软件
  • Altium Designer

    轻松进行原生的3D PCB设计

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    敏捷的团队PCB设计

  • Altium年度客户服务计划

    Altium产品不断更新,为您提供最新技术

  • 云平台
  • Altium 365

    连接PCB设计与生产车间

  • 元器件管理
  • Altium Concord Pro

    元件库管理的完整解决方案

  • 数据管理
  • Altium数据保险库

    ECAD设计数据、库、工作流程和团队管理的一体化平台

  • Ciiva

    Intelligent Parts Database for Achieving Realizable Design

  • Octopart

    快速、精准和简单地使用元器件搜索,连接您与元器件数据和供应链的纽带。

  • 产品扩展插件
  • PDN分析器

    轻松自如的电源分布网络分析

  • 查看全部产品扩展插件
  • 嵌入式
  • TASKING

    世界知名的 卓越编译技术,TASKING工具已有超过25年的历史。

  • 培训
  • 上门培训

    最好的实践教学培训。

  • 按需课程

    足不出户即可进行系统全面的学习

  • Altium Designer 20

    轻松的原生3D PCB设计

    • 论坛

      Altium用户与发烧友的互动平台

    • 博客

      我们的博客展示我们关注的领域,希望同样也能激起您的兴趣

    • 创意

      为Altium工具新功能开发提交您的创意并参与投票

    • Bug 提交

      通过提交Bug,对重要事项进行投票,帮助提升软件性能

    • Altium认证

      帮助电子工程师步入职业发展的快车道

    • 测试项目

      参与我们的测试项目,更早获取Altium最新版

    • 领航者授权计划

      Altium助力科技创新类小微企业腾飞!

    客户成功案例

    我们的用户正在改变着各行各业,了解详情

    下载

    看看哪些下载,最适合您的需求

    如何购买

    请联系当地销售网点,提高您的设计环境

    • 文档

      您在TechDocs上,可以找到大量在线的免费文档

    • 培训与活动

      查看时间表,注册遍布全球的线上及线下的培训和活动

    • 设计内容

      浏览我们免费的大容量设计内容库,其中包括元器件,模板和参考设计

    • 网络研讨会

      在线参加网络研讨会或观看我们以往的研讨会视频。

    • 技术支持

      使用多元化的技术支持模式及自助服务选项来解决您的问题。

    • 技术文档

      通过Altium全面的技术白皮书,了解最新技术,紧跟行业趋势。

    • 视频库

      简洁明了的指导视频教程,帮助您启程Altium Designer

    PDN阻抗分析和建模:从原理图到PCB布局

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  November 3, 2019

    Traces and components on a PCB for use in PDN impedance analysis

    我们在这里讲了很多关于信号完整性的内容,但信号完整性其实与电源完整性密切相关。这不仅仅是减少电源/调压器的开关噪声或纹波的问题。在某些设计中,PCB中的PDN阻抗会对您的设计造成不利影响,从而导致电路板中的元件由于电源问题而无法按照设计工作。

    这时,了解一些用于PDN阻抗分析的基本模型将起到一定的帮助作用。如果您可以为PDN阻抗建立一些合理准确的模型,则您可以为元件设计适当的去耦网络,以将PDN的阻抗保持在可接受的范围内。

    为什么要进行PDN阻抗分析?

    高速和高频PCB设计人员通过阅读本文即可知道答案。但是,随着技术要求的不断提高,无论是否情愿,我们所有人都将成为高速和高频PCB设计人员,因此了解PDN阻抗如何影响PCB中信号的行为就变得非常重要。不幸的是,我们在信息整合方面做得并不够好。因此,我很高兴在这里为大家做一个总结。

    简而言之,您的PDN阻抗会影响电路的以下几个方面:

    • 电源总线噪声。 由于PCB中的瞬态电流而产生的电压纹波。请注意,由于PDN阻抗是频率的函数,因此开关引起的电压纹波也将是频率的函数。请注意,无论调压器输出中的噪声水平如何,都会产生这些电压瞬变。

    • 电源总线噪声中的阻尼。 在某些情况下,电源总线上的任何纹波都可能显示为振铃(即,阻尼不足的瞬态振荡)。如果去耦电容器的尺寸不正确,或者在去耦网络中没有考虑到去耦电容器的自谐振频率,就会出现这个问题。

