Mesure de l’impédance des lignes de transmission : mode pair ou mode impair

Zachariah Peterson
|  Créé: November 15, 2021
Mesure de l’impédance des lignes de transmission : mode pair ou mode impair

J'effectue toujours des recherches sur les lasers. La technique de mesure pompe-sonde est une des méthodes pour examiner comment le champ électromagnétique interagit avec les porteurs de charge dans les matériaux optiques. Avec les matériaux électroniques, vous n'aurez pas besoin d'utiliser une technique aussi complexe que la technique pompe-sonde pour mesurer l'impédance d'une ligne de transmission. Vous devrez toujours examiner comment les signaux se déplacent le long d'une ligne de transmission et comment ils interagissent avec le diélectrique et le composant de charge.

C’est uniquement le cas pour les signaux asymétriques. Qu'en est-il des lignes de transmission couplées ? Les lignes de transmission en mode pair et impair se couplent de manière capacitive et inductive, ce qui fait que les signaux sur les deux lignes ont des valeurs d'impédance qui ne correspondent pas à l'impédance caractéristique. Lorsque vous concevez des solutions d’interconnexion pour des cartes à ultra-haute vitesse et à haute fréquence, vous devrez inévitablement recueillir des mesures d'impédance pour les conceptions que vous proposez. Voici les outils dont vous avez besoin pour mesurer l'impédance des lignes de transmission en mode pair et impair, et comment ils sont liés à d'autres mesures fondamentales dans les systèmes numériques.

Techniques de mesure de l'impédance des lignes de transmission

L'impédance peut être mesurée dans le domaine de la fréquence et dans le domaine temporel (se référant normalement aux mesures des données TDR). L'impédance qui dépend du temps peut sembler étrange et liée à un effet transitoire qui peut apparaître en raison de la dispersion, où le signal prend du temps pour atteindre l'équilibre, car il se déplace d’avant en arrière sur une ligne de transmission. En réalité, vous ne pouvez déduire l'impédance qu'à partir d'une mesure de la réponse impulsionnelle dans le domaine temporel, qui sera intrinsèquement à bande limitée.

À mon avis, la mesure la plus simple de l'impédance d'une ligne de transmission est obtenue dans le domaine fréquentiel à partir de paramètres S, qui peuvent être convertis en paramètres Z (ce qui donne l'auto-impédance de la ligne et l'impédance de couplage par rapport aux lignes/conducteurs voisins). L'alternative est de générer une impulsion finie ou un signal numérique dans le domaine temporel. Cela donnera une fonction de transfert à la ligne qui peut être reconvertie en une impédance caractéristique. Il existe plusieurs raisons à cela :

  1. L'impédance n'est pas constante sur toute la largeur de la bande du signal. C'est-à-dire qu'elle varie avec la fréquence. La variation n'est pas une simple dépendance de la racine carrée inverse. Toute personne qui connaît le modèle RCLG devrait le savoir.
  2. La constante diélectrique effective n'est pas non plus constante dans la bande passante du signal. Cela crée différents écarts par rapport à l'impédance idéale à différentes fréquences, ce qui peut être difficile à déterminer à partir des données du domaine temporel.

Les deux meilleures techniques de mesure de l'impédance des lignes de transmission sont la réflectométrie dans le domaine temporel (et la mesure de transmission dans le domaine temporel qui y est associée) et les mesures de paramètres S dans le domaine fréquentiel. Avec quelques techniques simples et un VNA, vous pouvez mesurer l'impédance caractéristique asymétrique d'une ligne de transmission isolée et l'impédance différentielle d'une paire différentielle.

Mesure de l'impédance caractéristique des lignes de transmission
Un analyseur de spectre, un VNA et un oscilloscope sont des outils importants pour mesurer l'impédance d'une ligne de transmission.

Impédance caractéristique asymétrique

Réflectométrie dans le domaine temporel (TDR)

Les mesures TDR sont utiles pour inspecter les fibres optiques. La même technique peut être utilisée pour mesurer l'impédance d'une ligne de transmission. Il s'agit d'envoyer une impulsion dans un canal et de mesurer le temps nécessaire à un signal pour se réfléchir sur une discontinuité d'impédance imposée. Pour mesurer l'impédance d'une ligne de transmission, il faut placer un élément avec une impédance connue à l'extrémité de la ligne. Une mesure similaire est la transmission dans le domaine temporel (TDT) qui consiste à mesurer le signal transmis.

