Standards für Ethernet-Layout-Routing: MAC, PHY und RJ-45 Stecker

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: July 1, 2019  |  Updated: January 4, 2021
Ethernet Layout Routing Standards: MAC, PHY, and RJ-45 Connectors

Rack-mounted Ethernet switch units

 

Selbst komplexe Systeme wie dieses sind dank der Standards für Ethernet-Layout-Routing einfach zu entwerfen.

Ethernet über Kupfer gehört wahrscheinlich zum Herzstück der Netzwerkinfrastruktur Ihres Bürogebäudes. Glücklicherweise machen es die Standards für das Routing von Ethernet den Designern leicht, praktisch alles zu entwerfen – von komplexen Netzwerkgeräten bis hin zu Einplatinen-Computern für Anwendungen. Die Gesamtarchitektur für die Erstellung von Ethernet-fähigen Geräten ist täuschend einfach, aber bestimmte Regeln sollten befolgt werden, um die Signalintegrität zu gewährleisten.

Überblick: Ethernet-Layout-Routing und -Architektur

Innerhalb der IEEE 802-Standards enthalten Ethernet-Geräte drei primäre Hauptelemente, die gemeinsam auf eine bestimmte Weise geroutet werden müssen. Der MAC-Teil (Medium Access Control) ist typischerweise in den Prozessor des Geräts (FPGA, ASIC, MCU oder andere Komponente) integriert. Der MAC bietet Kontrolle über die Bestimmung der Zieladressierung, sendet seine eigene Adresse, um Daten zu empfangen, und dupliziert und fügt Daten zu Paketen für die Übertragung an ein anderes Gerät zusammen.

Die nächste Stufe des Ethernet-Layout-Routings ist die physikalische Schicht (PHY). Dabei handelt es sich in der Regel um eine integrierte Schaltung, die die digitalen Daten vom MAC zur Übertragung über Kupfer- oder Glasfaserleitungen in analoge Signale umwandelt. Die Standard-Routing-Protokolle für Ethernet (MII und RMII) sind mit 10Base-T und 100Base-TX kompatibel, obwohl ähnliche Routing-Standards für 1 Gbit/s und höhere Datenraten ausgelegt sind. Der Ausgang des PHY wird mit einem RJ-45-Stecker verbunden. Diese Stecker erfordern ein spezielles Abschlussschema (siehe unten), um die Signalintegrität zu erhalten.

Bei Glasfasernetzwerken wird der Ausgang des PHY an einen separaten Glasfaser-Sender/Empfänger mit eigenen Layout-Regeln angeschlossen. Kommerziell erhältliche Transceiver sind mit Randsteckern oder anderen Steckern erhältlich. Dadurch sind diese Sender/Empfänger-Module austauschbar, idealerweise ohne Demontage einer ganzen Einheit (z.B. Hot-Swap-fähige Schnittstellen).

Pluggable media converter card

Glasfaser-Medienkonverter mit einem RJ-45-Stecker
 

Das Routing zwischen MAC und PHY folgt über die MII- oder RMII-Routing-Standards mit Punkt-zu-Punkt-Topologie. Der Hauptunterschied zwischen diesen beiden Routing-Standards besteht in der Anzahl der Signale, die als Schnittstelle zwischen dem MAC und jedem PHY-Chip erforderlich sind. In einem Multiport-Gerät können zwei Signale vom MAC von mehreren PHY-Chips gemeinsam genutzt werden, während weitere 16 Signale (MII-Routing) oder 6-7 Signale (RMII-Routing) pro PHY-Chip erforderlich sind. Es liegt auf der Hand, dass die Anzahl der benötigten Signale schnell unüberschaubar wird. Daher wurde RMII entwickelt, um die Gesamtzahl der Signale zu halbieren.

