铁氧体磁芯选择与设计决策

Mark Harris
|  已创建:October 29, 2021  |  已更新:November 2, 2021
铁氧体磁芯选择与设计决策

在本文中,我将向您介绍直流到直流转换器或电源滤波电感器等应用中使用的标准铁氧体磁芯选择指南和设计过程。该过程涉及一连串需要使用多个数据表的步骤,并且如果铁氧体磁芯电感器设计需要实施间隙,则需要执行某种程度的迭代。各阶段如下:

第1阶段 第2阶段 第3阶段 第4阶段 第5阶段 第6阶段 第7阶段
确定磁芯大小 研究铁氧体材料 选择铁氧体材料 计算匝数 计算所需电流 计算磁通密度 确定是否需要间隙

 

在继续之前,我们需要考虑决定使用铁氧体磁芯而不是任何其他材料所造成的影响。请确保这是应用的最佳材料。

 

使用铁氧体磁芯电感器的优点 铁氧体磁芯电感器的缺点
  • 磁场被放大,并且我们可以制造出匝数更少的电感器,以减少铜损耗。
  • 磁场被限制在铁氧体磁芯上,从而减少对附近元件和电路的干扰。
  1. 磁芯饱和度可能是一个问题。400mT的磁通密度会带来饱和损耗。
  2. 由于其他(涡流)磁芯损耗,上限工作频率受到限制。
  3. 温度漂移会导致电感变化,并可能改变调谐滤波器的性能。

 

确定磁芯大小(第1阶段)

 

本文所采用的设计旨在针对电感约为1mH的情况,所考虑的铁氧体材料为Ferroxcube制造的平面型铁氧体。零件号为E38/8/25,需要组合两瓣磁芯组以制作完整的磁芯组:

。

红框中突出显示的是磁芯的有效长度(ℓe);这是计算峰值磁通密度的重要值。它是组合两瓣磁芯时磁通量的平均行进距离。如下图中的蓝线所示:

。

右边是磁芯组和PCB的构建方式;PCB铜轨将形成线圈环,我们可能必须堆叠数个小型PCB才能得到正确的匝数。这种设计的另一个目的是尽可能将整体轮廓高度保持在较低水平。因此,我们的目标是平面磁芯组。

研究并选择铁氧体材料(第2阶段和第3阶段)

E38/8/25磁芯有多种不同的铁氧体材料可供选择。常见的材料类型为3C90和3F3。下一步是研究这两种材料类型,了解其中一种是否比另一种更受青睐。第一个比较项是频率响应,即铁氧体材料适合的频率有多高:

。

实线表示材料的磁导率(铁氧体“感觉良好”系数)。在100kHz下,它们的值都在2000左右。我们可以此得知在(a)集中磁通量和(b)限制磁通量方面比新鲜空气好多少。两者都比空气好2000倍,这一点很重要。但是两者在100kHz下没有太大区别,而且它们在高达1MHz的频率下都具有合理的性能。

虚线表示磁芯材料损耗,在1MHz下,3F3材料略优于3C90。

下一项比较表明磁导率随磁芯温度的变化程度:

。

在0°C至100°C的典型工作范围内,3F3材料将是首选。未显示的另一项比较是磁芯饱和水平。不过,我没有将其包括在内,因为两种材料非常接近,并且不会影响选择3F3材料的决定。

概述

我们相中一种名为E38/8/25(Ferroxcube制造)的磁芯类型,并调查其制造材料。材料3C90和3F3都很常见,在研究其材料规格时,我们决定使用3F3,因为它的性能更好。

到这一步,我们需要研究三份不同的数据表;磁芯组E38/8/25的数据表显示其制造材料,以及一个名为有效长度(ℓe)的关键参数。然后,我们研究了这两种材料的数据表,进行了并排技术比较。

计算匝数(第4阶段)

我们回到E38/8/25磁芯数据表,寻找一个名为AL(电感系数)的数字:

。

相关数值是左下角的7250。该数字的含义是,一匝铜绕组的电感将为7250nH(7.25μH)。这是使用两瓣相同的平面磁芯组合在一起时的值。您还应该注意磁芯磁导率(𝜇e)的关联值为1570。最初在材料规格中,该值为2000;不过,模制成磁芯后,该值会稍微减少。𝜇e中的“e”代表“有效”,即𝜇 e称为有效磁导率。

由于铁氧体材料集中磁通量并(大致上)确保所有绕组匝间相互耦合,因此匝数与电感之间的关系为:

L = AL . N2

目标电感为1mH,因此我们需要 。 匝。这是11.7匝,但我们不能使用附带小数的匝数,因此我们可能会采用12匝并“接受”1.044mH的电感。向上舍入还是向下舍入取决于电路的性质。

计算所需电流(第5阶段)