Cette mesure dans le domaine temporel révèle le déphasage dû à la réflexion (soit 0° ou 180°) et le niveau du signal réfléchi/transmis. À partir de ces données, vous pouvez calculer l'impédance de la ligne de transmission à partir du coefficient de réflexion complexe en utilisant la formule ci-dessous :

Impédance et réflectance caractéristiques des lignes de transmission dans une mesure TDR

Coefficient de réflexion complexe entre une ligne de transmission et la source/charge. Pour la réflexion à partir de l'extrémité de la source, Z0 est l'impédance de la source et ZL est l'impédance caractéristique de la ligne de transmission. Pour la réflexion à partir de l'extrémité de la charge, Z0 est l'impédance caractéristique de la ligne de transmission et ZL est l'impédance de la source.

Cela suppose que la source est parfaitement adaptée à la ligne de transmission, ce qui est une quantité inconnue. Dans une mesure réelle, il y a une réflexion à l'extrémité de la source et à l'extrémité de la charge, ce qui vous donne deux mesures possibles du coefficient de réflexion. La plupart des instruments TDR, comme un VNA, peuvent effectuer ce calcul directement.

Une distorsion du signal se produit également lorsque le signal se déplace sur la ligne de transmission. Le coefficient de réflexion que vous mesurez dans le domaine temporel est en fait une moyenne obtenue en comparant simplement les niveaux de signal. Vous devez soit convertir vos mesures de niveau de signal dans le domaine temporel vers le domaine fréquentiel avec une FFT, soit déterminer directement le coefficient de réflexion dans le domaine fréquentiel. Cette dernière solution est plus précise et peut être réalisée à l'aide d'une mesure de paramètre S.

Mesure de paramètre S

Une mesure de paramètre S traite une ligne de transmission comme un réseau à 2 ports. La tension et le courant entrant/sortant sont mesurés. Ce type de mesure peut être facilement configuré avec un VNA. Plutôt que d'entrer dans des détails mathématiques, je vous renvoie à n'importe quel manuel d'électronique avancée. Vous pouvez également consulter ce PDF pour voir comment convertir les paramètres Z ou une valeur d'impédance caractéristique en paramètres S. Le point important ici est que le coefficient de réflexion à chaque extrémité de la ligne peut être calculé à partir du coefficient S11. Il peut ensuite être reconverti en impédance de ligne de transmission comme une fonction de la fréquence.

Notez qu'un VNA est une pièce d'équipement inestimable à garder dans votre laboratoire. Ces appareils peuvent fournir des calculs automatiques, du paramètre S au paramètre d'impédance. Ils peuvent aussi fournir une mesure de réflectométrie dans le domaine temporel. Vous pouvez également extraire la longueur électrique avec ces mesures.

Impédance en mode pair et impair pour les lignes couplées

Lorsque vous examinez des lignes de transmission couplées pour un pilotage en mode commun ou différentiel, vous devez soit émettre deux signaux TDR/TDT séparés sur les deux lignes simultanément, soit mesurer les impédances en mode pair et impair. L'impédance en mode pair est simplement l'impédance d'une ligne unique lorsque les deux lignes sont pilotées en mode commun. C'est assez simple avec un VNA, car vous pouvez mesurer directement les paramètres S dans le domaine de la fréquence, puis les convertir en impédance.

La même procédure s'applique à l'impédance en mode impair, lorsque les lignes couplées sont pilotées en mode différentiel. Après avoir calculé les impédances en mode pair et impair, il suffit de calculer l'impédance différentielle et l'impédance commune comme indiqué ci-dessous.

Mesure de l'impédance des lignes de transmission en mode commun et différentiel
Valeurs de l'impédance différentielle et commune.

Notez que lorsque nous avons affaire à des lignes couplées, l'impédance caractéristique n'est plus aussi importante. Les valeurs importantes sont celles de l'impédance en mode pair et de l'impédance différentielle. Dans une situation idéale, l'impédance en mode pair est presque égale à l'impédance caractéristique et l'impédance différentielle est presque le double de l'impédance caractéristique.