    • 所需的去耦水平。过去,由于电容器自谐振频率(~100 MHz)相对较低,因此使用TTL和更快的逻辑系列并不足以确保PCB中实现去耦。因此,设计人员使用层间电容来提供足够的电容,以确保实现去耦。市场上已推出更新款的具有GHz自谐振频率的电容器,它们足以在高速/高频PCB中实现去耦。

    • 回流路径。您的回流电流将遵循最小电阻路径(针对直流电流)或最小电抗路径(针对交流电流)。接地网络中的阻抗会在空间中变化,并且部分取决于信号轨迹与PDN之间的寄生耦合。 

    • 电阻压降。由于构成PDN的导体的固有电阻,供电和回流电流的直流电部分将会遭受一定的损耗。下图显示了PDN分析结果示例,说明了特定信号轨迹以下的回流电流和同一接地层中的直流电流。

    • 定时抖动。由于信号的传播时间有限,因此从去耦电容器和调压器产生的电流将需要一些时间才能到达开关元件。当这些信号到达元件时,它们会干扰输出信号,从而有效地在信号的上升时间中产生一些抖动。通常,由于电源轨噪声引起的定时抖动会随着噪声强度以及调压器与元件之间的长度而增加。在长电源轨上,这可能会导致定时抖动达到几百纳秒,从而使数据去同步并提高误码率。

    PDN impedance analysis output

    注意此PDN分析仪输出中的信号轨迹

    PDN阻抗分析的简化模型

    您可以直接从原理图为PDN的阻抗谱及其瞬态响应建模,但前提是您必须考虑到PDN中的寄生效应。在下面的模型中,您会注意到若干电路元素,但是此模型仅包含两个实际元件。第一个是您的电源/调压器,它具有一定的指定输出阻抗Z(输出),并且通常属于RL串联。第二个是去耦电容器,其理想电容为Cc1。其余的电路元素属于寄生元素。Rs和Ls值分别用于固有导体电阻和寄生电源层电感的建模。Rp、Lp和Cp元件代表了电源和接地层之间的寄生耦合(即,层间电容)。

    PDN impedance analysis model

    PDN阻抗分析的简化模型。图片来源:  nwengineeringllc.com

    在分析此模型之前,您需要确定或估计模型中各个元素的值。去耦电容器的值很容易处理;只需从数据表单中获取所需电容器的值即可。层间电容也很容易粗略估算;只需使用载板的介电常数、重叠的接地/电源层面积以及它们在叠层中的距离,即可得到层间电容Cp。剩余的R值可以使用预期的导线尺寸计算。L值需要根据电路各部分的近似回路电感来估算;这些值通常在pH到几个nH之间。

    您分析此模型的目标有两个:

    1. 根据频率确定右侧正负极端子之间的阻抗。这可以通过简单的频率扫描来完成。

    2. 检查PDN阻抗是否小于目标阻抗。请注意,目标阻抗是使用开关IC将引入PDN的电流和允许的电压纹波来计算的:

    PDN impedance analysis model

    目标阻抗

    1. 通过添加一个与电源输出并联的电流源来检查瞬态行为(将正极端子置于Z(输出)之前)。设置电流源以提供具有下列公式所示总电荷Q的狄拉克δ函数脉冲,或提供阶跃电流。这将模拟传输到位于PDN右端的开关IC的瞬态电流。

    PDN impedance analysis model

    在模拟PDN中瞬态响应时应使用的脉冲幅度

    1. 检查最低频率PDN谐振(即阻抗谱中的峰值)是否大于开关IC的拐点频率。这是为了在尽可能宽的频带上尽量减小纹波。

    请注意,第3点旨在模拟由于下游开关IC引起的瞬态响应。如果您有10个将同时开关的IC,并且它们都向PDN引入相同的瞬态电流,那么您的脉冲幅度将要大10倍,并且您的目标阻抗将需要小10倍。检查完这三点后,您可以接着分析结果并确定可以采取哪些设计步骤来抑制PDN中的电源波动。