我们有一个磁芯组(以及磁芯材料),现已计算出所需的匝数,但需要通上什么电流?会引起问题吗?电流太大会导致磁芯饱和,因此应避免这种情况,但我们需要深入了解应用才能计算电流。在本示例中,我们假设应用是使用铁氧体磁芯选择指南和绕组作为DCM反激式变压器铁氧体磁芯的直流到直流转换器。

因为它是反激式电路,所以我们无需分析任何二次电路方面以计算一次电流;我们只需要知道提供给负载的最大功率和工作频率。因此,假设工作频率为100千赫,负载所需的功率为40瓦。

将负载功率除以频率,就会得到一次电路在每个开关周期必须存储并传输到二次电路的能量(单位为焦耳)。必须假设会有一些损失,因此我们会将能量提高10%,以解决这些损失。如果我们使用“众所周知”的电感器能量公式(E = ½ L ⋅ I2),则可使用以下方程计算出一次电路所需的峰值电流:

。

当然,如果您想为绕组元件使用不同的应用电路,那么电流计算可能比上面显示的更简单。无论哪种情况,您仍然需要计算峰值电流以查看是否存在潜在的磁芯饱和问题。

计算出目标应用的电流为0.918安培,我们知道该电流是反激式转换器的变压器铁氧体磁芯磁化电流。因此,它很容易使磁芯过度饱和。

计算磁通密度(第6阶段)

为了计算磁通密度,我们需要使用峰值电流、匝数以及第1阶段的有效长度值(ℓe)(两个E38/8/25磁芯瓣为52.4毫米)。您还记得这个数值吗?

。

峰值电流、匝数和ℓe都会影响一个称为磁场强度(H)的值:

。

因此,将H乘以磁导率,即可得到磁通密度B。已知,与空气相比,磁导率(𝜇e)为1570;我们还知道(从各种来源),空气的绝对磁导率为每米1.257𝜇H。因此,我们可以如下计算B:

B = 210.2 ×1570 ×1.257 ×10-6 = 0.4148特斯拉

这是预测的峰值磁通密度,从文献中得知,对铁氧体磁芯来说,该值太高。铁氧体在0.4特斯拉左右会严重饱和,因此我们必须稍微重新考虑方案。

确定是否需要间隙(第7阶段)

答案很简单:是的,我们需要降低预测的峰值磁通密度。好消息是,我们可以购买已预先实施间隙的E38/8/25磁芯组。还记得第4阶段的数据表摘录吗?

。

我们可以选择一个有间隙的磁芯和一个无间隙的磁芯,而不是选择两个无间隙的磁芯。这将产生以下磁芯结构:

。

如果选择间隙为0.25mm(250𝜇m)的磁芯,则AL值会降低到1000,这意味着我们需要更多匝数才能产生1mH电感。

  • 通过第4阶段得知,我们现在应该使用32匝以得到1.024mH。
  • 通过第5阶段得知,峰值电流应为0.927安培(之前为0.918安培)。
  • 通过第6阶段得知,H现为每米566.1安培匝数(之前为210.2At/m)

然后,我们可以使用216的间隙磁导率𝜇e值,重新计算峰值磁通密度。

B = 566.1 ×216 ×1.257 ×10-6 = 0.153特斯拉

这表明仅增加间隙的效果。我们倾向于为反激式转换器设定一个低于0.2特斯拉的值,因此这个值比较合适。以下是仿真提供的结论(作为一种完整性检查):

。

这些数字相当吻合。间隙磁芯组(H场为566.1)的仿真磁通密度为129mT,而手动计算得出的值为153mT。针对无间隙12匝磁芯组(H场为566.1),我们得到的仿真磁通密度为413mT(非常接近手动计算的414.8mT)。

概括

首先,在设计变压器铁氧体磁芯或使用铁氧体磁芯电感器时,使用正确的设计过程至关重要。其次,现实世界的最终测试不可替代。任何手工制作(或自制)的绕组元件都需要此过程。不过,本文只能真实地展示过程,希望您可以按照本文所述执行操作以得到出色结果。如果您可以在此过程中更深入了解铁氧体磁芯电感器设计和间隙设计,那真是意外之喜!

还有更多问题?欢迎致电Altium的专家,了解我们能够为您未来的PCB设计提供哪些帮助。

关于作者

关于作者

马克·哈里斯(Mark Harris)是一名工程师,在电子行业拥有超过12年的丰富经验,涉及从航空航天和国防合同到小型产品初创公司,业余发烧友以及两者之间的所有事务。在移居英国之前,Mark曾受雇于加拿大最大的研究机构之一;每天都接触与电子、机械和软件相关的不同项目或挑战。他还为Altium Designer发布了最广泛的元件开源数据库,名为Celestial数据库。Mark对开源软硬件以及此类项目面临的日常挑战所需的创新型问题解决方案有浓厚兴趣。电子会让人充满激情;看着产品一步步从构想变为现实并开始与世界互动,可以说其乐无穷。 您可以通过以下方式直接与

Mark联系:mark@originalcircuit.com

相关资源

相关的技术文档

返回主页
Thank you, you are now subscribed to updates.