Comparez vos mesures aux simulations de champ électromagnétique

Lorsque vous concevez et mesurez des interconnexions pour des applications avancées, vous devriez comparer vos résultats aux données d'un solveur de champ électromagnétique intégré. Les outils de routage dotés d’un solveur de champ électromagnétique peuvent prendre en compte les parasites dans une configuration réelle et vous aider à identifier toute source de déviation d'impédance le long d'une interconnexion. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur les mesures et les calculs de ligne de transmission, consultez ces articles :

Les outils de conception d'empilement de couches et de routage dans Altium Designer® comprennent un solveur de champ électromagnétique intégré. Ce type d'outil est idéal pour le routage à impédance contrôlée et la simulation de l'intégrité du signal dans vos interconnexions. Le gestionnaire d'empilement de couches vous donne également accès à une gamme d’outils d'empilement divers et variés, y compris des propriétés électriques importantes.

Vous pouvez dès à présent télécharger une version d'évaluation gratuite d'Altium Designer et en savoir plus sur les meilleurs outils de conception, de simulation et de production du secteur. Contactez un expert Altium dès aujourd'hui pour en savoir plus.

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Zachariah Peterson possède une vaste expérience technique dans le milieu universitaire et industriel. Avant de travailler dans l'industrie des PCB, il a enseigné à la Portland State University. Il a dirigé son M.S. recherche sur les capteurs de gaz chimisorptifs et son doctorat en physique appliquée, recherche sur la théorie et la stabilité du laser aléatoire. Son expérience en recherche scientifique couvre des sujets tels que les lasers à nanoparticules, les dispositifs électroniques et optoélectroniques à semi-conducteurs, les systèmes environnementaux et l'analyse financière. Ses travaux ont été publiés dans diverses revues spécialisées et actes de conférences et il a écrit des centaines de blogs techniques sur la conception de PCB pour de nombreuses entreprises. Zachariah travaille avec d'autres sociétés de PCB fournissant des services de conception et de recherche. Il est membre de l'IEEE Photonics Society et de l'American Physical Society

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Transmission Line Impedance Measurement: Even vs. Odd Mode

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  April 29, 2020
    Transmission Line Impedance Measurement: Even vs. Odd Mode

    I still work on research in lasers, and pump-probe measurements are one way to examine how the electromagnetic field interacts with charge carriers in optical materials. With electronics, you won’t have to do anything as complex as a pump-probe technique for a transmission line impedance measurement. You’ll still need to examine how signals travel down a transmission line, and how they interact with the dielectric and load component.

    That’s just for single-ended signals. What about coupled transmission lines? Even-mode and odd-mode transmission lines couple capacitively and inductively, causing signals on the two lines to see impedance values that do not match the characteristic impedance. When designing interconnect solutions for ultra-high speed and high frequency boards, you’ll inevitably need to gather impedance measurements for your proposed designs. Here are the tools you need in order to measure even and odd mode transmission line impedance, and how they relate to other fundamental measurements in digital systems.

    Transmission Line Impedance Measurement Techniques

    Impedance can be measured in the frequency domain and in the time domain (normally referring to measurements from TDR data). Time-dependent impedance may seem odd and related to a transient effect that can appear due to dispersion, where the signal takes time to reach equilibrium as it travels back-and-forth on a transmission line. In reality, you can only infer the impedance from a time-domain impulse response measurement, which will be inherently bandlimited.

    In my opinion, the easiest transmission line impedance measurement is gathered in the frequency domain from S-parameters, which can be converted into Z-parameters (this gives the line's self impedance and coupling impedance with respect to nearby lines/conductors). The alternative is to look in the time domain by sourcing a finite impulse or by sourcing a digital signal, which will give a transfer function for the line that can be converted back to a characteristic impedance. There are a few important reasons for this:

    1. Impedance is not constant throughout the signal bandwidth, i.e., it varies with frequency, and the variation is not a simple inverse square root dependence. Anyone familiar with the RCLG model should be aware of this.
    2. The effective dielectric constant is also not constant throughout the signal bandwidth. This creates different deviations from ideal impedance at different frequencies, which can be difficult to determine from time-domain data.

    The two ideal transmission line impedance measurement techniques are time-domain reflectometry (and the related time-domain transmission measurement) and S-parameter measurements in the frequency domain. With some simple techniques and a VNA, you can measure the single-ended characteristic impedance of an isolated transmission line, and the differential impedance of a differential pair.