    如何解译您的PDN阻抗分析结果

    关于第1点和第2点,您要检查在时钟频率和拐点频率之间(针对数字信号)或在您将使用的相关频率范围内(针对模拟信号)的所有频率下,PDN阻抗是否均小于目标阻抗。如果PDN阻抗均小于目标阻抗,并且您已根据每个IC同时开关的情况计算了阻抗,则您的PDN可能会按预期工作,且不会导致任何信号完整性问题。

    如何处理第3点的结果,则取决于PDN中的瞬态响应是否显示为欠阻尼振荡。如果瞬态响应欠阻尼,则需要使振荡进入临界阻尼或过阻尼状态。这要求使用较大的去耦电容器,或使用有效串联电感较低的电容器。去耦电容器的尺寸应能提供上文列出的脉冲电荷,但您当然也可以尝试使用更大的去耦电容器,以改变实现最低PDN谐振的条件,从而使瞬态响应过阻尼或小到不可计量。

    尽管第4点中的目标并不一定能够实现,但这并不妨碍您进行尝试。即使您无法达到这一设计目标,如果PDN谐振时的阻抗仍然小于目标阻抗,并且在相关带宽内只有一个PDN阻抗谐振,那就仍然不会有问题。如果在相关带宽内有多个阻抗谐振峰值,那么您可能会遇到麻烦,因为瞬态电流遇到的总阻抗大约是峰值阻抗的总和,而从现在的情况来看,这一总阻抗可能会超过目标阻抗。

    除了上文提到的去耦电容器大小和自谐振问题外,第3点的结果还应该说明了为什么层间电容被列为1 ns或更快速逻辑IC(例如ECL)正确去耦的条件。除了使用具有非常高的自谐振频率的超大去耦电容器(现已在市场上出售)之外,将接地层和电源层放置在相邻层上的做法一直是在PDN中提供所需去耦等级的唯一方法。请注意,无论您是使用多个电容器来增加层间电容还是去耦电容(参见前段中的链接文章),只要该电容足够大,都会导致瞬态响应进入过阻尼状态,从而有效地消除瞬态响应。

    使用怎样的管芯和封装结构?

    但愿精明的设计人员已经注意到,上文所述分析中,并未考虑到封装和管芯结构对阻抗的影响,因为它们均内置于PDN中的载荷中。但是,由于它们会产生电容性和电感性寄生效应,因此在PDN中,也需要考虑到这些因素。

    PDN impedance analysis with component die and package

    具有封装管芯结构寄生效应的PDN模型

    借助 Altium Designer®中功能强大的PCB设计和分析工具,您可以从各个方面对原理图和布局进行分析,并防止在复杂PCB中出现信号完整性问题。这些工具建立在由统一规则驱动的设计引擎基础上,使您可以在整个设计过程中执行重要的DRC检查。您还可以通过单个平台,获得全套制造规划和文档功能。

    现在,您可以下载Altium Designer 免费试用版 ,详细了解业界最佳的布局、仿真和产品规划工具。 立即联系我们 了解更多信息。

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah works with other companies in the PCB industry providing design and research services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

PDN Impedance Analysis and Modeling: From Schematic to Layout

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: November 3, 2019  |  Updated: March 10, 2021
PDN Impedance Analysis and Modeling: From Schematic to Layout

Power integrity affects many performance aspects in PCBs, and ensuring power integrity in a digital design starts by ensuring the PCB layout has low PDN impedance. There are several basic aspects of PDN impedance and some basic design steps that help a designer reach relatively low impedance in a PCB. Without low impedance, power glitches can cause components in a board to operate incorrectly due to large voltage swings on the power rail.

In the past, with TTL components running at high core voltages (5 V saturation logic), it was possible to ignore many power integrity problems because the noise margins on logic circuits in these components were very large. Today's digital components generally run at 3V3 or lower core voltages with thinner noise margins and higher IO count. If you can build some reasonably accurate models for PDN impedance, you can then compare transient responses on the PDN with the power fluctuation limits in modern components, which is accomplished by keeping the impedance of your PDN within acceptable limits.

Why Conduct PDN Impedance Analysis?

The high speed and high frequency designers reading this will already know the answer to this question. However, with technological demands mounting, we’ll all be high speed and high frequency designers sooner than we like, so it is important to understand how PDN impedance affects the behavior of signals in your PCB. Unfortunately, we don’t always do the best job of placing this information in one place, so I’ll happily do this here.

