Qu'est-ce que la capture de schéma ?

Mark Harris
|  Créé: July 18, 2021  |  Mise à jour: August 17, 2021
Qu'est-ce que la saisie de schéma ?

Introduction

Pour faire simple, la saisiede schéma est le processus qui consiste à convertir une conception sur papier en une représentation électronique que les outils logiciels de simulation de circuits ou de conception de PCB peuvent traiter.

Principes de base de la saisie de schéma

Un schéma de circuit électronique est avant tout une liste de composants avec les liens entre les connexions de ces composants. Il peut s'agir de composants électroniques, que ce soit une simple résistance, une puce de circuit intégré complexe ou un FPGA, mais aussi de composants mécaniques comme des connecteurs, des cadrans ou des commutateurs.

Le processus de saisie de schéma doit inclure tout ce qui, dans la conception du circuit, est nécessaire à son fonctionnement, y compris les connexions électriques et leur environnement. Il est donc primordial de prêter attention aux détails : tout oubli dans la conception de circuit capturée sous forme de schéma peut entraîner des problèmes lorsque les choses ne fonctionnent pas comme prévu, mais aussi des diagnostics et des actions correctives qui peuvent s'avérer coûteux.

Le résultat du processus de capture de schéma se présente généralement sous la forme d'une netlist qui peut être importée dans d'autres logiciels, comme un programme de simulation ou un logiciel de conception de circuits imprimés.

Les règles d'or de la saisie schématique

Lors de la création d'un schéma, quelques conseils permettent de gagner du temps et d'éviter des problèmes par la suite.

  • Le trajet du signal doit toujours aller de gauche à droite, de l'entrée à la sortie. De même, les alimentations doivent être alimentées de haut en bas. Cette convention permet à toute personne regardant le schéma de comprendre immédiatement d'où viennent et où vont les signaux, quelles lignes acheminent les signaux et quelles lignes acheminent l'alimentation.
  • Tous les libellés doivent respecter une convention de dénomination cohérente afin d'aider le lecteur à comprendre et à mettre en évidence les problèmes potentiels. Par exemple, on remarquera immédiatement une connexion libellée comme une ligne d'alimentation mais qui est positionnée comme une ligne de signaux, ce qui permet de gagner du temps lors de la résolution de problèmes à un stade ultérieur du processus de conception ou de fabrication.
  • Dans la mesure du possible, les lignes ne doivent pas se croiser ni converger afin d'éviter toute confusion quant à l'existence ou non d'une connexion entre les lignes. L'utilisation de symboles universels pour les connexions d'alimentation peut permettre de réduire le nombre de lignes et rendre le schéma plus clair. Si des lignes doivent se croiser, faites en sorte de l'indiquer au lecteur. Si des lignes se rejoignent, limitez-vous au maximum à trois lignes. Si plus de trois lignes se rejoignent en un point, on risque de les confondre avec des lignes qui se croisent.
  • Si le schéma est si grand qu'il occupe plusieurs pages, séparez les composants de manière à ce que chaque page comporte des blocs fonctionnels complets plutôt que de placer ces blocs de manière aléatoire sur les pages. Les connexions, là où les lignes passent entre les pages, doivent être identifiables.
  • N'oubliez pas les composants qui ne font pas partie de la conception fonctionnelle : condensateurs de découplage, filtres secteur, dispositifs de protection contre la foudre. Dans le monde réel, le fonctionnement d'un appareil nécessite de nombreux composants qui ne font pas partie de ses fonctionnalités de base. Si vous oubliez de les inclure lors de la saisie du schéma, les résultats de la simulation seront invalidés et vous aurez de gros problèmes s'ils ne sont pas inclus dans la conception du PCB.
  • Enfin, si un aspect du schéma n'est pas clair, ajoutez une note explicative. Lorsque vous regarderez de nouveau le schéma après avoir cessé de penser au circuit et que vous ne vous souviendrez plus de certaines des décisions de conception que vous avez prises à ce moment-là, vous serez content de l'avoir fait.

