Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Datenrate und Bandbreite?

Zachariah Peterson
|  October 22, 2020
Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Datenrate und Bandbreite?

Zwei Hände halten ein Smartphone

Datenrate und Bandbreite werden manchmal synonym verwendet, was vor allem Werbeagenturen und den Medien zu verdanken ist, die einen wichtigen Fachbegriff aus der analogen Schaltungstechnik zu einem Modewort gemacht haben. Das Wort „Bandbreite“ wird inzwischen so missbraucht, dass es ungewollt eine irgendwie verwandte Bedeutung aus dem ADC-Design übernommen hat. Im Leiterplatten- und Schaltungsdesign bedeutet Bandbreite manchmal etwas, das nichts mit der Datenrate zu tun hat, und manchmal bezieht es sich auf eine bestimmte Signalqualität und deren Interaktion mit einem Empfänger.

Da die Unterscheidung zwischen Datenrate und Bandbreite schwammig ist, stellt sich die Frage, wie sie mit dem PCB-Design zusammenhängt. Wir werden uns das in diesem Artikel genauer ansehen, um herauszufinden, wie man Parameter für die Signalintegrität von Ultra-High-Speed-Kanälen definiert. Die gleichen Ideen rund um die Kennzahlen der Signalintegrität spiegeln sich im aktuellen USB-4.0-Standard wider und werden in neueren High-Speed-Signalübertragungsstandards noch an Bedeutung gewinnen.

Unterschied zwischen Datenrate und Bandbreite

Datenrate ist genau das, wonach es klingt: die Anzahl der Bits, die pro Zeiteinheit durch einen Kanal oder einer Komponente übertragen werden. Die Datenrate lässt sich auch in Baudrate ausdrücken (z. B. die Anzahl der Signaleinheiten pro Sekunde), was uns erlaubt, zwischen binären und mehrstufigen Übertragungsverfahren zu unterscheiden. Dies ist denkbar einfach: Bei einem 2-Pegel-Signal (z. B. Non-Return-to-Zero, NRZ) ist die Baudrate gleich der Bitrate. Bei 4-Pegel-Signalen (z. B. vierstufige Pulsamplitudenmodulation, PAM-4) ist die Baudrate die halbe Bitrate, da zwei Bits pro Unit Interval (UI) übertragen werden.

Der Begriff Bandbreite wird von Elektronikentwicklern aller Fachrichtungen verwendet, um sich auf einen oder mehrere der folgenden Punkte zu beziehen:

  • -3dB-Punkt. Wenn Sie ein Filter entwerfen, wird dieser Wert normalerweise verwendet, um die Frequenz zu bezeichnen, bei der die Übertragungsfunktion (Betrag) des Filters um 3 dB abfällt. 
  • Betriebsfrequenzbereich einer Komponente. Üblicherweise wird dies von Technikern verwendet, die an der Systemintegration arbeiten, wenn eine Komponente/ein System in einem bestimmten Frequenzbereich empfangen/übertragen soll. 
  • Frequenzspektrum eines Signals. Bei einem Breitbandsignal kann der Frequenzgehalt über einen breiten Frequenzspektrum verteilt sein, wobei die Bandbreite die Breite dieses Spektrums definiert. 
  • Kanalbandbreite als Kapazität bzgl. der übertragbaren Datenrate. Diese Definition ergibt sich, weil die Datenrate (eigentlich die Baudrate) und der Frequenzgehalt zusammenhängen, wird aber normalerweise zur Beschreibung von Glasfaser- oder drahtlosen Verbindungen verwendet, jedoch nicht für Leiterbahnen auf einer Platine.

Der letzte der beiden Punkte ist für den Digital-Entwickler wichtiger, da hier das Verhältnis zwischen Bandbreite und Datenrate für den PCB-Konstrukteur klar sein muss. Die Bandbreite von Analogsignalen ist unerheblich, es sei denn, es wird eine Modulation mit einem Trägersignal verwendet (z. B. Ethernet) oder mit Impulsen (wie bei Lidar) oder gechirpten Wellenformen (wie bei FMCW-Radar) gearbeitet. Die Bandbreite analoge Signal ist i. A. recht klein und lässt sich unmittelbar auf der Messkurve eines Spektrumanalysators ablesen. Sie können die Bandbreite im Allgemeinen als den Frequenzbereich definieren, der vom Grundrauschen in Ihrer Oszilloskopkurve begrenzt wird. Bei digitalen Signalen ist die Situation nicht ganz so einfach.

Difference between data rate and bandwidth analog signal
Bildschirm während einer Spektrumanalyse

Bandbreiten und digitale Signale

Wenn ich hier von Bandbreite spreche, beziehe ich mich auf den Frequenzinhalt, aus dem ein digitales Signal besteht. Die Bandbreite eines digitalen Signals ist nicht so klar umrissen, da sie sich theoretisch bis ins Unendliche erstreckt. Um eine brauchbare Bandbreitendefinition für den Entwurf von Übertragungsleitungen für Hochgeschwindigkeitsstrecken zu erhalten, müssen wir daher die relevante Bandbreitenobergrenze eines digitalen Signals festlegen.