Das letzte wichtige Element ist ein Taktgeber, der zum Auslösen von Signalübertragungs- und Empfangsfunktionen zwischen dem MAC und dem PHY verwendet wird. Bei MII wird ein 2,5-MHz-Takt für Datenraten von 10 Mbps verwendet und ein 25-MHz-Takt für 100 Mbps. Bei RMII wird ein 50-MHz-Takt für beide Datenraten verwendet. Alle Routen sollten auf einer einzigen Schicht innerhalb des Geräts mit präziser Längenanpassung platziert werden. In diesen Geräten wird TTL verwendet, so dass die Längenanpassung im Vergleich zu anderen Routing-Standards für Computer-Peripheriegeräte recht großzügig ausfallen kann.

Routing und Terminierung für RJ-45-Stecker

Die Routing-Anforderungen zwischen dem PHY-Chip und den RJ-45-Steckern sind deutlich strenger. TX- und RX-Leitungen werden als Differentialpaare geroutet, und diese Leiterbahnen müssen längenangepasst und symmetrisch sein. Denken Sie daran, dass diese Schaltung und die zugehörigen Leiterbahnen analoge Signale führen und daher über eine analoge Massefläche geroutet werden müssen. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie eine geeignete Mixed-Signal-Massefläche in Ihrem Gerät entwerfen.

Es gibt auch eine spezielle Abschlussschaltung, die zwischen dem PHY und dem RJ-45-Stecker platziert werden muss, die in den Standards für das Ethernet-Routing allgemein als "Magnetics" bezeichnet wird. Eine Magnetics-Abschlussschaltung umfasst vier Transformatoren für einen einzelnen RF-45-Stecker, zwei auf jedem RX- und TX-Differentialpaar.

Ein Transformator wird als Gleichtaktdrossel angeordnet, während der andere stromaufwärts (zum PHY hin) angeordnet wird. Üblicherweise werden ferritische Stufentransformatoren mit einem Übersetzungsverhältnis von 1:1 verwendet, um für die erforderliche Gleichtakt-Rauschunterdrückung in den TX- und RX-Differentialpaaren zu sorgen, die die Abschlussschaltung mit dem PHY und dem RJ45 verbinden. Dadurch kann auch jede erforderliche Gleichstromvorspannung an die Abschlussschaltung weitergeleitet werden (z. B. zur Versorgung der LED-Anzeigeleuchten im Stecker).

In einigen Anwendungshinweisen wird empfohlen, keine Massefläche unter den Differentialpaaren zu platzieren. Die EMI-Störanfälligkeit kann jedoch durch den Anschluss von Gleichtaktkondensatoren zwischen den RX/TX-Leiterbahnen und Masse verringert werden; in diesem Fall sollte sich die analoge Massefläche unter diesen Differentialpaaren befinden. Die Differentialpaare sollten in allen Abschlussschaltungen impedanzangepasst sein, und die übliche Methode besteht darin, ein Thevenin-Netzwerk oder einen Pull-up-Widerstand in der Nähe des PHYs zu integrieren. In diesem Fall muss ein Teil der Stromebene in der Nähe des Pull-up-Widerstands erscheinen.

RJ-45 termination schematic)

Beispiel einer industrietauglichen magnetischen Abschlussschaltung für einen RJ-45-Stecker

Beachten Sie, dass einige RJ-45-Stecker diesen zweiten Transformator oder beide Transformatoren als Teil eines integrierten Magnetschalters enthalten. Prüfen Sie immer die Datenblätter für integrierte Steckverbinder, um zu sehen, welche weiteren Komponenten hinzugefügt werden müssen, um die Abschlussschaltung zu vervollständigen. Wenn diese Transformatoren und die zugehörigen passiven Elemente nicht integriert sind, sind Ethernet-Transformatormodule auch als diskrete Komponenten erhältlich (normalerweise in SMT-Gehäusen). Diese diskreten Module bieten einen besseren ESD-Schutz, da zwischen den einzelnen Teilen des Systems ein größerer Abstand besteht.

Stackup für Ethernet-fähige Platinen

Abschließend können wir den Lagenaufbau für Ethernet-fähige Leiterplatten nicht ignorieren. In der Regel werden 2-Lagen- oder 4-Lagen-Stackups verwendet, obwohl man sicherlich auch mehr Lagen verwenden könnte. Bei niedrigeren Lagenzahlen werden im Allgemeinen Strominseln mit einer Massefläche auf derselben Lage verwendet. Diese Ebenen sollten mit einem geeigneten Kondensator entkoppelt werden.