Logiciels de simulation de circuit et de saisie de schéma

Il existe des outils de simulation qui permettent d'utiliser une conception de schéma, de stimuler les entrées et de surveiller les sorties théoriques. Ces outils permettent au concepteur de tester la conception du circuit dans toutes les configurations d'entrée possibles, de vérifier que le circuit fonctionne comme prévu et de valider le circuit par rapport aux exigences globales du dispositif qu'il met en œuvre.

Pour chaque composant et signal d'entrée inclus dans le schéma, il est nécessaire de définir des paramètres de fonctionnement et des caractéristiques de performance. Les informations sur les composants standard sont souvent disponibles dans des bibliothèques de données, mais les composants sur mesure ou inhabituels peuvent nécessiter la définition et la saisie de ces informations. N'oubliez pas que la qualité de la simulation dépend des données qu'elle utilise. Toute erreur, même minime, peut entraîner des résultats trompeurs ou non représentatifs qui ne seront peut-être visibles que lorsque le dispositif assemblé fonctionnera.

Un point important à retenir est que les outils de simulation montrent le comportement du circuit dans des conditions parfaites. Par conséquent, à moins d'être ajoutés au modèle, ils ne tiendront pas compte des effets du monde réel comme les pertes sur la ligne dues à l'impédance ou la génération de bruit rayonné. En outre, ils ne tiendront pas compte des interférences dues aux émissions de bruit rayonné ou conduit reçues, de la diaphonie entre les lignes de signaux et d'autres effets indirects.

Un concepteur compétent cherchera à déterminer si la conception de son circuit est sensible à de tels facteurs et les intégrera dans la conception du PCB sous forme de contraintes qui se traduiront par des paramètres de largeur minimale et de longueur maximale des pistes, ainsi que des contraintes de séparation des pistes et des exigences en matière de protection et de blindage.

Conception de PCB et saisie schématique

Différents outils permettent de transformer automatiquement une conception de schéma en un plan de circuit imprimé, en optimisant le positionnement des composants et des pistes pour accroître les performances et respecter les contraintes spécifiées. Cependant, il est important de toujours revérifier la conception du schéma avant de se lancer dans la fabrication de la carte. La plupart des logiciels comportent des fonctionnalités de vérification des règles qui permettent de détecter les erreurs, mais ils ne permettent pas d’éviterune revue manuelle.

Des problèmes simples comme des condensateurs de découplage placés trop loin des composants peuvent échapper à la vérification automatique, c'est pourquoi il est important d'être vigilant. Toute erreur, même subtile, peut se traduire par une perte de temps et d'argent si le PCB ne fonctionne pas. La résolution de problèmes mineurs par le perçage de trous et l'ajout de fils pour contourner les pistes peut être une solution satisfaisante pour la création de prototypes hors-série, mais elle n'est pas idéale pour une production en série.

En résumé

La saisie de schéma est un processus qui permet au concepteur de simuler son circuit pour valider sa conception, puis de créer un routage optimal du PCB sans trop d'efforts. Cependant, à chaque étape du processus, le concepteur doit effectuer des vérifications minutieuses pour éviter que des erreurs aient une incidence sur les étapes suivantes. Des outils de simulation et des logiciels de conception de PCB peuvent traiter les schémas et faciliter la vie du concepteur. Toutefois, ils ne sont jamais parfaits, et le concepteur ne doit jamais se fier aux résultats d'un outil sans les vérifier soigneusement.

Vous avez d'autres questions ? Appelez l'un des experts Altium pour découvrir comment nous pouvons vous aider à concevoir votre prochain circuit imprimé. Vous pouvez télécharger une version d'essai gratuite d'Altium Designer ici.