Ferrite Core Selection and Design Decisions

Mark Harris
|  Created: October 29, 2021  |  Updated: November 2, 2021
Ferrite Core Selection and Design Decisions

In this article, I’m going to take you through the standard ferrite core selection and design process used in applications such as a DC-to-DC converter or a power filter inductor. The process involves a sequence of steps requiring the use of several data sheets and, should the ferrite core need to be gapped, some degree of iteration. The stages are as follows:

Stage 1 Stage 2 Stage 3 Stage 4 Stage 5 Stage 6 Stage 7
Target the core size Study the ferrite materials Choose the ferrite material Calculate the number of turns Calculate the required current Calculate the flux density Determine if a gap is needed

 

Before proceeding, the implications of the decision to use a ferrite core rather than any other material needs to be considered. Make sure this is the best material for your application before proceeding.

 

Advantages of using a ferrite core Disadvantages of ferrite cores
  • The magnetic field is magnified, and we can make an inductor with fewer turns leading to reduced copper losses.
  • The magnetic field is constrained to the ferrite core, thus reducing interference with close-by components and circuits.
  1. Core saturation can be a problem. A magnetic flux density of 400 mT brings saturation losses.
  2. The upper operating frequency is limited due to other (eddy current) core losses.
  3. Temperature drift causes inductance change and can alter how a tuned filter might perform.

 

Target the core size (stage 1)

 

The design we are using as the basis of this article is aiming for an inductance of about 1 mH, and the ferrite material that will be considered is a planar type made by Ferroxcube. The part number is E38/8/25, and two halves are needed to make a full core-set:

.

Highlighted in the red box is the core’s effective length (ℓe); this is an important value for calculating the peak flux density. It is the average travel distance of the magnetic flux when two core halves are brought together. It is shown using the blue line in the figure below:

.

On the right is how the core set and PCB will be constructed; The copper PCB tracks will form the coil loops, and we may have to stack several small PCBs to get the right number of turns. Another aim of this design is to keep the overall profile height as low as possible. Hence, we have targeted a planar core-set.

Study and choose the ferrite material (stage 2 and 3)

The E38/8/25 core can be bought in several different ferrite materials. The common material types are 3C90 and 3F3. The next thing is to look into both these material types to see if one might be preferred over the other. The first comparison is the frequency response, i.e., how high a frequency is the ferrite material suitable for:

.

The solid lines show the material’s magnetic permeability (the ferrite “feel-good” factor). At 100 kHz, they both have a value of around 2000. This tells us how much better than fresh-air they are at (a) concentrating the magnetic flux and (b) constraining it. Both are 2000 times better than air, and that is important. But there isn’t a big difference between the two at 100 kHz, and they both have reasonable performance up towards 1 MHz.

The dotted lines indicate the core material losses, and at 1 MHz, the 3F3 material is a little superior to 3C90.

The next comparison shows how much the magnetic permeability changes with core temperature:

.

Over a typical operating range of 0 °C to 100 °C, the 3F3 material would be the preferred choice. Not shown is another comparison that should be made, and that is the core saturation levels. However, I’ve not included it because both materials are pretty close, and it doesn’t influence the decision to go for 3F3 material.

Recap

We’ve targeted a core type called E38/8/25 (made by Ferroxcube), and we have investigated what materials it can be made from. Material 3C90 and 3F3 are both commonly available, and when looking at their material specifications, we’ve decided to go with 3F3 as it performs better.

We have had to look at three different data sheets to get this far; the data sheet for the core set E38/8/25 told us what materials it can be made from and, it also told us the critical parameter called effective length (ℓe). Then we looked at the data sheets for the two materials and made a side-by-side technical comparison.

Calculate the number of turns (stage 4)

We return to the E38/8/25 core data sheet and look for a number called AL (the inductance factor):

.

The relevant figure here is the 7250 number at the bottom left. It is saying that for one copper winding turn, the inductance will be 7250 nH (7.25 μH). This is the value when using two identical planar core halves brought together. You should also note the associated value for the core’s magnetic permeability (𝜇e) is 1570. Originally, in the material specification, it was 2000; however, once it has been molded into a core, it will reduce slightly. The “e” in 𝜇e stands for “effective,” i.e. 𝜇e is called effective permeability.

Because ferrite materials concentrate the magnetic flux and (pretty much) ensure that all winding turns are coupled to each other, the relationship between the number of turns and inductance is, therefore:

L = AL . N2

Our target inductance is 1 mH, so we will need .turns. This is 11.7 turns, but we can’t have fractional turns, so we’d probably go for 12 turns and “accept” an inductance of 1.044 mH. Whether you round up or down will depend on the nature of your circuit.