In short, your PDN impedance will affect the following aspects of your circuits:

  • Power bus noise. The voltage ripple created due to transient currents in your PCB. Note that, because your PDN impedance is a function of frequency, the voltage ripple caused by a switching will also be a function of frequency. Note that these transients can arise regardless of the level of noise in the output from your voltage regulator.

  • Damping in power bus noise. Any ripple on the power bus could appear as ringing (i.e., an underdamped transient oscillation) in some cases. This is one problem that can occur if your decoupling capacitor is incorrectly sized or if you do not account for your decoupling capacitor’s self-resonance frequency in your decoupling network.

  • Required level of decoupling. Most capacitors have become insufficient for ensuring decoupling in PCBs with fast logic due to their relatively low self-resonance frequencies (~100 MHz). Therefore, designers used interplane capacitance to provide sufficient capacitance to ensure decoupling. Newer capacitors with GHz self-resonance frequencies are also available, and the combination of these is used to provide decoupling in high speed/high frequency PCBs.

  • Current return path. Your return current will follow the path of least resistance (for DC current) or least reactance (for AC current). The impedance in your ground network will vary in space, which depends in part on parasitic coupling between signal traces and the PDN. To create the tightest return current loop in the PDN, it is best to use planes to ensure minimal spreading inductance.

  • IR drop. The DC portion of your supply and return current will experience some losses due to the inherent resistance of the conductors that make up your PDN.

  • Timing jitter. Because signals have finite propagation time, the current drawn from decoupling capacitors and the regulator will take some time to reach the switching component. When these signals do reach the component, they can interfere with the output signal, effectively creating some jitter in the rise time for your signal. In general, timing jitter due to power rail noise increases with noise intensity and the length between the regulator and the component. On long power rails, this can cause timing jitter to reach on the order of nanoseconds, which could desynchronize data and increase bit error rates.

Most of these problems can be reduced or eliminated by routing power using plane layers, with power and ground planes placed adjacent to each other in the PCB stackup. When this plane pair is included, it is important to understand how to model and simulate the effects of planes on power integrity and the overall PDN impedance.

A Simplified Model for PDN Impedance Analysis

You can model the impedance spectrum of your PDN and its transient response directly from your schematic, as long as you account for parasitics in your PDN. In the model below, you’ll notice several circuit elements, but this model only contains two real components. The first is your power supply/regulator, which has some specified output impedance Z(out) and is typically an RL series. The second is the decoupling capacitor, which has an ideal capacitance of Cc1. The remaining circuit elements are parasitics. The Rs and Ls values are intended to model the inherent conductor resistance and parasitic power plane inductance, respectively. The Rp, Lp, and Cp elements account for parasitic coupling between power and ground planes (i.e., interplane capacitance).

PDN impedance analysis model
A simplified model for PDN impedance analysis. [Source]

The Lp element in the plane can be eliminated or greatly reduced by routing multiple supply/return vias into the plane pair. This is effectively what is done to supply power and ground connections to high pin count components, such as large BGAs that supply many high speed signals. Therefore, many PDN impedance models used in SPICE will ignore this element.

Before analyzing this model, you need to determine or estimate the values of the various elements in your model. The decoupling capacitor values are easy; just get them from the datasheet for your desired capacitor. The interplane capacitance is also easy to roughly estimate; just use the dielectric constant for your substrate, the area of your overlapping ground/power planes, and the distance between them in your stackup, and you know the interplane capacitance Cp. The remaining R values can be calculated using your intended trace dimensions. The L values need to be estimated from the approximate loop inductance for each portion of the circuit; these values are generally on the order of pH to a few nH.

Your goal in analyzing this model is two-fold:

  1. Determine the impedance between the + and - terminals on the right side as a function of frequency. This can be done with a simple frequency sweep.