2-Pegel-Signale

Für ein 2-Pegel-Signal (etwa NRZ) gelten die folgenden allgemeinen Bandbreitendefinitionen:

  • 5. Harmonische. Dies ist eine übliche, aber willkürliche Grenze für digitale Signalbandbreiten. Ich behaupte das, weil Sie jede andere ungerade Harmonische größer als 5 wählen können. Gemäß dieser Definition beträgt die Bandbreite das 2,5-fache der Datenrate. 
  • Die Kniefrequenz. Diese spezifische Frequenz wird normalerweise mit 0,35/trise approximiert. Das heißt, dass die Bandbreite im Allgemeinen nicht mit der Datenrate zusammenhängt, obwohl eine höhere binäre Datenrate natürlich eine kürzere Anstiegszeit bedingt.
  • Nyquist-Frequenz. Angenommen, ein Empfänger tastet ein binäres Signal mit einer Abtastrate ab, die gleich der Datenrate ist, dann wäre die Nyquist-Frequenz gleich der halben Datenrate. Dies ist eine weitere gängige Bandbreitenangabe für binäre Digitalsignale.

Wir haben hier zwei Definitionen, die die Bandbreite mit der Datenrate verbinden: die 5. Harmonische und die Nyquist-Frequenz; Letztere ist am besten auf mehrstufige Bitströme verallgemeinerbar.

Mehrstufige Signale

Für ein Signal mit mehreren Pegeln, wie z. B. einen Datenstrom mit Pulsamplitudenmodulation (PAM), ist die Nyquist-Frequenz die beste Bandbreitendefinition, da sie für eine beliebige Anzahl von Signalpegeln anwendbar ist. Hier kann die Bandbreite (gleich der Nyquist-Frequenz) definiert werden als:

Difference between data rate and bandwidth analog signal
Analoge Bandbreiten lassen sich mittels einer Spektrumanalyse messen.

Darin ist N die Anzahl der Signalpegel pro UI und D die Bitrate. Dies passt gut in das Nyquist-Kriterium, wie es für ein ADC definiert ist, bei dem die Abtastrate gleich der Datenrate ist. Schlussfolgerung: Nur weil wir sagen, dass die Bandbreite eines Kanals x GHz beträgt, bedeutet das nicht, dass die Datenrate auf 2x GHz begrenzt ist, denn der Übertragungsstandard spielt ebenfalls eine Rolle. Vielmehr sollte die Bandbreite in Bezug auf ihren Frequenzgehalt von Fall zu Fall definiert werden – eine einheitliche Gleichung gibt es dafür jedoch nicht.

Wenn ich mir die relevante Bandbreite für einen bestimmten Bitstream ansehe, wähle ich stets die jeweils größere der beiden Frequenzen Kniefrequenz oder Nyquist-Frequenz (für 2-Pegel-Signale). Bei mehrstufigen Signalen halte ich mich an die Nyquist-Frequenz als Maß für die Bandbreite. Bei der Betrachtung von S-Parametern oder der Übertragungsfunktion eines Kanals können Sie sich auf Frequenzen bei und unterhalb der Bandbreite konzentrieren, da der Empfänger die relevante Kanalbandbreite begrenzt. Über Verluste und Impedanzanpassung müssen Sie sich nur bei Frequenzen innerhalb der Bandbreite Gedanken machen.

Sobald Sie den Unterschied zwischen Datenrate und Bandbreite verstanden haben, können Sie die PCB-Design- und Layout-Tools in Altium Designer® verwenden, um die passenden Verbindungsleitungen zu entwerfen. Sie verfügen damit über ein komplettes Set an Routing- und Layout-Funktionen für impedanzkontrollierte High-Speed-Designs.

Altium Designer auf Altium 365® bietet ein in der Elektronikindustrie bisher nie dagewesenes Maß an Integration. Bislang war diese ausschließlich der Welt der Softwareentwicklung vorbehalten, sodass Entwickler nun von zu Hause aus arbeiten und ein noch nie dagewesenes Maß an Produktivität erreichen können.

Wir haben nur an der Oberfläche dessen gekratzt, was man mit Altium Designer auf Altium 365 machen kann. Auf der Produktseite finden Sie eine ausführlichere Beschreibung der Funktionen bzw. eines der On-Demand-Webinare.

Altium Designer Free Trial

 

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

Altium Online Store

Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Altium Online Store

    Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    What's the Difference Between Data Rate and Bandwidth?

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  October 22, 2020
    Difference between data rate and bandwidth

    Data rate and bandwidth are sometimes used interchangeably, thanks largely to advertising firms and the media, who turned an important technical term from analog circuit design into a buzzword. The word “bandwidth” is now misused to the point where it has unintentionally taken on a somewhat related meaning from ADC design. In PCB design and circuit design, bandwidth sometimes has a clear distinction that has nothing to do with data rate, and sometimes it refers to some quality of the signal and its interaction with a receiver.

    With the difference between data rate and bandwidth being murky, how does it relate back to your PCB design? We’ll look at this deeper in this article so that we can see how to define signal integrity metrics for ultra-high speed channels. These same ideas around signal integrity metrics are reflected in the recent USB 4.0 standard and will become more important in newer high speed signaling standards.