Calculate the required current (stage 5)

We have a core set (and our core material), and we have now calculated the required number of turns, but what current do we need to flow, and will it cause problems? Too much current can lead to core saturation, so we need to avoid that, but we need to know about the application a little more to calculate the current. For this example, we’re assuming the application is a DC-to-DC converter using the ferrite core and windings as a DCM flyback transformer.

Because it’s a flyback circuit, we don’t need to analyze any secondary circuit aspects to calculate the primary current; we just need to know the maximum power delivered to the load and the operating frequency. So, let’s say the operating frequency is 100 kHz, and the power required by the load is 40 watts.

If we divide the load power by frequency, we get the energy in joules that the primary has to store and transfer to the secondary in each switching cycle. We must assume there will be some losses, so we will make the energy 10% higher to account for these. If we manipulate the “well-known” inductor energy formula, (E = ½ L ⋅I2), we can calculate the peak current needed to flow in the primary with the following equation:

.

Of course, if you have a different application circuit in mind for the wound component, then the current calculation may be more straightforward than that shown above. In either case, you still need to calculate the peak current to see if there might be a potential core saturation problem.

We calculated 0.918 amps for our target application, and we know that this current is the transformer magnetization current for a flyback converter. Therefore, it could easily over-saturate the core.

Calculate the flux density (stage 6)

To calculate flux density, we need to use the peak current, the number of turns, and the value of effective length (ℓe) we found in stage 1 (52.4 mm for two E38/8/25 core halves). Do you recall this figure?

.

The peak current, number of turns, and ℓall contribute to a value known as magnetic field strength, H:

.

Therefore, if we multiply H by the magnetic permeability, we get the flux density, B. We know the magnetic permeability (𝜇e) is 1570 compared to air, and we know (from various sources) that air has an absolute permeability of 1.257 𝜇H per meter. Hence, we can calculate B as follows:

B = 210.2 ×1570 ×1.257 ×10-6 = 0.4148 teslas

This is the predicted peak flux density, and we know from the literature that it is too much for a ferrite core. Ferrite will heavily saturate around 0.4 teslas, so we have to slightly rethink what we are doing.

Determine if a gap is needed (stage 7)

The simple answer is yes, we need to reduce the predicted peak flux density. The good news is that we can buy the E38/8/25 core set already pre-gapped. Do you recall this data sheet extract from stage 4?

.

So, instead of picking two ungapped cores, we could choose one core with a gap and one ungapped core. This would produce the following core construction:

.

So, if we picked a core with a gap of 0.25 mm (250 𝜇m), the AL value has reduced to 1000, and this means that we need more turns to produce 1 mH inductance.

  • From stage 4, we should now use 32 turns to get 1.024 mH.
  • From stage 5, the peak current should be 0.927 amps (previously, it was 0.918 amps).
  • From stage 6, H is now 566.1 ampere-turns per meter (previously it was 210.2 At/m)

And then, we can recalculate peak flux density using the value for the gapped magnetic permeability 𝜇of 216.

B = 566.1 ×216 ×1.257 ×10-6 = 0.153 teslas

This shows the effect of merely adding a gap. We would tend to want a value below 0.2 teslas for our flyback converter, so this is a comfortable fit. Here’s what a simulation gives us (as a kind of sanity check):

.

The numbers tally reasonably well. The gapped core-set with an H field of 566.1 has a simulated flux density of 129 mT, whereas the hand-calculation arrived at 153 mT. For the ungapped 12 turn core-set with an H field of 210.2, we get a simulated flux density of 413 mT (very close to the hand calculation of 414.8 mT).

Summary

Firstly, what is essential is that you use the correct design process when designing a transformer or inductor. Secondly, there is no substitution for real-world final testing. This is needed for any hand-made (or homespun) wound component. However, this article can only really show the process, and it is hoped that if you follow it, you get good results. If you gain some greater insights into designing and gapping a ferrite core along the way, then that’s a bonus.

Have more questions? Call an expert at Altium and discover how we can help you with your next PCB design.

About Author

About Author

Mark Harris is an engineer's engineer, with over 12 years of diverse experience within the electronics industry, varying from aerospace and defense contracts to small product startups, hobbies and everything in between. Before moving to the United Kingdom, Mark was employed by one of the largest research organizations in Canada; every day brought a different project or challenge involving electronics, mechanics, and software. He also publishes the most extensive open source database library of components for Altium Designer called the Celestial Database Library. Mark has an affinity for open-source hardware and software and the innovative problem-solving required for the day-to-day challenges such projects offer. Electronics are passion; watching a product go from an idea to reality and start interacting with the world is a never-ending source of enjoyment. 

You can contact Mark directly at: mark@originalcircuit.com

Recent Articles

Back to Home