    Characteristic transmission line impedance measurement
    A spectrum analyzer, VNA, and oscilloscope are all important for taking a transmission line impedance measurement.

    Single-ended Characteristic Impedance

    Time-Domain Reflectometry (TDR)

    TDR measurements are useful for inspecting optical fibers, the same technique can be for a transmission line impedance measurement. This involves sending an impulse down a channel and measuring the time required for a signal to reflect off of an imposed impedance discontinuity. For a transmission line impedance measurement, this requires placing an element with a known impedance at the far end of the line. A related measurement is time-domain transmission (TDT), where the transmitted signal is measured.

    This time-domain measurement reveals the phase shift due to reflection (either 0° or 180°) and the level of the reflected/transmitted signal. From this data, you can calculate the transmission line’s impedance from the complex reflection coefficient using the formula below:

    Characteristic transmission line impedance and reflectance in a TDR measurement

    Complex reflection coefficient between a transmission line and the source/load. For reflection off the source end, Z0 is the source impedance, and ZL is the transmission line characteristic impedance. For reflection off the load end, Z0 is the transmission line characteristic impedance, and ZL is the source impedance.

    Here, this assumes that the source is perfectly matched to the transmission line, which is an unknown quantity. In a real measurement, there is reflection at the source end and the load end, giving you two possible reflection coefficient measurements. Most TDR instruments (i.e., a VNA) can perform this calculation directly.

    Signal distortion also occurs as the signal travels down the transmission line. The reflection coefficient you measure in the time domain is effectively an average by simply comparing signal levels. Either you need to convert your time-domain signal level measurements to the frequency domain with an FFT, or you need to determine the reflection coefficient in the frequency domain directly. The latter is more accurate and can be done with an S-parameter measurement.

    S-parameter Measurement

    An S-parameter measurement treats a transmission line as a 2-port network, and the incoming/outgoing voltage and current are measured. This type of measurement can be easily configured with a VNA. Rather than go into all of the math behind this, I’ll refer you to any advanced electronics textbook, or you can take a look at this PDF to see how to convert Z-parameters or a characteristic impedance value to S-parameters. The important point here is that the reflection coefficient at each end of the line can be calculated from the S11 coefficient, which can then be converted back to the transmission line impedance as a function of frequency.

    Note that a VNA is an invaluable piece of equipment to keep in your lab. These units can provide S-parameter to impedance parameter calculations automatically, and they can provide a time-domain reflectometry measurement. You can also extract the electrical length with these measurements.

    Even and Odd Mode Impedance for Coupled Lines

    When examining coupled transmission lines for common-mode or differential driving, you either have to source two separate TDR/TDT signals on the two lines simultaneously, or you have to measure the even/odd mode impedances. The even mode impedance is simply the impedance of a single line when the two lines are driven in common mode. This is quite simple with a VNA as you can directly measure the S-parameters in the frequency domain and then convert this to an impedance.

    The same procedure applies for odd mode impedance, where the coupled lines are driven in differential mode. After you calculate the even and odd-mode impedances, simply calculate the differential and common impedance as shown below.

    Common mode and differential transmission line impedance measurement
    Differential and common mode impedance values.

    Note that, when we are dealing with coupled lines, the characteristic impedance is not so important anymore. The important values are the even-mode and differential impedance values. In an ideal situation, the even-mode impedance will be nearly equal to the characteristic impedance, and the differential impedance will be nearly double characteristic impedance.

    Compare Your Measurements Against EM Field Simulations

    Whenever you’re designing and measuring interconnects for advanced applications, you should compare your results to data from an integrated EM field solver. Routing tools which include an EM field solver can account for parasitics in a real layout, and can help you identify any sources of impedance deviation along an interconnect. If you want to learn more about working with transmission line measurements and calculations, take a look at these articles:

    The layer stack design and routing tools in Altium Designer® include an integrated electromagnetic field solver. This type of tool is ideal for controlled impedance routing and simulating signal integrity in your interconnects. The layer stack manager also gives you access to a range of exotic stackup materials, including important electrical properties.

    Now you can download a free trial of Altium Designer and learn more about the industry’s best layout, simulation, and production planning tools. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home