    Difference Between Data Rate and Bandwidth

    Data rate is exactly what it sounds like: the number of bits transmitted through a channel or by a component per unit of time. Data rate may also be written in baud rate (e.g., the number of signal units per second), which allows us to differentiate between binary and multilevel signalling schemes. This is pretty simple; for a 2-level signal (e.g., NRZ), the baud rate is equal to the bit rate. For 4-level signals (e.g., PAM4), the baud rate is half the bit rate as two bits are transmitted per unit interval (UI).

    Bandwidth is generally used by electronics designers of all stripes to refer to one or more of the following:

    • -3 dB point. If you’re designing a filter, this is usually used to denote the frequency where the filter’s transfer function (magnitude) drops by 3 dB. 
    • Frequency range where a component can receive/transmit. I’ve normally seen this used by other researchers working on integration or system design, where there is a need to match a new component/system to receive/transmit within a specific frequency range. 
    • Signal’s frequency content. A broadband signal may have its frequency content spread across a large range of frequencies, and bandwidth defines the size of this spectrum. 
    • A channel’s data rate capacity. This definition arises because the data rate (really the baud rate) and frequency content are related, but it is normally used to describe fiber or wireless links rather than board-level interconnects.

    The last of two points are more important for the digital designer as this is where the relationship between bandwidth and data rate needs to be made clear for PCB designers. For analog signals, we don’t care about bandwidth unless we are using modulation with a carrier signal (e.g., Ethernet), or we’re working with pulses (such as in lidar) or chirped waveforms (such as FMCW radar). The bandwidth for an analog signal is quite small and can be seen directly on a spectrum analyzer trace. You can generally define the bandwidth as the range of frequencies that is cut off by the noise floor in your oscilloscope trace. The situation isn’t so simple for digital frequencies.

    Difference between data rate and bandwidth analog signal
    Analog bandwidths can be determined from a spectrum analyzer measurement.

    Bandwidth and Digital Signals

    Here, when I refer to bandwidth, I’m referring to the frequency content that makes up a digital signal. The bandwidth of a digital signal is not so clear cut because, mathematically, it spans out to infinite frequency. Therefore, in order to establish some useful definition of bandwidth for use in transmission line design for very high speed links, we need to set some relevant upper limit on the bandwidth of a digital signal.

    2-level Signals

    For a 2-level signal (e.g., NRZ), here are some common definitions of bandwidth:

    • 5th harmonic. This is a common, but arbitrary cutoff point for digital signal bandwidths. I say this is arbitrary because you could also use any other odd frequency greater than the 5th harmonic. This definition says the bandwidth is 2.5 times the data rate. 
    • Knee frequency. This particular frequency is normally approximated as 0.35/trise. In other words, it says the bandwidth is generally not related to the data rate, although a higher binary data rate will have a shorter rise time.
    • Nyquist frequency. Assuming a receiver only samples a binary digital signal at a rate that is equal to the data rate, then the Nyquist frequency would be equal to half the data rate. This is another common bandwidth metric for binary digital signals.

    Here we have two metrics that link bandwidth to data rate: 5th harmonic and Nyquist frequency. Among these, the Nyquist frequency has the greatest generalizability to multilevel bitstreams.

    Multi-level Signals

    For a multi-level signal, like a bitstream with pulse-amplitude modulation (PAM), the Nyquist frequency is the best definition for bandwidth as it is most generalizable to any number of signal levels. Here, the bandwidth (equal to the Nyquist frequency) can be defined as:

    Difference between data rate and bandwidth analog signal
    Analog bandwidths can be determined from a spectrum analyzer measurement.

    where N is the number of signal levels per UI and D is the bit rate. This nicely fits within Nyquist’s criterion as defined for an ADC, where the sampling rate matches the data rate. The takeaway is: just because we say a channel’s bandwidth is X GHz, it doesn’t mean the data rate is limited to 2X GHz; the signalling standard matters too. In fact, the bandwidth in terms of its frequency content should be defined on a case-by-case basis; there is no single equation.

    When I’m looking at the relevant bandwidth for a particular bitstream, I always choose the larger of the knee frequency or Nyquist frequency for 2-level signals. For multilevel signals, I stick with the Nyquist frequency as the relevant measure of bandwidth. When looking at S-parameters or a channel’s transfer function, you can focus on frequencies at and below the bandwidth as the receiver limits the relevant bandwidth of the channel. You only need to worry about losses and impedance matching at frequencies up to the bandwidth.

    Once you understand the difference between data rate and bandwidth, you can use the PCB design and layout tools in Altium Designer® to create compliant interconnects. You’ll have a complete set of routing and layout features for high speed impedance controlled designs.

    Altium Designer on Altium 365® delivers an unprecedented amount of integration to the electronics industry until now relegated to the world of software development, allowing designers to work from home and reach unprecedented levels of efficiency.

    We have only scratched the surface of what is possible to do with Altium Designer on Altium 365. You can check the product page for a more in-depth feature description or one of the On-Demand Webinars.

    Altium Designer Free Trial

     

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home