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Mark Harris est un ingénieur qui nous apporte plus de 12 ans d'expérience diversifiée dans l'industrie électronique, allant des contrats dans l'aérospatiale et la défense jusqu’au lancement de produits startup, dispositifs de loisirs en passant par une multitude d’autres accessoires. Avant de s'installer au Royaume-Uni, Mark était employé par l'un des plus grands organismes de recherche au Canada. Chaque jour, il travaillait sur un projet ou un défi différent impliquant l'électronique, la mécanique et les logiciels. Il est responsable de la publication de Celestial Database Library, la plus vaste bibliothèque de composants en base de données open source pour Altium Designer. Mark a une affinité particulière avec les équipements et les logiciels open source, la résolution de problèmes et les innovations appliquées à ce type de projets et leurs défis quotidiens. L'électronique est une passion ; suivre la transformation d’une idée en réalité, et interagir avec le monde est une source de plaisir sans fin.
Vous pouvez contacter Mark directement : mark@originalcircuit.com

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

What is Schematic Capture?

Mark Harris
|  Created: July 18, 2021  |  Updated: July 24, 2021
What is schematic capture

In simple terms, schematic capture is the process of converting a paper design into an electronic representation that software tools, such as a circuit simulation or PCB design packages, can process. Graphically, schematic capture (also known as schematic entry) is the process of arranging components in schematic sheets and defining links between them. In this way, you produce a logical/electrical design that can be used in your other design tools when you're ready to run simulations or create a physical layout.

Behind the scenes, your design software doesn't really care about how you arrange components into schematics. Circuit simulation packages like SPICE and your PCB layout tools only care about the connections you define between pins on different components. These connections are called "nets," and schematic capture is really the task of creating a list of nets that will be reflected in the make up everything in your physical PCB layout. The graphical interface you see in your schematic editor software helps you stay organized as you create your design and eventually transition your designs into a PCB layout.

  1. Basic Principles
  2. Rules of Thumb
  3. Circuit Simulation
  4. Transition to PCB Layout

Basic Principles

A circuit diagram is fundamentally a list of parts and the links between the connections of those parts. These can be electronic components from a simple resistor to a complex integrated circuit chip or FPGA—alternatively, mechanical components such as connectors, dials, or switches.

The schematic capture process needs to include everything within the circuit design necessary to work, including the electrical connections with its environment. Thus, attention to detail is vital; any omissions in the circuit design captured schematically can cause headaches down the line when things don’t work as expected and potentially costly diagnosis and corrective actions.

The output of the schematic capture process is generally in the form of a netlist that can be imported into other software tools, such as a simulation program or PCB design package. Some design programs force you to manually export and re-import netlists each time you modify something in the design, which will re-synchronize your project to ensure your schematics and PCB layout show the same set of connections. With other design software, you never see a netlist file: the design software handles this synchronization automatically so that you can quickly move into your PCB layout.

Rules of Thumb

During schematic capture, you'll be working in a graphical interface, where component models are placed in drawings and connected with wires. There are a few basic practices that can help you save time and ensure your schematic sheets are easy to read:

  • Components should be placed so that signal flow spans from left (input) to right (output). Likewise, power supplies should feed from top to bottom, meaning power ports should be placed at the top and ground should be placed at the bottom. This convention ensures that anyone looking at the schematic will immediately understand where signals pass to and from, and which lines carry signals and which carry power.
  • All labels should follow a consistent naming convention to help the reader understand and highlight potential problems. For example, a connection labeled as a power supply line but positioned as a signal line will stand out immediately, making it easier to debug a circuit design before layout and manufacturing.
  • Lines should not cross or converge where possible to avoid confusion. Crossing wires creates the appearance of a connection between lines, although this may not be the intent. Using universal symbols for power supply connections can reduce the number of lines and make the schematic clearer. If lines do need to cross, make it evident to the reader that this is the case. If lines join, limit this to a maximum of three lines. More than three lines meeting at one point could be mistaken for unintentionally crossed lines.
  • If the schematic is so large that it covers multiple pages, separate components so that each page has complete functional blocks rather than randomly placing these blocks across pages. Connections, where lines flow between pages, should be identifiable. Some design software will use an object called a "port" to denote a connection between two different sheets; this is a best practice that makes clear a connection is being made into a different schematic sheet.
  • Don’t forget that some components need additional parts that aren’t part of the functional design: decoupling capacitors, line filters, lightning (ESD) protection. A host of components that a device requires to operate in the real world are not built-in and they need to be added as external parts. However, forgetting to include these in the schematic capture will invalidate circuit simulation results and may cause the finished product to be non-functional.
  • Finally, if any aspect of the schematic is unclear, add an explanatory note. You’ll thank yourself later when you look back at the schematic and can’t remember some of the design decisions you made at the time. If you're working on a team, your team members will also thank you as the intent of the design will be clear.
Schematic capture
This circuit diagram for a TVS diode component lays out signals from left to right. +5 V DC power is located at the top of the sheet, and different ground nets are located along the bottom of the sheet.