Kupferguss kann auch auf der Oberflächenschicht erscheinen, um eine zusätzliche Abschirmung gegen EMI zu bieten, was wünschenswert ist, wenn Ihr Gerät ein WiFi-Modul oder andere HF-Schaltungen enthält. Beachten Sie, dass, wenn Sie die Oberflächenschicht mit Kupferguss versehen, diese mit der unteren Masseschicht durch eine periodische Anordnung von Durchkontaktierungen verbunden werden sollte. Platzieren Sie Kupferguss auf der Oberfläche nur direkt über einer Massefläche in der nächsten Schicht.

Beim Routing auf der Oberflächenschicht kann es erforderlich sein, ein Signal über eine Massefläche und eine Strominsel für eine einzelne Verbindung zu routen. Das ist in der Regel eine schlechte Idee, da der Teil der Leiterbahn, der nicht über eine Referenzebene gelegt wird, stark abstrahlen kann und die gesamte Schaltung, die sie bildet, eine große Schleifeninduktivität aufweist. Um einen Rückpfad zu schaffen und die Referenzebenen während des Routings richtig zu schalten, sollten Sie einen kleinen Kondensator (normalerweise ~10 nF) zwischen der Masseebene und der parallel zur Leiterbahn verlaufenden Strominsel platzieren.

Wenn Sie eine Design-Plattform wie Altium Designer verwenden, stehen Ihnen alle Routing-Tools zur Verfügung, die Sie für das einfache Design von Ethernet- und Glasfaser-fähigen Netzwerkgeräten benötigen. Der Schaltplanentwurf, das Layout, das Routing und viele weitere Funktionen sind alle über eine einzige vereinheitlichte Designoberfläche zugänglich. Darüber hinaus haben Sie Zugriff auf die branchenweit besten Signalintegritäts- und Dokumentationsfunktionen in einem einzigen Programm. 

Sie können jetzt eine kostenlose Testversion von Altium Designer herunterladen, um mehr über die gesamte Palette der Design-Tools zu erfahren. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Altium-Experten, um mehr zu erfahren.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • A365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Ethernet Layout Routing Standards: MAC, PHY, and RJ-45 Connectors

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  July 1, 2019

    Rack-mounted Ethernet switch units

    Even complex systems like this are easy to design thanks to ethernet layout routing standards

    Ethernet over copper is likely part of the backbone of your office building’s networking infrastructure. Thankfully, Ethernet routing standards make it easy for designers to create everything from complex networking equipment to single-board computers for any application. The overall architecture for creating Ethernet-capable devices is deceptively simple, but certain rules should be followed to ensure signal integrity.

    High-level Ethernet Layout Routing and Architecture

    Within the IEEE 802 standards, Ethernet devices contain three primary elements, all of which must be routed together in a specific manner. The Medium access control (MAC) portion is typically integrated into the processor of the device (FPGA, ASIC, MCU, or other component). The MAC provides control over determining destination addressing, sends along its own address to receive data, and duplexes and assembles data into packets for transmission to another device.

    The next stage in Ethernet layout routing is the physical layer (PHY). This is typically an integrated circuit that converts the digital data from the MAC into analog signals for transmission down copper or optical fiber. The standard routing protocols for Ethernet (MII and RMII) are compatible with 10Base-T and 100Base-TX, although similar routing standards are designed for 1 Gbps and higher data rates. The output from the PHY connects to an RJ-45 connector. These connectors require a specific termination scheme (see below) to preserve signal integrity.

    With optical fiber networks, the output from the PHY connects to a separate fiber transmitter/receiver with its own layout rules. Commercially available transceivers are available with edge connectors or other connectors. This allows these transmitter/receiver modules to be swappable, ideally without taking apart an entire unit (e.g., hot-swappable interfaces).