  2. Check that the PDN impedance is less than your target impedance. Note that the target impedance is calculated using the current a switching IC will draw into the PDN and the allowed voltage ripple:

PDN impedance analysis model

Target impedance

  1. Examine the behavior of transients by adding a current source in parallel with the power supply output (put the positive terminal before Z(out)). Set the current source to supply a delta-function impulse with total charge Q shown in the equation below, or to supply a stepped current. This will simulate a burst of current propagating to a switching IC at the right end of the PDN. This is a very simple way to roughly estimate how much capacitance you would need to provide all of the transient current in the PDN.

PDN impedance analysis model

Impulse magnitude you should use to simulate the transient response in your PDN

  1. Check that the lowest frequency PDN resonance (i.e., peak in the impedance spectrum) is greater than the knee frequency for your switching ICs. The idea is to minimize ripple over the broadest possible frequency band.

Note that point #3 is intended to model the transient response due to downstream switching ICs. If you have 10 ICs that will switch simultaneously and they all draw the same transient current into the PDN, then your impulse magnitude will be a factor 10 larger, and your target impedance needs to be a factor 10 smaller. Once you’ve examined these three points, you can move on to interpreting your results and determine what design steps you can take to suppress power fluctuations in your PDN.

How to Interpret Your PDN Impedance Analysis Results

Regarding points #1 and #2, you want to check that the PDN impedance is less than the target impedance at all frequencies between the clock frequency and the knee frequency (for digital signals) or within the relevant frequency you’ll be using (for analog signals). If this is the case, and you have calculated your impedance based on the case where every IC switches simultaneously, then your PDN will likely work as intended without any resulting signal integrity problems.

Addressing the results from point #3 depends on whether the transient response in your PDN appears as an underdamped oscillation. If the transient response is underdamped, then you need to bring this oscillation into the critically damped or overdamped regime. This requires using a larger decoupling capacitor, or using a capacitor with lower effective series inductance. Your decoupling capacitor should be sized to provide the impulse charge listed above, but you can certainly try to use a larger decoupling capacitor in order to change the conditions for the lowest PDN resonance so that the transient response is overdamped or immeasurably small.

PDN transient analysis
The transient response on the PDN can be linked to impedance peaks in the PDN.

Achieving the goal in point #4 is not always possible, but you should still make an attempt. Even if you can’t meet this design goal, you’ll still be in the clear if the impedance at a PDN resonance is still less than the target impedance and there is only one PDN impedance resonance within your relevant bandwidth. If there are multiple impedance resonance peaks within your relevant bandwidth, then you might be in trouble as the total impedance seen by the transient current is approximately the sum of the peak impedances; it now becomes likely that this total impedance exceeds the target impedance.

In addition to the decoupling capacitor sizing and self-resonance issues mentioned above, the results from point #3 should illustrate why interplane capacitance listed as a requirement for properly decoupling ICs with 1 ns or faster logic (e.g., ECL). Aside from using very large decoupling capacitors with very high self-resonance frequencies (they are now available on the market), placing the ground and power planes on adjacent layers was historically about the only way to provide the required level of decoupling in a PDN. Note that, whether you increase the interplane capacitance or decoupling capacitance by using multiple capacitors (again, see the article linked in the previous paragraph), making this capacitance sufficiently large will bring the transient response into the overdamped regime, effectively eliminating it.

What About the Die and Package?

Hopefully, the astute designer has noticed that the contributions from package and die impedance have not been included in the above analysis as they are built-in to the load in the PDN. These also need to be accounted for in the PDN as they contain capacitive and inductive parasitics.

PDN impedance analysis with component die and package
PDN model with package and die parasitics.

With the powerful PCB design and analysis tools in Altium Designer®, you can analyze all aspects of your schematics and layout, and you can identify signal integrity problems that can arise in complex PCBs. These tools are built on top of a unified rules-driven design engine, allowing you to perform important DRCs throughout the design process. You’ll also have access to a complete set of manufacturing planning and documentation features in a single platform. When you're ready to send your design to a collaborator or to your manufacturer, use the Altium 365 platform to share your design files and stay productive.

We have only scratched the surface of what’s possible with Altium Designer on Altium 365. Start your free trial of Altium Designer + Altium 365 today.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to companies in the electronics industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University and conducted research on random laser theory, materials, and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensors, and stochastics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written 1000+ technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, American Physical Society, and Printed Circuit Engineering Association (PCEA), and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

Recent Articles

Back to Home