Circuit Simulation

Simulation tools are used to take a schematic design, stimulate the inputs, and monitor the theoretical outputs. These tools allow the designer to test a circuit diagram or groups of circuits design under all possible input conditions, verify the circuit operates as expected, and validate the circuit against the overall requirements for the device it implements. The standard simulation tool is SPICE, which is built into most schematic editor applications.

Each component and input signal included in the schematic needs its operating parameters and performance characteristics defined. Although details for standard components are often available in libraries of data, bespoke or unusual components may need this information defined and entered manually. Remember, a simulation will only be as good as the data it uses. Any errors, however small, can lead to misleading or unrepresentative results that may only become apparent when the assembled device is operating.

SPICE simulation results
Using SPICE during schematic capture gives you a chance to qualify the functionality of your circuit desings before you create a PCB layout and manufacture a circuit board for your design.

An important point to remember is that simulation tools tell you what the circuit will do under perfect conditions. Therefore, unless added to the model, they won’t consider real-world effects such as trace losses due to impedance or generation of radiated noise. In addition, it won’t take into account interference from received radiated or conducted noise emissions, cross-talk between signal lines, and other indirect effects. A good designer will investigate the susceptibility of their circuit design to such factors and feed these into the PCB design as constraints that translate to trace minimum width and maximum length parameters, trace separation constraints, and shielding/screening requirements.

Transition to PCB Layout

Once your schematics are finished and you're ready to start the PCB layout process, your design tools can help automate the transition into a physical design. Rather than exporting a netlist from the schematic editor and re-importing it into a PCB editor, the best tools can bypass this process and can directly import your component data into a new PCB layout. However, always double-check each circuit diagram in your schematic sheets before committing to manufacturing the board. Most packages include rule check features that can uncover easy-to-miss errors like opens and shorts. These aren’t a substitute for a manual schematic design review.

To answer the question of “what is schematic capture?” It’s a process that allows the designer to simulate their circuit to validate their design and then create an optimum PCB layout with minimum effort. However, at each step of the process, the designer needs to perform careful checks to prevent errors affecting the following steps. Simulation tools and PCB design packages can make the designer’s life easier by automating the transition from schematic sheets into a PCB layout. Still, they are never perfect, and the designer should never rely on the outputs of a tool without reviewing thoroughly.

Circuit designers, PCB layout engineers, and simulation engineers trust the complete set of schematic capture tools in Altium Designer®. When a design is finished and ready to be released to manufacturing, the Altium 365™ platform makes it easy to collaborate and share your projects.

We have only scratched the surface of what’s possible with Altium Designer on Altium 365. Start your free trial of Altium Designer + Altium 365 today.

About Author

About Author

Mark Harris is an engineer's engineer, with over 12 years of diverse experience within the electronics industry, varying from aerospace and defense contracts to small product startups, hobbies and everything in between. Before moving to the United Kingdom, Mark was employed by one of the largest research organizations in Canada; every day brought a different project or challenge involving electronics, mechanics, and software. He also publishes the most extensive open source database library of components for Altium Designer called the Celestial Database Library. Mark has an affinity for open-source hardware and software and the innovative problem-solving required for the day-to-day challenges such projects offer. Electronics are passion; watching a product go from an idea to reality and start interacting with the world is a never-ending source of enjoyment. 

You can contact Mark directly at: mark@originalcircuit.com

Recent Articles

Back to Home