    Pluggable media converter card

    Fiber optic media converter with an RJ-45 connector

    Routing between the MAC and PHY follows either the MII or RMII routing standards with point-to-point topology. The primary difference between these two routing standards is the number of signals required to interface between the MAC and each PHY chip. In a multi-port device, two signals from the MAC can be shared among multiple PHY chips, while another 16 signals (MII routing) or 6-7 signals (RMII routing) are required per PHY chip. Obviously, the number of signals required to reach a large number of PHY chips quickly becomes unmanageable, thus RMII was developed to reduce the total number of signals by a factor of 2.

    The final important element is a clock that is used to trigger signal transmit and receive functions between the MAC and the PHY. In MII, a 2.5 MHz clock is used for 10 Mbps data rates, while a 25 MHz clock is used for 100 Mbps. In RMII, a 50 MHz clock is used for both data rates. All routes should be placed on a single layer within the device with precise length matching. TTL is used in these devices, thus length matching can be rather generous compared to other routing standards for computer peripherals.

    Routing and Termination for RJ-45 Connectors

    The routing requirements between the PHY chip and RJ-45 connectors are much more strict. TX and RX lines are routed as differential pairs, and these traces must be length matched and symmetric. Remember that this circuit and associated traces are carrying analog signals, thus they need to be routed over an analog ground plane. Make sure to design an appropriate mixed signal ground plane in your device.

    There is also a specific termination circuit that must be placed between the PHY and the RJ-45 connector, commonly termed “magnetics” within the Ethernet layout routing standards. A magnetics termination circuit involves four transformers for a single RF-45 connector, two on each RX and TX differential pair.

    One transformer is placed as a common mode choke, while the other is placed downstream (towards the connector). Tapped ferritic transformers with 1:1 turns ratio are normally used to provide the required common mode noise rejection in the TX and RX differential pairs that connect the termination circuit to the PHY. This also allows any required DC bias to pass to the termination circuit (e.g., to power any LED indicator lights in the connector).

    Some application notes will recommend not placing a ground plane beneath the differential pairs. However, EMI susceptibility can be reduced by connecting common mode capacitors between the RX/TX traces and ground, in which case the analog ground plane should extend beneath these differential pairs. The differential pairs should be impedance matched throughout the termination circuits, and the common method is to include a Thevenin network or a pull up resistor near the PHY. In this case, a portion of the power plane will need to appear near the pull-up resistor.

    RJ-45 termination schematic)

    Example industrial-grade magnetics termination circuit for an RJ-45 connector

    Note that some RJ-45 connectors include this second transformer or both transformers as part of an integrated magnetics circuit. Always check the datasheets for integrated connectors to see what other components need to be added to complete the termination circuit. If these transformers and associated passives are not integrated, Ethernet transformer modules are also available as discrete components (usually in SMT packages). These discrete modules provide better ESD protection as there will be larger separation between each portion of the system.

    Stackup for Ethernet-Capable Boards

    Finally, we can’t ignore the layer stack for Ethernet-capable PCBs. 2-layer or 4-layer stacks are generally used, although you could certainly use a higher layer count. In lower layer counts, power islands are generally used with a ground plane on the same layer. These planes should be decoupled with an appropriate capacitor.

    Copper pour can also appear on the surface layer to provide extra shielding against EMI, which is a desirable choice if your device includes a WiFi module or other RF circuits. Note that if you place ground pour on the surface layer, it should be connected to the lower ground layer with a periodic array of vias. Only place copper pour on the surface directly over a ground plane in the next layer.

    When routing on the surface layer, you may need to route a signal over a ground plane and a power island for a single interconnect. This is generally a bad idea in any device as the portion of the trace that is not placed over a reference plane can radiate strongly, and the overall circuit it forms will have large loop inductance. To provide a return path and properly switch reference planes during routing, place a small capacitor (usually ~10 nF) between the ground plane and the power island that runs parallel to the trace.

    When you use a design platform like Altium Designer, you’ll have all the routing tools you need to design Ethernet and fiber optic-capable networking devices with ease. The schematic design, layout, routing, and many more features are all accessible within a single unified design interface. You’ll also have access to the industry’s best signal integrity and documentation features in a single program. 

    Now you can download a free trial of Altium Designer to learn more about its full suite of design tools. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home